Find companies:
University of Ontario Institute of Technology
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
21 reviews

University of Ontario Institute of Technology Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great team to work with, very accommodating and schedule flexibility.
Student Services Representative (Current Employee), Oshawa, ONAugust 19, 2014
Provided front line service to students, staff, advisors, and other stakeholders.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun atmosphere followed by discipline
Researcher at Clean Energy Research Lab. (CERL) (Current Employee), OshawaAugust 8, 2014
Pros: comfortable office
Cons: hvac system
At UOIT especially at Clean Energy Research lab. (CERL) energetic atmosphere dominates work procedure. Projects are defined from industry and are conducted in CERL. As part of the disciplined work schedule, all employees can perform as their best.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Learning Outcomes
Teaching Assistant (Former Employee), Oshawa, ONAugust 7, 2014
This was a position that I got while a final year student at university. I was able to learn about the different aspects of imparting my knowledge to fellow students.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent place to work
Undergraduate Researcher (Former Employee), Oshawa, ONJuly 21, 2014
Exposure to various levels of staff, academic professionals and community stakeholders.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to work
Teaching Assistant (Former Employee), Oshawa, ONJune 9, 2014
nice and easy going day
teaching
good management
great co-workers
dealing with students
students succeeding
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great School, Great Teachers, Technologically Advanced
Engineering Student (Former Employee), Oshawa, ONMarch 19, 2014
Pros: occasional free lunch provided by administration, excellent lab facilities, encouraging faculty members
Cons: occasional long hours, 4 of 5 days a week (8am - 10pm)
I go to school everyday, where classes run from 8:00 am to 10:00 pm depending on the scheduling of the courses you are registered for. I gained the knowledge on the fundamentals of engineering, and project management, as well as various other soft skills. Other students at the university are easy to get along with, and are eager to help each other to – more... pursue higher goals. The hardest part of going to this school is the 40 minute commute each morning, and occasionally the lack of study spaces. The most enjoyable part of attending this university is the student life and culture of the various people I have encountered throughout my education. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Professional environment that allows for innovation to blossom
Research Assistant & Game Developer, (Former Employee), Oshawa, ONMarch 13, 2014
Pros: great people and mentorship
Cons: long hours
I worked under a number of professors creating digital content and designing video games.

The atmosphere was professional in terms of deadlines and objectives, but implementation and design was much more free forming allowing for me as a designer to create some great products that were fun and met the desired objectives.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Relevant work experience within information security
Graduate Research Assistant (Current Employee), Oshawa, ONJanuary 1, 2014
Pros: contract work (project choice)
Cons: minimal hours
- I work on sensitive IT Security based projects that generate new and creative methods of analyzing security systems with the end goal of proactive security.

- Multitasking is a key role in any job function but crucially important to one that requires me to work on four projects at once; it's a skill that only gets better with time.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
.
Assistant Project Manager (Former Employee), Oshawa, ONNovember 19, 2013
Pros: .uoit
Cons: uoit
working at uoit as a research assistant/teaching assistant was a required portion of my degree.
I would not have gotten paid the whopping 17280 a year if I didn't
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive entry level experience
Junior Financial Analyst (Current Employee), Oshawa, ONSeptember 22, 2013
Pros: it is very balanced, work + school
A typical day would be reviewing expense reports for compliance, authority and budget availability. I also do reconciling of a suspense account and assist the Financial Analysts with some account analysis. Another task on a typical day is making and processing journal entries.

