Find companies:
United Airlines
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
359 reviews

United Airlines Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Loaded aircraft according to load plan.
Ramp Serviceman (Former Employee), San Francisco, CADecember 3, 2013
Pros: good career in sight.
Cons: bad timimg.
As part-time load planner we are given scheduled aircraft to be loaded for the shift with cargo and baggage. Learned to use all loading equipment in a short time. Worked well with supervisors as directed. The hardest part of the job was the distanced traveled and often worked full-time hours plus overtime. At the time a dispute with the union prevented – more... me from getting the job as an aircraft mechanic. I was offered the ramp service position until it was settled and be considered for a position. I was laid off three times and rehired twice as ramp serve. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive work place and fun enviroment
Customer Service/Ticket Agent (Former Employee), Chicago, ILDecember 2, 2013
Typical day was over all busy and stressing. In the end a fun day.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work for.Had all tooling and equipmet to get the jobs done
A & P Mechanic (Former Employee), Los Angeles, CANovember 30, 2013
Pros: tooling and equipment, flight benefits
Cons: unions
Job security was a plus. Most people fun and good to work for.
Management for the most part good.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast pace work environment
Ticket & Gate Agent (Former Employee), Denver, CONovember 19, 2013
Typical day was very enjoyable. Helpfully and friendly co workers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
friendly staff
ramp driver (Current Employee), heathrowNovember 16, 2013
Pros: flights
Cons: bad managment
after 26 year want to move on.. there has been a change of managment and they are going to outsource the ramp group
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Flying around the World with wonderful people.
Flight Attendant/ Trainer (Former Employee), Chicago, Los Angeles, Denver, San Fran, New YorkNovember 7, 2013
Pros: i got to see so many wonderful places in the world and meet so many fantastic people
Cons: gone a lot
As an International Flight Attendant Purser gave me a confidence to manage others, meet strangers and turn them into friends, creating a special environment that exuded safety and fun. I flew the Bronco Charters for years, presidential charters, met movie stars, and rock stars, and lots of un-accompanied children and sweet little grand-mothers. It taught – more... me lots of life's great lessons – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Well-Rounded IT Group
Senior Systems Support Engineer (Current Employee), Denver, CONovember 5, 2013
The Critical Infrastructure group provides support for structured cabling, network equipment, access control, LAN room build-out, back-up power systems (rack-mounted as well as enterprise level) and other associated equipment.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Growth in employment
Customer Service Agent Team Leader (Current Employee), Newark, NJNovember 5, 2013
Hard working,willing to learn,and also to be safe. The most part i enjoy about my day is the co-workers
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
In the 80s it was a very regemented company
Aircraft Mechanic (Former Employee), NYCNovember 1, 2013
At the time the comapny was to regemented to allow for creative think to the problems at hand.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast Paced
Ticket and Gate Agent (Former Employee), Greer SCOctober 29, 2013
Checking in passengers taking baggage fees, handeling any ticket issues that may come up. Then going to the Gate and making Boarding announcements, Boarding the flight while working closely with the Captain and rest of the flight crew to assure the flight went out on time and securely, That everything was done to FAA satisfaction. Then closing out the – more... flight. Then go back to the Ticket counter to help out the Ticket agent till The next flight calls in range. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work.
Flight Attendant (Former Employee), Chicago, ILOctober 28, 2013
Traveled to different cites and countries. Leaned about different
cultures. Hardest part of the job was being up all night,
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great work place with a multi culture atmosphere.
Grievance Chairperson (Former Employee), SFO International AirportOctober 28, 2013
If my elderly parents who lived in the midwest wouldn't have needed my service I would have never left United Airlines. I enjoyed my job to the fullest.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great coworkers, excellent location, great benefits
Reservations Sales and Service Representative (Former Employee), Los Angeles, CAOctober 28, 2013
Pros: great benefits and associates, great team spirit, free travel
Cons: work schedule
Fast paced environment, learned a lot about the travel industry and regulations. Management team was fair, coworkers were excellent. The hardest part of the job was dealing with an irate customer and trying to stay professional and resolving their problem so the call could end on a positive note. The most enjoyable part of the job is being able to turn – more... an irate customer into a satisfied customer. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good benefits. They don't practice promotion from within.
Union represented inflight employee (Former Employee), Chicago, ILOctober 25, 2013
Pros: the ability to travel, meet new people, be active.
Cons: corrupt union. corrupt mgmt. no seats available to use travel benefits. hours.
I learned that after years of experience, a college degree, and awards for exceptional customer service; where you get in as a union employee is where you will remain; regardless of how many times you try to break free from wearing a uniform and paying union dues. You will remain there until you begin to ask questions. Don't trust the people that you – more... work with, union and management alike. The fact that as a union member you don't have to pay for health insurance is nice, but then again with the money that they pay you, you wouldn't be able to afford it. You do get a far amount of time off , if you so choose. You should expect to work all holidays and all times of the day and night, as the airport never closes. Just because you are supposed to get off at a certain time doesn't mean that you will. Management can make you work overtime. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great work place loved this job
Ramp Serviceman (Former Employee), Township of Elk Grove, ILOctober 17, 2013
Pros: great pay, benefits, and work environment
Cons: not much time for social life besides at work
unload inbound air crafts and load outbound air crafts from baggage to cargo. Daily equipment checks for safety and efficiency. Push out air crafts for take off was the most enjoyable part of this job.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
uneccessaraly stressful
Safety Specialist/Flight Attendant (Current Employee), New YorkOctober 16, 2013
Pros: travel, and the ability to meet interesting people
Cons: required to perform upto several hours a day with no compensation
Benefits good

