Find companies:
United Nations
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
126 reviews

United Nations Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Confindent and reliable working place
Quality Assurance/Quality Control in Fuel/Jet A-1 (Current Employee), Darfur, SudanMay 28, 2014
Pros: charting with colleagues at break time
Cons: holidays
Under the direct supervision of the Chief Fuel Unit, as OIC Fuel Operations on daily basis my duties are the following but not limited :
- Monitor closely the fuel stock at all 34 fuel sites of Darfur to ensure the provision of aviation and ground fuel, oil and lubricants for aircrafts, vehicles and generators.
- I liaise and coordinate with Logistics, – more... Military and Police contingent, Transport Section, Generator Unit and with the Contractor/Supplier of fuel, PETRONAS.
- I process and review the fuel request from all the above components of Darfur mission and forward to Chief Fuel Unit for approval.
- I ensure Quality Assurance/Quality Control of ground/aviation fuel and equipment in the Contractor sites.
- I ensure training of UNAMID colleagues at all level/International and National Staff.

The job becomes challenging during the rainy season in Darfur when roads are impassable. To tackle this problem, I plan ahead of rainy season by reinforcing the stock of fuel increasing DOS/Days of supply to cover the entire period of rainy season.

I work with more than 20 colleagues assigned in various hubs and Team Sites throughout Darfur mission ensuring that fuel operations are carried out according to Fuel Unit SOP/Standards Operating Procedures.

I feel more confident and encouraged when my Chief is happy about the work performed by me. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice work environment
Sr.SAP ABAP Consultant (Current Employee), New York, NYMay 22, 2014
Nice environment to work with the staff.
Very co-operative co-workers to work with.
Nice work place to learn new things.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Create a joke Board or a Humor Newsletter. Look for tools to disseminate fun and funny thinhs daily. Give employees tools to create a fun relationship
Vehicle Technician (Former Employee), MonroviaMay 21, 2014
Pros: one hour lunch brake
Cons: medical health insurance
The most enjoyable part of the job is the people, the staff and the customers. We would not be at a job without our customers and in these difficult times I am so happy to be in a position where I can help others. I truly enjoy every interaction I have with each employee or customer. There are times where you can make someone's day and times where you – more... can't but you can help someone understand. If it were not for this high level or interaction I think I would expire. I love the crazy nature of the work and the fact that it is never the same thing twice. You learn new things and are challenged every day. I am constantly learning new skills. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
.
LAN/WAN Administrator (ICTA) (Former Employee), MONROVIA, LIBERIAMay 19, 2014
The United Nations is one of the best places i have work, the work environment is very good.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Support technician/Security officer
Security Officer / Driver (Former Employee), Port au Prince, HAITIMay 19, 2014
 Protected UN personnel and Properties; provided secure escort services and patrol.
 Supervised officers and handled scheduling.
 Called upon to handle occasional IT support matters.
 Assisted in setting of PCs and workstations (cabling, desktop configuration).
 Troubleshot issues with operating systems and printer connectivity.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Communication Intern
Communication Intern (Former Employee), New York, NYMay 18, 2014
I was responsible for administrative work and events supporting in Property Management Unit.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun workplace
Security Officer (Current Employee), Matadi DR CongoMay 15, 2014
Pros: free lunches
Cons: long hours
assess control at gate and main entrance to UN facilities
report all security information and threats around the province.
I have learned more about UN security system and how to prepare a security plan for evacuation or relocation.
I can manage a team work of more than thirty staffs.
all my co-workers are happy to be supervise by me and all my supervisors – more... are lucky to be assisted by me because I did all and they can only approved.
the hardest parts of my job are: when we are investigating for an incident or accident in which UN staffs or properties are involving.
when we are supposed to provide briefing to the non UN staffs.
the most enjoyable part is serving others and contributing in promoting security for people in their duty and in helping people in need. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
on the ramp (tarmac)
duty manager (Current Employee), DRC CongoMay 9, 2014
Cons: long hours
hard work everyday.
other peoples culture and food.
stress and to much of work load.
locals are very friendly and i learn everyday and i love to be around them they like my family.
mats give training everyday and language is a problem.
to love each other and make jokes after a long day and hard work
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
was good and fun
supervisor (Former Employee), EntebbeMay 2, 2014
Pros: free lunch
Cons: we would start at 8:00am to 5:00pm sometimes over time.
All my days at work were good apart from some days were bad during rain season, i learned the international standard of doing works,management was so good in that i was cooperating with them,my co workers we were working as a team,the hardest part of work was the delay of materials,the most enjoyable is the day am seeing the progress and consults or – more... clients approve our works. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good but not great!
Financial Analyst & Accounting Associate (Current Employee), New York, NYApril 21, 2014
Great place to meet new people and delegates. But limited professional growth is a big big minus.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Loving Organization
Project Management Assistant (Former Employee), BaghlanApril 18, 2014
United Nations is really a great organization which gives opportunity to all nation to get together and work. UN really cares about its employees
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good multinational non profit organization
Social Media & Web Analytic Intern (Former Employee), New York, NYApril 12, 2014
Pros: international
Cons: na
good non-profit to work in. Employees are good and helpful, love the atmosphere here and it's in new york , great place to work
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Logistics and Supply Chain Management professional experienced in leadership roles at strategic, technical and operational levels
Doubled as HUB AdministratoR and also Chief (Former Employee), Juba South SudanApril 7, 2014
Pros: team player and highly interpersonal skills
Cons: great team player
Logistics and Supply Chain Management professional experienced in leadership roles at strategic, technical and operational levels in directing, managing and developing strategies for Supply Chains to enhance capacity, services provision and products delivery.

