University of British Columbia Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great workplace
Teaching Assistant (Former Employee) –  Vancouver, BC7 July 2017
A fantastic job and a fantastic place to work. I was allowed freedom and flexibility to design my own lesson plans. Unfortunately, I had to graduate and could no longer be a teacher's assistant.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Way to Connect with Students and Teachers
Cognitive Systems 200 Teaching Assistant (Former Employee) –  Vancouver, BC4 July 2017
As a TA at UBC you get to work one on one with professor and work to help your students understand the course material. It's a great way to give back to the school and network with other people in your field.
Pros
flexible hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
UBC Research
Program Director (Current Employee) –  Vancouver, BC1 July 2017
Great employer, but the research administration side is very hard work with very little stability due to the grant-funded nature of the work. Great place to get experience, and lots of opportunity to move into other positions at the university.
Pros
great benefits
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Jobs are not secured
Compliance Officer (Current Employee) –  Vancouver, BC22 June 2017
Bad management, low salary, good benefits though
Favoritism to some employees, job is not secured neither hours.
In general not a good employer, should review their management bad roles and working strategies.
Pros
Good Benefits
Cons
Bad management
Was this review helpful?Yes 7NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great opportunity for UBC graduate students to acquire real work experience
Finance and Executive Oversight Officer (Current Employee) –  Vancouver, BC21 June 2017
For students that have not had an actual paid job, this this elected roles provide great opportunity to learn what a real work is while developing very important soft skills: decision making, people management, team work, budgeting, etc.
Pros
Acquisition of actual experience
Cons
Need to invest more time that originally expected
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Solid environment for the right personality
Research Scientist (Current Employee) –  Vancouver, BC21 June 2017
Worked as a graduate researcher in a neuroscience lab.

Great environment to immerse yourself in a topic that you're passionate about.

Try to set up a system where you can stay accountable, regardless of whether your supervisor is more or less hands-on.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good
assitant (Former Employee) –  Vancouver, BC12 June 2017
UBC teaches common law. It is a good law school for those who wish to practice in Canada. Unfortunately it comes with the usual bureaucracy of universities, this and this credit, this and that restriction etc..
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Adjunct Professor (Current Employee) –  Vancouver, BC28 May 2017
Excellent environment to do R&D. There are lots of opportunity to learn and development personal skills. Also UBC offers good contacts for international work and development activities
Pros
Good contacts
Cons
uncertain schedule
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Most impersonal job
Resident Advisor (Former Employee) –  Kelowna, BC25 May 2017
You're expected to be everything and everyone, follow strict but not established guidelines, satisfy everyone but yourself and are then expected to make yourself happy and take care of yourself. The irony is strong.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Close-knitted friendly group of coworkers and management
Client Services Representative (Current Employee) –  Vancouver, BC24 May 2017
Office culture is great (but honestly, it depends on which department/faculty you work for), love all the coworkers, managers and directors whom I work with. Location is great as well, as this is the downtown Robson Square location. In union, you have job security but pay is not great. Benefits are amazing though! Excellent work/life balance, if you wish to advance, Point Grey campus has far more opportunities if you are willing to relocate.
Pros
Location, office culture, benefits, work/life balance
Cons
pay is under market
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nothing much to say, a well functioned place
Teaching Assistant (Former Employee) –  UBC22 May 2017
learned to manage my time
provides better help to others
working is pretty enjoyable
flexible working hours
nice boss (maybe)
the work is not intense
fair paid
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good
Exercise Trainer (Former Employee) –  Vancouver, BC14 May 2017
It's a good faculty to work for however there are not many opportunities for Rehabilitation Science students to work. The pay is alright, but being a graduate student and not being able to work full time, it would be better if the graduate council could provide more for salary.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
inspiring
Camp Instructor (Former Employee) –  Vancouver, BC10 May 2017
~8 hours per day. Manually-demanding
no need to prepare for summer camp courses
help those 3rd/4th year engineering student leaders prepare lab materials
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Creative and Productive place to work.
Analytics Intern (Former Employee) –  Vancouver, BC3 May 2017
Typical day at work: Reviewing, cleaning and analyzing data.
I learned how to manage time effectively.
Workplace culture was one of the best I've ever experienced.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Changes for Teaching Assistants at UBC
Teaching Assistant (Former Employee) –  Vancouver, BC3 May 2017
Few years ago there was a negotiation with the union about changes to the TA contracts at UBC. Fortunately, most of them were implemented and now students benefit from inflation safe salaries, work hours limit and assistant with tuition in the later years of the graduate program. I believe those changes have been positive and necessary for a good life quality in the city.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Environment
Cashier/Kitchen Staff (Former Employee) –  Vancouver, BC2 May 2017
Fun atmosphere with very friendly co-workers. Work hours were very reasonable and understanding of the fact that I was a student. Very flexible management.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work.
Spanish Instructor (Former Employee) –  Vancouver, BC2 May 2017
I worked as a Spanish TA at the University of British Columbia. I have no complaints. My supervisor was great, provided lots of support, and I truly enjoyed my job.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worked in ecology research and it was a great starting opportunity
Ecology Researcher (Former Employee) –  Vancouver, BC26 April 2017
Worked in ecology research and it was a great starting opportunity. I am so glad that I did it. I had the nicest advisor and I learned so many cool things about microarthropods. I would definitely recommend working with the UBC Zoology Department.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Full-time, overnight position with little off-days
Live-In Monitor For Overnight International Camps (Former Employee) –  Vancouver, BC19 April 2017
Would not recommend for those who are not looking to go into the Education or child care industry.
- must look after large group of international students with very minimum english speaking ability
- typical hours 6:00-23:00 daily
- developed strong team relationship
- physically and emotionally exhausting
Pros
Free Meals and Accomodation
Cons
24-hour position
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great team to work for
Research Assistant (Former Employee) –  Kitkatla, BC10 April 2017
i worked with anthropology students and booked appointments and helped them conduct interviews and do a little translating. the bosses were great to work for as well
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at University of British Columbia. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.2
Based on 228 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
4.1
Salary/Benefits
3.6
Job Security/Advancement
3.5
Management
3.7
Culture
3.9

University of British Columbia Reviews by Location