Find companies:
United Airlines
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
454 reviews

United Airlines Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Pretty typical for an Airline Job
Flight Attendant (Former Employee), Chicago, ILJuly 8, 2014
Unions pretty much dictate the job. Working for UAL is great because of all the international destinations and partnerships. It was good pay, not sure what it is now. I haven't worked there in many years.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was a good place to work
Airlines Sales Rep/ Ramp Oper/ (Former Employee), Newark, NJJuly 7, 2014
Pros: good work enviroment, flexibility, great company
Cons: there was a time when safty was a issue but it was improved.
Major Airline Industry in a fast pace atmosphere.
I learned all safety and security awareness.
Specialist in customer service.
The hardest part of the job was when there were equipment problems.

The best part was making sure that customer's were satisfied with the service and even in the most discouraging moments find a way to make their current situation – more... better. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Customer Service Representative LaGuardia Airport (Former Employee), Flushing, New YorkJuly 2, 2014
The position is a stressul position because dealing with the public usually is. Working for the company was great. There was one common goal and everyone worked together and for the most part worked well.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Connected to a phone and computer.
RESERVATIONS AGENT (Current Employee), Dearborn, MIJuly 1, 2014
Averaged 60 inbound calls daily. Assist customers with making reservations, handle customer complaints, and resolve customers' problems in a timely matter.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Typical Work Day
Customer Care (Current Employee), Chicago, ILJune 28, 2014
Pros: discounted travel
Cons: very stressful
Respond to passenger emails and phone calls during an 8 hour shift. Working for a win-win situation with each passenger while maintaining company policy/guidelines.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Never boring, always challenging
Operations Supervisor (Current Employee), Des Moines, IAJune 27, 2014
Pros: excellent benefits and compensation.
Cons: high stress and cost cutting significantly reducing benefits and compensation.
United has had some difficult changes to get through in a high cost of capital industry. Airlines need to be managed as a business to survive yet share a lot of the public responsibilities of a Utility. Add this to a clash of two corporate cultures (United and Continental), one a heavily unionized and disgruntled work force with excellent tools. The – more... other a smaller line with antiquated tools but a employee base proud of their company and you get, "A House Divided". – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A nice place to work.
Coordinator Airport Operations (Current Employee), Newark, NJJune 27, 2014
Pros: travel benefits
Cons: working at night
Data entry work is my typical day (I work nights)
I learned a lot about sales accounting.
I have an awesome manager.
A great group of people to work with.
Working at night. Looking for 8am-4:30pm Sat-Sun off.
Interacting with my co-workers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Terrible Human Resources Department
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee), Phoenix, AZJune 26, 2014
Cons: loss of employment
I always felt that a company should fully support there employees in relation to an addiction problem.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
united review
Baggage Resolution Agent (Current Employee), Houston, TXJune 24, 2014
great benefits. good company. customer service with passengers, travel agents, and airport operation.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ramp Agents Life
ramp agent (Former Employee), elizabeth NJJune 23, 2014
Pros: flight benefits
Cons: pay and management
Easy job but always made much more difficult with horrible management on the ground. Coworkers always trying to get you in trouble and the pay is low. BUT if you love to travel then this benefit is awesome. However you rarely get to go anywhere because you dont earn enough to do so.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
My intern experience
eCommerce Quality Assurance Internship (Former Employee), Houston, TXJune 18, 2014
Pros: flying benifits
Cons: no insurance beneifits, 8+hour/shift over pay, or holiday pay for interns
Working at United was a unique experience. A typical day meant jumping on a plane and complete IT testing. There was no consistent schedule which could be a disadvantage at times. However, all employees do get free stand-by flying benefits which was the best thing in my life! I was able to learn much about the aviation industry and the dynamic nature – more... of it. As for management, I believe they have much much to work on. Some are simply in the wrong position. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
cool people!
Flight Attendant (Former Employee), Los Angeles, CAJune 17, 2014
the hardest part about this job was being on call and not being able to plan your life because you don't really have a set schedule.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun work place with a ping pong table
Ramp agent (Former Employee), Tulsa, OKJune 14, 2014
It was a great opportunity for me and I really enjoyed all the employees and management. The job was fast pace and hard but I enjoyed it. You have to be alert at all times and willing to work in all types of weather.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Experience
Customer Service Agent/ Ramp Agent (Current Employee), Philadelphia, PAJune 14, 2014
Learning Experience working around aircraft and different people.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
needs more benefits and higher compensation
Process Trainer (Current Employee), Manila,PhilippinesJune 12, 2014
Since I am in a BPO (Business Process Outsourcing) industry working for United Airlines we get less attention specially when it comes to benefits and salary. Though they involve their contact center people for any updates and programs we don't enjoy same benefits compare to those who work at home in the US. United Airlines gave me the opportunity to – more... travel for free (buddy pass) in Chicago because of training, a workshop that we need to roll out to all agents in Manila, Philippines. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Interesting to say the least to see what was being claimed and the amount
Cargo Claims Analyst (Former Employee), Houston, TXJune 11, 2014
Pros: i fly for free
Cons: don't really have any
My typical day would consist of accessing my computer and reviewing cargo claims which had been submitted by our customers. i learned patience and the ability to work people of all cultures as in this job I dealt with people all over the world. My co-workers were pleasant and we had a great time at work. The hardest part of my job was having to wait – more... on responses from others. The most enjoyable part was coming into work to see what new challenges I would face and being able to meet and complete them. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company to advance and learn.
Contract Administrator (Former Employee), Newark, NJJune 10, 2014
Pros: free flights any where in the world.
Cons: sometimes you may have to commute or travel for work more than you can handle.
I started working with Continental Airlines and then the merger with United happened. United offered me a job and a promotion. I learned a lot and work with great people. I couldn't continue my work with United because due to the transition I was required to travel more and eventually my job was moved to Chicago, IL. At that time I couldn't moved because – more... I had a baby. It was a great experience for me to work at United and the benefits are great. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great
Software Systems Engineer (Former Employee), indiaJune 7, 2014
good company to work for.good company to work for.good company to work for.good company to work for.good company to work for.good company to work for.good company to work for.good company to work for.good company to work for.good company to work for.good company to work for.good company to work for.good company to work for.good company to work for.good – more... company to work for.good company to work for.good company to work for.good company to work for. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and had to follow customs guidelines.
IAH / Staff Management (Former Employee), Houston, TXJune 6, 2014
Work the 2nd shift, the job was demanding, stayed until all was processed, had good teamwork between co-workers and management was supportive.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Love The Flight Benefits
Associate Category Manager, Wireless/International (Former Employee), Chicago, ILJune 5, 2014
Pros: boss, co-workers, bonuses, pay, flight benefits
Cons: commute into downlown chicago.
I really liked my boss, my co-workers and the flight benefits. I was sad to be laid off with 600 other people.

About United Airlines

Now taking off: Your career At United®, we are thriving in the culture that our employees have helped to create, one that – Read more

United Airlines Photos