University of Calgary

University of Calgary Employee Reviews in Canada

Found 102 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Quality Assurance Manager (Former Employee) –  Calgary, ABNovember 4, 2014
People are nice and the work is meaningful. I learned a lot and people are very respectful.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very independent and responsible job
Field/Lab Research Assistant (Former Employee) –  Calgary, ABApril 28, 2012
As a field/lab assistant the work schedule is very different from any typical 9 to 5 job. Field work is based on the seasons and the weather, lab work is done whenever field work cant be done. This was a very independent job experience, where I learned to set and accomplish personal goals and deadlines. Highly self motivating.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun to work
Project Manager (Former Employee) –  Calgary, ABMarch 1, 2013
• Responsible for $10m budget program within the three constraints.
 MS Suite Implementation project
 Network Infrastructure renewal project
• Responsible to communicate with the Internal & External project stakeholders
• Executes policies and procedures for the engagement project, e.g. quality assurance, Communication plan, and setting up the environment.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent University Environment
Post-Doctoral Fellow (Current Employee) –  Calgary, ABJuly 9, 2014
The research being undertaken at the University of Calgary is exceptional, with research opportunities being well supported monetarily and collaboratively.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun workplace
Open cerebrovascular felloship (Current Employee) –  Calgary, ABJune 9, 2013
I love neurosurgery and I enjoy everything in neurosurgery. I like team work, hard working, and collaboration of experiences.
I love cerebrovascular/Endovascular, Spine, neurotrauma and radiosurgery and recently Image guided neurosurgery.
Pros
great education
Cons
non
Was this review helpful?YesNo1
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not enough work
Administrative Assistant/Receptionist (Temp) (Former Employee) –  Calgary, ABAugust 1, 2013
I never seemed to have enough work to do. I was always efficient in the work they gave me, but maybe too efficient. The co workers were nice people, but were hard to get to know.
I really liked the environment and working at a university.
Pros
classes i could take
Cons
not enough wok
Was this review helpful?Yes2No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Educational
Executive Assistant to the Executive Director (Current Employee) –  Calgary, ABNovember 18, 2012
I have never worked in an educational enviroment before and found it challenging in many different aspects. I enjoyed the working enviroment as it was fast paced and ever changing.
Pros
fast paced and constantly changing
Cons
no training or processes in place for the role
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
under new management
Analyst (Former Employee) –  Calgary, ABOctober 11, 2012
Management has rolled over many times in the last few months with no clear direction. Staff moral is low.
Was this review helpful?Yes6No
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very productive, fast learning environment
Research Assistant (Current Employee) –  Calgary, ABJune 20, 2013
I have gained lots of theoretical and experimental knowledge about thermal and hydro cracking of heavy oil bitumen using thermocouple reactor. In addition to run experiments and collect data I was introduced to many techniques of data analysis
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The best place to work for if life and work balance is the main objective
Research Associate (Former Employee) –  Calgary, ABOctober 17, 2013
Science oriented environment with relatively slower pace compared to the industry which offers less stressful workplace
Was this review helpful?Yes4No3
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent place to work, employees are treated exceptionally well
Accounts Payable Administrator (Former Employee) –  CalgaryJanuary 8, 2014
I very much enjoyed my time furthering my accounting experience at the University, however eventually concluded that I wished to return to my legal assisting roots.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Learning oportunity
Research Assistant (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AlbertaDecember 4, 2013
As a research Assistant I was given quite a bit of responsibility and was able to participate in a vast array of jobs. I learned many things, however the rate of pay was minimal and there was very little proper safety measures in place for workers.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great job opportunity
Bilingual Research Assistant (Former Employee) –  Calgary, ABJuly 12, 2014
It was not a permanent position, but I did enjoy doing research for the French Immersion program and the professor I was working with was great.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent experience.
Casual Assistant/Study Monitor (Former Employee) –  Calgary, ABFebruary 21, 2013
My supervisors were the best. Made sure I felt welcome, comfortable and I was looked after. We need more organizations who value their employees, temp. or pernament staff.
Pros
close to my home, could walk to work.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
U of C is where everyone tants to join
Teaching Assistant (Current Employee) –  Calgary, ABSeptember 4, 2012
Working as a Teaching Assistant in the department of chemistry has been an exciting experience for me. The colleagues, administrative staff and the faculty at U of C are supportive, a factor that brings the best out of everyone.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great people, to much deligation
accounts receivable (Current Employee) –  Calgary, ABJuly 2, 2014
working for the University of Calgary is great, just dont let them pile to much work on you or you will drown.
Pros
flexable
Cons
to much work
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great people to work with
Marketing Instructor (Former Employee) –  Calgary, ABFebruary 12, 2014
As a sessional instructor it can be challenging at times. My colleagues accepted me right away and I thoroughly enjoyed my time at the school.
Pros
great colleagues
Cons
a lot of prep time as a sessional instructor
Was this review helpful?Yes2No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Interesting Adventure
Geology Student (Former Employee) –  Calgary, ABMay 5, 2012
- A typical day at work was filled with exploration, mapping, studying and inferring
- Learned various geological techniques (some good… others not so much)
Pros
gained lots of knowledge
Cons
environment, poor teachers
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It is Nice and active lace
Research Assistant (Current Employee) –  Calgary, ABApril 10, 2014
It is a progressive and challenging media which makes it live and interesting to work.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A good place to work
Academic Operations Manager (Current Employee) –  Calgary, ABOctober 28, 2013
I work in a fast paced environment with a very diverse group of individuals. There is never a dull moment. I find my job interesting and challenging and things change on a moments notice.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No3

Overall rating

4.2
Based on 105 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Culture