University of Ottawa Employee Reviews

Found 158 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work wuth
Project Research Assistant (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ON14 August 2017
Fast paced, requires strong technical, analytical with brilliant interpersonal skills. Working in academia requires a lot of theoretical knowledge with practical experience.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good job for student
Proctor (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ON7 August 2017
can help to get extra cash for student .
not for a carrer
Pros
easy job
Cons
time can go slow watching student doing there exams .
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent Student job
Assistant Professor, Art History (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ON6 August 2017
Working with art history Professor and learning skills and methods from a professional. Working on location while going to school. marking quizzes, reading essays, getting feedback from the Art history professor. Part time position in the my field of passion: Art and Art History.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A chance to get a foot in the door
Structural Lab Assistant (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ON3 August 2017
Volunteered to get a reference letter, which later got me my first job at a firm. Also met a few people that may potentially be good for networking with later in life.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
University roadie work.
AV Technician (Current Employee) –  Ottawa, ON3 August 2017
As an on-call contract worker, I find my boss does his best to make sure we are informed of changes to shifts as quickly as possible, and works hard to keep everything as smooth as possible for his technicians. Some gigs are very simple and smooth, others are hectic. There is no such thing as a truly average day working for CITE at uOttawa.
Pros
Educational benefits, even for contract workers.
Cons
It's on-call work.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and very enjoyable environment
Casual Sports Employee (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ON11 July 2017
This is a very enjoyable place to work with good management and co-workers. The salary is very competitive. Sometimes you need to deal with unruly participants of the intramural program however you always have backup and support.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Varied work in a fast-paced environment
Special Advisor, VP Research Office (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ON11 July 2017
The University of Ottawa is a face-paced work environment requiring professionalism, client service skills, bilingualism, and dedication. The work was varied and I got to work with a large number of very interesting researchers, as well as many other administrators dedicated to service excellence.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive respectful place
Research Assistant (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ON5 July 2017
I've been a research assistant, very happy with my supervisors. Objectives were clear, and networking was encouraged and benefitial. Monetary compensation was fair.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Un environnement de travail très occuper mais agréable.
Payroll Officer (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ON29 June 2017
Un environnement de travail très occuper mais agréable.
Le travaille d`équipe, préparation de paye etc.
Organisation de mes journées etc.
Mes collaborateurs étaient toujours prêt et ouvert.
De ne pas être disponible pour nos clients quand le bureau était fermer pour la vérification de la paye a chaque deux semaine.
L`appréciation des clients quand je les aidaient a résoudre un problème de paye etc.
Pros
Vacances deux fois par année
Cons
Assurance
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Team
Supervisor Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ON13 June 2017
In uottawa, you get to work with different people with different backgrounds, work in teams, also enjoy your time while at work.
Great team leads and also gives you an opportunity to grow in your positions.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A place to be
Research Assistant (Current Employee) –  Ottawa, ON2 June 2017
At the University of Ottawa, your opinion matters and supervisors are respectful. The student environment is great and students are fun to be with.

The employment process is transparent.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to work
Commis (fitness attendant) (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ON31 May 2017
- Calm and productive workplace
- very flexible hours
- very understanding manager/boss
- unfortunately no possibilities of growth
- easy to get to work, on school campus
Pros
flexible hours
Cons
no growth
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Amazing learning experience with amazing scientist
Research Assistant (Current Employee) –  Ottawa, ON31 May 2017
Throughout my time with the University of Ottawa, both as a student and as an employee, I had the opportunity to work alongside some of the greatest minds I have ever known. The skill and determination with which these people work is a testament to them. Everyone is willing to help each other out on problems and share ressources.
Pros
Long breaks between experiments allows you time to complete other things
Cons
Experiments are time sensitive and may require you to work weekends; pay is not extraordinary
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A good job
Mentor (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ON20 May 2017
Personally, I'm not crazy about doing administrative work all day but it pays well and as a student they accommodate your studies very easily. Mentoring you also get to learn a lot about the school in order to help others.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun job
Move in Assistant (Volunteering) (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ON17 May 2017
I was helping first year students moving to new dormitory,which make me very happy. I am enjoy helping other people solving problems, this job gives me this chance,even though without salary. The challenge for me is that I can not lift too heavy packages, which may reduce the efficiency of moving in. However, the first year students always help me when I lift heavy packages, which lets me feel that it is worth to do this job. From this job, I experienced the process of teamwook and I think it is very importment to cooperate with other people. After finishing the moving, we have a party with the new students and they are very appreciated for the moving volunteers. I am also apprecaited them that give me the chance to helping other people and enjoy the life in my university deeply.
Pros
make new friends
Cons
tired
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good
Research Assistant (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ON6 May 2017
It is Good university and the environment is very friendly. It is place where you can meet different students from different countries. The work was very organized and excellent
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Accepting diversity, welcoming, multiculutural
Teaching Assistant and Tutor (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ON18 April 2017
Reflects the diversity of Canadian culture. Bilingual and welcoming. The job is fairly doable, work ethic is great. Lots of holidays. Hardest part of the job is marking students' papers.
Pros
Well paid. Employee and grad students get free counseling.
Cons
Free speech is not much accepted I am afraid
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
comfortable workplace
Researcher (Current Employee) –  Ottawa, ON16 April 2017
not needed to be in your office
being in academic environment
Weekly training.
Awesome supervisors.
Interesting clientele.
Very good work experience.
Very well organized environment.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Love to work here
Teacher Assistant (Current Employee) –  Ottawa, ON11 April 2017
With my 6 years at this university, I loved everything of it. Working there is easy, it showed me how to manage better my time. The environment is great, with a lot of open minded people and great atmosphere
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Undergraduate TA at University of Ottawa
Teaching Assistant (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ON6 April 2017
Overall the course is run by the professor, the workload is average and really allowed me to interact with students who needed help as frequently as they requested.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at University of Ottawa. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.3
Based on 162 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
4.4
Salary/Benefits
3.9
Job Security/Advancement
3.8
Management
4.1
Culture
4.2

University of Ottawa Reviews by Location