Full spectrum of experience in: • Logistics & Supply Chain Development & Enhancement • Strategic – more... Planning & Implementation • Business Development & Negotiations • Process & Procedures Improvements • Procurement/Sourcing & Contract Management • Conflict identification & Resolution • Systems Analyses & Assessments • Institutional Development & Capacity Building • Leader/Team Builder/Trainer • Relationship Cultivation & Management • ERP systems & software used/exposed to are SAP/R3, SYSPRO ver6.0, Quantimed, Pipeline, Orion, CRM, GALILEO (Business Objects/INFO-PAC).
Expertise areas: Logistics & Supply Chain Management of Assets, Commodities, Medicines, Health Care & HIV/AIDS Programs —Implementations/Interventions Strategies — Embryonic Start-Up Operations — USAID & UN Regulations/Management.

An accomplished Supply Chain Manager with operational experience in: Partnership building, Relationship management, Collaboration and Liaising with stakeholders, implementing partners and PEPFAR/USAID Activity Managers • Resource mobilization, Dissemination, Knowledge and information sharing on good practices, Systems strengthening, Supply Chains and scale-up of HIV/AIDS programs • Developed Work-Plans, Budgets and technical strategies and implemented annual Country Operating Plans (COP) with budgets over US$ 12 million • Reporting and providing feedback on financial status, disbursements, resource allocation, project performance and GAO Audits • Coordinated support to host government ministries/departments through Advisory/Consultancy services in developing best practice distribution/storage plans • Conducted analyses of supply chains to identify improvements and service delivery of pharmaceuticals and commodities • Monitoring COP, Work Plan implementation, budgets and adjustments driven by Continuing Resolutions (CR) • Human Resources management, Annual Performance Reviews (APR) and Capacity building through technical assistance, training, and appropriate skills transfer for effective service delivery as key to sustainability. Negotiated absorption into staff establishment/table of seconded officers for continued health care service delivery – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
International Civil Servant
Editorial Assistant (Current Employee), New York, NYMarch 31, 2014
Pros: being part of an intergovernmental organization, an incredibly comprehensive benefits package and pension
Cons: bureaucracy
Editorial work that is very detail focused and timeline driven.
I have learned a lot about U.N. editorial manual guidelines and standards.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive in development programmes
TEMPORARY EXECUTIVE ASSISTANT (Former Employee), Gaborone,BotswanaMarch 17, 2014
Pros: no
Cons: staff retreats and inter-staff visits
Very productive and busy Organization.I learned a lot about programme management
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work with different angle
Administrative Assistant/Staff Assistant (Former Employee), Ethiopia, Addis AbabaMarch 11, 2014
The work is focused on the countries safety and peace. As it is the UN organization, work with diversity and relations with different countries
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
i have great experiance
Instructor of Air Conditioning and Refrigeration (Current Employee), srilankaMarch 1, 2014
Pros: free vechiles
Cons: long hours
i have nice experiance also i learned new things..i was a instructor in that company
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enlightening, fun, busy
Communications Officer (Former Employee), NYFebruary 27, 2014
Pros: exposure
Cons: being away from home 98%
Travel, long days
Hard work, respect, appreciation of life
positive and involved
mix from all over
travel 100%
seeing the world and its people
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Professional international United Nations Agency
Health/Nutrition program assistant (Former Employee), Cote d'IvoireFebruary 26, 2014
Pros: four department, health, education, protection and logistics
Cons: stress management is done after any emergent circonstance or situation
Very high technology performance and work based on competency. You can work with this agency because you want to. But if you really deserve. You will get ready to deal with various projects and have a result of any project management.
You will be evaluated before a contract renewal.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
WORKING
Art Collection Manager (Former Employee), Genève, GEFebruary 26, 2014
I have just moved to London from Geneva for family-related reasons and to enhance my work experiences in a new foreign country.

In Geneva, I have been working for the United Nations as Art Collection Manager, with the main duties of organising and managing all the activities (inventory, conservation, documentation, dressing/exposition and ceremony – more... events planning for 2200 art-works).

Before that, I had been working in Torino, my home city, for the Italian Culture Ministry as Warehouse manager and Communication Assistant in charge of the logistics and conservation of the Italian Sacred Art paintings (from the XV century to XX century) in Racconigi Castle (Unesco Heritage).

My second passion is for the jewelry sector. I’m a jewelry advisor for friends and private customers, in my free time. I follow the jewelry auction where I buy the objects. I know the new fashion tendencies and when it’s possible the sector’s fairs.

I’m flexible, organized, I’ve good negotiation skills and the ability to handle sensitive situations with diplomacy and also the ability to stay calm under pressure and manage multiple priorities and deadlines.
For me, the attention to detail is essential like the great taste.
Please note that I would be able to begin full or part time, immediately. My enclosed CV details my skills and experience. – less

About United Nations

The United Nations is an international organization founded in 1945 after the Second World War by 51 countries committed to maintaining – Read more