University of Calgary

University of Calgary Employee Reviews

Found 121 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not for the driven
Manager, Technical Services (Current Employee) –  Calgary, AB28 February 2015
Working at the University of Calgary as a member of the staff is a real mixed bag. The job security, salary and benefits are all good to great. But it is an environment that tolerates poor performance and fails to reward good performance. As a result, there is no incentive to do well at your job. So if you like to perform and be rewarded for it, this may not be the place for you. If you want to slide into retirement, it may be.
Pros
Flexible hours, good benefits, low stress
Cons
Unrewarding work, poor wage growth, unnecessarily hierarchical
Was this review helpful?Yes10NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Educational and enjoyable
Sponsorship Commissioner (volunteer) (Current Employee) –  Calgary, AB19 January 2015
UofC is a great place to get involved in extracurricular activities and gain valuable experiences.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
awesome work environment
Server/Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB7 January 2015
A typical day is:
set up the station
make a good looking display
excellent customer service
answer customer questions about meal's preparation and warning about allergies
information about nutrition facts
good coordination with the people in the kitchen
Pros
the customer satisfaction and their smiles
Cons
some time, ong hours
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I am a reserch assitant as well as a Master student
Research Assistant (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB11 December 2014
My responsibilities include work on CMOS image sensor chip desgin in Cadence, PCB design in Altium, matlab programming in MPLab, NI DAQ device programming in C and image analyzing and processing in Matlab.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive work environment
Teaching Assistant, Finance (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB6 December 2014
Sessional teaching assistant so the hours are based are set once a week for the semester.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
researcher and biologist
Research Assistant (Current Employee) –  Calgary, AB25 November 2014
It is excellent place and friendly environment with lots of benefits.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great research opportunities
Research and Teaching Assistant (Former Employee) –  Calgary17 November 2014
At the Schulich school of engineering, graduate students have the opportunity to closely collaborate with professionals from the related industry. Department of Chemical and Petroleum Engineering is well-known for its world renowned scholars and professors and close collaboration with oil industry.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good people
MBA Recruitment Specialist (Current Employee) –  Calgary, AB12 November 2014
You get to sell something positive.

I learned the importance of face to face interactions when it comes to sales.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Quality Assurance Manager (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB4 November 2014
People are nice and the work is meaningful. I learned a lot and people are very respectful.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and Fun Workpalce
Instructor with Minds in Motion (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB2 November 2014
Excellent workplace for students who are in education and need experience. Flexible and resolvable hours.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive, well coordinated and an enjoyable place to work.
Library Assistant (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB4 August 2014
A typical day at work would include processing outgoing books, organizing incoming books and inputting book data into the computer system. Management was excellent and very accommodating of my school schedule which was appreciated. I had great co-workers, which made the job that much better.
Cons
Low pay
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great job opportunity
Bilingual Research Assistant (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB12 July 2014
It was not a permanent position, but I did enjoy doing research for the French Immersion program and the professor I was working with was great.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent University Environment
Post-Doctoral Fellow (Current Employee) –  Calgary, AB9 July 2014
The research being undertaken at the University of Calgary is exceptional, with research opportunities being well supported monetarily and collaboratively.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great people, to much deligation
accounts receivable (Current Employee) –  Calgary, AB2 July 2014
working for the University of Calgary is great, just dont let them pile to much work on you or you will drown.
Pros
flexable
Cons
to much work
Was this review helpful?Yes3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Every day is something different and I love diversity in the workplace!
Administrative Assistant (Current Employee) –  Calgary, AB18 June 2014
Working with the University of Calgary has privileged me to meet new people from various cultures.

One of my strongest attributes is being a "people person". I have been able to work at the Information/Security Desk covering in the absence of the admin. Meeting and greeting people is and it has been noticed by my co-workers.

Because of the job title I am in it allows me to float to different offices covering for the administrative staff while they are away. Helping with filing back log, faxing, making new files or helping with the doctors.
Pros
Meeting new people, taking courses for free, excellent benefits with Flexible Spending Account.
Cons
Not always shown appreciation for my effort from Team Lead(s).
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Easy-going and fun atmosphere
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Calgary12 June 2014
Very friendly work atmosphere. A typical day involved answering customer/student enquiries about reading material such as required texts. I found the position enjoyable. The hardest part was telling students that a book order was delayed, especially when they required the text right away.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun workplace. People are great to work with.
Porter/ Administrative assistant (Current Employee) –  Calgary, AB9 June 2014
I love my job at the university.
The best part of my job are the people i work with.
Pros
Great benifits and work mates.
Cons
none.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Research Opps Galore
Research Assistant (Former Employee) –  Calgary, Canada8 June 2014
Plenty of places to suggest research ideas and support to develop them
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good starting company
Field and Technical Researcher (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB6 June 2014
Respectful work environment, could use more financial intensive.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
nice university
Research Assistant (Former Employee) –  calgary3 June 2014
university of calgary provides great environment for study
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report

Overall rating

4.2
Based on 124 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
4.1
Salary/Benefits
3.6
Job Security/Advancement
3.5
Management
3.7
Culture
3.9

University of Calgary Reviews by Location