Find companies:
University of Alberta
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
70 reviews

University of Alberta Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Calm and acceptable atmosphere
Project Manager/ Business Developer (Current Employee), Edmonton, ABDecember 4, 2013
Overly, I like the atmosphere. However, it is not comparable with industrial places and you can't expect to learn lots of things in your job.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Effective
Research Assistant (Current Employee), Edmonton, AlbertaNovember 15, 2013
Delivered presentations of results and ensured all critical issue to research group and advisors
Communicated and conveyed the information between industry person and the academic supervisor to choose the appropriate apparatus for the IPMSM core-loss quantification project work
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and professional place
Administrative Assistant (Former Employee), Edmonton, ABOctober 14, 2013
I enjoy helping people while working with a professional team here
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice learning environment.
Laboratory Assistant (Current Employee), Edmonton, ABOctober 9, 2013
Pros: flexible working environment
Cons: relatively poor management
It's more about education at this place because I am finishing my master degree here. My research group guarantees me flexible time and lots of resources to complete my work. But I have to find right people to discuss my discoveries and problems about work sometimes.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive place
Reservoir Simulation Research Assistant (Current Employee), EdmontonOctober 2, 2013
Quantitative ranking of different operating areas and assessment of uncertainty due to reservoir heterogeneities are crucial elements in optimization of production and development strategies in oil sands operations. As a part of my master’s research experience I employed ANN as a proxy model to estimate SAGD recovery performance by using various heterogeneous – more... reservoir properties and injection parameters. I am proficient in reservoir simulation modeling using software such as CMG-STARS/IMEX, ECLIPSE and Petrel. Furthermore, I have also worked as Teaching Assistant for graduate and undergraduate courses related to the numerical reservoir simulation, reservoir fluid phase behavior and numerical modeling of 2D flow simulators for heterogeneous reservoirs. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A Place for state of the art Education and Multi-cultural experience
Research Assistant (Current Employee), Edmonton, ABOctober 2, 2013
Pros: lots of free food seminars, state-of-art education
Cons: severe winter
I work as Research assistant in a Geophysics group. Coming around 10 am staying all day doing experiments in the lab, have nice time in lunch with my co-workers who are my friends too. Experimental geophysicist is not so easy, you need to have clear idea before starting a job, face several obstruction (mechanical failure, miscalculation), waiting for – more... the run to finish but at last I feel refresh when finish my job with the helping hand of the members of the team. The challenging projects build up innovation, creativity and determination inside me as well as create the ability to work in a team. Analytical problem solving and service-oriented perspective, self-starting quality flourished through this kind of work. Every Friday evening I play badminton in the club, and also do some flag-football occasionally that refresh me for the next day. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work with good opportities for advancement
Undergraduate Administrative Secretary (Former Employee), Edmonton, ABSeptember 26, 2013
Pros: flexibility
Cons: non recognition of the extras one provides.
Where you work is all dependant on the people around you. Sometimes it can be very snobby.
I loved my job though.
enjoyable part was the pay and people.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent leadership and communication skills developed through performing multidisciplinary projects, teaching, volunteering activities
Research and Teaching Assistant (Current Employee), Chemical and Materials EngineeringSeptember 11, 2013
Prepared comprehensive monthly reports of the research progress for supervisors
I Collaborated with a team of multi-disciplinary researchers
Prepared project descriptions and proposals, designed laboratory experiments, analyzed the results and delivered and published the accomplishments within budgeted time frames
Public presentation of research findings – more... for faculty of engineering
Experience in safety inspection and preparing reports of hazards discovered during inspections – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to learn
Research Assistant (Former Employee), edmontonSeptember 4, 2013
Great place to learn and develop your skills. Good student to faculty ratio, access to all the modern lab equipments.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work, intellectually stimulating
Primary Instructor / Teaching Assistant (Former Employee), Edmonton, ABAugust 31, 2013
Pros: emotionally rewarding
Cons: stressful
Teaching motivated individuals, making each day better, and trying to make at least a small difference in their lives.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
