University of Guelph Employee Reviews

Found 115 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun but Difficult program
Veterinary Technology Student (Former Employee) –  Ridgetown, ON19 October 2016
A very fun two years but packed with so much to do, I loved it but it was very intense and worth the time to be there. Always something to do, never a dull moment.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Teaching Assistant
Teaching Assistant (Former Employee) –  Guelph, ON18 October 2016
This position heavily depends on which professor you are assigned to work with. I always had a good relationship with my professors and enjoyed working with them.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and fun place with very nice boss
Research Assistant (Former Employee) –  Guelph, ON16 October 2016
I like how our boss is managing the workplace. Everyday we had to set around the table with him and he will assign jobs for everyone.
The most enjoyable part of the job is the team work, we all work together to get the job done in no time.
Pros
sometimes we get free lunch
Cons
sometimes require lifting heavy stuff
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun work place
Porter (Former Employee) –  Guelph, ON16 August 2016
wash dishes keep kitchen clean fun co- workers managemnt very understanding when it came down to health issues the hardest part of the job was getting the teenagers to get the job done
Pros
free uniforms
Cons
not enough hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great
Student Transition & Resource Team Leader (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON15 August 2016
My experience working at the University of Guelph-Humber was insightful and a great stepping stone into the real world and into other great positions.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to work..will never forget it!!
Mail Clerk (Former Employee) –  Guelph, ON14 July 2016
Excellent team environment
Work could accelerate and /or change quickly
Familiar with all roles of the personell.
Meet and provide customer service to people from other countries.
Lifting items that were heavy was hard, but always encouraged to ask for help.
Pros
Only Paid $10.00 per paycheck for nutritious food and coffee
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun work in Subway
Waitress, Cashier (Former Employee) –  Guelph, ON18 June 2016
Working in subway is a good experience for myself to learn how to work with my colleague and how to provide good service to my customers. when customer gives me a smile, I feel so happy. The manager is so friendly, we are more like a family.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyed working as TA
Teaching Assistant (Former Employee) –  Guelph, ON26 May 2016
I have worked as a Teaching Assistant 4 times at the University of Guelph. Each time it was a useful and meaningful experience in which I had the opportunity to grow and learn. Lots of interaction with the students in Labs, Office Hours, Tutorials, Reviews, and Class.
Cons
Unpredictable Schedule
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
ok
START Leader and FYE Leader (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON17 May 2016
The management was kind of unorganized at times. Otherwise, fun place to work at. I would recommend. It is a good experience to have, and pays well.
Pros
Many free lunches
Cons
Erratic hours, prone to miscommunication, disorganization.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Various special events on the University of Guelph campus
Cater-waiter and bartender (Former Employee) –  Guelph, ON15 May 2016
The University of Guelph provided a fun and diverse environment to improve experience in bar-tending, waitressing, and customer service at variety of events on campus.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
computer support assistant
Computer Support Assistant (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON7 May 2016
-great managers, lots to learn, great team !
-teamwork experience
-great leaders:)
-great work ethics
-i really like working here
Pros
to meet great people
Cons
not too many hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Supportive and fun work environment
Barista and Kitchen Employee (Former Employee) –  Guelph, ON4 May 2016
Great work environment with supportive management and co-workers. Scheduling was very lenient towards busy university schedules and responsibilities.
Pros
Free lunches, good with scheduling, supportive.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good workplace.
Research Associate (Current Employee) –  Guelph, ON26 April 2016
It was a very good place to work, although it pays badly.
There is a very good science research there.
But if you're not a university employee, it's not very good.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was great but i wish it was longer.
customer service (Former Employee) –  Guelph, ON19 April 2016
I really enjoyed this job because I was working with students. It was great talking to them. There was no hard thing about this job. Again, the co-workers were excellent. It felt like we were one big happy family making sure the students were looked after.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Like a second home
Part-time event 2 yrs (Former Employee) –  Ridgetown, ON16 April 2016
We would meet for a few minutes every morning to find out what we were going to be doing that day.

was given responsibility of conducting myself under minimal supervision

learned how to professionally cut grass

learned how to drive a front loader tractor

learned how to back up a trailer

access to professional equipment

a beautiful working environment

friendly management and atmosphere

in the second year was able to help new people with small questions

had lots of fun a laughs with all co-workers while staying productive

physically demanding

The most enjoyable part of the job would be working outside all day and the friendly people made it feel like a second home

management was very understanding of my duties as a parent
Pros
went out for lunch once a week, access to greenhouse, free starter kit
Cons
physically demanding
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Close knit work environment with excellent management
Lab Assistant (Former Employee) –  Alfred and Plantagenet, ON7 April 2016
An excellent place to work. All workers were very close and this provided a very productive and supportive work environment. Supervisors were clearly very passionate and hard working, but also very kind and understanding.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Working Environment
Food Server (Former Employee) –  Guelph, ON6 April 2016
Decent hours, excellent coworkers, as well as a good understanding to others needs. Working with a lot of students with conflicting schedules really helped them understand that there is more to life than work.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very enjoyable place to work!
Food and Beverage Server (Current Employee) –  Guelph, ON3 April 2016
A typical day at work is very fast paced as there is many students in the University. I have multiple tasks including serving coffee and deserts, smoothies and sandwich making. Friendly co-workers as well as the customers. I am thankful to be employed at the University and experience new things every day!
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun, flexible workplace
Volunteer (Current Employee) –  Guelph, ON2 April 2016
Volunteers would gather at the entrance to the farm with the owners greeting you. They would then explain what tasks needed to be done that day and assign volunteers to them. It was a very friendly environment and the owners would always be very appreciative of any amount of time spent volunteering
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Independant Work
University of Guelph (Geography IT Assistance ) (Former Employee) –  Guelph, ON2 April 2016
I was given daily tasks and my job was to complete them. Examples include: downloading software, installing update, and updating the manual
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport

Overall rating

4.5
Based on 121 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
4.4
Salary/Benefits
3.9
Job Security/Advancement
3.8
Management
4.2
Culture
4.3