Find companies:
United Rentals, Inc.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
144 reviews

United Rentals, Inc. Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ok to work at A lot of road time, and you are a rental tool as well..
Service Tech III (Former Employee), Corpus Christi, TX h62July 18, 2013
Mixed feeling, higher wages could have made the difference.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good- great benefits and work life balance
Operations Manager (Current Employee), Grand Junction, COJuly 13, 2013
Overall good place to work. Benefits are great and work evenly distributed amongst employees.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Unpredictable, fast paced environment
Traffic Control Superviser/ Dispatcher (Former Employee), North Las Vegas, NVJuly 12, 2013
Pros: causal dress code
Cons: management not productive.
Dispatched traffic control drivers as directed by contractors, Super fast passed, close contact w/ co-workers.

Management more focused on bottom line then employees.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
standard work enviroment
senior field mechanic (Former Employee), Beaumont, TXJuly 9, 2013
Pros: field service
Cons: long hours
a good company to work for.good benifits,good work enviroment
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good work environment
Credit Collection Analyst/Account Manager (Former Employee), Sugar Land, TXJune 27, 2013
A typical day at work was quite, extremely busy and pleasant. I learned to manage my time to be more efficient. My co-workers were fun to work with. Because I enjoyed my job, I really didn’t have a hard part, well maybe on the 15th doing the Texas lien notices. The most enjoyable part was, making my collection calls with the customers and successfully – more... getting a payment. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
ok
MIT Program/Marketing Analyst (Current Employee), Charlotte, NCJune 18, 2013
fast paced and short tempered. Employees are not open to new people and are very territorial
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Perfect place to work for. lots of traveling .awesome equipment..Loved it'
Supervisor/Painter (Former Employee), Corpus Christi, TXMay 27, 2013
Pros: they would pay for your lunch no matter where you were.
Cons: you didn't need any breaks. it's just awesome, painting thru the mountains of colorado.
I would still be there if It exsist this was one company I would always remember and would like to work there again.

peace – May 30, 2013

Since the merger, There has been a total Management break down I have seen person after person come and go since then, In my shop alone we have had 75 years of combined experience walk out. More are planning on leaving until it will be a 100% R.S.C. staff. Almost the entire original United Rentals staff has left in many locations. Our sales territory has been cut severely by other NOW United Rentals stores causing in depleting profit margins.

Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awsome place to work
Yard Worker/Mechanic (Former Employee), Jacksonville, FLApril 12, 2013
Pros: learning about different machines
I loved working at United Rentals.My bosses were great and the over time was good. I loved learning abaout all the different machines .It was a very exiting job and i loved going to work every day.It was like a second home.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
United Rentals was an excellent company to be employed with.
Mechanic (Former Employee), Pico Rivera, CAApril 7, 2013
Pros: there are many pros about united rentals including the benefits.
Cons: the attempted involvement of the union.
My employment allowed me to work in an enjoyable environment and to utilize my skills as a hydraulic mechanic.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company
Territory Sales Manager (Former Employee), South Bend, INMarch 12, 2013
Pros: knowing the new jobsites and what is being built in the community.
Cons: renting the same item over and over is not challenging.
I loved working on new jobsites every day. This is not a position that will make you rich.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Service Technician
Service Technician (Former Employee), Durham, NCMarch 12, 2013
Pros: environment
Cons: slow business caused layoffs
Drive and maneuver equipment
Coordinate machine actions with other activities, positioning or moving loads in response to hand or audio signals from crew members.
Perform routine maintenance on equipment and determining when and what kind of maintenance is needed.
quickly and repeatedly adjust controls of machine to exact positions as necessary.
Learn, – more... follow, and promote all safety regulations of United Rentals and its customers
communicate clearly, listen and understand information through spoken words and sentences to ensure full comprehension of job duties, safety regulations, and other situations – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very Strong Company to Work For.
Outside Sales Representative (Current Employee), North West TerritoryMarch 10, 2013
Pros: good company overall
Cons: sales staff is forced to do work that the operations staff should handle.
I have enjoyed my time at United Rentals. It is a strong company that trains well and allows for growth. Working for such a large company is both a great advantage and disadvantage. You are apart of a huge team with lots of resources and have all the opportunity you need to get ahead. It is very much a corporate world and doing what is best for the – more... company will be words you live by. You have to be able to let some good ideas go by the wayside and try not to get discouraged when the smart easy decisions aren't made. The benefits are very good; they were better but with the way things are going the medical coverage is reducing and premiums are getting higher, but all and all very good insurance. As an OSR I was fairly happy; branch closures and territory changes is what lead to my eventual departure. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Competitive but fun work place even for a girl.
Sales Coordinator/Government Sales Rep (Former Employee), Fort Walton Beach, FLMarch 10, 2013
Pros: getting out of the office to delivery equipment out of town was always a fun road trip.
Getting the right equipment for the job for the customer. It is ok for a girl to be on the constructin sight with a bunch of guys. Learned large aspects of the contruction field by being on site. Guys treated me like one of them.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Best Company so far
CDL driver (Former Employee), Bullhead City, AZMarch 4, 2013
Pros: they look out for there drivers
Cons: non
Good pay,Good benefits,Good management,Good workers.Challenging
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Job
Sales Coordinator/Administrator Assistant (Former Employee), Phoenix, AZFebruary 15, 2013
I worked in construction and truely enjoyed by job. At times could be stressful, but in the end it worked out well for me.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Miss managed
Service Tech IV (Former Employee), North Aurora, ILFebruary 12, 2013
Pros: pay
Cons: lack of management and knowledge
Wrong people in the wrong positions! Lack of following through on things that were discussed at interview and time of hire.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awesome company
Inside Sales Representative (Former Employee), Carson City, NVFebruary 11, 2013
Highly productive company. Bright future assuming the industry turns around.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive fun place to work
Senior Inside Sales Representative (Current Employee), Indianapolis, INFebruary 9, 2013
A typical day of work involves a high volume of inbound calls from customers wanting to get quotes, place orders or service calls. Some calling to customers to followup with rentals and quotes. The hardest part of the job is being able to handle the high volume of calls and deal with walk-in customers at the same time.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work with great co-workers.
Outside Sales Representative (Former Employee), Manchester, NHFebruary 8, 2013
Pros: good pay & benefits
Cons: excessive use of computer
I enjoyed the people i worked with. I hated logging in everything on the computer.
the most enjoyable part of the job was meeting clients and
suggesting the right equipment.
A typical day was visiting jobsites.
Solving problems and being patient with clients was a learning
experience.
If you perform management leaves you alone.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Long way to go, post-merger.
Sr. Inside Sales Associate (Current Employee), FLJanuary 29, 2013
Pros: reputation is good in the industry / safety conscious / some overtime & bonuses
Cons: career-plan stagnation / lack of sales (force) maturity and professionalism
United Rentals is a work in progress. Overall the merger went smoothly but merging region/district management has not been integrating as well. Most will experience a delay in their career plan which is to be expected. Overall the company is fair and the majority of people are what makes it tolerable. They care about the safety of their people and expect – more... a full days work. – less

About United Rentals, Inc.

No cash to buy a bulldozer? No worries -- just lease one from United Rentals. The company considers itself the #1 commercial and – Read more