Find companies:
United Nations
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
150 reviews

United Nations Employee Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Dynamic, Multicultural Institution with a Precious Mandate
RESOURCE MOBILIZATION INTERN AT UN WOMEN (Current Employee), New York, NYOctober 6, 2013
Assisting Program managers in research on solutions applied to Gender issues have provided opportunities to expand my knowledge on the subject. Engagements in assisting in the development of Fund raising proposals have given me a chance to see the practical application of methods and techniques used by such institutions.

The office environment is open – more... and friendly and a rich sense of direction allows the integration of ideas amongst staff. Inter actions among colleagues are informal yet allow for serious work and respect.
The need for a significant depth of information collection, to be used with short periods of time was demanding on occasions.

Serving in an organization with a very valuable cause. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
new experiences
Clerical Assistant (Former Employee), New York, NYOctober 2, 2013
Pros: meeting all kind of people
Cons: no personal relationships
Lively atmosphere, Like a real live melting pot of the world. Never a bad day, enjoyed ever moment. Co-workers was knowledgeable and willing to help with everything.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very productive and fun place to work
Administrative Assistant and Team Assistant (Former Employee), New York, NYSeptember 30, 2013
Pros: very interesting job.
Cons: short lunches
Provide extensive administrative and secretariat support to the Chief and Desk Officers in the Section, as well as staff in the Field Offices, in the most effective manner.
Schedule and coordination of appointments and meetings with high-level Government authorities, United Nations Agencies and NGOs. Organize and coordinate flow of documents and follow – more... up timely responses. Sort out correspondence. Answered queries on various office matters. Carry out quality control functions for outgoing documents; proofread and edit texts for adherence to format, grammar punctuation and style in compliance with the United Nations's correspondence manual. Coordinate interviews, Section Meetings. Arrange bridge lines for teleconferences. Maintain electronic and paper filing system for the Section including converting relevant documents into PDF files through scanning or conversion using Adobe PDF applications and retrieve documents whenever required. Assemble and distribution of documentation for internal meetings, interviews and workshops confirming arrangements with participants and find venues. Prepare and process confidential information., Make , process and finalize travel arrangements for the Chief of Section and Desk Officers. Coordinate travel itenerary. Prepare Visa requests. Prepare and collate information packages for the Section Chief and Desk Officers's mission trips and work with Section staff to pepare briefings books for Director and Chief of Section. Prepare final travel claims. Get security clearances for travel to the Field. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A workplae one of a kind
Trainee, Fifth Committee (Former Employee), New York, NYSeptember 30, 2013
Pros: multicultural
Cons: long hours, stressful
As a trainee to the European Union Delegation to the United Nations, I worked in a team within the Fifth Committee which participates in budget-related issues of the UN on behalf of the EU. I handled highly sensitive information, I analyzed the reports of the oversight bodies and the UN, and I created briefs which were used by the Member States during – more... the consideration of financial matters. I organized coordination meetings and briefings and I directly participated in budget negotiations. I also supported the EU team by fulfilling various administrative tasks. I believe that this experience gave me an insight in negotiation and communication strategies and exposed me to the decision-making process within the EU. Moreover, the experience reinforced my attention to detail, further strengthened my analytical skills and exposed me to the process of reading, writing and summarizing various financial reports. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Valuable experience in workplace
Consultant/Program Assistant (Former Employee), New York, N.Y.September 20, 2013
Had opportunity to work with a diverse group of people: all nationalities, religion, culture, socioeconomic backgounds.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great friendly people, fast paced environment
NYC Communication Specialist and TV editor (Former Employee), New York, NYAugust 21, 2013
Pros: 1 hour paid lunch
Cons: healthcare cost
A typical day would be to meet with a production team. Figure out a priority list for the day which actually always seemed to change. We all liked the excitement of constantly changing worldwide situations. The entire team always rose to the occasion. Under daily deadline pressure we always got a daily tv show on the air as well as posted breaking news – more... on our website. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
NA
Translator (Former Employee), KosovoAugust 3, 2013
An organization that strives to build and repair relationships between nations post conflict with a great opportunity to learn about new experiences and other cultures.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was a great experience
Advisor to Secretary General (Former Employee), New York, NYJuly 26, 2013
Pros: contact with people
Cons: short contracts
Cultural Attaché

• Coordinated special events such as parades, dances and meetings for the Bolivian community
• Represented Bolivia in meetings with other Latin American countries to plan participation in
mutual cultural events
• Developed programs to promote cultural awareness and Bolivian heritage
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and Exciting
Chauffeur / Security (Former Employee), New York, NYJuly 26, 2013
Late nights, crazy hours and being able to drive fast behind secret service. Cool place and very cultural people
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Challenging working conditions - Totally new experience
i) SAFETY AND TRAINING OFFICER (Former Employee), Goma Airport DRCJuly 25, 2013
Fire and rescue officer in DRC - Goma Airfield. Fire and Safety training provided for local volunteers.
I've learned allot about the different cultures around the world having to work with co-workers from all parts of the world.
Trying to learn the different languages was the hardest part of the job.
The most enjoyable part of the job was to educate – more... the local volunteers and experience their knowledge. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I enjoy very much my work place environment
Local Security Assistant-United Nations (UNDSS) (Former Employee), Eastern Province , Sri LankaJuly 22, 2013
General Responsibilities:
The LSA is responsible for assisting the ASC and FSCO in the execution of his/her security responsibilities at the assigned duty station.

