University of Alberta Employee Reviews

Found 180 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyable but not consistent.
Climbing Wall Instructor (Current Employee) –  Camrose, AB23 May 2017
Didn't get very many hours and pay wasn't on a schedule. The people and environment was good and I made friends but it's not a job that you can sustain yourself with.
Pros
couch
Cons
little hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Alright
Research Assistant Intern (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB21 May 2017
It was menial data collection work, boring and didnt learn anything. Prof was nice mainly did it for the experience and to write on my resume. Wouldnt do it again hours were nice 10-4 every day without breaks
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
supportive
Research Assistant (Current Employee) –  Edmonton, AB20 May 2017
Great university for graduate study.
Large freedom and a lot of support for graduate research.
Good environment.
Decent student life support.
Great professors.
Pros
Freedom on research projects
Cons
Limited funding
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
educational
Research Assistant (Current Employee) –  Edmonton, AB14 May 2017
Graduate school. Taking classes and doing research in the field of Molecular and cell Biology. Using animal models to study heart failure or other cardiovascular complications
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Independent and Rewarding
Researcher (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB11 May 2017
Typically I was required to work independently to complete daily, weekly and monthly goals. I learned how to use adobe photoshop and how to work completely independently while still meeting collective goals and standards.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive workplace
Researcher (Former Employee) –  Civil and Environmental Department9 May 2017
Normally working in labs so it's a quiet and calm environment, great equipment and maintenance.
I've always liked working there, I feel free to ask whatever I don't know and learn how to properly use the machines.
I enjoy lab work, the chemicals, the discoveries, the possibility of creating something new that will be used and help people somehow. The hard part is because sometimes the experiments go around the clock and time is really important so I spent many nights in the lab.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good
Post Doc. Fellow (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB28 April 2017
good place to work. You will learn a lot. completely depend on funding resources. very low salary without any benefit. no time for personal life.

If you don't like to write please don't apply
Pros
acadamic atomosphare
Cons
depends on funding, very low salary
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive fun workplace
Driver/Youth Worker (Former Employee) –  Maskwacis Alberta23 April 2017
From making edits, and designs for the School books for the program, and traveling to meetings with other schools promoting the program, as well as going to events to promote program. took some training to become a facilitator, and learned new graphic design techniques. (created posters, cards, etc.)
the hardest part was meeting deadlines on a tight schedule, but was always the most enjoyable when a project was complete.
Pros
free lunches
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Place you can learn a lot
Research Assistant (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB27 March 2017
Since I was doing a research job, it provided me a great chance to interact with different types of people. And it is a nice place and has nice co-worker to work with.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Clean and advanced lab environment
Research and Teaching Assistant (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB26 March 2017
-Very clean and advanced lab environment with easy access to equipment.
-Clean and quiet office space.
-Great and well-organized animal facility with friendly staff
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Beneficial for work experience
EVENTS STAFF (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB24 March 2017
Working with the University of Albertas athletics department was an enjoyable and productive opportunity. I enjoyed my time with their department for the most part.
Pros
Benefits
Cons
Scheduled for work on days you did not choose.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Interesting projects
Manufacturing sector graphic design (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB23 March 2017
Enjoyable place to work with extremely reasonable hours. Geared more towards University students looking for an internship of some kind, similar to a research lab.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
laboratory research environment
Research Assistant (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB20 March 2017
there is a lot of independence to complete tasks. we got to learn many techniques and sometimes procedures go smoothly, other times procedures have problems suddenly happen. patience is needed for the work.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was highly productive
R&D Engineer (Current Employee) –  Edmonton, AB18 March 2017
My typical work day comprises of:

Designing and fabricating medical and electronic devices that entail application of multidisciplinary engineering principles

Providing expert advice on various mechanical design projects

Dealing with suppliers on procurement of equipment

Performing in diverse team settings as well as in individual assignments, and documenting technical reports and publications

I have accomplished creation of designs of high performance solar cells and medical devices
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Easy job, great projects, with terrible management
Assistant Researcher (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB15 March 2017
Between genuinely abusive supervisors, and exploitative pay schemes, it's hard to enjoy coming into work. The projects can be meaningful and despite any number of weekly yelling at you 'meetings' it is impossible to be fired.
Pros
Easy Job, Impossible to be fired
Cons
Poor pay, bad management
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun
Volunteer (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB12 March 2017
Because I was only a volunteer, there's really no salary or benefits but you get free food sometimes. Everyone was supportive and tries to help you any way they can. There weren't much commitments until near Orientation Day.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
University of Alberta is Great!
Team Leader (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB22 February 2017
I loved the people and the commitment to ensure the visiting international students had an amazing experience at the University.

Lots of room for creativity and collaborating ideas with fellow staff to make excellent programs for visiting students.
Pros
Amazing Staff
Cons
Long hours but it can be worth it!
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice Environment
Postdoctoral Fellow (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB20 February 2017
- I learned a lot working here and would recommend it to anyone.
- Professional and Friendly work place
- You could rise to all challenge.
Pros
Professional
Cons
low Salary
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very lively work environment, amazing team and management
Application Developer (Current Employee) –  Edmonton, AB19 February 2017
Amazing team environment.
Day starts with team stand-ups and everybody feels like extension to one integral unit.
There is transparency and accountability and project are tracked effectively to meet budget and deadlines.
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice place to work
Training Support Analyst (Current Employee) –  Edmonton, AB6 February 2017
A typical day for me includes working with a team but having the ability to complete most job tasks individually. I get to do both administrative and eLearning type work. It can be a very fast paced environment depending on the time of year.
Was this review helpful?Yes3No1Report

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at University of Alberta. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.3
Based on 186 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
4.3
Salary/Benefits
3.6
Job Security/Advancement
3.7
Management
4.0
Culture
4.1