Find companies:
University of Alberta
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
75 reviews

University of Alberta Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive, exciting, always educational and challanging.
Business Relationship Manager, WestGrid Site Lead (Former Employee), General Services Building, Main Campus, EdmontonAugust 20, 2013
amazing place where every day may bring new challenge, very hard to establish a routine because people and projects are in constant change, this is part of the excitement, one learns to deal with change. work atmosphere is electrifying because you are surrounded by very skilled experts in any chosen field or discipline, yet very quickly it feels like – more... one is a part of this amazing campus community, that will provide assistance and encouragement to fulfill your career and personal goals. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fufilling and fast paced
Paediatric Chart Prep (Current Employee), Edmonton, ABJuly 27, 2013
Pros: great benifits
Cons: open concept work place.
I really enjoy going to this job, its very challenging and fulfilling.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and friendly environment
Research Assistant (Current Employee), Edmonton, ABJuly 18, 2013
Pros: friendly atmosphere
Cons: noisy study area
I start my work at 8:00 AM every weekdays. My work consist of experiments in lab and doing research and study while I am at my desk in study area. I have schedule time for my daily routine of study, coffee time, gym and other activities. There are some difficulties and problems in each job, in my job it gets harder when I need to study paperwork more – more... than those time I need to spend at lab to do measurements as I am person who is more interested to do handy activities. The most enjoyable part of my job is my passion. I always have this dream to help human life and to present something which is practical and useful for our life. A lot of people suffering from cancer all around the world. I have a good feeling when I think about the useful parts of this job finding a solution to treat such diseases. Moreover, I am a social person and love to work as a team member which is another good part of this job. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun place to work
Functional Lead (Current Employee), Edmonton, ABJuly 9, 2013
Earned the diversified expertise in all modules of FSCM like General Ledger, Commitment Control, nVision Reports, Billing, Accounts Receivables, eProcurement, Accounts Payables, Grants, Customer Contracts, Project Costing, Travel & Expense etc. alongside handling Project Management.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoy fun of research
Research Assistant (Current Employee), Edmonton, AlbertaJuly 3, 2013
Pros: flexible schedule
Cons: low salary
it's a good opportunity to enjoy the research life on campus.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Full Time University Student
student (Current Employee), edmonton albertaJune 6, 2013
Pros: flexible schedules
Cons: hard work
spend a lot of time reading and writing and computer use including but not limited to essay writing, research papers, etc.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent engineering department; Overall OK institute for research
Research Assistant (Former Employee), Edmonton, ABApril 27, 2013
Pros: heavily industrial oriented
Cons: moderate focus on scientific research
Enthusiastic students/researchers usually go to work everyday as early as 6:30, and finish work at late night. Researchers work both individually and as a team. Supervisors seldom come to check the works in the lab, so researchers have to work effectively under minimum supervision. Colleagues often go out to grab a beer after work. Overall, the work – more... in university of Alberta is positive. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Busy
Registered Laboratory Animal Technician (Former Employee), Biological SciencesApril 24, 2013
Hardest :Euthanization
Most enjoyable: working with all types of exotic animals
Typical day: cleaning each room from top to bottom
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Typical research job
Research Assistant (Former Employee), Campus, Ellerslie Research StationApril 18, 2013
Long hours, low pay, dubious funding, but you get to stay around Campus for the summer. All the things that make a university research position so great.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Research Team
Research Assistant (Current Employee), Edmonton, ABApril 8, 2013
Pros: great benefits
Cons: parking
good hours, get to meet a lot of interesting people with a ton of knowledge.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great summer work experience
Labourer (Former Employee), Camrose, AlbertaMarch 31, 2013
Throughout the summer of 2012, a typical day started at 6:00 am and lasted until 3:00 pm. Everything from stripping and re finishing floors, to window washing and steam cleaning was done.
I learned just what it looks like to keep a facility like a university in good standing and hygienic order. Custodial services work hard in and around our communities – more... and should be cherished!
The most enjoyable part of the job were the co-workers and the hours of work. We received ample amounts of brake time and the staff are quite jovial.
While much of the work was demanding, the management was encouraging and made the workday very enjoyable. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I only got a part time job here.
Geophysics Research Student (Current Employee), Edmonton, ABMarch 17, 2013
it's not bad, I work 10-15 hours a week, salary is low, because i'm not paid by university, my professor paid me. learned lots of lab skill from my professor and his assistant. good experiences.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
University of Alberta is an excellent place to work!
Regional Manager (Current Employee), Edmonton, ABFebruary 1, 2013
Pros: many opportunities to network and collaborate, ongoing professional and personal development, free training, attractive benefits, reasonable compensation, flexible work arrangements available
Cons: research funded without permanency, limited facilities which can accommodate certain cultural practices, limits ability to support certain cultural groups
The UofA is a bustling workplace with ongoing opportunities to enjoy professional and personal development opportunities. Management of our research project works from a collaborative approach and utilizes best practices to move into next practice.

