University of Ottawa Employee Reviews

Found 144 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun job
Move in Assistant (Volunteering) (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ON17 May 2017
I was helping first year students moving to new dormitory,which make me very happy. I am enjoy helping other people solving problems, this job gives me this chance,even though without salary. The challenge for me is that I can not lift too heavy packages, which may reduce the efficiency of moving in. However, the first year students always help me when I lift heavy packages, which lets me feel that it is worth to do this job. From this job, I experienced the process of teamwook and I think it is very importment to cooperate with other people. After finishing the moving, we have a party with the new students and they are very appreciated for the moving volunteers. I am also apprecaited them that give me the chance to helping other people and enjoy the life in my university deeply.
Pros
make new friends
Cons
tired
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good
Research Assistant (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ON6 May 2017
It is Good university and the environment is very friendly. It is place where you can meet different students from different countries. The work was very organized and excellent
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Accepting diversity, welcoming, multiculutural
Teaching Assistant and Tutor (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ON18 April 2017
Reflects the diversity of Canadian culture. Bilingual and welcoming. The job is fairly doable, work ethic is great. Lots of holidays. Hardest part of the job is marking students' papers.
Pros
Well paid. Employee and grad students get free counseling.
Cons
Free speech is not much accepted I am afraid
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
comfortable workplace
Researcher (Current Employee) –  Ottawa, ON16 April 2017
not needed to be in your office
being in academic environment
Weekly training.
Awesome supervisors.
Interesting clientele.
Very good work experience.
Very well organized environment.
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Love to work here
Teacher Assistant (Current Employee) –  Ottawa, ON11 April 2017
With my 6 years at this university, I loved everything of it. Working there is easy, it showed me how to manage better my time. The environment is great, with a lot of open minded people and great atmosphere
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Undergraduate TA at University of Ottawa
Teaching Assistant (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ON6 April 2017
Overall the course is run by the professor, the workload is average and really allowed me to interact with students who needed help as frequently as they requested.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Interactive workplace.
Student mentor (Current Employee) –  Ottawa, ON4 April 2017
Awesome workplace.
Weekly training.
Awesome supervisors.
Awesome co-workers.
Interesting clientele.
Very good work experience.
Very well organized environment.
Pros
student hours
Cons
pay
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place for a student/athlete that needs an income
Fitness Attendant (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ON4 April 2017
Great place, great people! Would recommend to other student/athletes or student in general. Very satisfying for income, not a lot of hours but with the revenu you make it's great.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Honours Research Student (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ON20 March 2017
research experience at uottawa was very rewarding. I Conducted research concerning the mechanism by which Shigella flexneri infect human cells. I Utilized molecular biology techniques to create recombinant plasmids containing the IcsB gene, conducted mutations, and performed transformations into multiple strains of S. flexneri. I Used Western Blots to monitor expression and secretion levels of recombinant proteins in multiple strains of S. flexneri
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Easy Work
Teaching Assistant (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ON15 March 2017
Worked as a Teaching Assistant. Never met in person with my boss. Not a lot of structure or feedback on my work. Felt unclear if I was doing my work well or even correctly.
Pros
Good pay
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good University with long history
Research Assistant (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, Canada5 March 2017
Good University with long history. Study, work and life were balanced. Professors were nice and easily contacted for questions.
Pros
Study, work and life were balanced
Cons
facilities were not very modern
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Reasonable amount of work for a full time students
Mentor at The Workshop (Current Employee) –  Ottawa, ON20 February 2017
As a mentor, I had the opportunity to help other students and strengthen my understanding of the topics I tutored. A reasonable amount of work as a full-time student.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace where you get to interact with younger students.
Teacher's Assistant (Current Employee) –  Ottawa, ON19 February 2017
my typical day starts at a particular day depending on the schedule where i have to book a room for discussion groups and run the discussion groups. I have to help students answer questions and quiz them whenever a quiz is provided from the professor.

What i've learned:
Time management,
The thought process behind Marking papers,
use of Microsoft office to document grades and comments is very useful.

The hardest part of the job is marking papers, as it's time consuming and one must be unbiased when marking the papers and must remember to treat all the students the same in terms of deducting marks.

The most enjoyable part of the job is helping the students understand the course content and running the discussion group.
Pros
Good pay for the amount of hours you put in
Cons
Time consuming when taking classes as well
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Review:
Call Centre Representative (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ON12 February 2017
Great bilingual campus - working towards a better and more sustainable campus which is very commendable. Variety of classes available for students with various interests.
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
not a job
Researcher (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ON11 February 2017
Research is great especially at the OHRI. I was a student so this differs based on the professor you have as your supervisor.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great
Student Care Advisor (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ON9 February 2017
lot to learn and do during undergraduate studies.
great for academic connection, study skills and health awareness.
great university great professors. hiring policy is quit fair, It is a great student life, and Ottawa itself is nice with many things to do
Pros
free lunch promotions many times
Cons
not long enough due to school obligations
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good opportunities and facilites
Teaching Assistant (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ON5 February 2017
Teaching assistant at University of Ottawa is a wonderful experience and hoping to continue to work with same spirit. It is little bit challenging as well as hectic but I am enjoying to the core as I am an opportunist and always seek to grab one to learn new things for my career growth.
Pros
Facilities and study material available at the university
Cons
Little difficult to manage with my Master's studies
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Teacher Assistantship (Current Employee) –  Ottawa, ON1 February 2017
I love work in Uottawa, they gave me a lot of opportunities to develop my skills the professor are amazing and the people are willing to help you. I recommend either work or study Uottawa.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Internship
Teaching Assistant (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ON29 January 2017
Good internship with a profesor at the university of ottawa, on in Canada. Was good overall, not payed, gives you some experience that's basically all
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work/Study Program
Assistant to Liaison Officers (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ON27 January 2017
As I got this job through the work/study program while attending courses at uOttawa my supervisors were very conscientious of my time and were always sure to confirm with me whether or not In would have the time to complete projects they assigned me as well as my course work.
Pros
Make my own schedule, job shadowing
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at University of Ottawa. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.3
Based on 148 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
4.4
Salary/Benefits
3.9
Job Security/Advancement
3.8
Management
4.0
Culture
4.2

University of Ottawa Reviews by Location