University of Calgary

University of Calgary Employee Reviews in Canada

Found 107 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun workplace. People are great to work with.
Porter/ Administrative assistant (Current Employee) –  Calgary, ABJune 9, 2014
I love my job at the university.
The best part of my job are the people i work with.
Pros
great benifits and work mates.
Cons
none.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Postdoctoral Research Fellow (Current Employee) –  Calgary, ABMarch 17, 2015
My job as a researcher at the UofC do not involve interacting with others often.
The job is easy in general as long as you are productive, you manage your own schedule which gives flexibility to parents with kids. The only problem is, it is not a permanent job.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Faculty of Medicine
Administration (Former Employee) –  CalgaryApril 11, 2013
The Faculty of Medicine was one of the worst jobs I have ever had. The management was horrible to the staff unless you were one of the staff who had a parent that was a Doctor on staff and there were quite a few. I have never been treated that poorly.
Pros
can't think of any
Cons
pretty much everything
Was this review helpful?Yes4No
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great values and vision.
EA to the Vice-President (Development) (Current Employee) –  Calgary, ABJuly 4, 2013
Lots of variety.
The hardest part of the job is "work-life balance".
Co-workers are enthusiastic.
Pros
flexibility
Cons
lack of work-life balance
Was this review helpful?Yes8No3
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Never a dull moment
Associate Director (Research) (Former Employee) –  Calgary, ABSeptember 30, 2013
The university offers a great place to work flexible hours and have a fulfilling career.
Pros
flexibility
Cons
lack of upward movement
Was this review helpful?YesNo1
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
awesome work environment
Server/Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Calgary, ABJanuary 7, 2015
A typical day is:
set up the station
make a good looking display
excellent customer service
answer customer questions about meal's preparation and warning about allergies
information about nutrition facts
good coordination with the people in the kitchen
Pros
the customer satisfaction and their smiles
Cons
some time, ong hours
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun when engaging with other students
Volunteer Work (Former Employee) –  Calgary, ABJanuary 16, 2014
My volunteer work consisted of me being pro-active in promoting the Undergraduate Law and Society Association (ULSA) club during "Club Week" at U of C. I assisted in promoting to students from various programs (Business, Communication Studies, Law students, various first year students, etc.); by informally communicating information regarding the events that the club holds, and the organizations that sponsor the club. The people I worked with were fantastic and energetic; we are all very passionate about Law and Society, so I enjoyed volunteering. The hardest part of the job is being able to get students to pay for the sign-up fee, which is collected to place funds towards the events the club coordinates for those who do join. I learned how to campaign effectively, approach students in a orderly manner and I learned how to handle rejection as well as, skills to communicate effectively.
Pros
flexible hours
Cons
having to volunteer overtime, into another volunteers shift, due to them running late
Was this review helpful?YesNo3
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
ups and downs
Instrumentation Technologist (Current Employee) –  Calgary, ABOctober 3, 2012
Its a university, so the money isn't great, and in my field as a chemist, not much room to advance without a Ph.D. Good benefits, expensive pension plan, but a good plan nonetheless.
Pros
benefits
Cons
salary
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Research work environment
Research Assistant (Former Employee) –  Calgary, ABAugust 18, 2012
Highly supervised work including private work for the research Head. This required after hour work schedule.
Pros
no free lunches
Cons
sometime long hours.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The best broadcasting experience you could ask for.
Play-by-Play Broadcaster (Current Employee) –  Calgary, ABApril 2, 2013
The great thing about doing playbyplay at the University of Calgary is how much they much put into the presentation of live sports events. Unlike many universities in Canada, they have a full production team behind their webcast, it's essentially made for TV. It It includes multiple camera angles, replay, live interviews, etc., unlike many webcasts which have just the stationary camera moving back and forth. I'm so thankful to be continuing my playbyplay dream at such a great working environment.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work and learn
Accounts Payable Manager (Former Employee) –  Calgary, ABMarch 27, 2013
Good place to work and learn.
35 hrs a week, good management, experienced team, not much overtime.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great benefits
Administrative Secretary (Former Employee) –  Calgary, ABJune 25, 2012
flexible, interesting, good location, lots of variety of jobs to work in
Pros
great place
Cons
can be long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice workplace
Postdoctoral Research Fellow in Chemistry (Former Employee) –  Calgary, ABMay 15, 2014
Nice people to deal with.
Flexible working time.
Good management.
Was this review helpful?YesNo1
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great research opportunities
Research and Teaching Assistant (Former Employee) –  CalgaryNovember 17, 2014
At the Schulich school of engineering, graduate students have the opportunity to closely collaborate with professionals from the related industry. Department of Chemical and Petroleum Engineering is well-known for its world renowned scholars and professors and close collaboration with oil industry.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
under new management
Analyst (Former Employee) –  Calgary, ABOctober 11, 2012
Management has rolled over many times in the last few months with no clear direction. Staff moral is low.
Was this review helpful?Yes6No
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Educational and enjoyable
Sponsorship Commissioner (volunteer) (Current Employee) –  Calgary, ABJanuary 19, 2015
UofC is a great place to get involved in extracurricular activities and gain valuable experiences.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I am a reserch assitant as well as a Master student
Research Assistant (Former Employee) –  Calgary, ABDecember 11, 2014
My responsibilities include work on CMOS image sensor chip desgin in Cadence, PCB design in Altium, matlab programming in MPLab, NI DAQ device programming in C and image analyzing and processing in Matlab.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Learning Experience
Community Advisor (Former Employee) –  Calgary, ABOctober 22, 2012
I worked as a Community Advisor(CA) during my last two years of my University degree. It was enjoyable and I had to live in residence. I found balancing between my job as a CA and finishing my work for classes was difficult but it definitely taught me how to multi-task. The hardest part of the job was dealing with adults who were violating rules. The most enjoyable part of the job was meeting new students.
Pros
networking
Cons
hours were all over the place
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A challenging work environment
Graduate Teaching Assistant (GAT) (Former Employee) –  Calgary, ABJune 8, 2013
Working as a Graduate Teaching Assistant (GAT) keeps you on your toes all the time because you have deadlines to meet, papers to grade, and students to advise. Overall, it is richly rewarding because you are helping to make people's life better. More so, the University of Calgary provides you with a conducive environment to excel on the job.
Pros
you are constantly learning
Cons
it is seasonal
Was this review helpful?YesNo1
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
research assistant
Research Assistant (Former Employee) –  calgary, ABMay 6, 2014
Assist research investigation by performing literature search and review
Assist with data collection, assorting and verification
Conduct the proper documentation of procedural actions as well as results
Update on current literature as directed by supervisor to enhance research capability
Pros
interesting topic
Cons
depends on the research fund
Was this review helpful?YesNo

Overall rating

4.2
Based on 110 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Culture