Find companies:
United Rentals, Inc.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
149 reviews

United Rentals, Inc. Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Summary of a day in the life of the United Rentals employee
Heavy Duty Technician (Current Employee), Fort McMurrayJuly 9, 2014
Pros: great safety/team environment
Cons: pay is not the greatest by area comparisons.
To be honest, I love working for United Rentals. My location has a great team of co-workers. They are people I can trust, and rely on in several areas of my eternal career advancement. If it were not for them, I would not have successfully advanced into my Heavy Duty apprenticeship. I would not have had exposure to new challenges with different equipment. – more... And I would not have been able to sharpen my skills without their support network of training course (in person and on-line)

Sadly, the hardest part of my job is the slow state of this season. I'm not the type of employee to sit still and twiddle my thumbs. I eventually get antsy and uncomfortable from sitting idle for too long (typically around 10mins). I have to be doing something. If not working on equipment, organizing paper work, or cleaning my bay/tools. Or helping new apprentices overcome their challenges (if they want it). Some view this as impatience, or "brown nosing". Others are offended and say things like "you're making others look bad". It is not my intention…… And have to learn to follow everyone else's pace. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to learn new accounting skills
Office (Former Employee), Dunville, NL.April 20, 2013
Pros: challenging position where i learned many new skills.
Cons: disgruntal manager.
Typical day was renting out equipment for contractors or individuals. I learned all aspects of accounting, which I find very interesting and definitely challenging. Management was poor, co-workes were great people to work with. Hardest part of this job was been able to please the manager, and the most enjoyable was different things I learned on the – more... job. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Just a number
Service Manager (Former Employee), Burnaby BCJune 13, 2012
Pros: learning lots
Cons: no backbone in managment
Great venue that I worked at.
Upper managment not able to get respect of employee's due to poor decisions.
Well trained techs
Hard to work with other branchs as no structure through the company.
Great benifits
No room for advancement unless you are part of a "gentlemens" club and the company thinks of you as a number and not a person.
Very metrix and – more... number orientated company and expect you to get them by whatever means. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
loved the airport
yard man, generator tech (Former Employee), Bullhead City, AZSeptember 11, 2014
Pros: arff
Cons: long hours
enjoyed the ARFF, at the airport and the security, did not like the long hours. Learned how to put out fires, if a plane caught on fire
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Terrible employer
Front counter (Former Employee), Hermantown, MN.September 2, 2014
Cons: terrible place to work.
Open shop, rent equipment, answer phones, reserve equipment for customers, check equipment in, load and unload equipment, clean shop, close shop.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Working with friends....
Credit Service Representative (Former Employee), Modesto, CAAugust 31, 2014
Pros: monthly lunch with management
Cons: office dissolved...moved operations to east coast.
All co-workers grew close to each other and we became a huge extended family. My most enjoyable part of the job was end of the month employee recognition meetings. We as a group recognized each other and congratulated the co-workers that achieved the highest performances of the past month. Management was very understanding and always had our backs.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A fun job
Maintenance Mechanic Supervisor (Former Employee), Hampton, VAAugust 18, 2014
Pros: great people
Cons: merger, changed everything over night
Very diverse working enviroment, A representative when the company was Rental Tools & Equipment at the hampton location was a great job, 100% commission, learned alot and still have friends that I see from time to time
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
healthy, productive work environment
Region Executive Administrator (Former Employee), Baltimore, MDAugust 9, 2014
I enjoyed working for United Rentals and was very sorry t have to leave. If my entire office hadn't been unexpectedly laid off, I would still be there
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Sales Coordinator (Former Employee), Gardena, CAJuly 23, 2014
Had an awesome crew we worked together and loved to help one another.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very Productive
INSIDE SALES/ OFFICE MANAGER/ DISPATCHER (Former Employee), West Palm Beach, FLJuly 16, 2014
Managed the sales area, including greeting visitors and responding to telephone and in person requests for information. Served as central point of contact for all outside vendors needing to gain access to the building .Maintained an up-to-date department organizational chart. Made copies, sent faxes and handled all incoming and outgoing correspondence. – more... Organized files, developed spreadsheets, faxed reports and scanned documents. Created weekly and monthly reports and presentations. Received and screened a high volume of internal and external communications, including email, mail and multiple incoming phone calls. Created and maintained spreadsheets using advanced Excel functions and calculations to develop reports and lists. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
worst Equipment rental business in las vegas
Territory Manager (Former Employee), Las Vegas, NVJuly 12, 2014
Pros: great benefits
Cons: click based management
Local management is clueless in how to run a contractors based business
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work outside
Tool Yard Asst. (Former Employee), Columbus, OHJuly 10, 2014
Pros: free lunches sometimes
Cons: little messy working outside
Plenty of sunshine, good workout while you work (heavy lifting), good people, fun, safe, and team oriented environment.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very easy and laid back
CSI TEMP (Current Employee), Tampa, flJuly 2, 2014
Very nice to come to every day. Not streeful, people are friendly.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor working envirnment
Commercial Truck Driver CDL - A (Former Employee), Bakersfield, CAJune 30, 2014
Pros: it paid the bills
Cons: long and irregular hours
Most days and nights were 10 to 12 long. No time to stop for lunch. Had to clock out and eat while driving. Learned trench safety and the applications needed for it. Management wasn't around much. If you didn't go along with the one and only manager you were replaced (famous quote," There's 100 guys out there that I can fill your job with"). Co-workers – more... were likable, but high turn-over rate. hardest part of the job was operating second rate equipment, I.E. operating remote control crane without the remote in stationary position against manufacture's procedures and U.R. company policies. Most enjoyable part of the job was traveling though-out Kern seeing different areas like the oilfields, canals, mountain areas, even the Owens Valley. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor use of employee's time.
Technician 2 (Former Employee), New Braunfels, TXJune 29, 2014
Pros: they pay you on time, and every branch is run differently.
Cons: poor management structure.
Management does not delegate tasks appropriately. Senior technicians are overpaid and no disciplinary action is taken for technicians that refuse to work. Mentioning that you are going to take classes for anything other than the specific position you are in is grounds for termination.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
excellent company overall
Class A Driver (Former Employee), Santa Ana, Ca.June 26, 2014
deliver and pick up rental equipment. I learned customer skills and how to solve problems out in the field. Management is very understanding in very way. My co-works were very tight and all got along well. The hardest part of my job was having to track down equipment in large job sites. I enjoyed the ability to work with so many people.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Culture of EBITDA
District Manager (Former Employee), Tulsa, OKJune 6, 2014
Pros: agressive
Cons: morally bankrupt
Nothing else matters to this company. People are expendable and the dollar is all that drives decisions.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Trench Safety and Confined Space Consultant (Current Employee), Raleigh, NCJune 2, 2014
hard work rewarded. Tools are offered to succeed and advance. Typically relocation is required though.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Straightforward and simple
Reconciliations Accountant (Former Employee), Temple Terrace, FLMay 30, 2014
There is a real feel of a no nonsense atmosphere at United Rentals. It's a professional atmosphere that is still made fun by the friendly management.

A typical workday included reconciliations and customer contact with multiple clients.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fast paced company with much potential
Equipment Associate (Former Employee), south st. paulMay 23, 2014
united is moving fast but needs to improve management skills and overall company processes.

1 2 3 4 5

About United Rentals, Inc.

No cash to buy a bulldozer? No worries -- just lease one from United Rentals. The company considers itself the #1 commercial and – Read more