United Safety Employee Reviews

Found 45 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
united safety review
training technician (Current Employee) –  fort saskatchewan3 October 2016
good company, maintained friendships. Only negiative with the company is they only have contracted work and it is limited in winter and spring months so it isn't reliable. Non permanent, casual work only. Benefitting students or people who do not have to worry about money or providing.
Pros
friendly staff
Cons
limited work
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
committed in safety
SAFETY LEAD. (Current Employee) –  Edmonton, AB2 October 2016
Have gained tremendous experience in safety in different fields and worked for great companies like shell Canada.
Have maintained the safety culture.
Pros
safety tickets
Cons
overtime
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very spuratic work, wages move up and down as the company sees fit.
HSE Advisor (Current Employee) –  Northern Alberta and North East B.C.30 September 2016
I have worked within the United Safety company for over 6 years, My wage has only gone down in that time. The work load is up and down and there is minimal notice for upcoming jobs.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great enviornment with great workers and GF's
Safety Watch (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB21 September 2016
Very great environment. Met some great friends while working there. They treat there employers fair and room for advancement is not difficult.
Pros
Great pay
Cons
Long hours on feet. Climbing very high places
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Uncertain job security
Safety Watch (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB26 July 2016
A typical day at work is a 10 hour shift, on your feet in PPE. I learned how to detect for dangerous gases and chemicals which are inherent on the site, which was a fertilizer plant. The hardest part of the job was the long hours and the fact you could work for 10-12 days in a row. The most enjoyable part of the job was being on at the plant at seeing the layout of the plant and the design of the process.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good group of people, great management that taught me a lot in the short time i was there
Shop Foreman (Former Employee) –  Fort Nelson, BC13 July 2016
First step into my transition from highschool to the oil and gas industry. Very helpful and smart crew. taught me proper procedures, some mechanical work, refilling air tanks, programming h2s monitors along with other safety devices used in the oil and gas industry
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Gained related experience
Foreman (Former Employee) –  Airdrie, AB7 May 2016
Everyday was a new day. You never knew what was to come. You had to figure things out on the fly. I would perform safety meetings, create rescue plans, and train new crew members. Rig in High and low pressure lines at extreme heights. Crews were normally large with few experienced workers. In this Environment one learns to think on the fly very effectively. I would follow the guidelines set out by my management team. The hardest part about my job was trying to balance long shifts and home life (Being I worked away from home).
The most enjoyable part of my job was meeting several different people and all the experience I have gained.
Pros
Provided living out arrangements
Cons
The unpredictable nature of when you are going to work next
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
United Safety
Safety Watch (Former Employee) –  Red Deer, AB8 April 2016
Great business and pays well, however, working this job means you cannot stay at home or have any other activities going on while employed.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent training and good work experience.
Team Lead Safety Watch (Contract) (Former Employee) –  Airdrie, AB15 March 2016
Excellent training and good work experience. Enjoyed working with team of professional in a great Oil and Gas facility (CNRL Horizon)
Pros
Free Meals and good accomodation.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Terrible place to work
Shop Hand (Former Employee) –  Airdrie, AB28 January 2016
unable to reveiw at this time as I am trying to secure other employment. I would recommend that no one goes to to work for this company.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great People
General Foreman (Current Employee) –  Fort Saskatchewan, AB3 January 2016
Great people to work with, not good company morale. Learned a lot of new skills. You are treated as a number, not a person.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A typical day at work
Lead Hand (Former Employee) –  Cochrane, AB6 November 2015
Work starts as early as 7.00 am and it is mostly a 12hours job. Nice place to work and nice crew. After the normal safety meeting, we move to the plant, meet the client and other workers and commence the supervision.
Pros
Long hours of work
Cons
Mostly casual job opening
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Foreman
Foreman (Former Employee) –  Airdrie, AB15 August 2015
Divested work experience ,in the winter it was working with oil rigs on sour gas wells providing breathing air support as well as training and summer working in sour gas plants providing personnel , equipment and resources to provide the means of job execution and rescue back up.
Pros
Lots of experience in a short period of time.
Cons
Time spent away from family and friends.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place
Safety Watch (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB23 May 2015
• Maintained the safety of contractors by performing confined space watch, fire watch, respiratory equipment training and atmospheric testing.
• Identified and implemented client and company site specific requirements
• Assisted in housekeeping in the immediate vicinity of their work station
• Maintained accurate and complete records of confined space entry, atmospheric testing, and radio communication
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun workplace with room for growth
Emergency Rescue Personel (Former Employee) –  AB7 May 2015
Enjoyable work settings
Room for advancement
Adequate training
Great superiors that are always available and willing to help at any time
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to introduce you into the industry
Industrial Dispatch and Operations (Current Employee) –  Airdrie, AB29 April 2015
Started in 2012 and moved up/ forward quickly. i do appreciate everything the company has done for me. long hours bu lots of down time.
Pros
Great place to learn about the industry
Cons
Low wages and very hard to become a Full Time Employee
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good introduction to oil field safety
Safety Technician and Lead-hand (Former Employee) –  Airdrie AB23 April 2015
Despite its well known brand name this company lacks the ability for good management. All people from different walks of life come in and it would have had good potential. Top level guys don't know their superiorities and keep on crashing each other all the time. I am not so sure how it is fairing presently after the Saudi's bought it.
Pros
Good Training
Cons
Long Hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Diverse Work Environments
Safety Technician (Former Employee) –  Alberta10 April 2015
Assigned to work at various locations in Alberta in both the Oil and Gas Industry and the Transmission and Distribution provided opportunities to work in diverse work environments with talented and interesting people.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Highly interesting and educated place to work
Safety Lead (Former Employee) –  Airdrie, AB14 January 2015
• Monitoring people working in confinement space
• Testing quality of air
• Calling for rescue in time of dangerous incident
• First Aid and CPR
Pros
Room for Growth
Cons
Too much research about other companies
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
field safety admin
Field Safety Administrator (Former Employee) –  Airdrie, AB27 October 2014
I enjoyed working for this company, would be interested in going back if oppurtunity came up again
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport

Overall rating

3.5
Based on 56 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
2.9
Salary/Benefits
3.2
Job Security/Advancement
3.0
Management
3.2
Culture
3.4