University of Calgary

97 reviews

University of Calgary Employee Reviews

Found 94 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive work environment
Teaching Assistant, Finance (Former Employee) –  Calgary, ABDecember 6, 2014
Sessional teaching assistant so the hours are based are set once a week for the semester.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
researcher and biologist
Research Assistant (Current Employee) –  Calgary, ABNovember 25, 2014
It is excellent place and friendly environment with lots of benefits.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great research opportunities
Research and Teaching Assistant (Former Employee) –  CalgaryNovember 17, 2014
At the Schulich school of engineering, graduate students have the opportunity to closely collaborate with professionals from the related industry. Department of Chemical and Petroleum Engineering is well-known for its world renowned scholars and professors and close collaboration with oil industry.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good people
MBA Recruitment Specialist (Current Employee) –  Calgary, ABNovember 12, 2014
You get to sell something positive.

I learned the importance of face to face interactions when it comes to sales.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Quality Assurance Manager (Former Employee) –  Calgary, ABNovember 4, 2014
People are nice and the work is meaningful. I learned a lot and people are very respectful.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and Fun Workpalce
Instructor with Minds in Motion (Former Employee) –  Calgary, ABNovember 2, 2014
Excellent workplace for students who are in education and need experience. Flexible and resolvable hours.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive, well coordinated and an enjoyable place to work.
Library Assistant (Former Employee) –  Calgary, ABAugust 4, 2014
A typical day at work would include processing outgoing books, organizing incoming books and inputting book data into the computer system. Management was excellent and very accommodating of my school schedule which was appreciated. I had great co-workers, which made the job that much better.
Cons
low pay
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great job opportunity
Bilingual Research Assistant (Former Employee) –  Calgary, ABJuly 12, 2014
It was not a permanent position, but I did enjoy doing research for the French Immersion program and the professor I was working with was great.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent University Environment
Post-Doctoral Fellow (Current Employee) –  Calgary, ABJuly 9, 2014
The research being undertaken at the University of Calgary is exceptional, with research opportunities being well supported monetarily and collaboratively.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great people, to much deligation
accounts receivable (Current Employee) –  Calgary, ABJuly 2, 2014
working for the University of Calgary is great, just dont let them pile to much work on you or you will drown.
Pros
flexable
Cons
to much work
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Every day is something different and I love diversity in the workplace!
Administrative Assistant (Current Employee) –  Calgary, ABJune 18, 2014
Working with the University of Calgary has privileged me to meet new people from various cultures.

One of my strongest attributes is being a "people person". I have been able to work at the Information/Security Desk covering in the absence of the admin. Meeting and greeting people is and it has been noticed by my co-workers.

Because of the job title I am in it allows me to float to different offices covering for the administrative staff while they are away. Helping with filing back log, faxing, making new files or helping with the doctors.
Pros
meeting new people, taking courses for free, excellent benefits with flexible spending account.
Cons
not always shown appreciation for my effort from team lead(s).
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Easy-going and fun atmosphere
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  CalgaryJune 12, 2014
Very friendly work atmosphere. A typical day involved answering customer/student enquiries about reading material such as required texts. I found the position enjoyable. The hardest part was telling students that a book order was delayed, especially when they required the text right away.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun workplace. People are great to work with.
Porter/ Administrative assistant (Current Employee) –  Calgary, ABJune 9, 2014
I love my job at the university.
The best part of my job are the people i work with.
Pros
great benifits and work mates.
Cons
none.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Research Opps Galore
Research Assistant (Former Employee) –  Calgary, CanadaJune 8, 2014
Plenty of places to suggest research ideas and support to develop them
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good starting company
Field and Technical Researcher (Former Employee) –  Calgary, ABJune 6, 2014
Respectful work environment, could use more financial intensive.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
nice university
Research Assistant (Former Employee) –  calgaryJune 3, 2014
university of calgary provides great environment for study
Was this review helpful?YesNo1
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and organized atmosphere
Music Librarian (Current Employee) –  Calgary, ABMay 21, 2014
- learned how to organize and manage sheet music
- coordinated with musical directors and ensemble members
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice workplace
Postdoctoral Research Fellow in Chemistry (Former Employee) –  Calgary, ABMay 15, 2014
Nice people to deal with.
Flexible working time.
Good management.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
research assistant
Research Assistant (Former Employee) –  calgary, ABMay 6, 2014
Assist research investigation by performing literature search and review
Assist with data collection, assorting and verification
Conduct the proper documentation of procedural actions as well as results
Update on current literature as directed by supervisor to enhance research capability
Pros
interesting topic
Cons
depends on the research fund
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and active
INTRAMURAL SPORTS UNIVERSITY OF CALGARY (Former Employee) –  CalgaryMay 6, 2014
Supervising and preparing the field for Flag football and soccer.
I learn to communicate and making good decision when incidents happen. The hardest part of the job is to solve the problems on the field and the most enjoyable part it is fun to watch people playing sport.
Pros
friendly people and flexible hours
Cons
poorly pay
Was this review helpful?YesNo1

Overall rating

4.2
Based on 97 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Culture