University of Guelph Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work
Computer Lab Assistant (Former Employee) –  Ridgetown, ON9 February 2018
Great place to work! Very accommodating to my course load with classes. A typical day at work was very relaxing and fun while interacting with Students.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Workplace
Lab Technician (Former Employee) –  Guelph, ON4 February 2018
Excellent place to learn and develop new laboratory skills. The workplace is very pleasant and provides a good work/life balance. The people are nice to work with. Job security can be subject to grant funds availability however.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awesome place to work
Field Crop Pest Management Research Technician (Current Employee) –  Ridgetown, ON30 January 2018
The only problem is I worked in research....completely funded by outside monies...our funding ran out...my job was done.

Best place i have ever worked, hands down. I will miss it dearly.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
So much fun, really enjoyable shifts
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Guelph, ON20 January 2018
Most people say "a jobs a job" and that everyone dislikes their jobs but working at the University I tended to disagree, I loved working there and was always excited for my shifts
Pros
free lunches
Cons
seasonal
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive workplace, great atmosphere conducive to learning
Resident Assistant (Former Employee) –  Guelph, ON13 January 2018
I have learnt many skills from the various jobs I've obtained from the university. The management staff is wonderful. Employers always put the safety of their employees first and are very hands-on throughout the work term. The most enjoyable part of the job would be the teams that I've worked with throughout the years.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Research project
Public Relations Officer (Former Employee) –  Guelph, ON4 January 2018
I was hired by a research project within the University, so my experiences were very specific to the project team, rather than the university as a whole.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lots of independence
Research Assistant (Volunteer) (Former Employee) –  Guelph, ON10 December 2017
Flexible work hours as long as the minimum number of work hours per week are met. Sufficient resources are available in case of any issues that inevitably arise while performing experiments.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Beautiful campus, friendly people
Graduate Research Assistant (Current Employee) –  Guelph, ON14 November 2017
The University has one of the most beautiful campuses in Canada. The staff are friendly and helpful. The facilities are excellent, particularly any research related to agri-food industries.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great
Residence Assistant (Former Employee) –  Guelph, ON2 November 2017
Excellent way to give back to the school. Being apart of other students success is rewarding and the management team is very supportive to all their staff
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Winter Wheat Breeding Program
Research Assistant (Former Employee) –  Ridgetown, ON23 October 2017
-Supervisor was extremely helpful and knowledgeable
-Great research environment that promotes learning and excellence
-Co-workers were positive and fun
-Learning a lot about wheat and fungal diseases
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Adjunct professors worked tirelessly and many more hours than paid for.
Adjunct Professor (Former Employee) –  Guelph, ON3 October 2017
As with any university or college contract position, the work that had to be put into Sessional courses to prepare these courses, the hours that were needed to teach these courses on an ongoing basis, the hours that were needed to prepare evaluation methods and than evaluate students regularly, the hours required to interact with students in person and online in an attentive and responsive way, and also the hours needed to remain accountable to the Department, often in shared office space (orientation, mandatory training, office hours and such) was all a lot to handle.
I loved researching, teaching and interacting with the students. That was the core satisfaction that I had within this role. However, the hours spent doing everything else ended up diminishing my hourly wage from $30/hour to $3/hour, I kid you not...
Pros
Fantastic experiences teaching and interacting with students and learning so much everyday
Cons
Long hours, no job security and not a lot of recognition for the importance of the work.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good place
Research Associate (Current Employee) –  Guelph, ON27 September 2017
good place to work, good people, good atmosphere, somewhat encouraging
work satisfaction is good, response to help is good, good peer-group
safe and sound place
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Pretty fun
Drawing Instructor (Former Employee) –  Guelph, ON19 September 2017
What can I say about teaching! It was a great experience. The hours were very few and the pay was equally few. But the experience was gold. I really enjoyed my time at U of Gu.
Pros
None
Cons
part time
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bueno
Postdoctoral Researcher (Former Employee) –  Guelph16 September 2017
Como investigador postdoctoral hay un alto grado de desarrollo profesional, sin embargo es un empleo temporal y no hay beneficios
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Employer
Housekeeping (Former Employee) –  Guelph, ON7 September 2017
My coworkers enjoyed each others company a friendly atmosphere with staff students the work itself was always busy and always had work to do approaching a supervisor for any problems was never a issue
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very flexible with scheduling.
Research Assistant (Current Employee) –  Guelph, ON5 September 2017
I could take time of very easily if I needed to do it. The work was also very research oriented and allowed me to work on assignments with members of faculty on a daily basis.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great organization
IT-Helpdesk Associate (Former Employee) –  Guelph, ON6 August 2017
The organization may be considered bureaucratic by many, but
I enjoyed my time there. The folks at CCS were very encouraging and allowed me to become better at customer service.
Pros
flexible
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Miss working here
Computer Repair Technician (Former Employee) –  Guelph, ON26 July 2017
Contract work that lasted nearly two years, the staff and management there were just GREAT people to work with.

If it had turned into a full-time (non-contract) job, I would still be working there today.
Pros
Flexible hours, no dress code, great staff, comfortable environment
Cons
contract work-didn't last
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It is great to work here.
Visiting Researcher (Current Employee) –  Guelph, ON22 July 2017
It has all the equipments necessary for my research in crystallography. I would like to find a position here, but the University of Guelph has no open position available at the moment.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun working environment
Research Assistant (Current Employee) –  Guelph, ON17 July 2017
I like working here in U of G, the campus is nice and the working environment is very relax. Science facility is decent, but you can get most of the research done.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at University of Guelph. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.5
Based on 169 reviews
5100
455
313
21
10

Ratings by category

4.4Work/Life Balance
3.8Salary/Benefits
3.7Job Security/Advancement
4.1Management
4.3Culture