Find companies:
United Airlines
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
444 reviews

United Airlines Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Efficiency, Speed
Electronic Ticket Agent - Customer Service (Former Employee), Port Hawkesbury, NSJune 12, 2014
Was a great training experience, very knowledgeable staff
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun, busy and very regarding
Customer Service Representative (Current Employee), Mississauga, ONApril 28, 2014
Pros: good benefits
Cons: long hours, sometimes without a break
Busy since the moment you step in, challenging whenever there is any type of irregular operations; but fun to do and great feeling of satisfaction whenever you turn unhappy into happy customers; it is fun to work with my colleagues; but for the last year management has become the worst part. The most enjoyable part of the job is the atmosphere and the – more... interaction with employees from other companies and the fact that everyday is a totally different experience. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A day with limited staff
Customer Service Director (Current Employee), Toronto, ONMarch 24, 2014
A typical day at United starts off with various sick calls and oversold flights. I know the strengths of my colleagues, and therefore, I knew where to place each of them for their duties for the day. When flights are oversold, I was able to remove eleven passengers with their checked baggage at the gate. I also placed them in another aircraft, getting – more... the flight out on time. Because of my time management and multitasking skills, I was still able to make it an enjoyable day at the end. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast passed enviromemt serving customers and addressing their concerns.
Customer Service Agent (Current Employee), Calgary, ABMarch 20, 2014
An early start addressing concerns and ticketing issues, rebooking flight arrangements, boarding passengers onto aircraft and being a part of an amazing team of people. The most enjoyable aspect of this job is assisting the customer and making their visit to the airport a relaxing and stress free experience.
Each day is different and there are never – more... any two days which are the same. This daily change has given me a broader understanding and patience for the needs of people under stress. Which a visit to the airport can be. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
same employer
Customer Care (Current Employee), Houston, TXAugust 26, 2014
Pros: same as previous
Cons: same as previous
My employment history is for 21 years and my review is the same for all positions.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Everyday brings different challenges.
Cusstomer Service/Service Director (Current Employee), Dulles, VAAugust 23, 2014
A typical day at work for me involved locating delayed luggage, taking claims and processing the claims for delivery once luggage arrived to the station.
I learned that every situation and day brings different challenges. Some days weather impacted operations, other days we would face a number of challenges with maintenance issues. However, with support – more... and adequate communication and resources we were able to work through the situations as a team.
My co-workers were fun to work with. Everyone had a different personality and attitude toward the job which made each day quite interesting.
The hardest part of the job was when irate customers called you names and said very derogatory words to you while you were trying to assist them. It was also difficult to work behind someone who may have not been as seasoned as many employees with numerous years with the company.
The most enjoyable part of the job was helping others and being able to utilize the resources available to me to solve problems. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I really loved working at UA
Ramp Agent (Former Employee), Tulsa, OKAugust 17, 2014
I loved working at UA, if I could, I would go back in a heartbeat!
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
ASSOCIATE CONSULTANT (Former Employee), Pune, MaharashtraAugust 14, 2014
Start Date: 17.03.2008

Project Role: ASSOCIATE CONSULTANT

End Date: 16.02.2009

Team Size: 400

Skills Duration (In Months): VOICE AND DATA: 0011

Description: Worked for the project called United airlines(Voice) in which job role was Ticketing agent used to receive calls from the US where passengers plan their travel and we used to assist them for – more... the same
Responsibilities: Working as Ticketing Agent for International travel for the passengers – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worlds busiest airport. Period
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee), Chicago, ILAugust 12, 2014
Pros: great salary and wore many different hats
Cons: mandatory overtime up to 4 hours a shift, distance 38 miles each direction
The most enjoyable part of working at O'Hare International Airport were my interactions with my coworkers and the passengers from all corners of the world.

My days were never typical. I would go to work knowing the technical steps of my job and go on with my day expecting the unexpected.

I worked in the ticket sales office, a lobby check-in agent, – more... an international check-in specialist and a gate/boarding agent. And I appreciated the different areas I could work.

The hardest part of my job was 'irrops', irregular operational days, that could make my eight hour day into a twelve or more, hour day.
Horrible, in-climate weather, security breaches or company-wide technical issues were usually the culprit.

I would be there if I had not been furloughed. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great customer service job that moved to India
Reservations Sales and Service Representative (Former Employee), Denver, COAugust 11, 2014
Pros: good benenfits and great people to work with and for
Cons: job left this area and i did not want ot relocate
As a Reservations Sales and Service Representative, I assisted callers with flight reservations for domestic and international travel. Assisted with cancelations, changes and irregular operations (usually weather issues).

