University Health Network

University Health Network Employee Reviews in Canada

Showing all 67 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent Place to work
Registered Nurse (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ONJuly 15, 2016
Through training and education for a new grad. Management were supportive and responsive to issues brought forth. The care provided at this company is competent and kind.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The organization is motivated by revenue generating
Manager, Education Technology and Media Services (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ONJuly 5, 2016
However, the non-profit organization can not be motivated by revenue generated, unless is a business oriented. It is a great company to work for, but not with the current management style: work more hours with no extra pay - no work-home balance.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Grerat place to work
Human Resources Manager (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ONJune 24, 2016
good people, dedicated management, high stress. Very fast pace and rewarding work.
Working in Healthcare provides a chance to contribute to a greater good.
Pros
continous learning
Cons
high stress
Was this review helpful?Yes2No
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good workplace that provides occasional free body massage
Registered Nurse (RN) (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ONJune 3, 2016
UHN promotes self directed learning true tuition reimbursement. there is good team work. it is a workplace that shows concerns for staff work and life balance
Pros
Tuition subsidies
Cons
Work load increasing
Was this review helpful?Yes2No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a good place to work
Manager (Former Employee) –  TorontoMay 20, 2016
- Policies are not followed by management but management is not held accountable or reprimanded for breaches in policy
- Abuse of staff who are too afraid to say anything
- If you don't like being bullied look somewhere else to work
- speak up and everything will get twisted and you will be targeted
Pros
Met some good people
Cons
low pay, dishonest people in leadership roles, bullying.
Was this review helpful?Yes10No
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A place to work with full job satisfaction
Dialysis Technician (Current Employee) –  Mississauga, ONMay 18, 2016
Sussex Dialysis Center (UHN) is a large and professional self-care dialysis center with a busy and fun filled environment where nurses and technicians work together for delivering utmost patient care.
Pros
Flexible Work Environment
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place
BUSINESS ANALYST (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ONMay 18, 2016
It is a great place to get your foot in the door. A lot of young people at UHN. Fun- fast paced environment especially for new graduates.
Was this review helpful?YesNo2
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The Healthcare Giant
Manager, Facilities (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ONMay 4, 2016
Such a huge organization, it is easy to feel insignificant. My Director was amazing as well as my VP. The management teams are super smart and very approachable. HR has demonstrated their lack of grit.
Pros
Exposure
Cons
Weak HR Support
Was this review helpful?Yes2No4
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and supportive work environment with opportunities to grow
Human Resources Intern and Volunteer (Part-time) (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ONApril 10, 2016
Full-cycle recruitment for Volunteer Resources, delivered bi-monthly training, coordination between two hospitals.
Was this review helpful?Yes3No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great people to work with
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ONJanuary 18, 2016
Processed reports, dealt with phone calls from clients, referral source, and family physicians

I learned how to deal with strict timelines

Worked closely with clinical staff ie, physiotherapists, occupational therapists and multiple disciplines of physicians

Most of the management team was great to work with

My co-workers for the most part were great

Hardest part of the job was learning to deal with the strict timelines

The most enjoyable part of my job was being thanked by clients for helping them
Was this review helpful?Yes12No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Summary
VOLUNTEER (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ONJanuary 4, 2016
I started volunteering with UHN in Toronto, Ontario, Canada since November 2015. I decided to volunteer as I recently graduated from Medical school and looking to avail my time until residency starts. I help provide cardiac support and also, volunteer recruiting patients for an ongoing cardiac research study in Toronto General Hospital. Everyone is very pleasant.
Was this review helpful?Yes9No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great place to work
Research Support - Volunteer position (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ONJanuary 4, 2016
I feel fortunate to work in the largest research and teaching institution, collaborating with top researchers and clinicians. I have received support from the staff and management. I have develop skills and gained experience. I have excellent co-workers.
Job security is not good because research depends on funding.
Was this review helpful?Yes3No
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good employer, few opportunities for advancement
Senior Administrative Assistant (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ONJanuary 2, 2016
Healthcare is a difficult world to advance in because the academic qualifications for advancement from administrative to policy-related work are very steep. If you like people, I recommend a clinical setting for administrative work (ie appointment scheduler) over general administration, which can be tedious and very dull.
Pros
Good benefits, good location (downtown Toronto)
Cons
Few opportunities to advance beyond admin assistant level
Was this review helpful?Yes6No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Uhn
RN (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ONDecember 20, 2015
I am currently working there and seeking new opportunities.
In the acute care hospital setting I've learned to stay calm and work on my feet as it can become very busy. Despite the fast paced environment, I've continued to practice safe client centered care based on hospital protocols and CNO standards.
Was this review helpful?Yes7No6
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Company overall is good
Administrative Assistant (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ONNovember 25, 2015
Overall, it is a good company. However, the fusion of phones and paperwork collide and there is no full-time position available (i.e. 9-5, 8-4) without weekends.
Was this review helpful?Yes8No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
always feel comfortable to express any views on anything regarding job and workplace
Administrative Assistant (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ONOctober 21, 2015
- the most enjoyable part of the job is knowing that you have helped someone (the patients).
- I have always felt I was a good fit at UHN because everyone I have met definitely seems to be there for the patients
Was this review helpful?Yes9No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I always forward to working with my members and staff.
Personal Trainer/Fitness Instructor (Current Employee) –  585 University Ave, Toronto, ON.October 19, 2015
I do enjoy working for Uhn, however, I am a contract worker. That said, they can only provide a certain amount of hours do to budget constraints. As the wellness program grows I am confident that more work will arise too.
Pros
Helping health care proffesionals who give so much of them selves helping others.
Cons
Not enough hours at present.
Was this review helpful?Yes7No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Experience
Project Analyst (Former Employee) –  torontoOctober 7, 2015
Fun work place with supportive management.
You develop skills and get a lot of experience.
Politics are very soft and no difficulties in resolving any issues.
Was this review helpful?Yes6No
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good workplace
Postdoctoral Researcher (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ONOctober 2, 2015
Good working conditions
Fast pace evironment
received a lot of experience
good management
very versatile
enjoyable work
the heart of scientific community
Was this review helpful?Yes6No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Exciting and challenging work environment
Project Coordinator (Current Employee) –  KuwaitAugust 24, 2015
Dynamic work environment requiring flexibility and adaptability. Great team culture. Working with different cultures is a way to learn how to be flexible and patient. A great learning opportunity about healthcare, project management and time management.
Was this review helpful?Yes4No

Overall rating

4.0
Based on 67 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.7
Salary/Benefits
3.6
Job Security/Advancement
3.3
Management
3.5
Culture
3.6

University Health Network Reviews by Location