University of British Columbia Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great team to work for
Research Assistant (Former Employee) –  Kitkatla, BC10 April 2017
i worked with anthropology students and booked appointments and helped them conduct interviews and do a little translating. the bosses were great to work for as well
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Working at UBC
Research Assistant (Current Employee) –  Vancouver, BC9 April 2017
UBC is a great place to work. The pay scales are fair, the university is internationally respected as a hub of high quality research, and the campus is beautiful.
Was this review helpful?Yes 6NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great from the outside, hard to get in.
Staff (Former Employee) –  Vancouver, BC6 April 2017
It is a great place to get a job, if you can, but it is also very sterile and institutionalized. The quality of the staff working there does not reflect the recruitment requirement.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall
Systems Analyst II (Former Employee) –  Vancouver, BC1 April 2017
Overall the University of British Columbia offers a good benefit package, vacation allowance and overall work/life balance.
The work conditions and environment are sub-standard as the builds are old and IT staff are often in basements or other locations which are sub-par.
The opportunities for career growth and new opportunities are limited and people tend to stay, doing the same thing, for long periods of time.
Pros
pension, vacation, work-week
Cons
limited growth, poor management
Was this review helpful?Yes 10NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The pay is great, if you can get in
Temporary Administrative Assistant (Former Employee) –  Vancouver, BC28 March 2017
I completed one term assignment with UBC Staffing Solutions. The communication was awful, and when the term was over they tossed me aside without a second though. I was promised additional assignments following my first one, but this never came to fruition.
Was this review helpful?Yes 7NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work and read on individual basis
Research Assistant (Former Employee) –  Vancouver, BC22 March 2017
Lab work is based on individual effort. It involves data entry, computer skills, pathology, and in vivo studies.

Cryostat machine often faulty and needed special hours of operation.
Pros
individual work
Cons
long hours to obtain results
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great atmosphere
Clerk III / Clerk IV (Former Employee) –  Kelowna, BC13 March 2017
Wonderful working in an exciting environment with people who want to learn knew skills.
Good benefits and competitive wages.
Great learning opportunities.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
My review of University of British Columbia
Research Assistant (Current Employee) –  Vancouver, BC13 March 2017
UBC is a very good school, and I do learn a lot from this school. I will finish my Master degree this summer, and I hope I can find an ideal job for my future to use what I learned from the school.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
review of University of British Columbia
Administrative Scheduling Clerk (Former Employee) –  Vancouver, BC6 March 2017
A typical day at work was very busy

I learned how to multi task

Management was efficient

Culture was family like atmosphere

The hardest part of job was when there was not enough staff to schedule.

The most enjoyable part of the job were my fellow employees and my Managers
Pros
the staff
Cons
hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Building a new device for testing motors and generators
Power Lab Research Assistant (Former Employee) –  Vancouver, BC5 March 2017
Research on PCB design. Programmed the Data Acquisition Card to gather data for analysis. It was a research base work that required long working hours.
Pros
A research opportunity for motors and control equipment.
Cons
Long working hours.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Decent job
Teaching Assistant (Former Employee) –  Kelowna, BC25 February 2017
Just taught first year students about statistics and experimental design. Very easy job, about 15 hours a week, didnt pay well.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Generally a good place to work
Data Integration Analyst/ BI-ETL Developer (Current Employee) –  Vancouver, BC20 February 2017
UBC is a nice place to work for somebody who is seeking to have a balance life style and work. It is a huge organization that offers plenty of potential for advancement and opportunity. But one should be aware when growth and challenges peaked.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Student
Inter-professional Student Doula Program (Former Employee) –  Vancouver, BC19 February 2017
This makes no sense to do this review but it is forcing me to come up with 150 characters. I was a student at UBC in the school of nursing. Not much else to say.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Teaching Assistant
Teaching Assistant-Physics (Former Employee) –  Kelowna, BC8 February 2017
Teaching students, learning how to prepare good lessons, good oversight.

Job wasn't difficult. Teaching and helping students was enjoyable
Pros
Very rigid in terms of scheduling
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Capstone project to test all skills learnt.
Group Member (Current Employee) –  Vancouver, BC2 February 2017
This is the fourth year capstone project at UBC. It is a good opportunity to apply all of the skills learn in all of my previous courses, as well as a chance to apply business principles.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work.
HR Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Vancouver, Canada31 January 2017
I have enjoyed working at UBC since 2002. The university is one of the foremost research universities in the world and is working to ensure that staff are able to contribute to the strategic vision.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Challenging and interesting work environment that evolved with the explosive spread of personal computing into every workplace.
MANAGING SUPERVISOR (Former Employee) –  Vancouver, BC31 January 2017
A review is required? a minimum of twenty words is required
twelve
thirteen
fourteen
fifteen
sixteen
seventeen
eighteen
nineteen
twenty
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No comments
Graduate Teaching Assistant (Former Employee) –  Vancouver, BC29 January 2017
It was a wonderful work experience at UBC. I learned a great deal of leadership, communication skills, problem solving skills, time management, organizational skills, and ethical principles. The most enjoyable part of the job was working collaboratively within a team. The hardest part was commuting to the work place.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Exchange
Exchange Student (Former Employee) –  Vancouver, BC25 January 2017
I become familiar with Canadian culture and the exchange experience helps me to maker the friends in Canada.Most importantly, I improved my adaptive capability to the new surrounding and enhanced my oral English through doing group projects with foreign students.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awesome employer
Security Guard (Former Employee) –  Vancouver, BC22 January 2017
Great benefits. defined benefits pension plan, paid sick days. excellent medical and dental. competitive pay rates. beautiful campus and job site. commuting to work is difficult and time consuming.
Pros
excellent benefits
Cons
long commutes
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at University of British Columbia. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.2
Based on 229 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
4.1
Salary/Benefits
3.6
Job Security/Advancement
3.5
Management
3.7
Culture
4.0

University of British Columbia Reviews by Location