University of Calgary Employee Reviews

Found 117 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It is a nice place to work except for poor leadership
Analyst (Current Employee) –  Calgary, AB17 August 2016
If you are a self-starter, this is a place for you. There is no training and no share of knowledge. This place is full of politics and favoritism especially with the executive/directors/associate directors. If you get along with your manager, director, you may be able to retain your job and get promoted in no time. If you get on their "bad list", you will be gone no matters how good you are at your job. The only great thing about this place is there are tons of nice people if you know how to net-work. The benefits are great here.
Pros
Work-life balalnce
Cons
Too slacking. Too much politics
Was this review helpful?Yes4No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Its a great University
Alaska Field Assistant (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB8 July 2016
The field survey was very eye opening to Archaeological jobs and requirements.
Very labour intensive, detail oriented, requires prior experience or extensive teaching and training.
Difficulties- accuracy and recording of site material and data collection
Enjoyable aspects - putside all of the time, discovering the past, making inferences on past cultures and human interactions
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and committed
Research Assistant (Current Employee) –  Calgary, AB21 September 2016
The work atmosphere is so welcoming and everyday there are opportunities to learn more. Our day of work is 7 hours. My co- workers are so cooperative and accomodating. I really enjoy the work I do.
Pros
Continuing education options
Cons
Nothing as specific
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worst Place I have ever worked
Assistant Professor (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB (Doha)21 June 2016
This was the worst, the absolute worst place I have ever worked. The HR department leadership calls faculty "dumb". People are bullies and the atmosphere is toxic. I have nothing good to say about this place. I wish I had never gone to work there.
Pros
salary is good
Cons
The most horrible people I have ever encountered
Was this review helpful?Yes15No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and excellent learning environment
Research Assistant (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB20 May 2016
The research assistant job required for the individual to work on their own then report results back to the supervisor with interpretation of the collected data. The results were then discussed in group meetings and procedures were adjusted according to the suggestions provided for improvements.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to learn
Student Researcher (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB2 September 2016
Student grands are available and supervisors are more than willing to help students get some great experience in research and working with a team as well as presenting your findings.
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good environment
Reseach and Teaching Assistant (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB7 June 2016
as a teaching assistant, I learned a lot about team work. It was wonderful to see how experimental physics could be taught with fun and ease !
I had great co-workers. I enjoyed my interaction with students, their love and appreciation was the key to my advancement.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great colleagues to work with
Research Assistant (Current Employee) –  Calgary, AB11 April 2016
Working in a research lab with several other graduate students was a great experience. It gave me the ability to work in a collaborative and studious environment. I was treated professionally and respectfully and learned a lot about research methods and processes, micro-electronics and biotechnology.
Pros
No set hours
Cons
More research and less hands-on
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor Management
Student Ombudsman (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB22 March 2016
Great place to work.
Poor structured of leadership.3 bosses in 12 months-4 office locations in 16 months.
I was an independent office and sole practitioner, so high volume, high stress...LOW support from upper management. Working with students was the HIGHLIGHT...resolving disputes and seeing them make a way forward. Politics with Student Union made job untenable.
Pros
Great coworkers
Cons
Poorly structured job, Bad Manager, Conflict between SU and Admin.
Was this review helpful?Yes6NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Job
Campus Infrastructure Lead Electrician (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB6 December 2016
The U of C has a great culture and is very accommodating to many students and professionals and is a world class facility.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
innovative people
Environmental Engineer (Current Employee) –  Calgary, AB28 July 2016
Hard workers and friendly environment. Since they are achieving top ten of Canadian universities more areas and facilities added so far to the campus
Was this review helpful?Yes2No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun
Summer On Call Staff (Current Employee) –  Calgary, AB12 May 2016
A typical day involved performing rounds, responding to inquiries posed by residents and ensuring that the conditions of the Resident Agreement is upheld. Work was very interactive. The benefits package was good.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace
Teaching Assistant (TA) (Current Employee) –  Calgary, AB14 July 2016
I am a teaching assistant and my job is enjoyable as it allows me to progress in my learning, while helping others in theirs.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun stable teaching position
University Dance Instructor (Current Employee) –  Calgary, AB5 May 2016
I love teaching with the UofC , there is lots of great oppurtunities and I got to teach and travel abroad .Also learnt how to properly create and grade report cards for students
Was this review helpful?YesNo5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A school that offers challenging course work and research opportunities
Research Associate (E.I.T) (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB1 May 2016
A school that offers challenging course work and research opportunities. Great place to learn, to teach and to network.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Their HR department and executive suite do not practice what they preach.
Stage Manager (Current Employee) –  Calgary, AB12 April 2016
Their HR department and executive suite do not practice what they preach.

There is support from the higher offices for support staff to do their jobs.
Was this review helpful?Yes7NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun working experience with flexible working hours
Nursing Researcher (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB5 April 2016
Highly recommended for students who want to learn more in depth about certain nursing topics. You get to learn more about the research process.
Pros
flexible hours
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes2No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A very supportive work environment with access to a lot of resources
Teaching Assistant (Current Employee) –  Calgary, AB10 February 2016
The work is very productive with access to a lot of resources to get the job done. Most of the work happens in teams so you learn a lot about team dynamics.
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great University
General Associate (Current Employee) –  Calgary, AB27 March 2016
Considerable for students and staffs. Lots of talented guys. Life is also great. Very nice university for international students.
Was this review helpful?YesNo2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great place to work
Library Clerk (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB27 November 2015
I worked at the University as a student. It was a great opportunity and a great environment. I would love to come back now that I have graduated. It was a wonderful experience.
Pros
Location is accessible by transit and the campus is beautiful
Cons
You have to enjoy working in a union environment. I thought it was great.
Was this review helpful?YesNo2Report

Overall rating

4.2
Based on 120 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
4.1
Salary/Benefits
3.6
Job Security/Advancement
3.5
Management
3.7
Culture
4.0

University of Calgary Reviews by Location