Find companies:
United Airlines
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
422 reviews

United Airlines Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
needs more benefits and higher compensation
Process Trainer (Current Employee), Manila,PhilippinesJune 12, 2014
Since I am in a BPO (Business Process Outsourcing) industry working for United Airlines we get less attention specially when it comes to benefits and salary. Though they involve their contact center people for any updates and programs we don't enjoy same benefits compare to those who work at home in the US. United Airlines gave me the opportunity to – more... travel for free (buddy pass) in Chicago because of training, a workshop that we need to roll out to all agents in Manila, Philippines. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Efficiency, Speed
Electronic Ticket Agent - Customer Service (Former Employee), Port Hawkesbury, NSJune 12, 2014
Was a great training experience, very knowledgeable staff
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun, busy and very regarding
Customer Service Representative (Current Employee), Mississauga, ONApril 28, 2014
Pros: good benefits
Cons: long hours, sometimes without a break
Busy since the moment you step in, challenging whenever there is any type of irregular operations; but fun to do and great feeling of satisfaction whenever you turn unhappy into happy customers; it is fun to work with my colleagues; but for the last year management has become the worst part. The most enjoyable part of the job is the atmosphere and the – more... interaction with employees from other companies and the fact that everyday is a totally different experience. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A day with limited staff
Customer Service Director (Current Employee), Toronto, ONMarch 24, 2014
A typical day at United starts off with various sick calls and oversold flights. I know the strengths of my colleagues, and therefore, I knew where to place each of them for their duties for the day. When flights are oversold, I was able to remove eleven passengers with their checked baggage at the gate. I also placed them in another aircraft, getting – more... the flight out on time. Because of my time management and multitasking skills, I was still able to make it an enjoyable day at the end. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast passed enviromemt serving customers and addressing their concerns.
Customer Service Agent (Current Employee), Calgary, ABMarch 20, 2014
An early start addressing concerns and ticketing issues, rebooking flight arrangements, boarding passengers onto aircraft and being a part of an amazing team of people. The most enjoyable aspect of this job is assisting the customer and making their visit to the airport a relaxing and stress free experience.
Each day is different and there are never – more... any two days which are the same. This daily change has given me a broader understanding and patience for the needs of people under stress. Which a visit to the airport can be. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent management comunication, Great travel benefits
Airport Service Agent (Former Employee), Torreon, MxAugust 15, 2013
Pros: flexible working hours in small stations
Cons: long hours during irregular operations
I learned teamwork to achieve goals in an ambience against time.

I had great co-workers from all around the world

The hardest part of the job was to work delayed, diverted or cancelled flights during bad weather conditions.

The most enjoyable part of the job was to meet people from all around the world and to have the posibility to visit any country – more... very easy – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
the best place to work with
TRAVEL PROCESS ASSOCIATE (Former Employee), Manila, PhilippinesJuly 15, 2013
Pros: incentives, retreat
Cons: high volume of calls
Being part of united airlines is one of a king when it comes to travel industry. Management and as well co-workers share the same point of views towards the success of the account. We value customers and clients all around the globe making sure that all of their needs are being provided not just through service but going beyond customers expectations. – more... Booking flights for the customers is very though but its a passion that we love since their daily lives lies on our hands. Its not just an ordinary tasks that we handle but a very tedious thing wherein we need to make sure clients safeness flying with us. Its a dilemma for everyone if there's an interruption on flights especially during holiday seasons however we can manage things around by getting in touch with different flight carriers. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
My Airline Dream!
Inflight Services Representative (Former Employee), Hong Kong baseAugust 3, 2012
Pros: free travelling and meals!
Cons: can't complain!
I have my training in Chicago (headquarter of UA), everything was just amazing. It was awesome to work with different bases of people from then (flight attendants from San Francisco, New York, Seattle etc..) I got to travel from state to state and Asia as well! Great fun!
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
wonder place to work
Flight Attendant (Current Employee), Houston, TXJuly 18, 2014
I really like the culture and what the company is trying to accomplish. over great atmosphere
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice place to work. Contractors treated differently
Business Analyst (Former Employee), Houston, TXJuly 15, 2014
Pros: good people to work with
Cons: things move at a snails pace
Good people but a lot of big egos clashing not allowing people to do their work.

