Find companies:
United Airlines
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
457 reviews

United Airlines Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent Benefits but no Job Security due to Outsourcing
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee), Lester B. Pearson International AirportSeptember 10, 2014
Pros: flight benefits
Everyday is a challenge, dealing with different people and situations everyday.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Efficiency, Speed
Electronic Ticket Agent - Customer Service (Former Employee), Port Hawkesbury, NSJune 12, 2014
Was a great training experience, very knowledgeable staff
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun, busy and very regarding
Customer Service Representative (Current Employee), Mississauga, ONApril 28, 2014
Pros: good benefits
Cons: long hours, sometimes without a break
Busy since the moment you step in, challenging whenever there is any type of irregular operations; but fun to do and great feeling of satisfaction whenever you turn unhappy into happy customers; it is fun to work with my colleagues; but for the last year management has become the worst part. The most enjoyable part of the job is the atmosphere and the – more... interaction with employees from other companies and the fact that everyday is a totally different experience. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A day with limited staff
Customer Service Director (Current Employee), Toronto, ONMarch 24, 2014
A typical day at United starts off with various sick calls and oversold flights. I know the strengths of my colleagues, and therefore, I knew where to place each of them for their duties for the day. When flights are oversold, I was able to remove eleven passengers with their checked baggage at the gate. I also placed them in another aircraft, getting – more... the flight out on time. Because of my time management and multitasking skills, I was still able to make it an enjoyable day at the end. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast passed enviromemt serving customers and addressing their concerns.
Customer Service Agent (Current Employee), Calgary, ABMarch 20, 2014
An early start addressing concerns and ticketing issues, rebooking flight arrangements, boarding passengers onto aircraft and being a part of an amazing team of people. The most enjoyable aspect of this job is assisting the customer and making their visit to the airport a relaxing and stress free experience.
Each day is different and there are never – more... any two days which are the same. This daily change has given me a broader understanding and patience for the needs of people under stress. Which a visit to the airport can be. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
International and Domestice travel
Flight Attendant (Former Employee), Newark, NJSeptember 18, 2014
Pros: free travel
Cons: long periods away from home
Experienced in traveling with a diverse group of co-workers as well as passengers. Learned that you cannot always please everyone but certainly accomplish this the best I could. Traveling all over the world and country was quite an experience.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company with Great Travel Benefits
Recruiting Coordinator (Current Employee), Chicago, ILSeptember 17, 2014
United is a great company that has a variety of work groups. It is a fast paced environment where you learn about the airline and all of its complexities.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
hardwork, but fun
Lead Ramp Agent (Current Employee), baltimoreSeptember 17, 2014
Pros: flying free, discounts, seeing new cities
Cons: new management, lazy workers, rude passengers
Typical day starts off with hoping the weather cooperates across the country. I have learned over the years that no day is the same working for an airline. In order to be successful at an airline, you must have dedicated workers who believe in working together for the common cause of getting the planes out safely and on time. Hardest part is working – more... in bad weather, delays and unruly passengers. Most enjoyable is seeing the smiles on passengers face when everything works like clockwork and they're on the way to a great vacation and knowing that they landed safely. The perk of flying free anywhere in the world is great – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive workplace
Payroll Processor (Current Employee), Houston, TXSeptember 12, 2014
reconciliation of accounts,

process payroll invoices,

and audit daily reports
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Vast, challenging operation. Great airport to work at.
Airport Operations Supervisor (Former Employee), San Francisco, CASeptember 10, 2014
The operation was non-stop and very busy. A definite disconnect within management. No cohesion between management and union, yet once you put yourself above that and establish a positive relationship with the union staff the employees will support you. Great airport and operational environment to work at. I wish there was more inter-department collaboration – more... in order to foster a team atmosphere among managers. However, the silos still existed at the time. Overall a very positive experience! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Loved the benefits.
Customer Service/Reservations Agent (Former Employee), San Francisco, CASeptember 8, 2014
Pros: benefits
Cons: late evening hours
Loved the benefits of working for United Airlines. The pay was fine. The work environment is fine. The management is fine. And colleagues were helpful.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Job Evaluation Summary
Customer Service Agent (Current Employee), Atlanta, GASeptember 8, 2014
Pros: flexibility, good pay, benefits
Cons: uncertainty in the airline industry
A typical day working as a Customer Service Agent/Ramp Service Agent is all about servicing inbound/outbound flight arrivals by properly parking aircraft, loading/unloading customer baggage and/or freight, cargo or mail, handling terminal operations, and overall customer service. The hardest part of the job is dealing with the changing and unexpected – more... weather elements and having to work outdoors under some of those elements. The most enjoyable part of the job is the flexibility in work schedule because of the ability to day-trade with other co-workers. Handling tasks in an organized fashion within specific time constraints is one important thing I learned. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A start
Flight Attendant (Former Employee), Chicago, ILSeptember 6, 2014
Was a good introduction to the airline industry. Have strict standards during training.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Loved working with and assisting passengers
Flight Attendant (Former Employee), Chicago, ILSeptember 3, 2014
Pros: great time-off with work/life balance
Cons: weather or mechanical delays made for extra long days
Enjoyed the team crews. Love the travel and thoroughly enjoy people. Lots of autonomy and flexibility in the workplace. Being a self-starter and understanding time management was vital.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Work Culture
Principal Engineer (Current Employee), Chicago, ILSeptember 1, 2014
Pros: free lunches
Oppertunity for growth, flexible hours, sometime free lunches.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great benefits
Customer Service Lead (Current Employee), cleveland ohioAugust 31, 2014
Pros: benefits
Cons: outside elements
Has great benefits in dental, medical, vision, and 401k. They also have great flying benefits for family, friends, and for myself
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
none
Administrative Assistant (Current Employee), Huntsville, ALAugust 27, 2014
I am not going to write a review at this time.I am not going to write a review at this timeI am not going to write a review at this timeI am not going to write a review at this timeI am not going to write a review at this time
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
same employer
Customer Care (Current Employee), Houston, TXAugust 26, 2014
Pros: same as previous
Cons: same as previous
My employment history is for 21 years and my review is the same for all positions.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Everyday brings different challenges.
Cusstomer Service/Service Director (Current Employee), Dulles, VAAugust 23, 2014
A typical day at work for me involved locating delayed luggage, taking claims and processing the claims for delivery once luggage arrived to the station.
I learned that every situation and day brings different challenges. Some days weather impacted operations, other days we would face a number of challenges with maintenance issues. However, with support – more... and adequate communication and resources we were able to work through the situations as a team.
My co-workers were fun to work with. Everyone had a different personality and attitude toward the job which made each day quite interesting.
The hardest part of the job was when irate customers called you names and said very derogatory words to you while you were trying to assist them. It was also difficult to work behind someone who may have not been as seasoned as many employees with numerous years with the company.
The most enjoyable part of the job was helping others and being able to utilize the resources available to me to solve problems. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I really loved working at UA
Ramp Agent (Former Employee), Tulsa, OKAugust 17, 2014
I loved working at UA, if I could, I would go back in a heartbeat!

1 2 3 4 5

About United Airlines

Now taking off: Your career At United®, we are thriving in the culture that our employees have helped to create, one that – Read more

United Airlines Photos