University of Ottawa Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work for uOttawa students
Junior Web Developer (Current Employee) –  Ottawa, ON13 February 2018
Good work/life/university balance.

Understanding management.

Helpful team members.

Decent pay.

Close to campus.

Close to Rideau centre.

Nice office.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place for education
TEACHING ASSISTANT (Current Employee) –  Ottawa, ON6 February 2018
Earned a lot of knowledge
Good place for education
Lots of labs covered
Culture is good
Work place is fun
Interaction with student is good
Profs are encouraging
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Relationship Manager (Current Employee) –  Ottawa, ON31 January 2018
Learned a lot with all kinds of talented people. Opportunity to meet terrific influencers, professors and new generation of leaders.

Difficult to move your career to different areas on campus.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awesome Educational Institution
Member (Current Employee) –  Ottawa, ON12 January 2018
Awesome educational institution with the best professors who are extremely resourceful. Educational facilities are nice and location of the university is the best.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great employer, great work/life balance
Project Manager (Current Employee) –  Ottawa, ON12 January 2018
As a teaching assistant, uOttawa has been a great experience so far. I have had no trouble balancing teaching with my schoolwork. The pay is good (few hours, but that is expected). It is a nice little boost to my groceries every week.
Pros
Flexible hours, great employers and coworkers
Cons
Few hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
University of Ottawa Dinning hall
Cook 3 (Current Employee) –  Ottawa, ON5 January 2018
Working on the dinning hall was a fun experience with all the students and other employees. On a typical day, you would see a lot of faces that you can get to know. On a busy day you will see yourself and coworkers working at a good speed keeping everything as fresh and as good looking as possible. the management can use some improvement but is good overall. I would say the hardest part of the job would be to keep your station clean. lastly, the most enjoyable part of the job would be to get at then end of the day and realize what a good day of work it was.
Pros
you get to learn and meet a lot of people
Cons
it can get frustrating at times
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
excellent employer
Part-time professor of Statistics (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ON27 December 2017
The University of Ottawa offers excellent employment conditions and salary. Professors are given wide latitude in the material to be covered in a given course and in their approach to teaching.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Finance assistant
Finance Assistant (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ON17 December 2017
I have learned a lot in the finance Field. How to pays invites, user Financial coding for every division i sas working for. I sas happy with m'y job .
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
compétitif et stressant, non équitable
Assistant Professor Researcher (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ON22 November 2017
Un environnement de travail compétitif et stressant, non équitable. Les collègues se considèrent les uns les autres comme de vulgaires combattants les uns contre les autes pour se boisculer pour un poste. Les employés quelque soit leur échelle, ainsi que les étudiants, son exploités et vivent un stress énorme.

Travailler à Uottawa est à déconseiller
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very fun, abit stressful at first but rewarding
Student Ambassador (Current Employee) –  Ottawa, ON14 November 2017
I like working with the team, the people are very nice, supportive, and great. I is a little bit stressful at the begining when you need to learn a lot of information in a small period of time but it become easier with time.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I dislike the way they handle this
Learning Assistant (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ON7 November 2017
As a copy editor, I had to find my own clients. They paid only slightly above minimum wage for professional editing services at an undergraduate/masters level. Many issues arose and were never resolved by uOttawa
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Avoid at all costs
Worker (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ON3 November 2017
Worked there for several years only to get shafted 3 years before my pension. So not worth the aggravation. I'm not the only one this happened to.
Pros
Benefits
Cons
Management/union
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun place to work
University Lecturer (Current Employee) –  Ottawa, ON2 November 2017
me and the team did so many different things while working at the university of Ottawa for example we would go to different buildings and we would check out if there is anything that is in need of fix and we would communicate with our supervisor either by phone or by going down to the office and let him know the problem and he'll be able to solve the issue
Pros
free lunch/friendly environment
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive challenging experience
Research Assistant (Current Employee) –  Ottawa, ON1 November 2017
This was a challenging and time consuming project. It involved a lot of self management as the entirety of the project was done on personal time during a full time semester.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great job, Management not ideal
Store Clerk (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ON27 October 2017
Great job, just not great management. Taking advantage of people who need to work/money in order to get their way. Aside from that, the environment was fantastic. Contributing to a cause (research) was very fulfilling.
Pros
Summer Hours
Cons
Science Store manager
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great experience
Research Assistant (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ON23 October 2017
Lots of support from professors and the union. Students are fun, and marking their work is a fantastic learning experience. Great for those who would like to one day become professors at a university.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not the worst
Research Assistant (Current Employee) –  Ottawa, ON17 October 2017
Decent amount of funding and resources. Supervision good, depending on Professor. Administration horrible - slow, unresponsive. Overall good choice of institution if research topic is one of its specialties in your department.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Working as student
Teaching Assistant (Current Employee) –  Ottawa, ON6 October 2017
Not too much of workload.
Workload depends on professor
The best part is earning as a student.
Work culture is good. most of the professors are very nice.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work if you have a secured job
Teaching Assistant (Former Employee) –  Ontario2 October 2017
Work load is fine
Great place to work if you have a secured job
the best part is interacting with people
the culture is not the best
the hardest part of the job doesn't exist
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and friendly workplace
Researcher (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ON26 September 2017
It is a productive and friendly workplace with many talented co-workers sharing knowledge and developing optimal solutions for several engineering projects.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at University of Ottawa. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.3
Based on 191 reviews
5101
460
323
22
15

Ratings by category

4.4Work/Life Balance
3.9Salary/Benefits
3.8Job Security/Advancement
4.0Management
4.2Culture

University of Ottawa Reviews by Location