Find companies:
United States Steel
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
74 reviews

United States Steel Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible place to work
Maintenance (Former Employee), NanticokeJanuary 26, 2014
Pros: no tools, no supervision, means no work. great place to sit and read
Cons: supervision, screwed up pay weekly, toxins they don't tell you about, security
I am a former employee from the plant in nanticoke ontario. I would not recommend this place to anyone. They preach safety but if it interferes with production it goes right out the window and god forbid if you hurt yourself because you will be to blame regardless of the circumstances. The environment is terrible and the amount of toxins you inhale – more... daily is not worth the money. They supply you with little or no tools to do your job. They rip you off every pay and force you to fight for what's yours. Management has little idea what they are doing. The union does not represent there employees. All in all I'd say unless your starving in the street I would run as far away from this place as you can. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Do not work here!
Welder/Fabricator (Former Employee), Nanticoke, ONApril 25, 2013
This is where tradesmen and women come to lose all self respect! I've worked for USLess steel for the last 6 Years! You will be disrespected, and suffer some of the work working conditions you can imagine, and heaven forbid if you cut you finger! Do not work here.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Interesting Job. Terrible: conditions, pay, management and job advancement opportunities,
Utilities Operator (Former Employee), Lake Erie Works, Nanticoke ONJuly 15, 2012
Pros: interesting job, massive industrial facility.
Cons: everything else.
I cannot not say enough bad things about this company. The only trades people that should consider this place are people with no experience or no other option. This company has no interest in investing in their employees. Do not expect any help with advancement. Getting them to sign off on your experience time will be like pulling teeth. The draconian – more... actions of the company as a whole will quickly poison your attititude and it will take years to go away. The place is freezing in the winter, sweltering in the summer and absolutly polluted every day.

I did enjoy my job day to day job, but the company made the work enviroment unbearable. The pay definatly does not compensate for amount of pollution you encounter on a day to day basis. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good pay/bennefits
Operations Manager (Current Employee), alabamaJuly 8, 2014
Not the best for college grads. Company does not care for its people.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company , tough times
Field Support (Former Employee), AlabamaJune 23, 2014
Pros: good co-workers
Cons: needs to modernize
This is a good company to work for.

The company needs to modernize in order to survive
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Terrible place to work,terrible company
Maint Tech-Electrical (Former Employee), Granite City,IllinoisJune 8, 2014
Pros: pay, benefits
Cons: extremely hostile work environment
One of the worst jobs I ever had,they forced us to work 16hrs with little or no notice regularly,management harassed employees they didn't like & fired them or gave them time off for no viable reason,and on top of all that extremely dangerous,dirty place,worst bathrooms I've ever seen,seemed to me the company promoted an atmosphere of fear(getting fired) – more... very bad union/management relationship,wouldn't recommend any of my friends or family to seek employment there – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A Crusty Company with the Job Culture of Cold Metal
Information Systems (Former Employee), Pittsburgh, PAJune 4, 2014
Pros: great benefits, generous compensation
Cons: bad company culture, poor management, poor work environment (no windows, tons of dust, disgusting bathrooms), unfriendly and depressing environment, ridiculous dress code, a culture of fear
U.S. Steel offers great benefits and, for those in the Management Associate program, competitive pay. However, the company's management is highly ineffective, and U.S. Steel fosters a 'blame your subordinates' policy. In my experience, U.S. Steel management is not supportive, and employees do not receive adequate training. Additionally, for those that – more... work within the Business Service Center located in Pittsburgh's Southside location: do not expect any sort of job advancement. A reason exists for why most new employees leave within three years: U.S. Steel offers little to no chance of promotion from within the company. Finally: U.S. Steel encourages an unfriendly and often misogynistic environment, and treats employees like expendable automatons. Then again, can one really expect anything less from a company founded by corrupt individuals J.P. Morgan and Andrew Carnegie? – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
United States Steel is a good company to work for if you can put the time in to the company
US Steel Area Manager Operations Blast Furnace (Current Employee), Fairfield, ALMay 18, 2014
Pros: benefits are good
Cons: poor work life balance as you advance up in the company
United States Steel is a good company to work for with good advancement for people who want to put in the time.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Iconic company; Great benefits
Assistant General Counsel (Former Employee), Pittsburgh, PAMay 16, 2014
Will miss this great company. Underwent major restructuring recently.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Paying Job with No Advancement
Machine Operator (Former Employee), Granite City, ILMay 10, 2014
Pros: great pay
Cons: no excuse is good enough
Three words to describe my experience YOUR ALWAYS WRONG.But my family was provided for my time there.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This is a great company for which to work. However, it is currently reducing staff.
General Attorney (Current Employee), Pittsburgh, PAMay 6, 2014
The company is undergoing economic hardship and is reducing staff.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Learned everything i needed to know at this job.
Production Operator/ Supervisor (Current Employee), Gary, INMay 5, 2014
Would wake up as early as 4 A.M. Typical day of P.T and breakfast. then a normal work day would consist of motorpool activities, staying prepped for deployment and keeping troops ready. Being deployed and being in the rear tought me so many valuable lessons
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Don't do it
Anonymous (Current Employee), McKeesportApril 30, 2014
When I got my job with USS, I though my prayers had been answered. I thought that I had landed a "Career" at long last. Good money, good benefits, good pension, etc. Let me tell you, I wish I had a dollar for every co-worker who has uttered that exact phrase to me...

And we all have said it because of the tremendous disappointment we experienced once – more... we were inside, and we're all looking to get out. Some have managed to do so, that's why this job is posted.

