University of Ottawa Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
compétitif et stressant, non équitable
Assistant Professor Researcher (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ON22 November 2017
Un environnement de travail compétitif et stressant, non équitable. Les collègues se considèrent les uns les autres comme de vulgaires combattants les uns contre les autes pour se boisculer pour un poste. Les employés quelque soit leur échelle, ainsi que les étudiants, son exploités et vivent un stress énorme.

Travailler à Uottawa est à déconseiller
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I dislike the way they handle this
Learning Assistant (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ON7 November 2017
As a copy editor, I had to find my own clients. They paid only slightly above minimum wage for professional editing services at an undergraduate/masters level. Many issues arose and were never resolved by uOttawa
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Avoid at all costs
Worker (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ON3 November 2017
Worked there for several years only to get shafted 3 years before my pension. So not worth the aggravation. I'm not the only one this happened to.
Pros
Benefits
Cons
Management/union
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun place to work
University Lecturer (Current Employee) –  Ottawa, ON2 November 2017
me and the team did so many different things while working at the university of Ottawa for example we would go to different buildings and we would check out if there is anything that is in need of fix and we would communicate with our supervisor either by phone or by going down to the office and let him know the problem and he'll be able to solve the issue
Pros
free lunch/friendly environment
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive challenging experience
Research Assistant (Current Employee) –  Ottawa, ON1 November 2017
This was a challenging and time consuming project. It involved a lot of self management as the entirety of the project was done on personal time during a full time semester.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great job, Management not ideal
Store Clerk (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ON27 October 2017
Great job, just not great management. Taking advantage of people who need to work/money in order to get their way. Aside from that, the environment was fantastic. Contributing to a cause (research) was very fulfilling.
Pros
Summer Hours
Cons
Science Store manager
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great experience
Research Assistant (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ON23 October 2017
Lots of support from professors and the union. Students are fun, and marking their work is a fantastic learning experience. Great for those who would like to one day become professors at a university.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not the worst
Research Assistant (Current Employee) –  Ottawa, ON17 October 2017
Decent amount of funding and resources. Supervision good, depending on Professor. Administration horrible - slow, unresponsive. Overall good choice of institution if research topic is one of its specialties in your department.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Working as student
Teaching Assistant (Current Employee) –  Ottawa, ON6 October 2017
Not too much of workload.
Workload depends on professor
The best part is earning as a student.
Work culture is good. most of the professors are very nice.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work if you have a secured job
Teaching Assistant (Former Employee) –  Ontario2 October 2017
Work load is fine
Great place to work if you have a secured job
the best part is interacting with people
the culture is not the best
the hardest part of the job doesn't exist
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and friendly workplace
Researcher (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ON26 September 2017
It is a productive and friendly workplace with many talented co-workers sharing knowledge and developing optimal solutions for several engineering projects.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work life ballance
Certified Personal Trainer (Current Employee) –  Ottawa, ON9 September 2017
Working for the University of Ottawa was a great experience and I have a strong work and school balance allowing me to obtain my Master's degree in Human Kinetics
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Typical graduate student experience
Graduate Researcher (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ON7 September 2017
Lots of work to be accomplished.

With enough work during the days and careful planning can avoid needing to work nights/weekends.

Put in hard work but was able to maintain a fairly good work/life balance.

Tons of support from professors for guidance.

"Full scholarship" does not actually cover entire tuition amount, but stipend and any additional scholarships help to offset any cost and should be able to cover the cost of living.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Place to work
Acoustical & Vibration Research Assistant (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ON6 September 2017
It's a good place to work. Respectful staff and helpful people. Students are very smart, curious, and hard-working. You will find your colleagues very respectful.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
My University
Junior/Intermediate (Former Employee) –  ottawa, Ontario1 September 2017
Great atmosphere and amazing teaching program.
Early starts to your day and a large enough cohort to make life long friends and colleagues.
A well rounded bachelors of education program that has prepared me well for any teaching experience.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not much to it
Tech Expert (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ON29 August 2017
There was not much to this. Was able to help with setup and take down of presentations and was able to help with technical issues that arose. Not much too it.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good TA position
Teaching Assistant (TA) (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ON17 August 2017
I like my position as a TA. The pay is good and supervisor was fair. I wish there was more that they could do to offer career opportunities at the University after your schooling.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work wuth
Project Research Assistant (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ON14 August 2017
Fast paced, requires strong technical, analytical with brilliant interpersonal skills. Working in academia requires a lot of theoretical knowledge with practical experience.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good job for student
Proctor (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ON7 August 2017
can help to get extra cash for student .
not for a carrer
Pros
easy job
Cons
time can go slow watching student doing there exams .
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent Student job
Assistant Professor, Art History (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ON6 August 2017
Working with art history Professor and learning skills and methods from a professional. Working on location while going to school. marking quizzes, reading essays, getting feedback from the Art history professor. Part time position in the my field of passion: Art and Art History.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at University of Ottawa. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.3
Based on 179 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
4.3
Salary/Benefits
3.8
Job Security/Advancement
3.7
Management
4.0
Culture
4.2

University of Ottawa Reviews by Location