University of Calgary Employee Reviews

Found 117 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great people, great job
Teaching Assistant (Current Employee) –  Calgary, AB8 July 2015
I loved working as a teaching assistant because not only did I get to interact with students but I also worked alongside some great professors who are knowledgeable in their area. I gained a lot of leadership skills from running tutorial sessions for students and balancing the workload of being both a student and a teaching assistant.
Pros
Great coworkers, flexible
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun workplace. People are great to work with.
Porter/ Administrative assistant (Current Employee) –  Calgary, AB9 June 2014
I love my job at the university.
The best part of my job are the people i work with.
Pros
Great benifits and work mates.
Cons
none.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Faculty of Medicine
Administration (Former Employee) –  Calgary11 April 2013
The Faculty of Medicine was one of the worst jobs I have ever had. The management was horrible to the staff unless you were one of the staff who had a parent that was a Doctor on staff and there were quite a few. I have never been treated that poorly.
Pros
can't think of any
Cons
pretty much everything
Was this review helpful?Yes4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great values and vision.
EA to the Vice-President (Development) (Current Employee) –  Calgary, AB4 July 2013
Lots of variety.
The hardest part of the job is "work-life balance".
Co-workers are enthusiastic.
Pros
Flexibility
Cons
Lack of work-life balance
Was this review helpful?Yes8No3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Never a dull moment
Associate Director (Research) (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB30 September 2013
The university offers a great place to work flexible hours and have a fulfilling career.
Pros
Flexibility
Cons
Lack of upward movement
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
University of Calgary
Graduate teaching assistant (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB14 July 2015
As I worked as a teaching assistant I was not a full time employee. Along with my work I focused on my study. Sometimes it was hard to balance between these two due to exam pressure. Otherwise, it was a great experience to work with different professors, dealing with students and so on.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun when engaging with other students
Volunteer Work (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB16 January 2014
My volunteer work consisted of me being pro-active in promoting the Undergraduate Law and Society Association (ULSA) club during "Club Week" at U of C. I assisted in promoting to students from various programs (Business, Communication Studies, Law students, various first year students, etc.); by informally communicating information regarding the events that the club holds, and the organizations that sponsor the club. The people I worked with were fantastic and energetic; we are all very passionate about Law and Society, so I enjoyed volunteering. The hardest part of the job is being able to get students to pay for the sign-up fee, which is collected to place funds towards the events the club coordinates for those who do join. I learned how to campaign effectively, approach students in a orderly manner and I learned how to handle rejection as well as, skills to communicate effectively.
Pros
Flexible hours
Cons
Having to volunteer overtime, into another volunteers shift, due to them running late
Was this review helpful?YesNo3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good interim job
Technical Assistant (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB27 May 2015
Only worked for them a year. Seemed like a good place, but I didn't plan to stay in the position from the start. It was a filler while looking for better work. Very good to work with, but the AUPE union was of no help when looking at better internal positions. The U of C wasn't interested in retaining me at a better job.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A good place to work
Teaching Assistant (Current Employee) –  Dept of Geosciences27 August 2015
I have worked in the University for past 2 years . Working there as a teaching assistant and taking courses have been a great time for me .
Pros
Good food court
Cons
Difficult Courses
Was this review helpful?YesNo2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
ups and downs
Instrumentation Technologist (Current Employee) –  Calgary, AB3 October 2012
Its a university, so the money isn't great, and in my field as a chemist, not much room to advance without a Ph.D. Good benefits, expensive pension plan, but a good plan nonetheless.
Pros
benefits
Cons
salary
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
researcher and biologist
Research Assistant (Current Employee) –  Calgary, AB25 November 2014
It is excellent place and friendly environment with lots of benefits.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Research work environment
Research Assistant (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB18 August 2012
Highly supervised work including private work for the research Head. This required after hour work schedule.
Pros
no free lunches
Cons
sometime long hours.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This is a fascinating environment to work
Statistical Associate (Current Employee) –  Calgary, AB7 August 2015
University of Calgary is an academic environment with people from diverse background. It provided conducive environment for all her employees and students.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The best broadcasting experience you could ask for.
Play-by-Play Broadcaster (Current Employee) –  Calgary, AB2 April 2013
The great thing about doing playbyplay at the University of Calgary is how much they much put into the presentation of live sports events. Unlike many universities in Canada, they have a full production team behind their webcast, it's essentially made for TV. It It includes multiple camera angles, replay, live interviews, etc., unlike many webcasts which have just the stationary camera moving back and forth. I'm so thankful to be continuing my playbyplay dream at such a great working environment.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work and learn
Accounts Payable Manager (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB27 March 2013
Good place to work and learn.
35 hrs a week, good management, experienced team, not much overtime.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great benefits
Administrative Secretary (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB25 June 2012
flexible, interesting, good location, lots of variety of jobs to work in
Pros
great place
Cons
can be long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice workplace
Postdoctoral Research Fellow in Chemistry (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB15 May 2014
Nice people to deal with.
Flexible working time.
Good management.
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
under new management
Analyst (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB11 October 2012
Management has rolled over many times in the last few months with no clear direction. Staff moral is low.
Was this review helpful?Yes6NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Learning Experience
Community Advisor (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB22 October 2012
I worked as a Community Advisor(CA) during my last two years of my University degree. It was enjoyable and I had to live in residence. I found balancing between my job as a CA and finishing my work for classes was difficult but it definitely taught me how to multi-task. The hardest part of the job was dealing with adults who were violating rules. The most enjoyable part of the job was meeting new students.
Pros
networking
Cons
hours were all over the place
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A challenging work environment
Graduate Teaching Assistant (GAT) (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB8 June 2013
Working as a Graduate Teaching Assistant (GAT) keeps you on your toes all the time because you have deadlines to meet, papers to grade, and students to advise. Overall, it is richly rewarding because you are helping to make people's life better. More so, the University of Calgary provides you with a conducive environment to excel on the job.
Pros
You are constantly learning
Cons
It is seasonal
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report

Overall rating

4.2
Based on 120 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
4.1
Salary/Benefits
3.6
Job Security/Advancement
3.5
Management
3.7
Culture
4.0

University of Calgary Reviews by Location