a) Maintaining & Monitoring the Security Plan, including updating staff lists & Clerical Administration;
b)Implementing the security plan such as the warden system, emergency procedures, – more... evacuation drills, maintaining communication to from UN staff and other role players, ensure the SOP's in the event of various incidences are followed,
c) Monitoring the status and compliance of the Minimum Operational Security Standards (MOSS) and MORSS.
d) Assessing the security situation at the duty station;
e) Identifying Emergency Communications equipment needs (MISTS);
f) Conducting security evaluations and providing advice on security measures for the residences of UN staff and UN offices in consultation with the FSCO;
g) Providing UN staff with the security tree & warden system information flow (SMS, e-mails etc);
h) Supporting training courses on security issues/awareness and preparedness;
i) As a member of the ASMT take the minutes and follow through implementation with the ASC/FSCO;
j) Identify security requirements;
k) Send daily and other routine and incident reports as per prescribed working procedures to DSS in Colombo and the FSCO;
l) Liaising and coordinating with the local government security organizations as a secondary priority to the above;
m) Other security tasks assigned by the ASC or FSCO;
n) Supervise EOC staffs & functions. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Working in the Network Operation Center for the UN HQS in New York
Telecommunications Specialist (Former Employee), New York, NYJuly 16, 2013
Operations,maintenance and repair of the links in WAN of the United Nations Network.
Part of my work was to be Telecommunications Specialist for the Secretary General of the United Nations during his work abroad.
I learned to find the best solution in a short period of time,in New York or overseas,working for the Network Control Center or during the – more... trips with the Secretary General Delegation. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I worked with other colleagues at General Assembly
Desk Officer (Former Employee), New York, NYJune 19, 2013
Pros: worked with the ambassadors
Cons: no fun at all
I worked in various committees at the United Nations. I did some research on certain issues for talks at the UN General Assembly.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and fun
Driver / Translator (Former Employee), Baghdad, IraqJune 18, 2013
field work, nice team working and helping people doing so many good projects
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Amazing and privileged experience to be a part of.
United Nations International Volunteer Aid Worker (Former Employee), New York, NYJune 14, 2013
I began volunteering for the UN at a very early age. I was 12 years old when I was assigned my first country: Sierra Leona. My responsibility involved fundraisers. Working hard with a team, we have helped to raise over 30,000 dollars as of today for third world countries. The hardest part of the job is to raise the money, but the most enjoyable is that – more... you know you are a part of a greater project than any other, one that involves saving and helping human being across the globe! There is no better feeling when you know you've helped make a difference in a child's life. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and enjoyable
Personnel Secretary (Former Employee), JordanJune 3, 2013
I have learned and gained office based skills and hands on people, building good working relationships with people and departments.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Software Developer (Current Employee), Port-au-PrinceMay 11, 2013
working with United nations under the payroll of Trigyn.
I AM WORKING WITH MVC3,Jquery and Sql server 2008 in United nations project.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
UN Liaison Officer in UNMIS (SUDAN) (Former Employee), Sudan, TXApril 30, 2013
Pros: living allowances
Cons: no dental insurance
- As UN Military Liaison Officer
Contatcting warring factions representatives.
Receiving high officials and delegations and escort them in all their Visits to mission area according the work plan
Convey all UN confidential documents to Sudanese and SPLA AJMCs members besides,intelligence and police departments LOs.
Reporting all abnormal activities – more... carried out by warring factions.
Receive immediate ceasefire claims.
Liaison with Sudanese civilian authority and non profitable organizations.
Arranging and facilitating procedures of departure and arrival of high delegated officials.
- As UN Military Observer
Attend morning briefing
Conduct the daily patrol (according to the assignment)
Repot the daily situation report to the UNMO team leader
Operate the duty station room and base station
The hardest part of the job:
Nothing significant to be told
The most enjoyable part of the job:
Working at a multinational environment – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The United Nation are a great place to work, It is on a daily base a challange . With the UN you meet people from all parts of the world.
Regional Support Supervisor (Current Employee), HaitiApril 24, 2013
The United Nations are a great Organization to work for. The Benifits are good and the work are great. Right now the UN are under going a great reduction in force and they are downsizing , many jobs are in review for cuts and many will be turn over to the local national. The UN are a great unit and I do look foward on working with them as plan or in – more... another MISSION. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
President Reagan appointment
Correspondent (Former Employee), United StatesApril 17, 2013
Pros: presidential appointment
Cons: no salary
Supply "crime prevention" and "control of offender" information to United nations law enforcement entities.

About United Nations

The United Nations is an international organization founded in 1945 after the Second World War by 51 countries committed to maintaining – Read more