My love for the Cree language inspires me to help others to love it as well.
Tutor (Former Employee), EdmontonAugust 23, 2013
Pros: continued learning
Cons: i am still not fluent
For three years I was the tutor for Aboriginal Student Services at the University of Alberta and loved every second. I would meet with students that were having some difficulties learning Cree. Initially I could only tutor the introductory and intermediate levels, but upon my own completion of the the advanced level and being published I have had the – more... experience tutoring at this level as well. Students would express where they have difficulties and I would show them unique techniques that would enhance their abilities. My love for the language shows when I work with my students, friends and family. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive, exciting, always educational and challanging.
Business Relationship Manager, WestGrid Site Lead (Former Employee), General Services Building, Main Campus, EdmontonAugust 20, 2013
amazing place where every day may bring new challenge, very hard to establish a routine because people and projects are in constant change, this is part of the excitement, one learns to deal with change. work atmosphere is electrifying because you are surrounded by very skilled experts in any chosen field or discipline, yet very quickly it feels like – more... one is a part of this amazing campus community, that will provide assistance and encouragement to fulfill your career and personal goals. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fufilling and fast paced
Paediatric Chart Prep (Current Employee), Edmonton, ABJuly 27, 2013
Pros: great benifits
Cons: open concept work place.
I really enjoy going to this job, its very challenging and fulfilling.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and friendly environment
Research Assistant (Current Employee), Edmonton, ABJuly 18, 2013
Pros: friendly atmosphere
Cons: noisy study area
I start my work at 8:00 AM every weekdays. My work consist of experiments in lab and doing research and study while I am at my desk in study area. I have schedule time for my daily routine of study, coffee time, gym and other activities. There are some difficulties and problems in each job, in my job it gets harder when I need to study paperwork more – more... than those time I need to spend at lab to do measurements as I am person who is more interested to do handy activities. The most enjoyable part of my job is my passion. I always have this dream to help human life and to present something which is practical and useful for our life. A lot of people suffering from cancer all around the world. I have a good feeling when I think about the useful parts of this job finding a solution to treat such diseases. Moreover, I am a social person and love to work as a team member which is another good part of this job. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun place to work
Functional Lead (Current Employee), Edmonton, ABJuly 9, 2013
Earned the diversified expertise in all modules of FSCM like General Ledger, Commitment Control, nVision Reports, Billing, Accounts Receivables, eProcurement, Accounts Payables, Grants, Customer Contracts, Project Costing, Travel & Expense etc. alongside handling Project Management.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoy fun of research
Research Assistant (Current Employee), Edmonton, AlbertaJuly 3, 2013
Pros: flexible schedule
Cons: low salary
it's a good opportunity to enjoy the research life on campus.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Full Time University Student
student (Current Employee), edmonton albertaJune 6, 2013
Pros: flexible schedules
Cons: hard work
spend a lot of time reading and writing and computer use including but not limited to essay writing, research papers, etc.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent engineering department; Overall OK institute for research
Research Assistant (Former Employee), Edmonton, ABApril 27, 2013
Pros: heavily industrial oriented
Cons: moderate focus on scientific research
Enthusiastic students/researchers usually go to work everyday as early as 6:30, and finish work at late night. Researchers work both individually and as a team. Supervisors seldom come to check the works in the lab, so researchers have to work effectively under minimum supervision. Colleagues often go out to grab a beer after work. Overall, the work – more... in university of Alberta is positive. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Busy
Registered Laboratory Animal Technician (Former Employee), Biological SciencesApril 24, 2013
Hardest :Euthanization
Most enjoyable: working with all types of exotic animals
Typical day: cleaning each room from top to bottom
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Typical research job
Research Assistant (Former Employee), Campus, Ellerslie Research StationApril 18, 2013
Long hours, low pay, dubious funding, but you get to stay around Campus for the summer. All the things that make a university research position so great.

About University of Alberta

The University of Alberta, a single, public provincial university, was chartered in 1906 in Edmonton, Alberta with a new University – Read more

University of Alberta Photos