For about 2 1/2 years at United Airlines I was the Facility Services Coordinator. In this role I processed incoming bills, ordered – more... all supplies needed for the operations and maintenance of the 45yr old facility. After 9/11 and bankruptcy, I returned to being a Reservations Sales and Service Representative.

In Jan of 2006 the facility was put up for sale and jobs moved to India, Detroit and Chicago – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Thoroughly enjoyed my career at United Airlines...very thankful for the opportunity to work there.
retired (Former Employee), Chicago, ILAugust 10, 2014
Pros: travel and team work and friends
Cons: i had to work weekends, holidays, shift work
I felt like a was a part of insuring United's continued service to the customers and I learned to work as a team to complete the tasks at hand. Management was always supportive and helpful and gave me
many opportunities for advancement. My co-workers all over the country have remained my friends and I still maintain steadfast relationships with many – more... continuing with the RUAEA (Retired United Airlines Employees Association) of which I am a member and serve as Correspondent for a local chapter in Sun City, AZ. The most enjoyable part of my job at United was meeting new people, helping passengers with travel plans and possible difficulties and the affordability of traveling to different parts of the country as well as the world. The hardest part of my job was during weather conditions and aircraft cancellations, Disappointed passengers were very angry but I maintained a helpful and pleasant demeanor and rebooked their travel plans in a timely manner. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Clerical Support
Interline Billing Clerk (Current Employee), Houston, TXAugust 10, 2014
Pros: good benefits
Cons: reduction in force
Clerical support for scanning tickets, data entry, research Real Time Flown to reduce number of duplicate passagners and post accurate revenue to department.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
one of the best jobs I ever had
Customer Service (Current Employee), Boston, MAAugust 8, 2014
My carrier job
best co workers
the most enjoyable place
travel benefits
love it
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
OK
Customer Service Representative (Current Employee), St. LouisAugust 8, 2014
Great perks, flying, benefits are decent…………………………………………………………………………………..
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive Atmosphere
CORE STAFF (Former Employee), Houston , TXAugust 6, 2014
Flexible work schedule. Management is cool however could use improvement. Relaxing atmosphere.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I enjoyed Working for United Airlines
Ramp Serviceman (Current Employee), Detroit, MIAugust 4, 2014
Pros: flying benefits
Cons: only con is subject to get outsource
It was great working for the Airline, Just sorry my station was chosen to be outsourced.. :(
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Was a good career when
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee), Harrisburg Intl AirportAugust 3, 2014
Busy work.Great bunch of coworkers.Meeting new people.After the merger with Continental,UA went down hill
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Job
Ramp/Customer Agent (Former Employee), North charlestonJuly 28, 2014
I learned that you have to work at fast speed and also you have to control your attitude and be very patient. Hardest is not being able to help a customer. Enjoyable thing is making people happy.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great accomplishment to work for a airline.
Hub Operations Zone Supervisor (Former Employee), Cleveland, OHJuly 28, 2014
Pros: great benefits and healthcare
Cons: crazy work hours
Great place to me top rated co-works, and finish the day as one family.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun work place with workout groups
Accounting/Commercial Receivables UATP Billing (Current Employee), Houston, TXJuly 25, 2014
Pros: flying for free, discounted hotel, dicounted car rentals...etc.
Cons: low pay
A typical day at work, consist of daily duties on managing tons of accounts for UATP, Oracle and SIS systems. Daily Billing, balancing and clearing out accounts. Everyday, we typically learn something new or a new software that United wants us to try out or some new innovative way to make the company better. I believe my department has the best management – more... team; they are relaxed and do not believe in "micromanaging" they believe in team work and United we stand. I love my co-workers; they are awesome and we tend to hang out time to time after work. The hardest part of my job is during close; which is at the end of the month and the first couple of days at the beginning of the months. This is were we have to clear out tons and tons of accounts by the fourth of every month. The fustrating thing is that we can't start clearing those accounts until the third or fourth week of every month. The most enjoyable part of my job, is that it is a relax environment, my co-workers are awesome and I love what I do. We are truly united and the perks are awesome as well. – less

1 2 3 4 5

About United Airlines

Now taking off: Your career At United®, we are thriving in the culture that our employees have helped to create, one that – Read more

United Airlines Photos