Find companies:
University of Ottawa
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
76 reviews

University of Ottawa Employee Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Research Assistant (Former Employee), Room 4022, 800 KingEdward, Ottawa, ONJuly 7, 2015
Working for a university that has a good reputation, especially, in job security, and it finds one's abilities and gives one a feeling of accomplishment. Also, having an immediate supervisor who is competent, considerate, and fair.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice professors and flexible working hours
Teaching Assistant (Former Employee), Ottawa, ONJune 29, 2015
My job is to marked students’ assignment and proctor examinations.
I gained good organizational and time-management skills. I performed high senses of responsibility and reliability.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Teaching Assistant (Former Employee), OttawaMay 29, 2015
I learned so much from my time at the University of Ottawa. It is an excellent place to work, with great and supportive people.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Its Really nice.
IT Support Assistant (Former Employee), Ottawa, ONMay 22, 2015
Pros: Friendliness
Cons: Pay
Well the people are very friendly, warm and cozy, but must always be expected to work a get your job done. The one problem I have with the job was that the pay was not at all great, it was just above minimum wage and was barley enough to keep afloat with life expenses.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Professional Environment
Part-Time Professor (Current Employee), Ottawa, ONMay 7, 2015
An excellent place to work. Benefits that are provided are fair. Teaching is well compensated and resources are always provided and accessible.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Flexible workplace and nice supervisors with hardworking colleague.
Research Assistant (Current Employee), Ottawa, ONApril 28, 2015
I got a lot of ideas from my supervisor. I have a bunch of colleague as well as my friends who help me a lot finish my tough work. During the group meeting, all the members would do brain storm so that each member could have some state-of-art ideas in mind. The work place is big and the working time is flexible.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent Place
Teaching and Research Assistant (Current Employee), UniversityMarch 31, 2015
A great place to work with excellent pay. Very rewarding, and appealing to young academics. I would recommend working for the University of Ottawa
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Work Environment
Academic Assistant (Former Employee), Ottawa, ONMarch 10, 2015
Great work environment, great management team, only downside is that they should offer more training when coming into a Academic Assistant position.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to gain technology specific education
Research Assistant (Current Employee), Ottawa, ONDecember 17, 2014
- Among top 10 research intensive universities in Canada
- Ample Research funding across all faculties
- Top notch courses and research in the field of Photonics
- Excellent support from the local Telecom & IT industry for collaborative research and co-op terms
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and happy atmosphere working environment
Research and teaching assistant (Former Employee), Ottawa, ONNovember 4, 2014
nice academic working environment
teaching is very interesting job
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great university
Teaching Assistant (Current Employee), Ottawa, ONOctober 24, 2014
Teaching my knowledge to students on a daily basis.
Helping with problem solving.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Research and Analysis
Healthcare Management Consultant (Former Employee), Ottawa, ONOctober 20, 2014
Pros: group perspective
Cons: insecurity of payday
The team worked together to create data collection methods.
Writing reports from data and working together to analyse
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Decent place to work but there are better options out there.
Occupational Health & Safety Specialist (Former Employee), Ottawa, ONOctober 14, 2014
Pros: good benefits, ok salaries, good job security if permanent employee.
Cons: management, neglected support staff
Overall, it's a good place to work. The people are mostly friendly and the large size of the campus helps you make a lot of connections. However, management is a mess and there is little to no room for advancement. Work there if you're ready to retire.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun workplace
Information Agent (Former Employee), Ottawa, ONOctober 12, 2014
Pros: free lunch
Cons: short break
days were pretty busy, co-workers were nice. learn a lot about customer service. The job was quite easy, no stress... the most enjoyable part of the job was to make student happy
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Research/Teaching Assistant (Former Employee), Ottawa, ONSeptember 21, 2014
The research at University of Ottawa was productive and helped me in my academic knowledge teamwork skills.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good learning experience
Research Assistant (Former Employee), Ottawa, ONSeptember 5, 2014
This was a good opportunity to learn and to have access to specialty research equipment. Although I found that after two years it wasn't challenging enough and the general laziness at the University becomes frustrating.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wonderful and friendly environment
Research Assistant (Former Employee), Ottawa, ONAugust 4, 2014
University of Ottawa is a great place to study, work and gain experience. I had the chance to work with wonderful colleagues and great supervisors. The university exposed me to a lot of technologies that helped me achieve my full potential in education. The university's management was reasonable in general but could have been improved by providing more training to the new staff. The hardest part of my job was to be consistently aware of all the new technologies and research in my domain. I have really enjoyed working with many exceptional colleagues who were very knowledgeable.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Learned a lot things
Research Assistant (Current Employee), Ottawa, ONAugust 4, 2014
As a research assistance, I help my supervisor collect data, prepare questionnaires, and language translating from Mandarin to English as well.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Challeging workplace with high payment
Research/Teaching Assistant (Former Employee), Ottawa, ONAugust 4, 2014
It is good to work inside university because it pays well. Usually university prefer students works hard and possess sufficient amount professional knowledge.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Research, development, and collaborate in solutions based on information technology.
Guest Doctoral Researcher (Current Employee), Ottawa, ONJuly 12, 2014
Looking for volunteer job, temporary or part-time in computer science.
Ability to research, development, and collaborate in the creation and implementation of innovative solutions based on information technology.
Skill in Java/Database/Android.
Portuguese language native
English language skill.

1 2 3 4

About University of Ottawa

The University of Ottawa (uOttawa or U of O or Ottawa U) (French: Université d'Ottawa) is a bilingual public research university – Read more

University of Ottawa Photos

voyage d'étude avec des collègues à Mexico, accapulco cancun
Neurology, Multiple Sclerosis