University of Guelph Employee Reviews

Found 125 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
lkh
Undergraduate Sessional Lecturer (Former Employee) –  Guelph, ON17 March 2017
Good place to work, lots of support and good people. Fair employment practices and equal rights. Average pay and job flexibility - enjoyable experience
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent Job
Event Staff (Current Employee) –  Guelph, ON17 March 2017
- great atmosphere
- great staff
- always fun coming to work
- many different and changing work opportunities
- flexible schedule, making it possible to work around my school schedule
Pros
flexible schedule
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great experience
Assistant (Former Employee) –  Ridgetown, ON10 March 2017
When working at the college I gained knowledge in a lot of office environments. The everyday atmosphere of this office is overall awesome, they are always willing to help with any questions you may have.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent
Game Builder (Current Employee) –  Guelph, ON26 February 2017
Great work contract and flexible hours as a research assistant. This is for a temporary position that will not be available once the game is completed.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Has it's ups and downs
Porter (Current Employee) –  Guelph, ON24 February 2017
There are good things, and things that are not so good.
Workplace is generally good.
Very busy, always something to do.
Typical day is busy, with changing priorities.
I try to learn something every day.
Hardest part of the job is the hours.
Most enjoyable part of the job is the sense of accomplishment.
Pros
Good benefits
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great, fully accredited engineering school - specifically in the biomedical field.
Bachelor of Biomedical Engineering (Former Employee) –  Main Campus - Guelph, ON2 February 2017
This school provides tools that will allow its students to become proficient problem solvers, while providing them with research and hands-on experience. This program consists of a large amount of laboratory studies and lectures and is very study-intensive.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Inspiring and involved work atmosphere
Visiting Professor, School of Engineering (Current Employee) –  Guelph, ON24 January 2017
Being a world class academic and research institution with leadership in on food processing and food safety in Canada, most of my research involvments were linked to food processing and sustainability.

My routine status with reviewing the research laboratory work, performing specialized procedures and analyzing the outcomes of scientific studies. Other routine work involver writing proposals, protocols, reports and research publications.

Consistant ly supervised the research projects of the students and learnt about the deal with variety of students at different level of knowledge and skills.

Hardest part was to not able to transfer all my experiences and expertise to the students and employees.

Enjoy sharing knowledge and observing the positive otcomes
Pros
Unlimited working hours, infrastucture
Cons
No industrial scale operation and involvments
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very fun and relax environment
Research Assistant (Former Employee) –  Guelph, ON23 January 2017
Working at the UofG provides you with a great experience in an academic setting. I liked the management as well as the work culture.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and productive place
Research Animal Technician (Former Employee) –  Guelph, ON16 December 2016
By far the best job I have had and that is because of the people, the atmosphere and the ability to learn and grow. Excellent benefits. This place had the whole package.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent Place to Work
IT Professional (Former Employee) –  Kemptville, ON29 November 2016
Working in the IT field was busy and there was always something to do. I answered the phone and did on site visits assisting students and staff on all aspects of IT related problems.

In the IT industry I was always learning because technology never stops changing. Leaning how to manage time was the most difficult. Spending late nights was sometimes a must.

The rewards were daily. Helping people retrieve lost data and helping them with tasks they felt were impossible was so enjoyable. Accomplishing tasks on time and budget were always the highlight of my career.
Pros
Work Hours
Cons
They closed
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun but Difficult program
Veterinary Technology Student (Former Employee) –  Ridgetown, ON19 October 2016
A very fun two years but packed with so much to do, I loved it but it was very intense and worth the time to be there. Always something to do, never a dull moment.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Teaching Assistant
Teaching Assistant (Former Employee) –  Guelph, ON18 October 2016
This position heavily depends on which professor you are assigned to work with. I always had a good relationship with my professors and enjoyed working with them.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and fun place with very nice boss
Research Assistant (Former Employee) –  Guelph, ON16 October 2016
I like how our boss is managing the workplace. Everyday we had to set around the table with him and he will assign jobs for everyone.
The most enjoyable part of the job is the team work, we all work together to get the job done in no time.
Pros
sometimes we get free lunch
Cons
sometimes require lifting heavy stuff
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun work place
Porter (Former Employee) –  Guelph, ON16 August 2016
wash dishes keep kitchen clean fun co- workers managemnt very understanding when it came down to health issues the hardest part of the job was getting the teenagers to get the job done
Pros
free uniforms
Cons
not enough hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great
Student Transition & Resource Team Leader (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON15 August 2016
My experience working at the University of Guelph-Humber was insightful and a great stepping stone into the real world and into other great positions.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to work..will never forget it!!
Mail Clerk (Former Employee) –  Guelph, ON14 July 2016
Excellent team environment
Work could accelerate and /or change quickly
Familiar with all roles of the personell.
Meet and provide customer service to people from other countries.
Lifting items that were heavy was hard, but always encouraged to ask for help.
Pros
Only Paid $10.00 per paycheck for nutritious food and coffee
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun work in Subway
Waitress, Cashier (Former Employee) –  Guelph, ON18 June 2016
Working in subway is a good experience for myself to learn how to work with my colleague and how to provide good service to my customers. when customer gives me a smile, I feel so happy. The manager is so friendly, we are more like a family.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyed working as TA
Teaching Assistant (Former Employee) –  Guelph, ON26 May 2016
I have worked as a Teaching Assistant 4 times at the University of Guelph. Each time it was a useful and meaningful experience in which I had the opportunity to grow and learn. Lots of interaction with the students in Labs, Office Hours, Tutorials, Reviews, and Class.
Cons
Unpredictable Schedule
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
ok
START Leader and FYE Leader (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON17 May 2016
The management was kind of unorganized at times. Otherwise, fun place to work at. I would recommend. It is a good experience to have, and pays well.
Pros
Many free lunches
Cons
Erratic hours, prone to miscommunication, disorganization.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Various special events on the University of Guelph campus
Cater-waiter and bartender (Former Employee) –  Guelph, ON15 May 2016
The University of Guelph provided a fun and diverse environment to improve experience in bar-tending, waitressing, and customer service at variety of events on campus.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport

Overall rating

4.5
Based on 132 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
4.4
Salary/Benefits
3.9
Job Security/Advancement
3.8
Management
4.2
Culture
4.3
92%

CEO Approval

Based on 27 ratings
Add your rating