Find companies:
University of British Columbia
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
63 reviews

University of British Columbia Employee Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Demanding but not always rewarding
Research Associate (Current Employee), Vancouver, BCJanuary 29, 2014
Pros: could be good for career
Cons: pricey, long commutes
UBC is an interesting place. Some great people, some great research and not so great job security (grant based jobs are never secure). Salary and benefits are good, but promotions are rare. All in all - it is Ok place to work in. ...if you can deal with house/parking pricing and commutes for those living beyond Boundary Rd.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
wonderful experience
Lab / Tutorial Supervisor (Former Employee), Vancouver, BCJanuary 7, 2014
wonderful experience doing both research and teaching there; short of funds is a big pity for losing that job
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great University
UBC LAB (Former Employee), Vancouver, BCJanuary 2, 2014
Pros: challenging
Cons: may get tedious, every now and then
- Process Control
- Chemical Engineering Labs
- Fluid Mechanics
- Heat and Mass transfer
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
UBC is a great learning environment
Formal Report (Current Employee), Vancouver, BCNovember 23, 2013
Volunteering for the UBC student housing committee on move-in day was a humbling experience. It got me accustomed to meeting and helping new people, as well as make new friends and help/guide others around the campus/dorms.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great research environment
Research Assitant (Current Employee), Vancouver, BCNovember 19, 2013
Nice place to work and study and learn new things. It provides a greats research environment for students and research workers. I enjoy studying and working here.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
organize the final meeting
Interviewer and Translator (Former Employee), Vancouver, BCNovember 6, 2013
It was a great environment at this reach group, all of reachers are very friend, we helped each other, and made every meeting very successful.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very Good Research University
Research Assistant (Current Employee), VancouverNovember 4, 2013
Inspiring working place for condensed matter physics
In particular, the superconductivity lab is of great shape
It has crystal growth facilities and microwave and STM techniques
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and excellent venue to expertise as a structural engineer
Research Assistant and Structural Engineer (Current Employee), Vancouver, BCOctober 21, 2013
Pros: a lot of learning and productivity
Cons: not application
Excellent and knowledgable supervisor. During my work experience, I encountered different challenges that always motivated me to learn new skills and build a stronger background in my field of study. I am also having the pleasure of working with competitive and helpful colleagues. Thereby, it never was difficult to find the right motivation to be productive, – more... and establish a more in-depth knowledge in structural analysis and design. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
production
Maintenance supervisor/custodian (Former Employee), Vancouver, BCOctober 10, 2013
busy when day go fast
learn and provide service
great to work with all managers
great to work together make life easy
not getting all done
when all job are done in day
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good University in Canada
Research Assistant (Former Employee), Vancouver, BCOctober 2, 2013
nice weather. great city. good education place.
people there are intelligent
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
hard work
Research Assistant (Former Employee), Vancouver, BCJuly 27, 2013
Pros: pay is good, if really work the mentioned hours
Cons: tight schedule, multiple tasks, pressure to work more than in the contract
know that for some students there is less work then for others, while letting the same pay
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Above average
Graduate Study & Research (Former Employee), Vancouver, BCJuly 12, 2013
Great co-workers
Great place to work
Reasonable management
Crowd
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Department of Pathology
Executive Assistant to the Head - Pathology (Former Employee), Vancouver, BCJuly 3, 2013
Working in the Department of Pathology at the University of British Columbia was a great experience; I had the opportunity to improved my skills and to interact on daily basis with faculty members, students and laboratory technician; my managers were supportive; the most enjoyable part of my job was the variety of tasks I needed to perform; my co-workers – more... were a nice group of people from different cultures that made the time there a good one. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Married and moved
Cyclotron Operator (Former Employee), vancouver, BCJune 27, 2013
Looking for new challenges! Although quite satisfied, I wanted to use all my accumulated knowledge and devote myself to one company!
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
School VS Social
AMS student (Former Employee), Vancouver, BCMay 29, 2013
Pros: lots of activities
Cons: heavy work load from readings
It is really difficult to achieve a good grade and join lots of social activities with other students. The competition for good grade can drive once life crazy. Yet, the social life with a group of talented people can improve one's life not only academically, but also direct the way to pursue a new horizon with common interest after class time.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and helpful Environment
Research Assistant (Current Employee), Kelowna, BCMay 9, 2013
Pros: free food sometimes
Cons: long working hours
Co-workers are helpful, social, and careful. However, I am new here, so less experiences about this university. So far, the experience is good. The working environment is very pleasant. My supervisor is very nice person and seems to me very understandable and helpful.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Research on energy economics and policy of decentralized energy generation
Visiting Research Fellow (Current Employee), Vancouver, BCMay 9, 2013
Pros: this is of great interest to me.
I work with colleagues on the adoption and policy mechanisms of solar photovoltaic technology for lighting in India.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Taught Laboratory techniques to graduate and undergraduate students
Laboratory Instructor (Former Employee), Vancouver, BCApril 11, 2013
Pros: getting the light to turn on for a struggling student
Cons: salary and job security
Typical day involved demonstrating the prepared lessons to a class and presenting applicable background information. Management was at hand always in a supportive way. Co-workers were excellent supports and sources of guidance. I learned that I love to teach.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Student Position at UBC
Senior Collegia Assistant (Former Employee), Kelowna, BCMarch 25, 2013
Pros: get some experience and relax from studying
Cons: student position
I had the chance to work while I was taking my Master.
This was an interesting way to get some teaching and administrative experiences in Canada.
I think by taking this job, I was able to relax from the pressure of my studies and I could contribute to the university community as well, which I felt rewarding.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
nice R&D
System Validation Engineer (Former Employee), Vancouver, BCMarch 8, 2013
Pros: nice supervisors.
Cons: could be more instructive in what the next stage to should be.
I like this R&D. It added so many skills to my resume. Since it was a university environment, you cannot expect real industrial projects but at it's level it was fairly a challenging one.

About University of British Columbia

The University of British Columbia is a public research university in British Columbia, Canada. Founded in 1908 as the McGill – Read more