University of British Columbia Employee Reviews

Found 134 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place for research
Assistant Professor (Former Employee) –  Kelowna, BC11 August 2017
My job involved teaching, research, service, committee and student meetings. The culture is quite political, typical of academia. The management wasn't the best.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Une bonne université canadienne
Postdoctoral researcher (Former Employee) –  British Columbia9 August 2017
UBC est une des plus grande université canadienne, et y avoir travaillé est une grande chance.
Pros
Qualité des équipes de recherche
Cons
UBC est très isolée géographiquement par rapport au reste du monde
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun to work
Program Assistant (Former Employee) –  Vancouver, BC1 August 2017
Good working environment. Vancouver campus is so beautiful and nice to live in. people are friendly and willing to help..................................
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive work place
NSERC Post-doctoral fellow (Current Employee) –  Vancouver, BC21 July 2017
I am currently hired by the government of Canada conducting research at the University of British Columbia. There are interesting research projects at this university.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great to their employees
Manager, Programming (Former Employee) –  Vancouver, BC18 July 2017
good benefits, fantastic opportunities and value their employees. Allow you to move up within the organisation and have training and education credits at your disposal
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Work Life Balance
Sr Mgr Identity Access Management , Security Ops (Current Employee) –  Vancouver, BC14 July 2017
Going through a lot of change, and trying to make the right decisions but stuck in past. The individual faculties are reluctant to change and very risk averse. About par for the course for Higher Ed
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great workplace
Teaching Assistant (Former Employee) –  Vancouver, BC7 July 2017
A fantastic job and a fantastic place to work. I was allowed freedom and flexibility to design my own lesson plans. Unfortunately, I had to graduate and could no longer be a teacher's assistant.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Way to Connect with Students and Teachers
Cognitive Systems 200 Teaching Assistant (Former Employee) –  Vancouver, BC4 July 2017
As a TA at UBC you get to work one on one with professor and work to help your students understand the course material. It's a great way to give back to the school and network with other people in your field.
Pros
flexible hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
UBC Research
Program Director (Current Employee) –  Vancouver, BC1 July 2017
Great employer, but the research administration side is very hard work with very little stability due to the grant-funded nature of the work. Great place to get experience, and lots of opportunity to move into other positions at the university.
Pros
great benefits
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Jobs are not secured
Compliance Officer (Current Employee) –  Vancouver, BC22 June 2017
Bad management, low salary, good benefits though
Favoritism to some employees, job is not secured neither hours.
In general not a good employer, should review their management bad roles and working strategies.
Pros
Good Benefits
Cons
Bad management
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Solid environment for the right personality
Research Scientist (Current Employee) –  Vancouver, BC21 June 2017
Worked as a graduate researcher in a neuroscience lab.

Great environment to immerse yourself in a topic that you're passionate about.

Try to set up a system where you can stay accountable, regardless of whether your supervisor is more or less hands-on.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Most impersonal job
Resident Advisor (Former Employee) –  Kelowna, BC25 May 2017
You're expected to be everything and everyone, follow strict but not established guidelines, satisfy everyone but yourself and are then expected to make yourself happy and take care of yourself. The irony is strong.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Close-knitted friendly group of coworkers and management
Client Services Representative (Current Employee) –  Vancouver, BC24 May 2017
Office culture is great (but honestly, it depends on which department/faculty you work for), love all the coworkers, managers and directors whom I work with. Location is great as well, as this is the downtown Robson Square location. In union, you have job security but pay is not great. Benefits are amazing though! Excellent work/life balance, if you wish to advance, Point Grey campus has far more opportunities if you are willing to relocate.
Pros
Location, office culture, benefits, work/life balance
Cons
pay is under market
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
inspiring
Camp Instructor (Former Employee) –  Vancouver, BC10 May 2017
~8 hours per day. Manually-demanding
no need to prepare for summer camp courses
help those 3rd/4th year engineering student leaders prepare lab materials
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Changes for Teaching Assistants at UBC
Teaching Assistant (Former Employee) –  Vancouver, BC3 May 2017
Few years ago there was a negotiation with the union about changes to the TA contracts at UBC. Fortunately, most of them were implemented and now students benefit from inflation safe salaries, work hours limit and assistant with tuition in the later years of the graduate program. I believe those changes have been positive and necessary for a good life quality in the city.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Environment
Cashier/Kitchen Staff (Former Employee) –  Vancouver, BC2 May 2017
Fun atmosphere with very friendly co-workers. Work hours were very reasonable and understanding of the fact that I was a student. Very flexible management.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work.
Spanish Instructor (Former Employee) –  Vancouver, BC2 May 2017
I worked as a Spanish TA at the University of British Columbia. I have no complaints. My supervisor was great, provided lots of support, and I truly enjoyed my job.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worked in ecology research and it was a great starting opportunity
Ecology Researcher (Former Employee) –  Vancouver, BC26 April 2017
Worked in ecology research and it was a great starting opportunity. I am so glad that I did it. I had the nicest advisor and I learned so many cool things about microarthropods. I would definitely recommend working with the UBC Zoology Department.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice Campus
Tutor (Current Employee) –  Vancouver19 April 2017
The most beautiful campus in North America, or in the world.
You will feel fresh to live here.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Working at UBC
Research Assistant (Current Employee) –  Vancouver, BC9 April 2017
UBC is a great place to work. The pay scales are fair, the university is internationally respected as a hub of high quality research, and the campus is beautiful.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at University of British Columbia. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.2
Based on 138 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
4.0
Salary/Benefits
3.6
Job Security/Advancement
3.5
Management
3.5
Culture
3.9

CEO Approval

72%
36 ratings
Add your rating

University of British Columbia Reviews by Location