Find companies:
United Nations
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
131 reviews

United Nations Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
President Reagan appointment
Correspondent (Former Employee), United StatesApril 17, 2013
Pros: presidential appointment
Cons: no salary
Supply "crime prevention" and "control of offender" information to United nations law enforcement entities.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Best Job Ever.
Supervisor (Former Employee), Port-au-PrinceApril 16, 2013
Pros: great company and benefits, honest days work.
This job felt like working with family. I've learned to work with others better. Management was more like a big brother/sister. The co-workers were like family. There wasn't any hard parts. The most enjoyable was coming into work everyday.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent Experience
Legal Intern, Office of the Prosecutor (Former Employee), NLApril 5, 2013
Provides vital legal services, a great work environment, and co-workers of the highest caliber.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The United Nations Organization is a mult-cultural and internatinal organization with the task of ensuring world peace and security. A great employer
Deputy to the head of section and desk officer (Former Employee), New York, NYMarch 31, 2013
Most of my years on this job evolved deployment to high risk countries to provide staff safety and security in the humanitarian and development security operations. The hard part of this job was that it was a 24/7 job, The good part was that it provided very good income and benefits.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I was very satisfied to work with a great family team
Forklift Operator (Former Employee), Port-au-PrinceMarch 26, 2013
Pros: sometimes lunch free
Cons: assurance coverage
the united Nations learned me core values: Integrity, Professionalism, Respect for Diversity/Gender.
Core Competencies: Communication, Teamwork, Client Orientation, Commitment to Continuous Learning.i was very satisfied to work with a great family team
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Superb organization.
Secretary (Former Employee), Genève, GEMarch 25, 2013
Pros: a great organization.
Cons: no cons.
One of the most exceptional work experiences of my life, where I learned a great deal.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fast-pacing environment with diverse group.
Research Assistant (Current Employee), New York, NYMarch 22, 2013
Productive and fast-pacing environment with diverse group.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very dynamic working environment
Policy Adviser (Current Employee), New York, NYMarch 18, 2013
-Following the work of the major UN organs
-Attending daily meetings
-Writing reports for the government
-Organizing events
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
HVAC, Auto A/C & Electric (Former Employee), Haiti, P au p.March 16, 2013
Pros: going out for your lunch time
Cons: one hour for break
Monday there's plenty of job than others day, how functionning the system, more knowledge and live with different culture. Always under pressure, because there's always others jobs waiting for. Having a good teamwork for helping other people how doing well the duties. When there's job waiting for you after finishing each one after one. When you receive – more... your payment and where there's party between us. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
it has been as good jod for me
EOD Deminer and Mine sweeper (Former Employee), Syria, VAMarch 11, 2013
Pros: on contract basis only by un
Cons: na
Ive had been experienced as DE miner and mine sweeper during the time i was deployed as peacekeeper as part of United Nations peacekeeping mission in Golan Heights Israel and Syria, Ive enjoy what am doing there with the help also of other contingent like contingent from Austria,Croatia,India and Japan Peacekeeper.The hardest part of my Job there is – more... when the time you have to recover a landmines and Unexploded Ordnance (UXO) with the used of our knowledge and techniques and render safe procedure. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and culture diversity
Campaign Coordinator (Former Employee), Nairobi, KenyaFebruary 20, 2013
Pros: half days off from work on fridays, casual clothing day
Cons: traffic issues took a lot of time
Learnt a lot about different cultures. Worked with young children on two different projects, it was fun, interactive and something that was worth doing for the community. Management was great, understanding and patient. Co workers were great. Fun, interactive people. Co- workers were always there to help one another. Hardest part of the job was to learn – more... how to keep all emotions out of the work we were doing for these children. Enjoyable part of the job was; getting to work and help children that were going through certain issues. Making a difference. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Human Rights
Fordham UN Intern (Former Employee), New York, NYDecember 3, 2012
What a great learning experience on an international level. Great networking opportunities and a wealth of information received to bring about change across the world.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Team leader of Security officers
Security Officer (Former Employee), BaghdadNovember 26, 2012
Pros: every thing was free ....
All days were my typical days and i have learned to work with multi nationalities and environment... our managment was an ideal managment and my co-workers were doing good .. the bad security sitiuation was the hardest part ....we all were working as a team work.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
funworkplace
Nurse (Former Employee), Manila, P00November 18, 2012
Pros: free snacks
Cons: nice facilities
very challenging, peopel have full cparations pleasing and outsranding achievements
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very tough to get a job here
operator (Current Employee), New York, NYNovember 8, 2012
Pros: none because you will not get hired
Cons: none because you will not get hired
It is very tough to get a position here unless your great grandfather was a diplomat. A lot of politics and red tape.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The UN Secretariat is a massive bureaucracy run by professional international civil servants. It is a highly structured and rule-driven environment.
Business Analyst and Writer (Current Employee), New York, NYOctober 17, 2012
Pros: great benefits for staff. permanent staff have good security.
Cons: difficult to adapt to organization.
The UN Secretariat may not be everyone's cup of tea. It is an interesting place to work because of the international character and the proximity to the General Assembly and Security Council and diplomatic activity.

On the other hand, it is governed by a vast accumulation of resolutions, information circulars, and staff rules. This can make it difficult – more... at times to make change. – less

March 7, 2013

I LIKE WORKING WITH UNITED NATIONS BECAUSE I LIKE BEEN A DIPLOMAT. SECOND, LIFE IS WORTLESS WITHOUT LIVING FOR OTHERS. UN MAKES ONE LEARN MORE ABOUT DIVERSE CULTURE, ETHNICITIES, AS WELL AS RELIGIOUS BACKGRAND.

Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
cleaner,house keeping,kitchen porther,warehouse,picker and packer,security
Language assistant (Former Employee), UNMIT East TimorOctober 16, 2012
Pros: 1 hours meal break
Cons: if there serious case or police check point for the vehicle
I have 3 type of shift like early shift from 0700-1500 hrs,late shift 1500-2300 hrs,night shift 2300-0700 hrs, i have improve my computer skill ,and police job like how to arrest the suspect, attending some crime case,for the management is done well,I have good relationship with my co-workers we working as a team we help each other.night shift is the – more... hardest part is night shift,the mos enjoyable of the job is when I am busy doing translation for the UNPOL and also conducting Patrolling with the Police – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Social Worker.
Social Worker (Former Employee), PakistanOctober 6, 2012
Pros: met a lot of new people
Cons: n/a
I liked working there, I have no complaints. During the day I had meetings daily with people, if there was any problem with schools, families, hospitals, etc. we report it to our main office and they take care of it.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The most enjoyable part of the job
Analyst assistant (INTERN) (Former Employee), New York, NYSeptember 30, 2012
The multicultural environment and the constant dialogue regarding international affairs provide the employee to develop a wider perspective from the current global issues. The environment is stimulating for analysis and development of new approaches to contemporary issues.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Working to make a difference
Senior Programme Officer (Current Employee), New York, NYSeptember 26, 2012
Engaging place to work with colleagues from 193 different countries, working on pressing world problems and solutions

About United Nations

The United Nations is an international organization founded in 1945 after the Second World War by 51 countries committed to maintaining – Read more