University of Calgary

University of Calgary Employee Reviews

Found 127 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Every day is something different and I love diversity in the workplace!
Administrative Assistant (Current Employee) –  Calgary, AB18 June 2014
Working with the University of Calgary has privileged me to meet new people from various cultures.

One of my strongest attributes is being a "people person". I have been able to work at the Information/Security Desk covering in the absence of the admin. Meeting and greeting people is and it has been noticed by my co-workers.

Because of the job title I am in it allows me to float to different offices covering for the administrative staff while they are away. Helping with filing back log, faxing, making new files or helping with the doctors.
Pros
Meeting new people, taking courses for free, excellent benefits with Flexible Spending Account.
Cons
Not always shown appreciation for my effort from Team Lead(s).
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Easy-going and fun atmosphere
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Calgary12 June 2014
Very friendly work atmosphere. A typical day involved answering customer/student enquiries about reading material such as required texts. I found the position enjoyable. The hardest part was telling students that a book order was delayed, especially when they required the text right away.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun workplace. People are great to work with.
Porter/ Administrative assistant (Current Employee) –  Calgary, AB9 June 2014
I love my job at the university.
The best part of my job are the people i work with.
Pros
Great benifits and work mates.
Cons
none.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Research Opps Galore
Research Assistant (Former Employee) –  Calgary, Canada8 June 2014
Plenty of places to suggest research ideas and support to develop them
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good starting company
Field and Technical Researcher (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB6 June 2014
Respectful work environment, could use more financial intensive.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
nice university
Research Assistant (Former Employee) –  calgary3 June 2014
university of calgary provides great environment for study
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and organized atmosphere
Music Librarian (Current Employee) –  Calgary, AB21 May 2014
- learned how to organize and manage sheet music
- coordinated with musical directors and ensemble members
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice workplace
Postdoctoral Research Fellow in Chemistry (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB15 May 2014
Nice people to deal with.
Flexible working time.
Good management.
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
research assistant
Research Assistant (Former Employee) –  calgary, AB6 May 2014
Assist research investigation by performing literature search and review
Assist with data collection, assorting and verification
Conduct the proper documentation of procedural actions as well as results
Update on current literature as directed by supervisor to enhance research capability
Pros
interesting topic
Cons
depends on the research fund
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and active
INTRAMURAL SPORTS UNIVERSITY OF CALGARY (Former Employee) –  Calgary6 May 2014
Supervising and preparing the field for Flag football and soccer.
I learn to communicate and making good decision when incidents happen. The hardest part of the job is to solve the problems on the field and the most enjoyable part it is fun to watch people playing sport.
Pros
Friendly people and flexible hours
Cons
Poorly pay
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Analytical and quantum Chemical research
Postdoctoral fellow (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB22 April 2014
Analytical and quantum Chemical research on heterogeneous catalysis.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It is Nice and active lace
Research Assistant (Current Employee) –  Calgary, AB10 April 2014
It is a progressive and challenging media which makes it live and interesting to work.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to wrok and gain banquet/catering experience
Catering Supervisor/Chef de Partie (Current Employee) –  Calgary, AB10 March 2014
Monday to Friday with occasional weekend shifts (depending on the business volume). I work with a great team of banquet cooks who love their job, and enjoy working at the UofC. The various elements of buffet, personal VIP dishes, and over the average allergy and food restriction requests - all of that creates a job environment where one must always be 100% cautious of his/her actions. Being surrounded by a team of loyal and fun employees and great, skilled management team - becomes the most enjoyable part of the job.
Pros
great balance of work and personal life
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Few options to move up
Administrative Assistant, Metabolic Research Team (Current Employee) –  Calgary, AB3 March 2014
Typical day - sit at desk and type
Learned - right hand doesn't know what left hand is doing administratively
Management - depends entirely on who you report to
Co-workers - friendly, helpful
Hardest part - learning how processes work this week
Enjoyable - feel at home at university
Was this review helpful?Yes8NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great people to work with
Marketing Instructor (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB12 February 2014
As a sessional instructor it can be challenging at times. My colleagues accepted me right away and I thoroughly enjoyed my time at the school.
Pros
Great colleagues
Cons
A lot of prep time as a sessional instructor
Was this review helpful?Yes2No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun when engaging with other students
Volunteer Work (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB16 January 2014
My volunteer work consisted of me being pro-active in promoting the Undergraduate Law and Society Association (ULSA) club during "Club Week" at U of C. I assisted in promoting to students from various programs (Business, Communication Studies, Law students, various first year students, etc.); by informally communicating information regarding the events that the club holds, and the organizations that sponsor the club. The people I worked with were fantastic and energetic; we are all very passionate about Law and Society, so I enjoyed volunteering. The hardest part of the job is being able to get students to pay for the sign-up fee, which is collected to place funds towards the events the club coordinates for those who do join. I learned how to campaign effectively, approach students in a orderly manner and I learned how to handle rejection as well as, skills to communicate effectively.
Pros
Flexible hours
Cons
Having to volunteer overtime, into another volunteers shift, due to them running late
Was this review helpful?YesNo3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun place to work
Graduate teaching Assistant (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB12 January 2014
Broad and Interesting intellectuals to work with
Excellent managerial team
very supportive environment for learning and work
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent place to work, employees are treated exceptionally well
Accounts Payable Administrator (Former Employee) –  Calgary8 January 2014
I very much enjoyed my time furthering my accounting experience at the University, however eventually concluded that I wished to return to my legal assisting roots.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good work place
Senior Financial Analyst (Current Employee) –  calgary6 January 2014
Good work atmosphere , helpful co-workers and innovative .
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Learning oportunity
Research Assistant (Former Employee) –  Calgary, Alberta4 December 2013
As a research Assistant I was given quite a bit of responsibility and was able to participate in a vast array of jobs. I learned many things, however the rate of pay was minimal and there was very little proper safety measures in place for workers.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No2Report

Overall rating

4.2
Based on 130 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
4.1
Salary/Benefits
3.6
Job Security/Advancement
3.5
Management
3.7
Culture
4.0

University of Calgary Reviews by Location