Find companies:
University of Illinois at Chicago
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
137 reviews

University of Illinois at Chicago Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Cure Violence / CeaseFire
Business Admin (Former Employee), Chicago, ILSeptember 11, 2014
Pros: uic vacation/personal time off
Cons: poor management, toxic environment, lack of professional development/demeanor
Poor management. The CEO of Cure Violence and CeaseFire is a brilliant doctor. However, does not know how to manage and lead, does not know how to communicate effectively, provide constructive feedback or any, even if it is required to comply with something he needs. He has had about 13 assistants in 15 years... During a meeting, he mentioned that he – more... didn't care if his employees were happy. Needless to say, I left shortly after.

The environment is toxic and unprofessional. Conflict resolution is something that only is applied in the communities, but is not practiced at the main office. For women in particular, the environment is harsh as the male collages are known to overstep their boundaries. There have been claims of s harassment, yet no resolution to the problem.

There is no job growth or professional development other than that offered by UIC, which management does not care for unless you are in the finance department.

The organization is dysfunctional. Many people apply because they have seen the TED Talks or the Interrupter's documentary. However, accomplished professionals that have options quickly leave the organization or move within the university; only those that grow comfortable and have little chances to get a better job end up staying. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Easy going
Grounds and Landscaper (Former Employee), Chicago, ILAugust 19, 2014
All employees must work in inclement weather some days. So all employees must be ready to deal with all different types of weather.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to learn & work!
Teaching Assistant (TA) (Former Employee), Chicago, ILAugust 13, 2014
Work environment is very nurturing, friendly and comfortable. My time here was very productive, not only as I was obtaining my degree, but also in terms of growing as a researcher. Highly recommend working at UIC!
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent place to work
Equal Opportunity Officer and ADA/Section (Current Employee), Chicago, ILAugust 6, 2014
One of the best and most diverse universities in the country.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very busy place to work, make the day flow quicker.
Library Clerk II & III - University of Illinois (Former Employee), Chicago, ILAugust 4, 2014
Pros: nice people
Cons: commute
Send materials to libraries across the globe.
Scan materials via Ariel and transmit them to various libraries.
Management was always hands on.
Hardest part of the job was leaving my co-workers
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This position was extremely detailed orientated. Application process timeframe
Graduate Coordinator (Former Employee), Chicago, ILAugust 2, 2014
Pros: interacting with students from around the world and learning their culture
Cons: their were no cons, only challenges that required troubleshooting.
An overall review of the positions I held at the University of Illinois @ Chicago are:
Graduate Coordinator: This position was fulfilling, The majority of students who applied were Asian/Indian coming to the states with limited language and usually knowing no one. I was there initial contact to the university and they dependent upon me to assist them – more... adjust to the school, the city, etc. The highlight was assisting them with preparation for dissertations. It is a proud moment for both a student and myself. It was an honor to observe their sacrifices and endure their challenges to finally meet their goals. This is one position I truly enjoyed and given the opportunity I would do it again, even better. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great coworkers and good pay
Research Associate (Current Employee), Chicago, ILJuly 25, 2014
Liked it, as long as you did your job you are golden. Stress-free
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
OKay
Lab Aide (Former Employee), Chicago, ILJuly 23, 2014
It was great working experience. I worked in one of the labs researching plant growth. It helped me gain experience in research field.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place
Assistant to Department Manager (Former Employee), Chicago, ILJuly 20, 2014
Fun work place, very fast paced. Room for advancement. Learned a lot about the market
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Loved working here acquired a lot of skills that has improved me as an Engineer
Product Development Engineer (Former Employee), Chicago, ILJuly 17, 2014
Had to design a hack for current micro-pipettes so they can be cheaper and affordable in developing countries. Worked with a team of 4 and over a span of a year this was accomplished using a 3D printer and CAD software. The whole process of Engineering design was implemented from concept to development to manufacture and presentation.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Study of surfactant organiztion on liquid-liquid interface
Volunteer Laboratory Assistant (Current Employee), Chicago, ILJuly 14, 2014
Typical Day
-Clean equipment in preparation for taking data.
-Align Optics
-Take Images and surface tension measurements of the interface.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The perfect place for a sonographer
Student of Clinical Studies (Former Employee), Chicago, ILJuly 2, 2014
Pros: great work environment and techs
Cons: nothing whatsoever
Highly professional, great techs, top notch equipment, great management.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great College
Validation (Former Employee), Chicago, ILJune 30, 2014
Was requested to work with professors to execute study and analyses data.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good
Research Lab Technician (Former Employee), Chicago, ILJune 25, 2014
Had a great boss and fellow co-workers. Learned how to order enzymes.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
UIC
Medical Assistant (Current Employee), Chicago, ILJune 12, 2014
UIC has horrible management.
Overall good benefits.
Has a steady flow of patients.
Co-workers are no team players.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Reasonable compensation for graduate studies
Teaching/Research Assistant (Former Employee), Chicago, ILJune 6, 2014
Pros: tuition coverage, benefits
Cons: highly competitive, out of date facilities
I was a graduate student working as a teaching assistant at UIC. No possibility of advancement but a guaranteed 5 years of support while you study. Typical atmosphere for MS or PhD program in chemistry - competitive and pretty demanding.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
UIC
Research Assistant Professor (Current Employee), Chicago, ILJune 1, 2014
Pros: long vacation, free courses
Cons: not grantee in funds
Having been working at UIC for about 10 years, I participated a few national/international grants of research. My PI is very nice professor, supporting me in many ways to do research. UIC is very well managed, I have very pleasant nice co-workers. The hardest part of the job was when our grant applications were not approved. New findings and good results – more... are the most enjoyable part of the job. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
its nice to work in
Graduate Student (Former Employee), Chicago, ILMay 30, 2014
has good job work and management
gives good exposure and freedom to the employee
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hardworking
Postdoctoral research fellow (Current Employee), Chicago, ILMay 28, 2014
Like to work with co-workers and interact with people
Like to explore ideas
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Internship
Research Intern (Former Employee), Chicago, ILMay 20, 2014
This was a wonderful internship. I had the chance to work with the new technology CAVE2.

1 2 3 4 5