United Safety Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Experience
Safety Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Airdrie, AB15 October 2017
Great experience as Safety Supervisor in the oil/gas field.The company provided transportation, online training and competitive salary and bonus. Made me feel a true partner of the company.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Contracting job
QA/QC Inspector for scott air (Former Employee) –  Fort Saskatchewan, AB9 June 2017
Like any contracting job it was difficult to rely on. your paychequ isnt steady. However i absolutely loved it there. I was constantly learning new things.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Training
Safety Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Airdrie, AB30 May 2017
Best thing I can say is their training program was top notch. Pay at the time was very poor as were the working conditions but you can learn a lot. Best place to train as a safety hand. Get the experience here and get out.
Pros
Training
Cons
Just anout everything
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible work enviroment
H2S Safety Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Alberta29 January 2017
If your looking to never see your family then this is the job for you. No home life if your good at your job. Good luck. I hate writing reviews and this is the only way to get the word count up.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
United Safety
Foreman/Field Safety Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Alberta26 January 2017
When times were good they were a good company to work for although they don't understand family life very well and the fact that it takes two to raise a family.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work
Lead Hand (Current Employee) –  Fort Saskatchewan, AB4 January 2017
An excellent work environment. Management is easy and pleasant to work with. Co-workers are also very pleasant to work with. Patrons and generally nice as well.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It is ok as a jumping stone to get into the patch
Safety Officer (Current Employee) –  Airdrie, AB19 December 2016
I did enjoyed working part time and some crews were really good
and some just so so.
Not enough hours to make a living...
Worked long hours and days with little time off and management
changes safety to keep clients even when it is not safe for us
to enter or do work.
Will not use all the experience of people to make things easier
to do job....people with PHD,masters degrees,process operators
have lots of ideas but will not use them...
Pros
Not long stints to work on jobs could not stand full time...
Cons
No promises on any hours or days worked..
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Monotonoous
Safety Person (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB14 October 2016
A very monotonous job. Long periods of standing and not being able to sit down. Long hours, long drive to get to job site and not enough sleep.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
united safety review
training technician (Current Employee) –  fort saskatchewan3 October 2016
good company, maintained friendships. Only negiative with the company is they only have contracted work and it is limited in winter and spring months so it isn't reliable. Non permanent, casual work only. Benefitting students or people who do not have to worry about money or providing.
Pros
friendly staff
Cons
limited work
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
committed in safety
SAFETY LEAD. (Current Employee) –  Edmonton, AB2 October 2016
Have gained tremendous experience in safety in different fields and worked for great companies like shell Canada.
Have maintained the safety culture.
Pros
safety tickets
Cons
overtime
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very spuratic work, wages move up and down as the company sees fit.
HSE Advisor (Current Employee) –  Northern Alberta and North East B.C.30 September 2016
I have worked within the United Safety company for over 6 years, My wage has only gone down in that time. The work load is up and down and there is minimal notice for upcoming jobs.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great enviornment with great workers and GF's
Safety Watch (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB21 September 2016
Very great environment. Met some great friends while working there. They treat there employers fair and room for advancement is not difficult.
Pros
Great pay
Cons
Long hours on feet. Climbing very high places
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Uncertain job security
Safety Watch (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB26 July 2016
A typical day at work is a 10 hour shift, on your feet in PPE. I learned how to detect for dangerous gases and chemicals which are inherent on the site, which was a fertilizer plant. The hardest part of the job was the long hours and the fact you could work for 10-12 days in a row. The most enjoyable part of the job was being on at the plant at seeing the layout of the plant and the design of the process.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good group of people, great management that taught me a lot in the short time i was there
Shop Foreman (Former Employee) –  Fort Nelson, BC13 July 2016
First step into my transition from highschool to the oil and gas industry. Very helpful and smart crew. taught me proper procedures, some mechanical work, refilling air tanks, programming h2s monitors along with other safety devices used in the oil and gas industry
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Gained related experience
Foreman (Former Employee) –  Airdrie, AB7 May 2016
Everyday was a new day. You never knew what was to come. You had to figure things out on the fly. I would perform safety meetings, create rescue plans, and train new crew members. Rig in High and low pressure lines at extreme heights. Crews were normally large with few experienced workers. In this Environment one learns to think on the fly very effectively. I would follow the guidelines set out by my management team. The hardest part about my job was trying to balance long shifts and home life (Being I worked away from home).
The most enjoyable part of my job was meeting several different people and all the experience I have gained.
Pros
Provided living out arrangements
Cons
The unpredictable nature of when you are going to work next
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
United Safety
Safety Watch (Former Employee) –  Red Deer, AB8 April 2016
Great business and pays well, however, working this job means you cannot stay at home or have any other activities going on while employed.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent training and good work experience.
Team Lead Safety Watch (Contract) (Former Employee) –  Airdrie, AB15 March 2016
Excellent training and good work experience. Enjoyed working with team of professional in a great Oil and Gas facility (CNRL Horizon)
Pros
Free Meals and good accomodation.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Terrible place to work
Shop Hand (Former Employee) –  Airdrie, AB28 January 2016
unable to reveiw at this time as I am trying to secure other employment. I would recommend that no one goes to to work for this company.
Was this review helpful?Yes 6NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great People
General Foreman (Current Employee) –  Fort Saskatchewan, AB3 January 2016
Great people to work with, not good company morale. Learned a lot of new skills. You are treated as a number, not a person.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A typical day at work
Lead Hand (Former Employee) –  Cochrane, AB6 November 2015
Work starts as early as 7.00 am and it is mostly a 12hours job. Nice place to work and nice crew. After the normal safety meeting, we move to the plant, meet the client and other workers and commence the supervision.
Pros
Long hours of work
Cons
Mostly casual job opening
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at United Safety. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.4
Based on 67 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
2.9
Salary/Benefits
3.2
Job Security/Advancement
2.8
Management
3.1
Culture
3.2