Find companies:
United Safety Ltd
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
17 reviews

United Safety Ltd Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
United Safety is a great place for an entry level oil and gas position
Industrial Site Safety Supervisor/Lead Hand (Current Employee), Airdrie, ABJuly 23, 2014
Pros: working with a great team
Cons: the long days, and inclement weather
The training I received from United Safety was informative, and the instructors were great. Once I went out into the field this training, in addition to my previous field training and education, allowed me assist in completing a successful turnaround in which there were zero recordable incidents/injuries. Management supports all workers, and is always – more... willing to teach new skills. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
safety
safety (Former Employee), Calgary, ABJuly 22, 2014
Pros: working out of town, working consecutive days
Cons: away from family and friends
ensure work environment is safe
learned about safety regulations and put them in place
working for 12 hours at day
night shift
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun place
Safety lead (Current Employee), Airdrie, ABJune 13, 2014
good company to work for,very organized workplace, nice team and good safety standards
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A multicultural, projects related work, fun, exciting out door environment, oil and gas occupational health and safety watch job. Gave me a break.
Occupational Health and Safety Watch (Former Employee), Airdrie, ABMay 14, 2014
Pros: you learn more of others careers on projects, exposed to various organisations and plants, meet new friends, learn other people's culture and many more, seing new plac
Cons: projects do not offer job security, very unpredictable, always working with different groups and professionals
Occupational health and safety sounds obvious to most only to be overemphasized when accidents or disaster strikes. Being aware of the fact that all accidents and health threatening incidents are avoidable is the starting point of my job which should be the way of life for all of us.

A typical day at work start with reviews of previous day's performance – more... at tailgates meetings.Any near misses, omissions and commissions which had the potential of causing harm to life, equipment and environment are discussed. Management and Safety Coordinators facilitate the discussions, highlighting mandatory and important safety behavior and principles overlooked. They also inform all workers of likely hazards in the plants and the engineering and administrative measures taken to eliminate or mitigate the risks. , Safety Monitors, all workers and contractors attend tailgates safety meetings at the beginning of each shift work before their job related safety meetings, job safety assessments and field related hazards assessments and monitoring are conducted.

The hardest part of my job is when co-workers are frustrated, tired, under pressure or not being adequately equipped or competent enough to do the job safely. Under these conditions there is a tendency of taking shortcuts hence endangering oneself and others.

The most enjoyable part of the job is its application to all activities and behavioral attitudes in life. It is exciting to share healthy occupational life saving tips with others. The fact that there is no second chance in accidents makes safety very important and a collective concern for all. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Busy working environment/workplace
Safety Coordinator /Watch (Former Employee), Airdrie, ABMarch 4, 2014
Pros: biweekly payment and diverse working environment
Cons: extreme temperatures, long working hours
Normal working day starts with safety meeting after which all the safety personnel are expected to inspect their equipment.

Working here, one will always learn on how to check for fit for duty, equipment inspections, radio etiquette, gas testing, equipment calibration, occupational exposure limits for all gases among other things

Every employee in – more... United safety was trained to work with different people and in a lot of cases, they are expected to work under pressure.

Like any other work, working for United Safety has pros and cons. One of the pros that one will always find, is having to working in extreme temperatures such as, very cold and freezing temperatures as in the case of winter shutdown in oil & gas plants and very hot and dehydrating temperatures as in the case of fall shutdown in power plants. However, regardless of these extreme weather conditions, one is always happy to meet and interact with people worldwide. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good experience meeting new challenges and people.
ERT/ Safety Supervisor (Former Employee), AlbertaFebruary 2, 2014
With my operation experience am available to help in numerous ways.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worst company I've ever worked for
H2S Safety Tech (Former Employee), AlbertaJanuary 10, 2014
Pros: no pros
Terrible pay, boring job, they dont care about their employees, and all their safety policy's and procedures go out the window whenever it suits them.

Great job for someone lazy who doesn't care about their future or pay cheque.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoy working for this company.
Safety Watch, Lead Hand, QAQC, Dispatch (Current Employee), Airdrie, ABNovember 6, 2013
Pros: pays very well in all positions, work with new people constantly
Cons: work away from home, long hours, alot of walking, consantly working with new people
What i do depends solely on what role i'm sent out to site to fill.

Safety Watch- I sign permits for confined space entry as well as hot work permits
- area watch monitoring my designated area for safe work, proper ppe, monitor levels on my personal gas tester.
- Confined space entry, i monitor who enters the confides space the atmosphere for safe – more... work environment.
- hot work requires the knowledge to use fire extinguishers. monito9ring area around hot work for fires that start up from the sparks.

Lead Hand - i maintain air trailers.
- Rig in as well as rig out air jobs.
- I work with safety watches to help them do there job answering questions and doing audits and coaching.

Qaqc- maintain and function test all requirement on site which include: personal gas monitors. cleaning, filling used SCBAs, and SABAs so they can be put back out into service.