Contractors are treated almost second rate. Don't have access to everything neither are they allow to work from home / remotely unless they need to. Everyone's spending more time trying to complain about being busy than they are working.

A lot of empty promises for advancement – more... but none happening. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
overall good place
Airlines Sale Rep/ Ramp Oper/ Hardware Technician (Former Employee), Newark, NJJuly 11, 2014
Pros: good work enviroment, flexibility, great company
Cons: there was a time when safty was a issue but it was improved.
It was a great place to work lot's to do and had the chance to meet people
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worked under very strict daily/weekly deadlines meeting a very specific error rate
Computer Operator I (Former Employee), Elk Grove Village, ILJuly 10, 2014
Pros: excellent benefits, good pay and loved the "open door" policy that had
Cons: it was a contract and not permanent
• Long-term temporary government contract working with Pension Benefit Guaranty Corporation and United Airlines on retiree pension participant files.
• Experience reviewing and verifying documents of various nature, contents, and comprehending documents of varying complexity.
• Knowledge of scanning procedures and use of desktop/commercial image scanner.
 – more... Provided technical advice and assistance to Task Leader. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
United Summary
Network Operations, Infrastructure Engineer (Current Employee), Elk Grove Village, ILJuly 10, 2014
Great place to work! Co-workers and management are great to work with.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace and nice breakroom
Baggage Handler/Ramp Agent (Former Employee), Philadelphia, PAJuly 8, 2014
A typical day at United Airlines was fun and upbeat. The diversity of worker made this job one of my favorite. While working with United Airlines I had to understand/learn military time. The Airline industry runs on a 24hr clock so that was a fun concept to learn. The hardest part of the job was dealing with the weather and delays. Weather played a – more... big factor wheather it was rain, heat, sleet, snow or frigid cold planes kept to their destinations. My most enjoyable moments were watching the planes land and take off; learing the different types of planes. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Pretty typical for an Airline Job
Flight Attendant (Former Employee), Chicago, ILJuly 8, 2014
Unions pretty much dictate the job. Working for UAL is great because of all the international destinations and partnerships. It was good pay, not sure what it is now. I haven't worked there in many years.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was a good place to work
Airlines Sales Rep/ Ramp Oper/ (Former Employee), Newark, NJJuly 7, 2014
Pros: good work enviroment, flexibility, great company
Cons: there was a time when safty was a issue but it was improved.
Major Airline Industry in a fast pace atmosphere.
I learned all safety and security awareness.
Specialist in customer service.
The hardest part of the job was when there were equipment problems.

The best part was making sure that customer's were satisfied with the service and even in the most discouraging moments find a way to make their current situation – more... better. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Customer Service Representative LaGuardia Airport (Former Employee), Flushing, New YorkJuly 2, 2014
The position is a stressul position because dealing with the public usually is. Working for the company was great. There was one common goal and everyone worked together and for the most part worked well.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Connected to a phone and computer.
RESERVATIONS AGENT (Current Employee), Dearborn, MIJuly 1, 2014
Averaged 60 inbound calls daily. Assist customers with making reservations, handle customer complaints, and resolve customers' problems in a timely matter.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Typical Work Day
Customer Care (Current Employee), Chicago, ILJune 28, 2014
Pros: discounted travel
Cons: very stressful
Respond to passenger emails and phone calls during an 8 hour shift. Working for a win-win situation with each passenger while maintaining company policy/guidelines.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Never boring, always challenging
Operations Supervisor (Current Employee), Des Moines, IAJune 27, 2014
Pros: excellent benefits and compensation.
Cons: high stress and cost cutting significantly reducing benefits and compensation.
United has had some difficult changes to get through in a high cost of capital industry. Airlines need to be managed as a business to survive yet share a lot of the public responsibilities of a Utility. Add this to a clash of two corporate cultures (United and Continental), one a heavily unionized and disgruntled work force with excellent tools. The – more... other a smaller line with antiquated tools but a employee base proud of their company and you get, "A House Divided". – less

1 2 3 4 5

About United Airlines

Now taking off: Your career At United®, we are thriving in the culture that our employees have helped to create, one that – Read more

United Airlines Photos