University of Calgary Employee Reviews

Found 121 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A challenging work environment
Graduate Teaching Assistant (GAT) (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB8 June 2013
Working as a Graduate Teaching Assistant (GAT) keeps you on your toes all the time because you have deadlines to meet, papers to grade, and students to advise. Overall, it is richly rewarding because you are helping to make people's life better. More so, the University of Calgary provides you with a conducive environment to excel on the job.
Pros
You are constantly learning
Cons
It is seasonal
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
awesome work environment
Server/Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB7 January 2015
A typical day is:
set up the station
make a good looking display
excellent customer service
answer customer questions about meal's preparation and warning about allergies
information about nutrition facts
good coordination with the people in the kitchen
Pros
the customer satisfaction and their smiles
Cons
some time, ong hours
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work and learn
Accounts Payable Manager (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB27 March 2013
Good place to work and learn.
35 hrs a week, good management, experienced team, not much overtime.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Reading papers and performing experiment
Research Assistant (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB29 November 2013
Reading papers on oil&gas indudtry
Performed experiment of In-situ upgrading of heavy oil by DC electricity
Learned lots of knowledge of Test and Oil & gas science
Organized experiment
My co-workers are nice and warm heart
The hardest part of the job is installation of the experiment
The most enjoyable part of the job is conducting experiment
Was this review helpful?YesNo2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great research opportunities
Research and Teaching Assistant (Former Employee) –  Calgary17 November 2014
At the Schulich school of engineering, graduate students have the opportunity to closely collaborate with professionals from the related industry. Department of Chemical and Petroleum Engineering is well-known for its world renowned scholars and professors and close collaboration with oil industry.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
research assistant
Research Assistant (Former Employee) –  calgary, AB6 May 2014
Assist research investigation by performing literature search and review
Assist with data collection, assorting and verification
Conduct the proper documentation of procedural actions as well as results
Update on current literature as directed by supervisor to enhance research capability
Pros
interesting topic
Cons
depends on the research fund
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very independent and responsible job
Field/Lab Research Assistant (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB28 April 2012
As a field/lab assistant the work schedule is very different from any typical 9 to 5 job. Field work is based on the seasons and the weather, lab work is done whenever field work cant be done. This was a very independent job experience, where I learned to set and accomplish personal goals and deadlines. Highly self motivating.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun to work
Project Manager (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB1 March 2013
• Responsible for $10m budget program within the three constraints.
 MS Suite Implementation project
 Network Infrastructure renewal project
• Responsible to communicate with the Internal & External project stakeholders
• Executes policies and procedures for the engagement project, e.g. quality assurance, Communication plan, and setting up the environment.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Postdoctoral Research Fellow (Current Employee) –  Calgary, AB17 March 2015
My job as a researcher at the UofC do not involve interacting with others often.
The job is easy in general as long as you are productive, you manage your own schedule which gives flexibility to parents with kids. The only problem is, it is not a permanent job.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and active
INTRAMURAL SPORTS UNIVERSITY OF CALGARY (Former Employee) –  Calgary6 May 2014
Supervising and preparing the field for Flag football and soccer.
I learn to communicate and making good decision when incidents happen. The hardest part of the job is to solve the problems on the field and the most enjoyable part it is fun to watch people playing sport.
Pros
Friendly people and flexible hours
Cons
Poorly pay
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice workplace
Postdoctoral Research Fellow in Chemistry (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB15 May 2014
Nice people to deal with.
Flexible working time.
Good management.
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Superb experience
Senior Administrative Assistant (Former Employee) –  Alberta1 April 2015
A sense of resourcefulness served me well in this role! I had the privilege of supporting a dynamic, cohesive team. It was the most stunning example of professionalism that I've encountered in a workplace.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Easy-going and fun atmosphere
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Calgary12 June 2014
Very friendly work atmosphere. A typical day involved answering customer/student enquiries about reading material such as required texts. I found the position enjoyable. The hardest part was telling students that a book order was delayed, especially when they required the text right away.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not enough work
Administrative Assistant/Receptionist (Temp) (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB1 August 2013
I never seemed to have enough work to do. I was always efficient in the work they gave me, but maybe too efficient. The co workers were nice people, but were hard to get to know.
I really liked the environment and working at a university.
Pros
Classes I could take
Cons
not enough wok
Was this review helpful?Yes2No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun workplace
Open cerebrovascular felloship (Current Employee) –  Calgary, AB9 June 2013
I love neurosurgery and I enjoy everything in neurosurgery. I like team work, hard working, and collaboration of experiences.
I love cerebrovascular/Endovascular, Spine, neurotrauma and radiosurgery and recently Image guided neurosurgery.
Pros
Great education
Cons
Non
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Educational
Executive Assistant to the Executive Director (Current Employee) –  Calgary, AB18 November 2012
I have never worked in an educational enviroment before and found it challenging in many different aspects. I enjoyed the working enviroment as it was fast paced and ever changing.
Pros
fast paced and constantly changing
Cons
no training or processes in place for the role
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
under new management
Analyst (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB11 October 2012
Management has rolled over many times in the last few months with no clear direction. Staff moral is low.
Was this review helpful?Yes6NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very productive, fast learning environment
Research Assistant (Current Employee) –  Calgary, AB20 June 2013
I have gained lots of theoretical and experimental knowledge about thermal and hydro cracking of heavy oil bitumen using thermocouple reactor. In addition to run experiments and collect data I was introduced to many techniques of data analysis
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I am a reserch assitant as well as a Master student
Research Assistant (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB11 December 2014
My responsibilities include work on CMOS image sensor chip desgin in Cadence, PCB design in Altium, matlab programming in MPLab, NI DAQ device programming in C and image analyzing and processing in Matlab.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent place to work, employees are treated exceptionally well
Accounts Payable Administrator (Former Employee) –  Calgary8 January 2014
I very much enjoyed my time furthering my accounting experience at the University, however eventually concluded that I wished to return to my legal assisting roots.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1Report

Overall rating

4.2
Based on 124 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
4.1
Salary/Benefits
3.6
Job Security/Advancement
3.5
Management
3.7
Culture
3.9

University of Calgary Reviews by Location