United Rentals, Inc. Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very cut throat management
Service manager (Former Employee) –  Stoney creek19 November 2014
Terrible management. I would not recommend employment there to anyone. Upper management cares about one thing only and that is there year end bonus at the regular employees expense. You get sick of hearing "drink the cool aid" and things will be fine.
Pros
None
Cons
Management, you are only a number.
Was this review helpful?Yes 50No 8Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
no idea
Heavy Equipment Technician Journeyman (Current Employee) –  Edmonton, AB22 September 2014
Its been so long since I've worked there I couldn't tell you what's its like to work for.
Pros
free lunches bonus
Cons
family ran
Was this review helpful?Yes 8No 47Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Summary of a day in the life of the United Rentals employee
Heavy Duty Technician (Current Employee) –  Fort McMurray9 July 2014
To be honest, I love working for United Rentals. My location has a great team of co-workers. They are people I can trust, and rely on in several areas of my eternal career advancement. If it were not for them, I would not have successfully advanced into my Heavy Duty apprenticeship. I would not have had exposure to new challenges with different equipment. And I would not have been able to sharpen my skills without their support network of training course (in person and on-line)

Sadly, the hardest part of my job is the slow state of this season. I'm not the type of employee to sit still and twiddle my thumbs. I eventually get antsy and uncomfortable from sitting idle for too long (typically around 10mins). I have to be doing something. If not working on equipment, organizing paper work, or cleaning my bay/tools. Or helping new apprentices overcome their challenges (if they want it). Some view this as impatience, or "brown nosing". Others are offended and say things like "you're making others look bad". It is not my intention…… And have to learn to follow everyone else's pace.
Pros
Great safety/team environment
Cons
Pay is not the greatest by area comparisons.
Was this review helpful?Yes 27No 9Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
this company is going downhill fast
Inside Sales Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Walkerton, ON11 November 2013
to many people in charge, and not going in the right direction, poor management
Pros
great co-workers
Cons
poor management
Was this review helpful?Yes 57No 12Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to learn new accounting skills
Office (Former Employee) –  Dunville, NL.20 April 2013
Typical day was renting out equipment for contractors or individuals. I learned all aspects of accounting, which I find very interesting and definitely challenging. Management was poor, co-workes were great people to work with. Hardest part of this job was been able to please the manager, and the most enjoyable was different things I learned on the job.
Pros
challenging position where i learned many new skills.
Cons
disgruntal manager.
Was this review helpful?Yes 17No 11Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Just a number
Service Manager (Former Employee) –  Burnaby BC13 June 2012
Great venue that I worked at.
Upper managment not able to get respect of employee's due to poor decisions.
Well trained techs
Hard to work with other branchs as no structure through the company.
Great benifits
No room for advancement unless you are part of a "gentlemens" club and the company thinks of you as a number and not a person.
Very metrix and number orientated company and expect you to get them by whatever means.
Pros
learning lots
Cons
no backbone in managment
Was this review helpful?Yes 65No 17Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
ambiance
Technicien (Current Employee) –  Longueuil, QC9 August 2017
Bonne compagnie avec d'excellent avantage sociaux pour les employé.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
journée de travail
Directeur (Former Employee) –  Sept-Îles, QC9 August 2017
chez united rentals, les jours se suivent mais ne se ressemble pas, nous sommes a l'écoute des besoins de nos clients en location d'équipements avec tout ce qui va avec, call de service, réparation ,inspection journalière etc...
Pros
apprentissage dans plusieurs domaines
Cons
jamais assez d'heures pour répondre a la demande
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productif
Chauffeur livreur (Former Employee) –  Quebec City, QC9 February 2016
livraiaon de trench box et equipement de securite sue les chantier de construction
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 4Report

See more United Rentals, Inc. reviews

You may want to try:

Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at United Rentals, Inc.. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.8
Based on 470 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.6
Salary/Benefits
3.8
Job Security/Advancement
3.2
Management
3.2
Culture
3.5