Find companies:
United Nations
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
125 reviews

United Nations Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Valuable experience in workplace
Consultant/Program Assistant (Former Employee), New York, N.Y.September 20, 2013
Had opportunity to work with a diverse group of people: all nationalities, religion, culture, socioeconomic backgounds.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great friendly people, fast paced environment
NYC Communication Specialist and TV editor (Former Employee), New York, NYAugust 21, 2013
Pros: 1 hour paid lunch
Cons: healthcare cost
A typical day would be to meet with a production team. Figure out a priority list for the day which actually always seemed to change. We all liked the excitement of constantly changing worldwide situations. The entire team always rose to the occasion. Under daily deadline pressure we always got a daily tv show on the air as well as posted breaking news – more... on our website. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
NA
Translator (Former Employee), KosovoAugust 3, 2013
An organization that strives to build and repair relationships between nations post conflict with a great opportunity to learn about new experiences and other cultures.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was a great experience
Advisor to Secretary General (Former Employee), New York, NYJuly 26, 2013
Pros: contact with people
Cons: short contracts
Cultural Attaché

• Coordinated special events such as parades, dances and meetings for the Bolivian community
• Represented Bolivia in meetings with other Latin American countries to plan participation in
mutual cultural events
• Developed programs to promote cultural awareness and Bolivian heritage
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and Exciting
Chauffeur / Security (Former Employee), New York, NYJuly 26, 2013
Late nights, crazy hours and being able to drive fast behind secret service. Cool place and very cultural people
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Challenging working conditions - Totally new experience
i) SAFETY AND TRAINING OFFICER (Former Employee), Goma Airport DRCJuly 25, 2013
Fire and rescue officer in DRC - Goma Airfield. Fire and Safety training provided for local volunteers.
I've learned allot about the different cultures around the world having to work with co-workers from all parts of the world.
Trying to learn the different languages was the hardest part of the job.
The most enjoyable part of the job was to educate – more... the local volunteers and experience their knowledge. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Working in the Network Operation Center for the UN HQS in New York
Telecommunications Specialist (Former Employee), New York, NYJuly 16, 2013
Operations,maintenance and repair of the links in WAN of the United Nations Network.
Part of my work was to be Telecommunications Specialist for the Secretary General of the United Nations during his work abroad.
I learned to find the best solution in a short period of time,in New York or overseas,working for the Network Control Center or during the – more... trips with the Secretary General Delegation. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I worked with other colleagues at General Assembly
Desk Officer (Former Employee), New York, NYJune 19, 2013
Pros: worked with the ambassadors
Cons: no fun at all
I worked in various committees at the United Nations. I did some research on certain issues for talks at the UN General Assembly.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and fun
Driver / Translator (Former Employee), Baghdad, IraqJune 18, 2013
field work, nice team working and helping people doing so many good projects
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Amazing and privileged experience to be a part of.
United Nations International Volunteer Aid Worker (Former Employee), New York, NYJune 14, 2013
I began volunteering for the UN at a very early age. I was 12 years old when I was assigned my first country: Sierra Leona. My responsibility involved fundraisers. Working hard with a team, we have helped to raise over 30,000 dollars as of today for third world countries. The hardest part of the job is to raise the money, but the most enjoyable is that – more... you know you are a part of a greater project than any other, one that involves saving and helping human being across the globe! There is no better feeling when you know you've helped make a difference in a child's life. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and enjoyable
Personnel Secretary (Former Employee), JordanJune 3, 2013
I have learned and gained office based skills and hands on people, building good working relationships with people and departments.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Software Developer (Current Employee), Port-au-PrinceMay 11, 2013
working with United nations under the payroll of Trigyn.
I AM WORKING WITH MVC3,Jquery and Sql server 2008 in United nations project.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
UN Liaison Officer in UNMIS (SUDAN) (Former Employee), Sudan, TXApril 30, 2013
Pros: living allowances
Cons: no dental insurance
- As UN Military Liaison Officer
Contatcting warring factions representatives.
Receiving high officials and delegations and escort them in all their Visits to mission area according the work plan
Convey all UN confidential documents to Sudanese and SPLA AJMCs members besides,intelligence and police departments LOs.
Reporting all abnormal activities – more... carried out by warring factions.
Receive immediate ceasefire claims.
Liaison with Sudanese civilian authority and non profitable organizations.
Arranging and facilitating procedures of departure and arrival of high delegated officials.
- As UN Military Observer
Attend morning briefing
Conduct the daily patrol (according to the assignment)
Repot the daily situation report to the UNMO team leader
Operate the duty station room and base station
The hardest part of the job:
Nothing significant to be told
The most enjoyable part of the job:
Working at a multinational environment – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The United Nation are a great place to work, It is on a daily base a challange . With the UN you meet people from all parts of the world.
Regional Support Supervisor (Current Employee), HaitiApril 24, 2013
The United Nations are a great Organization to work for. The Benifits are good and the work are great. Right now the UN are under going a great reduction in force and they are downsizing , many jobs are in review for cuts and many will be turn over to the local national. The UN are a great unit and I do look foward on working with them as plan or in – more... another MISSION. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
President Reagan appointment
Correspondent (Former Employee), United StatesApril 17, 2013
Pros: presidential appointment
Cons: no salary
Supply "crime prevention" and "control of offender" information to United nations law enforcement entities.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Best Job Ever.
Supervisor (Former Employee), Port-au-PrinceApril 16, 2013
Pros: great company and benefits, honest days work.
This job felt like working with family. I've learned to work with others better. Management was more like a big brother/sister. The co-workers were like family. There wasn't any hard parts. The most enjoyable was coming into work everyday.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent Experience
Legal Intern, Office of the Prosecutor (Former Employee), NLApril 5, 2013
Provides vital legal services, a great work environment, and co-workers of the highest caliber.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The United Nations Organization is a mult-cultural and internatinal organization with the task of ensuring world peace and security. A great employer
Deputy to the head of section and desk officer (Former Employee), New York, NYMarch 31, 2013
Most of my years on this job evolved deployment to high risk countries to provide staff safety and security in the humanitarian and development security operations. The hard part of this job was that it was a 24/7 job, The good part was that it provided very good income and benefits.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I was very satisfied to work with a great family team
Forklift Operator (Former Employee), Port-au-PrinceMarch 26, 2013
Pros: sometimes lunch free
Cons: assurance coverage
the united Nations learned me core values: Integrity, Professionalism, Respect for Diversity/Gender.
Core Competencies: Communication, Teamwork, Client Orientation, Commitment to Continuous Learning.i was very satisfied to work with a great family team
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Superb organization.
Secretary (Former Employee), Genève, GEMarch 25, 2013
Pros: a great organization.
Cons: no cons.
One of the most exceptional work experiences of my life, where I learned a great deal.

About United Nations

The United Nations is an international organization founded in 1945 after the Second World War by 51 countries committed to maintaining – Read more