Find companies:
University of Alberta
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
73 reviews

University of Alberta Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent workplace
Assistant/Professional Writer (Former Employee), Edmonton, ABMarch 3, 2014
The people at the University of Alberta are extremely supportive.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
PhD student with many opportunites to conduct fieldwork in Arctic
Research Associate (Current Employee), Edmonton, ABFebruary 23, 2014
A department that provided excellent opportunities to conduct original and important research in remote locations. Well funded with strong logistical support.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work. very peaceful
Biostatistician (Former Employee), Edmonton, ABFebruary 5, 2014
I learned to hand large health related data, time management, writing efficient computer code to analyze data, writing analysis plan.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive
teaching assistant (Former Employee), EdmontonJanuary 23, 2014
Cons: long hours
My simple work day started by reading first, then do the experimental work at the lab. I try to split my energy, which is the most in the morning and the least by evening. Hence, I do less mental work in the evening.

Reactions in action are fun, they are not usually goes the way it is planned. I really enjoy the time when I finally win the challenge – more... and direct the project in the way it should work.
Having a nice relationship with group mates will accelerate the progress which I really believe in it.
However, I cannot ignore difficult times when I challenged to rebound
the problems. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Research Associate (Current Employee), Edmonton, AlbertaDecember 17, 2013
Pros: personelle
Cons: wage?
Working at the University within the Computer Poker Research Group was amazing. I learned a ton of new things, contributed lots of code to the project and felt like I was apart of the advancement of the field. The supervising members were amazing and the problems were challenging and fun. The hardest part of the day was not getting sidetracked on all – more... of the amazing different facets of the project. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place
Adjunct Professor (Former Employee), Edmonton, ABDecember 9, 2013
Great place
Academic life is very simulating
Wonderful people
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Calm and acceptable atmosphere
Project Manager/ Business Developer (Current Employee), Edmonton, ABDecember 4, 2013
Overly, I like the atmosphere. However, it is not comparable with industrial places and you can't expect to learn lots of things in your job.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good instituite to work for
Research Associate (Former Employee), Edmonton, ABNovember 25, 2013
learn knowledge, get experiments. publish paper. learn animal model
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Effective
Research Assistant (Current Employee), Edmonton, AlbertaNovember 15, 2013
Delivered presentations of results and ensured all critical issue to research group and advisors
Communicated and conveyed the information between industry person and the academic supervisor to choose the appropriate apparatus for the IPMSM core-loss quantification project work
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and professional place
Administrative Assistant (Former Employee), Edmonton, ABOctober 14, 2013
I enjoy helping people while working with a professional team here
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice learning environment.
Laboratory Assistant (Current Employee), Edmonton, ABOctober 9, 2013
Pros: flexible working environment
Cons: relatively poor management
It's more about education at this place because I am finishing my master degree here. My research group guarantees me flexible time and lots of resources to complete my work. But I have to find right people to discuss my discoveries and problems about work sometimes.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive place
Reservoir Simulation Research Assistant (Current Employee), EdmontonOctober 2, 2013
Quantitative ranking of different operating areas and assessment of uncertainty due to reservoir heterogeneities are crucial elements in optimization of production and development strategies in oil sands operations. As a part of my master’s research experience I employed ANN as a proxy model to estimate SAGD recovery performance by using various heterogeneous – more... reservoir properties and injection parameters. I am proficient in reservoir simulation modeling using software such as CMG-STARS/IMEX, ECLIPSE and Petrel. Furthermore, I have also worked as Teaching Assistant for graduate and undergraduate courses related to the numerical reservoir simulation, reservoir fluid phase behavior and numerical modeling of 2D flow simulators for heterogeneous reservoirs. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A Place for state of the art Education and Multi-cultural experience
Research Assistant (Current Employee), Edmonton, ABOctober 2, 2013
Pros: lots of free food seminars, state-of-art education
Cons: severe winter
I work as Research assistant in a Geophysics group. Coming around 10 am staying all day doing experiments in the lab, have nice time in lunch with my co-workers who are my friends too. Experimental geophysicist is not so easy, you need to have clear idea before starting a job, face several obstruction (mechanical failure, miscalculation), waiting for – more... the run to finish but at last I feel refresh when finish my job with the helping hand of the members of the team. The challenging projects build up innovation, creativity and determination inside me as well as create the ability to work in a team. Analytical problem solving and service-oriented perspective, self-starting quality flourished through this kind of work. Every Friday evening I play badminton in the club, and also do some flag-football occasionally that refresh me for the next day. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work with good opportities for advancement
Undergraduate Administrative Secretary (Former Employee), Edmonton, ABSeptember 26, 2013
Pros: flexibility
Cons: non recognition of the extras one provides.
Where you work is all dependant on the people around you. Sometimes it can be very snobby.
I loved my job though.
enjoyable part was the pay and people.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent leadership and communication skills developed through performing multidisciplinary projects, teaching, volunteering activities
Research and Teaching Assistant (Current Employee), Chemical and Materials EngineeringSeptember 11, 2013
Prepared comprehensive monthly reports of the research progress for supervisors
I Collaborated with a team of multi-disciplinary researchers
Prepared project descriptions and proposals, designed laboratory experiments, analyzed the results and delivered and published the accomplishments within budgeted time frames
Public presentation of research findings – more... for faculty of engineering
Experience in safety inspection and preparing reports of hazards discovered during inspections – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to learn
Research Assistant (Former Employee), edmontonSeptember 4, 2013
Great place to learn and develop your skills. Good student to faculty ratio, access to all the modern lab equipments.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work, intellectually stimulating
Primary Instructor / Teaching Assistant (Former Employee), Edmonton, ABAugust 31, 2013
Pros: emotionally rewarding
Cons: stressful
Teaching motivated individuals, making each day better, and trying to make at least a small difference in their lives.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
My love for the Cree language inspires me to help others to love it as well.
Tutor (Former Employee), EdmontonAugust 23, 2013
Pros: continued learning
Cons: i am still not fluent
For three years I was the tutor for Aboriginal Student Services at the University of Alberta and loved every second. I would meet with students that were having some difficulties learning Cree. Initially I could only tutor the introductory and intermediate levels, but upon my own completion of the the advanced level and being published I have had the – more... experience tutoring at this level as well. Students would express where they have difficulties and I would show them unique techniques that would enhance their abilities. My love for the language shows when I work with my students, friends and family. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive, exciting, always educational and challanging.
Business Relationship Manager, WestGrid Site Lead (Former Employee), General Services Building, Main Campus, EdmontonAugust 20, 2013
amazing place where every day may bring new challenge, very hard to establish a routine because people and projects are in constant change, this is part of the excitement, one learns to deal with change. work atmosphere is electrifying because you are surrounded by very skilled experts in any chosen field or discipline, yet very quickly it feels like – more... one is a part of this amazing campus community, that will provide assistance and encouragement to fulfill your career and personal goals. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fufilling and fast paced
Paediatric Chart Prep (Current Employee), Edmonton, ABJuly 27, 2013
Pros: great benifits
Cons: open concept work place.
I really enjoy going to this job, its very challenging and fulfilling.

About University of Alberta

The University of Alberta, a single, public provincial university, was chartered in 1906 in Edmonton, Alberta with a new University – Read more

University of Alberta Photos