University of Calgary

University of Calgary Employee Reviews

Found 116 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive, well coordinated and an enjoyable place to work.
Library Assistant (Former Employee) –  Calgary, ABAugust 4, 2014
A typical day at work would include processing outgoing books, organizing incoming books and inputting book data into the computer system. Management was excellent and very accommodating of my school schedule which was appreciated. I had great co-workers, which made the job that much better.
Cons
low pay
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Few options to move up
Administrative Assistant, Metabolic Research Team (Current Employee) –  Calgary, ABMarch 3, 2014
Typical day - sit at desk and type
Learned - right hand doesn't know what left hand is doing administratively
Management - depends entirely on who you report to
Co-workers - friendly, helpful
Hardest part - learning how processes work this week
Enjoyable - feel at home at university
Was this review helpful?Yes7NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good interim job
Technical Assistant (Former Employee) –  Calgary, ABMay 27, 2015
Only worked for them a year. Seemed like a good place, but I didn't plan to stay in the position from the start. It was a filler while looking for better work. Very good to work with, but the AUPE union was of no help when looking at better internal positions. The U of C wasn't interested in retaining me at a better job.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stressful but good benefits
Human Resources Operations Assistant (Former Employee) –  Calgary, ABAugust 29, 2013
The pay and benefits are beyond good. But, you'd better have iron will and a great way to relieve stress because you'll be pushed to your limits and then some and then some more. It's a hard, fast, and demanding place to be. But honestly, the benefits do make it worth every bit.
Pros
benefits are amazing
Cons
very stressful work environment
Was this review helpful?Yes8No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun workplace. People are great to work with.
Porter/ Administrative assistant (Current Employee) –  Calgary, ABJune 9, 2014
I love my job at the university.
The best part of my job are the people i work with.
Pros
great benifits and work mates.
Cons
none.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Faculty of Medicine
Administration (Former Employee) –  CalgaryApril 11, 2013
The Faculty of Medicine was one of the worst jobs I have ever had. The management was horrible to the staff unless you were one of the staff who had a parent that was a Doctor on staff and there were quite a few. I have never been treated that poorly.
Pros
can't think of any
Cons
pretty much everything
Was this review helpful?Yes4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great values and vision.
EA to the Vice-President (Development) (Current Employee) –  Calgary, ABJuly 4, 2013
Lots of variety.
The hardest part of the job is "work-life balance".
Co-workers are enthusiastic.
Pros
flexibility
Cons
lack of work-life balance
Was this review helpful?Yes8No3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Never a dull moment
Associate Director (Research) (Former Employee) –  Calgary, ABSeptember 30, 2013
The university offers a great place to work flexible hours and have a fulfilling career.
Pros
flexibility
Cons
lack of upward movement
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
researcher and biologist
Research Assistant (Current Employee) –  Calgary, ABNovember 25, 2014
It is excellent place and friendly environment with lots of benefits.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun when engaging with other students
Volunteer Work (Former Employee) –  Calgary, ABJanuary 16, 2014
My volunteer work consisted of me being pro-active in promoting the Undergraduate Law and Society Association (ULSA) club during "Club Week" at U of C. I assisted in promoting to students from various programs (Business, Communication Studies, Law students, various first year students, etc.); by informally communicating information regarding the events that the club holds, and the organizations that sponsor the club. The people I worked with were fantastic and energetic; we are all very passionate about Law and Society, so I enjoyed volunteering. The hardest part of the job is being able to get students to pay for the sign-up fee, which is collected to place funds towards the events the club coordinates for those who do join. I learned how to campaign effectively, approach students in a orderly manner and I learned how to handle rejection as well as, skills to communicate effectively.
Pros
flexible hours
Cons
having to volunteer overtime, into another volunteers shift, due to them running late
Was this review helpful?YesNo3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
ups and downs
Instrumentation Technologist (Current Employee) –  Calgary, ABOctober 3, 2012
Its a university, so the money isn't great, and in my field as a chemist, not much room to advance without a Ph.D. Good benefits, expensive pension plan, but a good plan nonetheless.
Pros
benefits
Cons
salary
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Research work environment
Research Assistant (Former Employee) –  Calgary, ABAugust 18, 2012
Highly supervised work including private work for the research Head. This required after hour work schedule.
Pros
no free lunches
Cons
sometime long hours.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The best broadcasting experience you could ask for.
Play-by-Play Broadcaster (Current Employee) –  Calgary, ABApril 2, 2013
The great thing about doing playbyplay at the University of Calgary is how much they much put into the presentation of live sports events. Unlike many universities in Canada, they have a full production team behind their webcast, it's essentially made for TV. It It includes multiple camera angles, replay, live interviews, etc., unlike many webcasts which have just the stationary camera moving back and forth. I'm so thankful to be continuing my playbyplay dream at such a great working environment.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work and learn
Accounts Payable Manager (Former Employee) –  Calgary, ABMarch 27, 2013
Good place to work and learn.
35 hrs a week, good management, experienced team, not much overtime.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great benefits
Administrative Secretary (Former Employee) –  Calgary, ABJune 25, 2012
flexible, interesting, good location, lots of variety of jobs to work in
Pros
great place
Cons
can be long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Superb experience
Senior Administrative Assistant (Former Employee) –  AlbertaApril 1, 2015
A sense of resourcefulness served me well in this role! I had the privilege of supporting a dynamic, cohesive team. It was the most stunning example of professionalism that I've encountered in a workplace.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice workplace
Postdoctoral Research Fellow in Chemistry (Former Employee) –  Calgary, ABMay 15, 2014
Nice people to deal with.
Flexible working time.
Good management.
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Postdoctoral Research Fellow (Current Employee) –  Calgary, ABMarch 17, 2015
My job as a researcher at the UofC do not involve interacting with others often.
The job is easy in general as long as you are productive, you manage your own schedule which gives flexibility to parents with kids. The only problem is, it is not a permanent job.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
under new management
Analyst (Former Employee) –  Calgary, ABOctober 11, 2012
Management has rolled over many times in the last few months with no clear direction. Staff moral is low.
Was this review helpful?Yes6NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
awesome work environment
Server/Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Calgary, ABJanuary 7, 2015
A typical day is:
set up the station
make a good looking display
excellent customer service
answer customer questions about meal's preparation and warning about allergies
information about nutrition facts
good coordination with the people in the kitchen
Pros
the customer satisfaction and their smiles
Cons
some time, ong hours
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report

Overall rating

4.2
Based on 119 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
4.0
Salary/Benefits
3.6
Job Security/Advancement
3.5
Management
3.7
Culture
4.0

University of Calgary Reviews by Location