Find companies:
University of Alberta
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
71 reviews

University of Alberta Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Typical research job
Research Assistant (Former Employee), Campus, Ellerslie Research StationApril 18, 2013
Long hours, low pay, dubious funding, but you get to stay around Campus for the summer. All the things that make a university research position so great.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Research Team
Research Assistant (Current Employee), Edmonton, ABApril 8, 2013
Pros: great benefits
Cons: parking
good hours, get to meet a lot of interesting people with a ton of knowledge.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great summer work experience
Labourer (Former Employee), Camrose, AlbertaMarch 31, 2013
Throughout the summer of 2012, a typical day started at 6:00 am and lasted until 3:00 pm. Everything from stripping and re finishing floors, to window washing and steam cleaning was done.
I learned just what it looks like to keep a facility like a university in good standing and hygienic order. Custodial services work hard in and around our communities – more... and should be cherished!
The most enjoyable part of the job were the co-workers and the hours of work. We received ample amounts of brake time and the staff are quite jovial.
While much of the work was demanding, the management was encouraging and made the workday very enjoyable. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I only got a part time job here.
Geophysics Research Student (Current Employee), Edmonton, ABMarch 17, 2013
it's not bad, I work 10-15 hours a week, salary is low, because i'm not paid by university, my professor paid me. learned lots of lab skill from my professor and his assistant. good experiences.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
University of Alberta is an excellent place to work!
Regional Manager (Current Employee), Edmonton, ABFebruary 1, 2013
Pros: many opportunities to network and collaborate, ongoing professional and personal development, free training, attractive benefits, reasonable compensation, flexible work arrangements available
Cons: research funded without permanency, limited facilities which can accommodate certain cultural practices, limits ability to support certain cultural groups
The UofA is a bustling workplace with ongoing opportunities to enjoy professional and personal development opportunities. Management of our research project works from a collaborative approach and utilizes best practices to move into next practice.

This position has taught me the importance of interactive approaches which facilitate participation at – more... all levels. This position has taught me additional skills in team leadership and conflict management. The most influential learning I have experienced has been 7 Habits of Highly Effective People.

The most difficult part of the job is working with diverse staff with various cultural backgrounds, differing values and being in remote locations..

Co-workers are dynamic, positive and forward thinking where the most enjoyable aspect of the job is the team collaborative approaches to training, networking and meetings. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Best Place to Study
Research Assistant (Current Employee), Edmonton, ABJanuary 25, 2013
I really love University of Alberta for my own personal reasons. First, the equation quality in high and we learn lots of new things. Second, It does have huge library on compose which is accessible to everyone. Finally, it is a collected university what I mean is, University of Alberta is looking for smart, talent and intelligent students which keeps – more... it's rate higher than other universities. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great to be part of a research team
Part-time Lab Technician (Research) (Current Employee), Edmonton, ABDecember 6, 2012
Very independant, given tasks to complete in certain time period and you need to manage accordingly. Satisfying work, different every day.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
assisting with the daily deliveries
Store Assistant (Current Employee), Edmonton, AlbertaNovember 18, 2012
Pros: free time when i finish my work earlier
Cons: heavy stocks
My daily work duties involve receiving deliveries, unpacking and re-shelving or storing stocks. I learned about new suppliers and new products. I work together with my supervisor and we keep excellent communication and work relationship. The hardest part of the work is that I have to deal with very heavy items/stocks, however the most enjoyable part – more... of the job is that I meet daily lots of people and I make new work connections with our customers. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Managed certificate programs for public administration employees & elected officials
Operations Manager (Former Employee), Edmonton, ABNovember 13, 2012
Pros: working with people, and meeting with professionals in the field.
Cons: long hours - no time off
Supervised staff, managed financials, hired instructors, wrote and submitted grant funding, and met with students. A great job with learned much more about conflict resolution, and managing projects, and people.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I enjoy working in a very diverse environment particularly in Drama and Music as there is always a play or a performance to attend.
Accounting Assistant, Department of Music (Current Employee), Edmonton, ABNovember 5, 2012
Pros: part time hours plus benefits for many years
At moment I work in a small office for a manager who is easy to work for and open to everyone ideas as the office is in a state of rebuilding, lots of change. The hardest part of the job is dealing with all the change within the faculty and university in general as many people have been laid off due restructuring or moved to different positions so I – more... am often dealing with someone who is at the bottom of what is sometimes a very steep learning curve. There are many upgrades to the People soft system and things that we done a certain way a year ago have changed and process to access help is cumbersome and less than ideal That being said working in an educational setting with students around at all times make for a vibrate and sometimes noisy, crowded (HUB Mall) environment. Over the years I have met some very talented people and made some life long friends. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice university
Researcher (Former Employee), Edmonton, ABOctober 24, 2012
Pros: free research environment
Cons: it is too cold in edmonton
Working condition is perfect. Library resource is enough for research. Most of the administrators are nice.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place.
System Administrator & Resident Sorcerer (Former Employee), Edmonton, ABOctober 23, 2012
Pros: banked overtime, open culture
Cons: too much to do! run off my feet.
I had 11 different operating systems to keep running. And I did. My job was to make it possible for other people to do their job.

