Find companies:
United Rentals, Inc.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
130 reviews

United Rentals, Inc. Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Job
Sales Coordinator/Administrator Assistant (Former Employee), Phoenix, AZFebruary 15, 2013
I worked in construction and truely enjoyed by job. At times could be stressful, but in the end it worked out well for me.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Miss managed
Service Tech IV (Former Employee), North Aurora, ILFebruary 12, 2013
Pros: pay
Cons: lack of management and knowledge
Wrong people in the wrong positions! Lack of following through on things that were discussed at interview and time of hire.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awesome company
Inside Sales Representative (Former Employee), Carson City, NVFebruary 11, 2013
Highly productive company. Bright future assuming the industry turns around.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive fun place to work
Senior Inside Sales Representative (Current Employee), Indianapolis, INFebruary 9, 2013
A typical day of work involves a high volume of inbound calls from customers wanting to get quotes, place orders or service calls. Some calling to customers to followup with rentals and quotes. The hardest part of the job is being able to handle the high volume of calls and deal with walk-in customers at the same time.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work with great co-workers.
Outside Sales Representative (Former Employee), Manchester, NHFebruary 8, 2013
Pros: good pay & benefits
Cons: excessive use of computer
I enjoyed the people i worked with. I hated logging in everything on the computer.
the most enjoyable part of the job was meeting clients and
suggesting the right equipment.
A typical day was visiting jobsites.
Solving problems and being patient with clients was a learning
experience.
If you perform management leaves you alone.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Long way to go, post-merger.
Sr. Inside Sales Associate (Current Employee), FLJanuary 29, 2013
Pros: reputation is good in the industry / safety conscious / some overtime & bonuses
Cons: career-plan stagnation / lack of sales (force) maturity and professionalism
United Rentals is a work in progress. Overall the merger went smoothly but merging region/district management has not been integrating as well. Most will experience a delay in their career plan which is to be expected. Overall the company is fair and the majority of people are what makes it tolerable. They care about the safety of their people and expect – more... a full days work. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall a Company that takes care of it's workers.
Equipment Yard Foreman / Delivery Driver (Former Employee), Portland, ORJanuary 24, 2013
Pros: as a driver i was always provided with equipment to drive in good condition.
Cons: sometimes the safety of jobsites was ignored as long as things got done.
A fast paced job, with very well maintained equipment that really strives to take care of it's Customers and Employees.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Amazing Management
Credit Service Analyst (Former Employee), Modesto, CAJanuary 7, 2013
Pros: awesome management
Cons: large corporate company
I had the opportunity to work for United Rentals Credit Office 586 for 5 years processsing and collection the accounts receivables for a large company. I absolutely loved my job but do to restructing of the company it was decided to close our office along with several other offices. Our office had one of the best management staff who understand family – more... life and other aspects of life. I had the opportunity to communicate with many outside companies working to collect the receivables. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Started out a great company, but outgrew the manpower for what was expected.
Service Manager (Former Employee), Bradenton, FLJanuary 7, 2013
Pros: meeting new people, benefits, opportunities to learn and freedom to make decisions
Cons: expected to much for the people we had
I enjoyed working at United Rentals for the first few years. I was in charge of shop operations as well as parts ordering for rental equipment as well as customer repairs, parts and service and maintained a parts inventory.Maintained service records on computer and kept copy of service records in file cabinets.Also was in charge of employee safety and – more... delivery driver logs for company and DOT. Was also trained and certified for forklifts and aerial lifts. Trained and certified company employees as well as customers.
We had a great group of people at our branch that worked well together. The down fall for me was that I was going in to many directions and putting in an average of 60 - 80 hrs per week and just could not keep up with everything I was expected to do. I left on good terms in 2006 and started my own business afterwards. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
They took care of the employees.
Aerial Lift Mechanic (Former Employee), El Paso, TXDecember 8, 2012
United Rentals was a good company to work for, but there was just not much advancement in the future with them.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The best job i ever had.
Tractor/Trailer Truck Driver (Former Employee), Montclair, CADecember 6, 2012
Pros: got off work mid day.
Cons: had to start 3am.
I drove trucks for this company. Early morning starts and go go all day. I thank god for giving a chance for 11 years. All good things must come to an end. LAID OFF!
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great working environment
Outside Sales Rep (Former Employee), Gonzales, LaNovember 17, 2012
Made scheduled calls, cold calls, closed sales, held meetings with branch and district managers, used various computer programs for leads, and enjoyed working with the many people I came in contact with.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work. Company discontinues general equipment rentals and closed branch.
Customer Service (Former Employee), Cincinnati, OHNovember 13, 2012
Pros: very stable job. lots of face paced interaction with others.
Cons: company did not stay in area.
Customer service, counter sales. Trained persons on equipment operation. Sometimes delivered equipment to worksight. Stocked shelves. Maintained daily cash balance. Phone contact with customers and work sights. Located needed equipment from other stores. Maintained communications with office staff and rental locations. I worked this job 44 hours per – more... week while also pastoring the Buckwheat Road Church. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Normal work day
Credit Services Representative (Former Employee), Crofton, MDOctober 22, 2012
Pros: great work environment
Cons: not willing to relocate
placed calls for collections and reviewed and signed lien releases for exchange for payment on rentals equipment for vaious job sites and customers. answered phone calls regarding issues on customers accounts. filed liens and bond claims when needed. filed proof of claims forms with the courts on bankruptcy accounts. kept updated on the lien laws in – more... all 50 states. worked well with management and co workers. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A good first job
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee), Stockton, CAOctober 9, 2012
Pros: you learn a lot.
Cons: you are just a number that can be replaced
A very physical and customer service oriented job. Lots of lay offs due to the economy but not too much turn over.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
United Rentals was a great place to work
Mechanic (Former Employee), Modesto, CAOctober 3, 2012
Pros: good management
I was an aerial equipment technician which enjoyed his job very much. The management and employees were above average to work with.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
High Maintenance Account Receivable
Collections Specialist (Former Employee), Charlotte, NCOctober 1, 2012
Pros: monthly meeting where lunch is provided
Cons: location
Each Collector has a book of accounts and is maintained on a daily basis for opening an account.
Much be able to multitask
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Quickly evolving company.
Collection Specialist (Current Employee), Sugar Land, TXSeptember 26, 2012
Pros: great benefits, good management and 401k
United Rentals recently acquired RSC, thus bringing together two major competitors and have successfully merged two teams into one.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company also
Outside Sales Representative (Former Employee), Jacksonville NCSeptember 26, 2012
Pros: good pay at the time
Cons: very competative with other companys
Great company lots of training and guidance also good people to work with, plenty of equipment to move and they had the ability to get it on site on time everytime.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
What does a URI desktop support rep do?
Senior Help Desk Analyst II (Former Employee), Greenwich, CTSeptember 21, 2012
Cons: too many to list
When I first joined this company there was room for growth and the leads were very eager to teach you. However management had no clue on how to run a department, your opinions never mattered and any internal issue was swept under the rug. A typical day was sitting on the phone with end users performing basic troubleshooting. After a while you as a person – more... have to figure out if this is the type of job you want... – less

About United Rentals, Inc.

No cash to buy a bulldozer? No worries -- just lease one from United Rentals. The company considers itself the #1 commercial and – Read more