Find companies:
University of Calgary
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
67 reviews

University of Calgary Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work and learn
Accounts Payable Manager (Former Employee), Calgary, ABMarch 27, 2013
Good place to work and learn.
35 hrs a week, good management, experienced team, not much overtime.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun to work
Project Manager (Former Employee), Calgary, ABMarch 1, 2013
• Responsible for $10m budget program within the three constraints.
 MS Suite Implementation project
 Network Infrastructure renewal project
• Responsible to communicate with the Internal & External project stakeholders
• Executes policies and procedures for the engagement project, e.g. quality assurance, Communication plan, and setting up the environment.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent experience.
Casual Assistant/Study Monitor (Former Employee), Calgary, ABFebruary 21, 2013
Pros: close to my home, could walk to work.
My supervisors were the best. Made sure I felt welcome, comfortable and I was looked after. We need more organizations who value their employees, temp. or pernament staff.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Graduate studied at UofC
Experimental and Simulation Researcher-PhD Student (Current Employee), Calgary, ABFebruary 19, 2013
Pros: work in university and access to labs and simulators
Cons: lack of idustry experience
Achieving research at University of Calgary is a great opportunity for me to learn as much as possible. All people in the research group do their best to raise the quality of work and enhance the knowledge in petroleum engineering. The hardest and most enjoyable parts of work are dealing with difficult problems and reo=solving them.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good for work/life balance
Recruitment Events Coordinator (Current Employee), Calgary, ABFebruary 4, 2013
Pros: good work/life balance
Cons: lower pay
Good place to be if you want job security and work/life balance. However, it does not offer much in the way of career advancement unless you've been there for an extremely long time. Unionized environment. Access to campus facilities.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Assisted the Economics Professors
Teacher's Assistant (Former Employee), Calgary, ABDecember 22, 2012
Conducting invigilation's, evaluations and marking exams.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good
Research Assistant, Software Engineering (Former Employee), Calgary, ABNovember 20, 2012
It was a great place for learning, education, practice and work.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Educational
Executive Assistant to the Executive Director (Current Employee), Calgary, ABNovember 18, 2012
Pros: fast paced and constantly changing
Cons: no training or processes in place for the role
I have never worked in an educational enviroment before and found it challenging in many different aspects. I enjoyed the working enviroment as it was fast paced and ever changing.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Learning Experience
Community Advisor (Former Employee), Calgary, ABOctober 22, 2012
Pros: networking
Cons: hours were all over the place
I worked as a Community Advisor(CA) during my last two years of my University degree. It was enjoyable and I had to live in residence. I found balancing between my job as a CA and finishing my work for classes was difficult but it definitely taught me how to multi-task. The hardest part of the job was dealing with adults who were violating rules. The – more... most enjoyable part of the job was meeting new students. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
under new management
Analyst (Former Employee), Calgary, ABOctober 11, 2012
Management has rolled over many times in the last few months with no clear direction. Staff moral is low.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
ups and downs
Instrumentation Technologist (Current Employee), Calgary, ABOctober 3, 2012
Pros: benefits
Cons: salary
Its a university, so the money isn't great, and in my field as a chemist, not much room to advance without a Ph.D. Good benefits, expensive pension plan, but a good plan nonetheless.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
U of C is where everyone tants to join
Teaching Assistant (Current Employee), Calgary, ABSeptember 4, 2012
Working as a Teaching Assistant in the department of chemistry has been an exciting experience for me. The colleagues, administrative staff and the faculty at U of C are supportive, a factor that brings the best out of everyone.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice
P.A.S.S. Leader (Current Employee), Calgary, ABAugust 19, 2012
Nice place to work, friendly co-workers honest environment.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Research work environment
Research Assistant (Former Employee), Calgary, ABAugust 18, 2012
Pros: no free lunches
Cons: sometime long hours.
Highly supervised work including private work for the research Head. This required after hour work schedule.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great benefits
Administrative Secretary (Former Employee), Calgary, ABJune 25, 2012
Pros: great place
Cons: can be long hours
flexible, interesting, good location, lots of variety of jobs to work in
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Interesting Adventure
Geology Student (Former Employee), Calgary, ABMay 5, 2012
Pros: gained lots of knowledge
Cons: environment, poor teachers
- A typical day at work was filled with exploration, mapping, studying and inferring
- Learned various geological techniques (some good… others not so much)
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very independent and responsible job
Field/Lab Research Assistant (Former Employee), Calgary, ABApril 28, 2012
As a field/lab assistant the work schedule is very different from any typical 9 to 5 job. Field work is based on the seasons and the weather, lab work is done whenever field work cant be done. This was a very independent job experience, where I learned to set and accomplish personal goals and deadlines. Highly self motivating.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Graduate student life.
Graduate research assistant (Current Employee), Calgary, ABApril 11, 2012
Pros: multicultural environment and lots of team work.
You will have great opportunity at the University of Calgary.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Research Opps Galore
Research Assistant (Former Employee), Calgary, CanadaJune 8, 2014
Plenty of places to suggest research ideas and support to develop them
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
research assistant
Research Assistant (Former Employee), calgary, ABMay 6, 2014
Pros: interesting topic
Cons: depends on the research fund
Assist research investigation by performing literature search and review
Assist with data collection, assorting and verification
Conduct the proper documentation of procedural actions as well as results
Update on current literature as directed by supervisor to enhance research capability

About University of Calgary

The University of Calgary (sometimes abbreviated "The U of C") is a public university in Calgary, Alberta, Canada. The – Read more