All of the experience from this company is what I learned from this department – more... as this is my first Accounting related job. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This research job is a tremendous experience and it will pave the way for my future endeavors in the automotive industry
Research Assistant (Current Employee), Oshawa, ONMay 17, 2013
Pros: a lot of high tech equipment available, especially the truck simulator.
Cons: simulations in ls-dyna take days to complete because of the complexity of our project
I have learned a lot about the safety requirements of an automobile as well as the amount of danger drivers and passengers are faced with when travelling. Safety in cars has improved a lot over the last decade, but there is still a lot of room for improvement to ensure the safety of our families and loved ones when travelling in a vehicle.
My co-workers – more... have been excellent, very informative and are always willing to help when I require their assistance. The opportunity to interact with such intelligent people and learn from them is something I hope to pass on. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent organization!
Teaching Assistant (Current Employee), Oshawa, ONMarch 31, 2013
As a teaching assistant at UOIT, you receive flexible hours which help significantly when you are a full-time student to balance work, school and ones personal life. The staff members are extremely helpful and courteous and provide great detail on weekly expectations in order to ensure one is capable of not only completing a task, but on a timely basis – more... as well. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun workplace
Research Assistant (Former Employee), Oshawa, ONOctober 30, 2012
Pros: knowledge
Cons: no pay
Great experience, learned valuable knowledge that cannot be learnt in books.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Continued learning opportunities
Instructor - Introduction to Movement Neuroscience (Current Employee), Oshawa, ONOctober 1, 2012
Working at the University of Ontario Institute of Technology has provided me with ample opportunity to continue to gain and refine skills in research and teaching related to humans specifically in health sciences, kinesiology and neuroscience. With such a wide range of opportunities for employment within the university, I have has exposure to various – more... aspects of higher education from a student and employee point of view. It has been an opportunity that I have truely enjoyed. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Supportive for research
Research Assistant (Former Employee), Oshawa, ONSeptember 14, 2012
Pros: it is fun to create and to be innovative
Cons: not many others know about the machine, so it was hard to get help
The job is to program the embedded system for the parallel kinematic manipulator CNC machine located in the lab. I had to measure and calibrate the linear actuators and put the data on the system for inverse kinematics calculation. The associates working in the lab were supportive and helped me through some challenging moments. I also created a virtual – more... model of the CNC machine with Solidworks and output it into the Mechanical tool box on Matlab for HMI simulation. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work and develop your skills
Student (Former Employee), Oshawa, ONAugust 3, 2012
As a student I did not expect them to be so helpful in finding me a research position and allowing me to contribute.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Dynamic and exciting workplace
Forensic Laboratory Technician (Former Employee), Oshawa OntarioJuly 30, 2012
Pros: no two days were the same: constantly learning and adapting to new situations
Cons: long hours: not paid for all my time there
Working at UOIT was a great experience! There were so many different aspects of forensic science that I used with every day. A typical day would be:
-get there early to set up for the morning lab (clean, set out equipment for all the students, make enough reagents for everybody etc).
-supervise labs and help students with any questions they have
-show – more... students how certain lab equipment works (RT-PCR, ABI 3130, fingerprint development chamber)
-clean up lab and prepare for the afternoon group
-labs ranged from microscopy and pipetting to DNA extractions and processing evidence
-also participated in department meetings with the Dean of Science and helped run open houses and 4th year Honours thesis projects – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Experience as an intern
Teaching Assistant (Former Employee), Oshawa, ONApril 23, 2012
My duties as an intern were to design simulation environment of a grid connected solar panel system and working in a team of engineers was a great learning experience.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awesome institution
Research Intern (Former Employee), Oshawa, ONFebruary 27, 2012
UOIT is one of the respected growing universities in Ontario. I am glad that I was a part of the research team at some point in time. Faculty and staff are very supportive
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Empresa sólida com ambiente receptivo
Estagiário (Former Employee), Oshawa, ONFebruary 15, 2014
A empresa possui uma estrutura de cargos e funções bem distribuída, que facilita o empenho dos colaboradores. Ao longo do dia, havia muita troca de informações entre os membros da equipe e a coordenação das atividades se dava ao fim de cada turno. Os colegas de trabalho são cooperativos e abertos a novas ideias. A parte mais difícil do trabalho consiste – more... em gerenciar os prazos de montagem em função do tempo de entrega das peças pelos fornecedores. O que mais agrada é a flexibilidade de funções e horários, bem como a direção amistosa da empresa. – less