University of Calgary

University of Calgary Employee Reviews in Canada

Found 107 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent experience.
Casual Assistant/Study Monitor (Former Employee) –  Calgary, ABFebruary 21, 2013
My supervisors were the best. Made sure I felt welcome, comfortable and I was looked after. We need more organizations who value their employees, temp. or pernament staff.
Pros
close to my home, could walk to work.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great people to work with
Marketing Instructor (Former Employee) –  Calgary, ABFebruary 12, 2014
As a sessional instructor it can be challenging at times. My colleagues accepted me right away and I thoroughly enjoyed my time at the school.
Pros
great colleagues
Cons
a lot of prep time as a sessional instructor
Was this review helpful?Yes2No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Interesting Adventure
Geology Student (Former Employee) –  Calgary, ABMay 5, 2012
- A typical day at work was filled with exploration, mapping, studying and inferring
- Learned various geological techniques (some good… others not so much)
Pros
gained lots of knowledge
Cons
environment, poor teachers
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent University Environment
Post-Doctoral Fellow (Current Employee) –  Calgary, ABJuly 9, 2014
The research being undertaken at the University of Calgary is exceptional, with research opportunities being well supported monetarily and collaboratively.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun when engaging with other students
Volunteer Work (Former Employee) –  Calgary, ABJanuary 16, 2014
My volunteer work consisted of me being pro-active in promoting the Undergraduate Law and Society Association (ULSA) club during "Club Week" at U of C. I assisted in promoting to students from various programs (Business, Communication Studies, Law students, various first year students, etc.); by informally communicating information regarding the events that the club holds, and the organizations that sponsor the club. The people I worked with were fantastic and energetic; we are all very passionate about Law and Society, so I enjoyed volunteering. The hardest part of the job is being able to get students to pay for the sign-up fee, which is collected to place funds towards the events the club coordinates for those who do join. I learned how to campaign effectively, approach students in a orderly manner and I learned how to handle rejection as well as, skills to communicate effectively.
Pros
flexible hours
Cons
having to volunteer overtime, into another volunteers shift, due to them running late
Was this review helpful?YesNo3
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
ups and downs
Instrumentation Technologist (Current Employee) –  Calgary, ABOctober 3, 2012
Its a university, so the money isn't great, and in my field as a chemist, not much room to advance without a Ph.D. Good benefits, expensive pension plan, but a good plan nonetheless.
Pros
benefits
Cons
salary
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A good place to work
Academic Operations Manager (Current Employee) –  Calgary, ABOctober 28, 2013
I work in a fast paced environment with a very diverse group of individuals. There is never a dull moment. I find my job interesting and challenging and things change on a moments notice.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No3
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and Fun Workpalce
Instructor with Minds in Motion (Former Employee) –  Calgary, ABNovember 2, 2014
Excellent workplace for students who are in education and need experience. Flexible and resolvable hours.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Solid employement enviroment, great opportunity, good work-life balance.
Admin Assistant (Former Employee) –  Calgary, ABApril 13, 2013
I was multitasking during the working day, from 8:30 until 4:30.
Basically, I had to know all required policies and procedures including administrative assistant manuals. I have learned to obtain requisitions, to use PeopleSoft system, and room access programing as well. Additionally, during my work at the University of Calgary, I've completed courses in Communication Strategies for Leading Groups, Human Behavior in Organizations, Management Communications Interpersonal Skills, and Learning Online course at Continued Education.
The top management and closest co-workers were very supportive and friendly.
The hardest part of the job was my supervisor with her micromanagement attitude.
Any way, I very much enjoyed to my work, took great pride in my accomplishments there, and gained much satisfaction,knowing that my work was an important part of the whole process. There was every day a chance to do something great.
Pros
great co-workers
Cons
no real cons, it was good working there.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive work environment
Teaching Assistant, Finance (Former Employee) –  Calgary, ABDecember 6, 2014
Sessional teaching assistant so the hours are based are set once a week for the semester.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun workplace. People are great to work with.
Porter/ Administrative assistant (Current Employee) –  Calgary, ABJune 9, 2014
I love my job at the university.
The best part of my job are the people i work with.
Pros
great benifits and work mates.
Cons
none.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good people
MBA Recruitment Specialist (Current Employee) –  Calgary, ABNovember 12, 2014
You get to sell something positive.

I learned the importance of face to face interactions when it comes to sales.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great job opportunity
Bilingual Research Assistant (Former Employee) –  Calgary, ABJuly 12, 2014
It was not a permanent position, but I did enjoy doing research for the French Immersion program and the professor I was working with was great.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The best place to work for if life and work balance is the main objective
Research Associate (Former Employee) –  Calgary, ABOctober 17, 2013
Science oriented environment with relatively slower pace compared to the industry which offers less stressful workplace
Was this review helpful?Yes4No3
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Working with classmates is fun
Teaching Assistant (Former Employee) –  Calgary, ABMay 6, 2012
Working on group assignments or projects with students at university makes you active.
Pros
volunteering opportunities
Cons
not too much health coverage, high tuition
Was this review helpful?Yes2No
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
An intellectually challenging and rewarding atmosphere.
Teaching Assistant (Former Employee) –  Calgary, ABMay 12, 2013
A great place to work and study and exchange knowledge and ideas. However, just like other educational institutions, underfunded.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great people, to much deligation
accounts receivable (Current Employee) –  Calgary, ABJuly 2, 2014
working for the University of Calgary is great, just dont let them pile to much work on you or you will drown.
Pros
flexable
Cons
to much work
Was this review helpful?Yes2No
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Research Technician (Former Employee) –  Calgary, ABAugust 1, 2013
Overall it was a good experience for me to work at the University of Calgary before I decided to change my qualification from Research Technician to Quality.
Was this review helpful?YesNo1
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun place to work
Graduate teaching Assistant (Former Employee) –  Calgary, ABJanuary 12, 2014
Broad and Interesting intellectuals to work with
Excellent managerial team
very supportive environment for learning and work
Was this review helpful?YesNo1
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Quality Assurance Manager (Former Employee) –  Calgary, ABNovember 4, 2014
People are nice and the work is meaningful. I learned a lot and people are very respectful.
Was this review helpful?YesNo

Overall rating

4.2
Based on 110 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Culture