They will lie to you in the interview. Once you get in, you will learn that the McKeesport location is THE lowest paid USS plant, nationwide. The pension is new and so little that it is actually insulting. There is no matching at all for a 401(K). They used to give us $50 per pay toward the 401(k), but the union successfully negotiated that away last June. The health care coverage is good, in tems of coverage, though your "contribution" toward it, and your deductible is more than any other USS plant that I am aware of.

Guys right across the Mon river get HUGE jump in pay and benefits for what is essentially the same, or very similar, job.

Safety is non existent, and/or at managements discression.. They pressure you into driving a forklift, but won't train you on it. Give you a harness, but don't train you on it and have no recovery plan in place if you happen to end up dangling from something. The environment is extremely dirty, dangerous and noisy. Really not worth it for a $40 - $45K job before over time. And overtime there is... I routinely work 70+ hours, rotating shifts. That's 12+ hours, six days per week. Then, out of the blue, they drop you to 32 hours for a few weeks... Build that into your budget.

In a nutshell:
- The management bad beyond my ability to articulate such matters
- The pay and overtime are fair, but not worth the danger and mistreatment.
- The union is useless the extent that it is a sad dishonor to those forefathers who fought so hard, even died, to give us what we should have today. But, at least I only pay about $1,000 per year to not be represented.
- There's more, but...

Enough. If you don't get it by now, you'll fit right in at that McKeesport he## hole. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No work/life balance, the union runs the show and advancement is extremely difficult.
Operations & Maintenance Shift Supervisor (Former Employee), Lorain, Ohio 6 Quench, Temper & FinishingApril 15, 2014
Pros: leaving at the end of the day when you are allowed to.
Cons: where do you want me to start?
I would have given negative stars if I could have. The union runs every aspect of this company. The managers only advance if they kiss the union's rear end. Upper management states they have your back, but they can't be trusted. The bond you make with other front line managers are the only ones you can trust. I hope you are not married because you will – more... be married to US Steel and your job. If you work in the mills be prepared for 16 to 18 hour days 6 days a week. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Facilities Infrastruture Support (Current Employee), West Mifflin, PAApril 5, 2014
Professional with great coworkers and great management. Great pay and zero complaints.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Team building.
Plant Manager, Primary and Finishing Operations (Former Employee), Fairfield, ALApril 2, 2014
Pros: allott of free lunches. double man some jobs, for haydration in al.
Cons: summer heat in al. constant fight.
Town Hall meetings with all work force to keep all informed of the business drivers. Plan yearly Safety Day. Yearly Family picnics. Team building.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No work/life balance and personal advancement is extremely difficult.
Production Engineer (Current Employee), Fairfield, ALMarch 24, 2014
Pros: decent pay and benefits
Cons: advancement opportunity, employees are not valued or their background
U.S. Steel has many more downfalls than perks. The company is very "old school" and is resistant to change. If you have an engineering degree, do not expect that to mean anything to upper management. Most engineers are forced to be shift managers (rotating shifts) where they work with other managers who have business degrees or no degree at all. If – more... you are an Engineer, steer clear of this company! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Leadership needs to improve for this company to ever be successful again
Infrastructure Support (Former Employee), Pittsburgh, PAMarch 19, 2014
This company is still under the assumption that people know who they are and want to work here. That is not the case. There are tons of companies headquartered in Pittsburgh that offer better pay and better culture.

Typical Day: Anything that happens is an emergency, constant "fire drills' Unappreciative management, no communication between employees – more... and senior leadership, prevented by direct supervisors. In certain departments females are looked down upon and rarely given challenging projects. Sexist environment and managers who act like they are in the plant with offensive and inappropriate language.

Most enjoyable: Coworkers are amazing and offer great learning opportunities. So much knowledge but rarely recognized by leadership. Hardworking and hold the team together.

What I learned: Corporate environments are bureaucratic and rarely concerned about employee morale. Higher pay does not mean higher job satisfaction. Managers make or break a job and a company. Ethical behavior is rarely practiced, but looks good on paper for the stock holders. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
nice group of peopl to work with
Operator (Current Employee), Gary, INMarch 13, 2014
Pros: work independently
Cons: good money
heavy equiptment operator 60 ton earth movers,payloader,water trucks etc.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awful environment for an engineer
Chemical Engineering & Materials Science MA (Current Employee), Gary, INFebruary 15, 2014
Cons: management, number of bosses, work environment
As an entry level Chemical Engineer, this is not your place. There are few actual technical roles here and you'll more than likely be commissioned as a shift manager working on rotating shifts. Specific to the Iron Producing division, they go through managers rather quickly and there is high turnover. If you do make it through your several years as – more... a shift manager, the typical path is to be promoted to an Operating Coordinator, or an Area Manager. Again, both managers. There is literally nothing technical here to learn and if that's what you're interested in, DO NOT work here. Aside from it being an awful work environment (think 140 F in the summer, -30 F in the winter, dusty and miserable), most of the other managers are promoted from the union and have no formal education. They won't teach you anything unless you're lucky enough to get a good boss (yes, a boss from the union with no technical information to teach you) because they're worried about you replacing them (go figure). Essentially, if you are an fresh college graduate in engineering, you will be the most knowledgeable person working on the furnace. Befriend the tech group guys and the control room operators (only on #14, the south furnace control room ops are also union!) because they will be the only people worth talking to. I'm sad to say it, but this is the most unprofessional place I've ever worked. – less

1 2 3 4

About United States Steel

Steel crazy after all these years, United States Steel is North America's largest integrated steelmaker and the world's eighth-largest – Read more

United States Steel Photos