University of Saskatchewan Employee Reviews

Found 79 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good place to work
Research Associate (Former Employee) –  Saskatoon, SK16 August 2017
I worked as research assistant, the salary is not good. work weekdays and weekend, no overtime payment. But people are nice to work with, supervisor is gentle
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fantastic
Communications Coordinator (Current Employee) –  Saskatoon, SK8 August 2017
The University of Saskatchewan is a workplace driven by the same goals as the institution itself: innovation, enthusiasm, transparency, and a stark belief in the potential of its people. I couldn't recommend it more highly.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent
Graduate Teaching Assistant/Instructor (Former Employee) –  Saskatoon, SK8 August 2017
A typical day at U of S was a perfect work life balance.
I learned how to achieve balance between work and life. Management was friendly and always gave the freedom to express my opinions on the work I do. Workplace culture is to encourage the freedom of speech and thought. It was a warm and friendly environment. Hardest part of the job was to collect the information from 10 years for the literature review. The most enjoyable part was that the job was pretty challenging and exciting.
Pros
Interaction with professor
Cons
nil
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great environment - great people
ICT Service Desk / Student Assistant (Former Employee) –  Saskatoon, SK14 July 2017
The working environment in Usask was stellar. The people were friendly and you got the feeling that they actually cared about the staff. Unfortunately, due to budgetary cuts they had to cut many of my friends (which didn't matter to me as I was already leaving for an internship).
Pros
Great people - Good benefits
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Always passionate about my work and give my very best.
Teaching Assistant (Former Employee) –  Saskatoon, SK12 July 2017
Always passionate about my work and give my very best. I like to report to work on time, follow due process and laid down regulations. I have the capability and willingness to work under pressure and overtime for my company.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great place to work.
Master of Science Student (Former Employee) –  Saskatoon, SK28 June 2017
A typical day at work involved doing research everyday. Reading, writing, recording data, and doing experiments was a regular part of the working day.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Slow to change. Flexible working hours
HVAC Trades Manager (Former Employee) –  Saskatoon, SK26 June 2017
Very political in nature. Too much administrative policy and reluctance to implementation of improvements.
Flexible working hours but limited to 1920 hours per year.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not very good
Tech (Current Employee) –  Saskatoon, SK11 June 2017
The environment seems friendly in the beginning but after a while mismanagement and unorganized environment annoys the personnel who want to make progress.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Positive organization
Lab Technologist (Former Employee) –  Saskatoon, SK9 June 2017
Positive academic environment with excellent role models and opportunity to work on leading edge research projects. Travel opportunities with flexible hours and intelligent co-workers.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good stable job
Programmer Analyst (Former Employee) –  Saskatoon, SK29 March 2017
Worked with some of the very skilled, talented and caring people in the workforce. Lots of opportunities to bring about positive change in tech and processes.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good University with Friendly work environment
Research Assistant and Lab Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Saskatoon, SK24 March 2017
Beside the geographic location and some low performing academic staff it is a great university which tries to grow and move forward. I like the work environment and the people in the university and Saskatoon city. The culture is great.
Pros
Good Culture, low tuition
Cons
low pay
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good
Research Assistant (Current Employee) –  Saskatoon, SK19 February 2017
Good I enjoy working at university of Saskatchewan
Friendly environment
Good research work
Challenging
I enjoy teaching under graduates
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
University of Saskatchewan is a nice place to work. Faculty and staff are so much friendly and helpful. the salary was also good.
Research Assistant (MSc. Thesis) (Current Employee) –  Saskatoon, SK7 February 2017
It's really a pleasure to study and work in University of Saskatchewan.All co-workers are cooperate closely with each other and the most enjoyable is the very organized working environment that secures high working efficiency.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good place to work
Lab Assistant (Former Employee) –  Saskatoon, SK29 December 2016
good place to balance work and school. All depends on the type of work that you will due at the university. I had a great leader that made the time worth while.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
nice and friendly
Graduate Research Assistant (Former Employee) –  Saskatoon, SK8 December 2016
University of Saskatchewan is a nice place to work. Faculty and staff are so much friendly and helpful. the salary was also good.
Was this review helpful?Yes 6NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive work space
Research Technician (Current Employee) –  Saskatoon, SK18 November 2016
Excellent working environment , excellent co-workers and fun filled lab atmosphere.
Well trained PI and respectable salary and benefits.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
learning environment
Graduate Teaching Assistant (Former Employee) –  Saskatoon, SK4 November 2016
- Work place is an ocean of knowledge and we gain a lot from it
- I learnt work ethics and public health principles
- Wonderful management
- The hardest part of the job is to meet the set deadlines
- The most enjoyable is the set deadlines as they give you the motivation to complete the tasks
Pros
Individual Work atmosphere
Cons
Need to allocate more number of hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and friendly working enviroment
Research Assistant and Graduate Teaching Assistant (Current Employee) –  Saskatoon, SK16 October 2016
It's really a pleasure to study and work in University of Saskatchewan.All co-workers are cooperate closely with each other and the most enjoyable is the very organized working environment that secures high working efficiency.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
best place to work for your family
Safety Coordinator (Current Employee) –  Saskatoon, SK12 September 2016
Pro
great family work balance
freedom to inspire and investigate dreams

Cons
Salary is not to industry standards
Culture has not evolved with the industry
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and challenging
Research Assistant (Former Employee) –  Saskatoon, SK4 August 2016
While some of the tasks seemed challenging at first, by conquering them I gained confidence in myself as a worker. I also had the opportunity to train new hires, which was an incredible learning experience in itself.
Pros
Confidence booster
Cons
Challenging tasks
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at University of Saskatchewan. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.3
Based on 82 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
4.2
Salary/Benefits
3.8
Job Security/Advancement
3.8
Management
3.8
Culture
4.1

University of Saskatchewan Reviews by Location