This position has taught me the importance of interactive approaches which facilitate participation at – more... all levels. This position has taught me additional skills in team leadership and conflict management. The most influential learning I have experienced has been 7 Habits of Highly Effective People.

The most difficult part of the job is working with diverse staff with various cultural backgrounds, differing values and being in remote locations..

Co-workers are dynamic, positive and forward thinking where the most enjoyable aspect of the job is the team collaborative approaches to training, networking and meetings. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Best Place to Study
Research Assistant (Current Employee), Edmonton, ABJanuary 25, 2013
I really love University of Alberta for my own personal reasons. First, the equation quality in high and we learn lots of new things. Second, It does have huge library on compose which is accessible to everyone. Finally, it is a collected university what I mean is, University of Alberta is looking for smart, talent and intelligent students which keeps – more... it's rate higher than other universities. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great to be part of a research team
Part-time Lab Technician (Research) (Current Employee), Edmonton, ABDecember 6, 2012
Very independant, given tasks to complete in certain time period and you need to manage accordingly. Satisfying work, different every day.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
assisting with the daily deliveries
Store Assistant (Current Employee), Edmonton, AlbertaNovember 18, 2012
Pros: free time when i finish my work earlier
Cons: heavy stocks
My daily work duties involve receiving deliveries, unpacking and re-shelving or storing stocks. I learned about new suppliers and new products. I work together with my supervisor and we keep excellent communication and work relationship. The hardest part of the work is that I have to deal with very heavy items/stocks, however the most enjoyable part – more... of the job is that I meet daily lots of people and I make new work connections with our customers. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Managed certificate programs for public administration employees & elected officials
Operations Manager (Former Employee), Edmonton, ABNovember 13, 2012
Pros: working with people, and meeting with professionals in the field.
Cons: long hours - no time off
Supervised staff, managed financials, hired instructors, wrote and submitted grant funding, and met with students. A great job with learned much more about conflict resolution, and managing projects, and people.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I enjoy working in a very diverse environment particularly in Drama and Music as there is always a play or a performance to attend.
Accounting Assistant, Department of Music (Current Employee), Edmonton, ABNovember 5, 2012
Pros: part time hours plus benefits for many years
At moment I work in a small office for a manager who is easy to work for and open to everyone ideas as the office is in a state of rebuilding, lots of change. The hardest part of the job is dealing with all the change within the faculty and university in general as many people have been laid off due restructuring or moved to different positions so I – more... am often dealing with someone who is at the bottom of what is sometimes a very steep learning curve. There are many upgrades to the People soft system and things that we done a certain way a year ago have changed and process to access help is cumbersome and less than ideal That being said working in an educational setting with students around at all times make for a vibrate and sometimes noisy, crowded (HUB Mall) environment. Over the years I have met some very talented people and made some life long friends. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice university
Researcher (Former Employee), Edmonton, ABOctober 24, 2012
Pros: free research environment
Cons: it is too cold in edmonton
Working condition is perfect. Library resource is enough for research. Most of the administrators are nice.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place.
System Administrator & Resident Sorcerer (Former Employee), Edmonton, ABOctober 23, 2012
Pros: banked overtime, open culture
Cons: too much to do! run off my feet.
I had 11 different operating systems to keep running. And I did. My job was to make it possible for other people to do their job.

My bosses never understood what I did, but since things kept working, they didn't care.

I didn't have any co-workers. One man IT department. 300 computers.

About University of Alberta

The University of Alberta, a single, public provincial university, was chartered in 1906 in Edmonton, Alberta with a new University – Read more

University of Alberta Photos