University of Alberta

University of Alberta Employee Reviews

Found 144 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great staff
Postdoctoral Fellow (Current Employee) –  Edmonton, ABJuly 5, 2016
The degree of satisfaction of working at the universities mostly depends on your supervisor. Like anywhere else, there are good bosses, and there are bad bosses, too. I have a great boss. The pay is low, especially considering you have a PhD degree. Hopefully the network I'm building here can help me finding my next better position.
Pros
Mixing with a lot of young professionals and students
Cons
Acedemic work can be very stressed
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
high expectations good reults
Electrical apprentice (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, ABJuly 5, 2016
a very strong sense of hard work and learning in this workplace. people consistently learning and teaching others, people with hard work as part of their lifestyle which is brought into the culture and atmosphere the moment they walk in and that energy is put into those surrounding. great place to work.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice employment and nice benefits
Senior Research Technologist (Current Employee) –  Edmonton, ABMay 10, 2016
Work at the University is very pleasant. Everyday there are a new challenge to face. I have been learning a lot and I am be able to mentor students in working in my lab. The hardest part of the job is the feeling that science is no longer something that the student want to do. It is not well paid or recognize anymore, almost every student want to become a doctor instead. I enjoy working with stuidents, they keep your spirit young.
Pros
Important work to help human health
Cons
A lot of work and not well paid or recognize
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Comfortable job with good benefits and decent salary
Postdoctoral Research Fellow (Current Employee) –  Edmonton, ABJune 22, 2016
Excellent support staff and departmental management. Flexible hours and good facilities and equipment. Good additional benefits including transportation subsidy.
Pros
Extra vacation during Christmas holidays
Cons
Only 10 vacation days per year
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive environment, friendly coworkers, busy work environment, good team work.
Customer Service Worker (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, ABMay 6, 2016
My work involved taking customers orders and processing them.
Sometimes I was assigned to cleaning of the work area.My co-workers were very friendly people whom encouraged team work. I gained good communication skills with customers.
Pros
discounted lunches
Cons
Busy long hours of work
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Assistant Coach - Bears Wrestling (Current Employee) –  Edmonton, ABAugust 23, 2016
Great co workers, great job.
Learned many life skills and coaching skills.
Always wanted to come in to work
Hardest part was the pace and best part was the are and people
Pros
Clean and healthy work enviroment
Cons
some days were slow
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive, Fast Pace, and Dynamic.
Research Assistant (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, ABMarch 16, 2016
Working in research every project is different. The people are passionate about what they do and are looking into new ways of solving an old problem. Research was a division I enjoyed and I really liked my team. Being in the field makes weeks away from home hard. Weeks away also means you see new places and see familiar places in a new light.
Tasks are mentally and physically demanding
You have to be excited about your project
Amazing growth opportunities - if there is funding !
Pros
Different projects
Cons
Different projects
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great!
Event Coordinator, Admissions & Records Advisor (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, ABAugust 24, 2016
This is a great place to work for work-life balance. Benefits are exceptional but have changed over the years. Moving up can be a challenge because no one seems to leave the University so positions rarely open.
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to work
Bakeshop Manager (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, ABSeptember 8, 2016
very good management good work partners, helpful collage's, great memories...... My workers are well trained, good people who did they work with dedication.
Pros
my management help me all the time.
Cons
to much politics
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and offers multiple opportunities to learn
Research Assistant (Current Employee) –  Faculty of MedicineApril 6, 2016
I have worked across various departments within the University of Alberta. Overall, work environments are relaxing and collegial. As well, the environment promotes independent thinking and learning.
Pros
Networking and professional development opportunities
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive Place to grow
Doctoral Candidate (Current Employee) –  Edmonton, ABMarch 29, 2016
A typical day involves doing experiments or analysing data.
I've learnt to be innovative and think on my feet.
I'm lucky to have co workers that are always willing to help and a supervisor that allows me some freedom with my research.
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wonderful life experience
Graduate Student Administrator (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, ABApril 1, 2016
My 21 years with the University of Alberta has provided me with a record of accomplishment and dedication. The experiences gave me the opportunity to develop a high level of professionalism and a strong work ethic.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good University
Researcher (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, ABJuly 16, 2016
I studied and work at University of Alberta. Great engineering program and fun place to work. Lots of things to do on campus and much more to learn in the faculty.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fantastic
Research Assistant (Current Employee) –  Edmonton, ABJuly 18, 2016
Given great freedom to work, pay was consummate with position. Coworkers were wonderful, really nothing but positive things to say about my time.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Too cold in Edmonton
Laboratory Technologist (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, ABMay 26, 2016
lots of repetitive work, which I hate. The other things are OK, Great people to work with. Working in an undergrad lab., means lots of repetitive work every day.
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great place to work, unless you want to make money
Project Engineer (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, ABMarch 4, 2016
Working at the U of A is great. I loved the campus and the people. It's not a good place to learn professional skills though.
Pros
Facilities on campus, gym, pool, close to river valley
Cons
Lack of professional culture and no mentoring
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
nice and productive place
TEACHER ASSISTANT (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, ABMay 7, 2016
co-workers were dedicated and nice. environment triggered me to be more creative and active while they gave me new tips and tricks about working there.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and friendly workplace
Lab Assistant (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, ABApril 27, 2016
The hours were very flexible and the work was very detailed and required focus. The head of the lab was very helpful as well as other lab members.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great employer
Events Staff (Current Employee) –  Edmonton, ABMay 12, 2016
Great environment to be working in. I look forward to coming to work every single day. I love meeting new people and creating meaningful interactions.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great campus life
Teaching Assistant (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, ABApril 28, 2016
Working at the University of Alberta as a Teacher's Assistant and Research Assistant provided a great campus life, and work - life balance.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport

Overall rating

4.3
Based on 149 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
4.3
Salary/Benefits
3.7
Job Security/Advancement
3.8
Management
4.0
Culture
4.2

University of Alberta Reviews by Location