Find companies:
University of Regina
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
15 reviews

University of Regina Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work and Passion = High Productivity
Graduate Teaching/Research Assistant (Former Employee), Justice Studies and Social Work Dept, Regina, SKJune 16, 2014
Pros: have eye for details
Cons: don't be lazy around me!
On a professional level, I am a kind of person that will always want to give my best to any task, no matter how small, or how large. At every point in time at work, I am always willing to teach and learn. This have always been my guiding philosophy at work place and even on a personal level. I respect time specification and do everything within my capacity – more... to ensure that I deliver on a given task. Ideally, it is only fair on my side to say that I have passion for everything that do, from my studies to my responsibilities as a Teaching and Research Assistant in the University of Regina for two semesters (September, 2013 – April, 2014). In the course of my job, I have established a very good relationship with Course Instructors and students alike, owing to the passion and determination I put into the job. I have obtained a ‘Certificate in Teaching’ here in University of Regina and also a Certificate in Fetal Alcohol Spectrum Disorder (FASD) training in the same university.
I have also taking up other jobs like Inventory Person and Exam Invigilator in the university here which does not necessarily require any high level of academic experience. This is to show that I can fit into any position and deliver as specified provided I am been told what to do or given a specific talk.
On a personal level, I have passion for volunteering. I am currently a volunteer with Regina Alternative Measures Program (RAMP). I am also a trained and certified Victim Advocate/Surrogate. As a Victim Surrogate with RAMP, my job involves helping victims and offenders referred to RAMP by the Provincial Court through a ‘healing process and counseling’ (restorative justice) in an extrajudicial manner. I am also a volunteer with Canadian Red Cross/Wascana Rehabilitation Centre here in Regina. Here, I assist in the Craft Centre, helping in making craft, interacting and keeping company with Canadian War Veterans. Before now, I was also a volunteer in Tromso, Norway during my first graduate program. As part of volunteering for Red Cross International, I taught high school students ‘nonviolent communication skills’, ‘Crisis Management’ and ‘Becoming a Promising Youths: the Dos and Don’ts’. These short courses took me to different schools within the Tromso community.

On a more social and organizational level, I can work independently but also enjoy working with people as a team. I have an appreciable level of leadership skills and my level of relationship with people regardless of one’s background, whether at work or on a personal level is also superb. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyed the challenge of keeping all customers coworkers happy
o Supervisor of Lab Cafeteria (Former Employee), Regina, SKMay 28, 2014
Pros: had excellent coworkers in my location
Cons: trying to work a location, that needed four people at all times, and be short staffed by another location having someone call in sick.
Started work at 6:30 am picked up money and produce and stock for the day. Went to location and got ready to open for 7:30 am. Counted cash for two tills did the accounting work for them both. Open store and corespond with coworkers for the day. Had four other people working with me in the area. Had to keep the area stocked and running for a very busy – more... Tim Hortons self serve location. The hardest and most enjoyable part of the job was to keep over two thousand customers a day happy. Found it was a very good challenge for everyone to leave my location with a smile. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Teaching Assitantship
Teaching Assistant (Former Employee), Regina, SKMarch 28, 2014
Grading assignments and assisting with exams and labs helped me review my work and also develop thinking from the point of view of the examiner.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and rewarding workplace
Teaching Assistant (Current Employee), Regina, SKMarch 25, 2014
• Marking assignments
• Assisting professor in designing curriculum
• Guiding undergrad students and resolving issues regarding assignments
There was no hardest part in the job as the job was pretty much enjoying and creative.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
ok
Web Developer (Current Employee), regina skFebruary 21, 2014
Pros: lots free time
Cons: lots meeting
can be boring. Mostly ok.
can be boring. Mostly ok.
can be boring. Mostly ok.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good university
Teaching Assistant (Former Employee), Regina, SKJanuary 25, 2014
mark tests, quizs
invigilation final exams.
good place to study
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enrich your life here
Research and Teaching Assistant (Former Employee), Regina, SKMay 17, 2013
excellent study environment
friendly people
amazing fun
good sports and entertainment facilities
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
One of the best oil field in China
Teaching Assistant (Former Employee), Regina, SKMay 9, 2013
It is one of the largest field in China. Under modern and effective management, oil production keeps on high level for more than 10 years.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
rewarding learning environment
Temporary Pension & Benefits Analyst (Former Employee), Regina, SKMarch 13, 2013
Pros: all different ages to deal with from students to retiree's and variety of tasks
Cons: only a maternity leave - one year term
everyday was unique, challenging and rewarding
Learnt that I enjoy training and presenting to a group
I managed my time very efficiently, meeting time requirements. My director was very hands on but was able to trust that I would accomplish each task, professionally and efficiently.
I really enjoyed working with my coworkers and in a short period of – more... time made many friends.
The hardest part of the job was that there were very few procedures available. But it was a great way to learn.

The Most enjoyable part of the job was that each day was different and all of the people I dealt with - within the department or outside of the department were a pleasure. I became friends with many of the people I met through the benefit orientations. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice place to work at and study at
Research/Teaching Assistant (Current Employee), Regina, SKMarch 3, 2013
Met great students and professors. Great place to conduct research.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Extremely flexible work balance with a full-time student schedule.
Teachers Assistant (Current Employee), ReginaDecember 28, 2012
Pros: can work the hours i want to work.
Cons: lots of work in short time span. ex must correct papers by tomorrow.
Extremely flexible work balance with a full-time student schedule.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
diversity work culture
Business students Tutor (Former Employee), Regina, SKDecember 5, 2012
flexible work hours; diversity work culture; good relationship and atmosphere among staff
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun place
Research scholar (Former Employee), Regina, SKDecember 3, 2012
I worked on the development of understanding the unsaturated soil properties of badlands in Saskatchewan. The overall course contained some field visits, laboratory testing and a little bit of modelling using Soil vision database system. We had a very nice and helping Geotechnical group providing the opportunity to work in a team for some projects.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A place to work with Professionals
Examination Invigilator (Current Employee), Regina, SKDecember 3, 2012
Pros: you learn everyday :)
Cons: sometimes working late nights during the cold winter...brrrr!
One unique thing about working in an academic environment is that you meet great minds. My colleagues at U or R (as we call University of Regina) are very open and always willing to help. This blends in well with my personality as I enjoy helping to solve complex problems. I take pleasure in thinking over complex issues with others till it makes sense – more... and then applying practical steps to resolve the issues identified. I also like to work with numbers, that is why I am an accountant. The most enjoyable part of my job is the deep fulfillment that comes from solving problems for others. – less