Dispatch- the client comes to me to let me know what there doing, how much man power they need, what equitnment, the location, and the work order number as well as time the job will be starting.I send an equipment order to qaqc they get equipment ready and then i inform the lead hand of that designated area then get the man power ready to be sent out at the time there required to be there with the equipment needed for the job. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It is a fun company to work for
HR Administrator (Former Employee), Calgary, ABJuly 17, 2013
I worked for the company for three months as a contractor and I had a very good working experience with my colleagues. They are very open to offer support and ideas to each other in order to improve the work efficiency. And the overall working environment is cozy and people treat each other like family members.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It's a good company for start your career as Safety Professional
Foreman (Current Employee), Airdrie, ABJuly 14, 2013
Basically this Company is doing not bad job, it has grate trainings, good team in the field. But it has some points for improvement.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Staff and a very positive environment. Plenty of room for growth and good training programs available.
H2S Supervisor (Current Employee), Fort Saskatchewan, ABJuly 9, 2013
Pros: great satisfaction in my work.
Cons: unpredictable schedule and moderate income.
A typical day at work would include inspecting and signing out a company vehicle followed by a driving to a work-site such as a gas plant or a drilling rig. At the site United Safety employees implement the company safety standard and offer training to rig crews or contract workers to ensure all policies and procedures for that site are carried out – more... incident free. Usually a day shift and night shift is assigned to each project and United Safety has a wonderful and knowledgeable staff that contribute to a smooth transition for shift change. The hardest part of the job is being in an isolated area for several weeks/months at a time away from family and friends, without a set schedule. The most enjoyable part of the job is working in a group and knowing that my work is making a difference and in some cases saving lives. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
meh
Safety watch (Former Employee), Edmonton, ABJune 1, 2013
Could be better many of the workers don't speak to much English witch makes hard to work with. They hire pretty much anybody as long they got a heart beat. Shut down work is the main thing they deal with.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Progressive outdoor work with different projects
Safety Coordinator (Current Employee), Airdrie, ABJanuary 16, 2013
Every day at work is different and dependent on the project.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
We are the lowest paid people on work site
In Canada, Safety Advisor (Current Employee), Airdrie, ABOctober 17, 2012
We often get sent to jobs with little information, incomplete instructions, contract terms incomplete. Management often tells us fluff.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A Safey Company which gives its workers an opportunity to learn, imporove and advance in the company
Safety - QA/QC - certified NCSO (Current Employee), Airdrie, ABOctober 7, 2012
Pros: like to do courses and learn new things
Cons: long times between projects
A regular DAILY ROUTINE is to be prepared 15 minutes before shift starts, attending the safety meeting, and also any other safety meeting which has to do with the job you are on for that day. When on safety watch be at location before the workers. When the workers arrive greet them, tell them you will be working with them for the day and go over their – more... JSA (Job Safety Accessment) in a group and give additional information for safety, e.g. where shower, eyewash units are, where 1st aid is stationed, where the fire extinguishers are located, wind directions (changes) escape routes, emergency evacuations/ medical emergency procedures. Follow up paperwork during job accordingly. Alert Lead when serious factors may be present, for additional safety checking and backup. Follow through with the workers in communication (confined space e.g.) and keep constant contact. Bring paperwork to the United Safety files.
As QA/QC PERSON, Distribution of equipment to workers, equipment in proper condition, check when in and when given out for any flaws.
Keep track of paperwork and do inventory at beginning and end of shift to keep track of all company equipment and condition of equipment.Communicate with the workers about their equipment.
As QC PERSON, fit testing for facial masks with either smoke irritant or by computer. Using computer to bump test the monitors ITX..
Using multigas bottle to bump test MX4s. Disinfect, wash, dry, shine masks, regulators. Test regulators through computer for accurate
function. Reassemble SCBAs, SABAs after cylinders are refilled and ready for next project. Before taken out the packs are rechecked for proper function and all items are in the case with the paperwork.
We are always learning new things and I have RECENTLY LEARNED Q/A, Q/C AND AM CERTIFIED THROUGH UNITED SAFETY LTD.
It was Flint Safety (2004-2005) who introduced me to the ACSA and the courses I could take to become an NCSO. (National Construction Safety Officer.
MANAGEMENT comes in to talk to us after we qualify for yearly employment. They tells who our area managers are and the Area Manager comes in to visit us when we are on site, the other managers come on site once in a while, also depending on the length of the project. If there are serious issues the managers come onto site for the investigation.
The CO-WORKERS are eager to help me learn more as then we can work better as a team.
The hardest part of the job is with the different personalities who want their equipment before the paperwork is out. In the busiest situation (which is when the jobs are to start and finish) one has to manage the work load and be pleasant with all the workers. I understand their position and do my job to the best of my ability. The main key is Safety and managing my time to get all the equipment ready, rechecked for function, and tagged for the work location. It is a feeling of accomplishment and pride in my job at the end of the day.
The most enjoyable part of my day is when someone mentions I've done a good job, or takes the time to say Hello, or Thank You. It isn't expected but shows appreciation and that gives me a lift. Then when I learn something new, I feel I have moved up and am doing a good job. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nothing to write home about, and sooner I move on the better
Safety Technician (i.e. Safety Adviser) (Current Employee), Airdrie, AlbertaJune 19, 2012
Pros: its a safety position, and more money than i was getting in b.c.
Cons: disorganized company, poor leadership, and lots of empty promises
Poorly organized, run, and directed, but it is a pay check, and a lot less than I was promised

About United Safety Ltd

United Safety is a leading provider of H2S Safety Equipment and H2S Safety and Technical Services to the Petroleum Industry. Focused – Read more