Compensation inadequate for the hours put in.

Company unable to live up to its values with consistency

Limited opportunities because of culture of mistrust

Most members of management are self serving. They put themselves first before company and team.

New policy and schedule makes it very difficult to balance family life.

I give – more... them 2 and half stars. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I had a hard time to get this to take
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee), Los Angeles, CAOctober 14, 2013
I already had a res but I cant tell how to attach it to this one. United and Continental merger forced me to take a early out and reitre from this job.,
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A fanatastic place to work.
Premier Reservations Sales Agent (Current Employee), Houston, TxOctober 12, 2013
Pros: flying for free domestically and for taxes internationally
Cons: healthcare
United Airlines is a great place to work and of course the employee flight benefits make any job with United Airlines very attractive.

I was new to the airline industry and there isn't a typical day at United Airlines. Each day brings new things to learn and the changes are constant so one must be prepared. I make reservations for United's premier – more... frequent flyer's who travel world wide. If there is bad weather anywhere in the world our call volume goes up because of flight delays and flight cancellations.

My empathy has increased immensely due to exposure to all types of people in various life situations. I have learned 6 or 7 different company software applications so my knowledge has increased.

I love my co-workers and we keep each other motivated constantly.

As a Reservations Agent we must learn to read flight ticket history which is single spaced and multiple pages long. Airline Industry jargon is different and was hard to understand. However, after almost 2 years I learned the abbreviations and acronyms.

I enjoy the freedom of being able to travel domestically and internally without the full expense albeit standby. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
short term
Payroll Analyst-HR (Former Employee), Houston, TXOctober 10, 2013
Pros: works schedule
Cons: fellow employees
This was a contract position that I really love working,wish it had been longer
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A fun place to work and meet dignitaries .
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee), Denver, COOctober 10, 2013
Pros: flight benefits
Cons: having to work and go home in the snow.
United Airlines is a wonderful place to work. You meet difference kinds of people. I learned a lot at United Airlines. I had to adjust to
people learning not so fast. My co-workers was wonderful. There was nothing hard about the job at all. The most enjoyable part of the day was when I was busy. I love to stay busy. I get very bored not
doing anything. – more... I tried to keep myself busy at all times. – less

About United Airlines

Now taking off: Your career At United®, we are thriving in the culture that our employees have helped to create, one that – Read more

United Airlines Photos