My bosses never understood what I did, but since things kept working, they didn't care.

I didn't have any co-workers. One man IT department. 300 computers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A Small-minded Community
Academic Advisor (Former Employee), Edmonton, ABOctober 14, 2012
Pros: nice physical environment and easy commute
Cons: toxic work culture!!
Work culture is incredibly demanding and awful. One is often thrust into extra duties and chores way beyond one's mandated responsibilities. Academics are an ignorant and incompetent bunch, very difficult to work with, unless one bows to their authority like a little servant and actually do their jobs for them. Staff are not any better when many cannot – more... do their jobs and have no motivation to upgrade themselves. Nasty politics all around and even racist comments. There is little advancement opportunity because too many people are fighting for it. Many positions are temporary and do not pay for what we put into the work. The staff union is useless and does not protect their own. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
An academic environment
Research Assistant (Current Employee), Edmonton, ABOctober 13, 2012
We here work on chemical engineering projects in combination of nanotechnology aspect.
In our group, teamwork is very important and vital.
My co-workers are all students like me and we have a friendly spirit in our research group.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
While the university may have good spots, construction isn't one of them
observer (Former Employee), observing postOctober 11, 2012
Pros: some of the faculty and all the students are great people
Cons: nasty, bullying boss
High turnover in tech writer positions because some of the faculty are difficult to work with. Plenty of micro-management, low grade nasty politics, students treated with disrespect, and behind the scenes racist comments. Poor pay for demanding work at a level of skill and experience that far exceeds what the job description suggests. Expected to work – more... overtime to meet deadlines without any compensation. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great environment to work and plenty of diversity however, i felt minimal value or importance at work and a lot of political issues.
Safety Fire Prevention Technician (Co-op) (Former Employee), Edmonton ABSeptember 8, 2012
Typical Day at work:
Walk arounds
Type procedures
Run random errands
Develop PowerPoint
Train employees
What I learned:
How to take out a fire
Communicate with workers when issues arise( not following procedures)
Management
Needs to learn how to work together as a team. I felt management spent more time figuring out how to give their job to someone – more... else rather then taking 5 minutes out of thier non-busy schedule to simple complete the task. Management requires more training.
Co-workers:
When needed they are very helpful if you are confused or have any questions
All training is provided without hesitation
At times, great guidance
Don't have enough work to do ( sleep during the day)
Push their work on others
Don't respect employees privacy
Hard to build a relationship
Hardest part of the job
Dealing with the safety coordinator and the safety supervisor
Not feeling important at work
Safety coordinator only gave me 6 small tasks for 5 months, not enough work! I needed more responsibility, exposure and trust.
At times safety coordinator and supervisor would be insulting towards me
What I enjoyed at work
Meeting knew people in the different divisions
Reviving great feedback from co-workers
Divisions respected me
Diversity
Educating people – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
co-op student
Coop Student (Former Employee), Edmonton, ABAugust 30, 2012
• Monitor power plant console gauges and indicators to detect evidence of operating problems.
• Maintain generation of specified electrical power output by adjusting controls and regulating flow of power to substations.
• Implement load balancing methods to ensure plant and substations do not suffer any overload condition. Coordinate with systems operators – more... to regulate line voltages and transmission loads – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I learned and enjoyed a lot, thanks our team, and Alberta University.
Department of Medical Microbiology (Former Employee), Edmonton, ABAugust 14, 2012
The supervisor was excellent. I learned a lot. It was one of the best examples of team work. The respect and fairness made it one of the best work environment .I enjoyed a lot, thanks our team, and Alberta University.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Really enjoyed the research and teaching assistantship.
Teaching & Research Assistant (Former Employee), Edmonton, ABJuly 2, 2012
Pros: very flexible working hour.
Cons: i didnt find anything.
Nice work place. My supervisor was very helpful and he teaches me each and every steps of my duties.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Innovative and stimulating workplace
Research Assistant (Current Employee), Edmonton, AlbertaMay 31, 2012
Pros: world wide netwrok
Cons: pace of work is slow sometimes
It is a place for rigorous mental exercise along with a build up a strong connection for the future

About University of Alberta

The University of Alberta, a single, public provincial university, was chartered in 1906 in Edmonton, Alberta with a new University – Read more

University of Alberta Photos