Unilever Employee Reviews

Found 87 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Na
PRODUCTION SUPERVISOR/TEAM LEADER (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON19 February 2014
Managed both production staff as well as maintenance staff. Tpm and 5S.
Pros
na
Cons
na
Was this review helpful?Yes1No8Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great products!
Associate Finance Manager, Category Finance (Former Employee) –  Toronto19 February 2014
Love the products they sell. Proud to work for the company (because of its reputation). Love the Dove product line and the charities it supports.
Pros
Product discounts
Cons
Advancement involves moving to US or Europe
Was this review helpful?Yes2No9Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very friendly environment
Financial Analyst (Former Employee) –  Toronto19 February 2014
• Assisted in monthly Flash Report with commentary on variances for senior managers
• Supported cost center managers in updating Scorecards and variance explanation
• Monitored KPIs and followed up with respective managers after doing trend analysis
• Month end journal entries for accruals and expense allocations
• Assisted in Budgeting and LE quarterly update, populating templates, back up files and assumptions
• Assisted in standard cost half yearly update and running cost roll up in SAP
• Inventory reconciliation, investigation and inventory adjustment, write off proposal
• Entering vendor invoices in APSS for coding and management approval
Was this review helpful?Yes4No4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lipton Canada (Unilever) was a great place to work!
Lead project developer (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON3 February 2014
Lipton fostered personal skills as well as providing Time Management training and Project Management training.

I was encouraged and rewarded with cash bonuses to meet project deadlines on time and under budget.

The CFO of Lipton Canada had an amazing memory. He could have one conversation with you, and remember the details of that conversation, almost word-for-word, as well as who was in your family and how old they were, months or years later!

Very comfortable place to work with a great view of Bloor St. in Toronto!
Pros
Excellent work environment, with great pay and bonuses.
Cons
None that I can think of at this time.
Was this review helpful?Yes8No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great co-op experience
Improvement Engineer, Safety, Quality (Former Employee) –  Brampton2 December 2013
I love working with my supervisor because he inspired me to work creatively to achieve goals. It is a fast pace company with a lot of positive changes in different departments.
Pros
employee discount on company products
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good company
Seasonal Process Operator (Former Employee) –  Simcoe, ON24 November 2013
decent pay for hiring entry level type workers, around 400 work there so you get to know a lot of people
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
standards of leadership, teamwork, passion, open chanels of communications, transparency, challenging with no limits
Legal Manager (Current Employee) –  Egypt19 November 2013
I have to manage a 6 subordinates who age around 45 years old and have a high level of resistence, which actually turns to be an enjoyable work!!! everyday morning a huge issue have to strike us with pressure for immediate solution following Unilever policies and protocols adding to that that day to day legal queries that we have to investigate and revert to our business partners with a smile :)
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good
management trainee (Former Employee) –  toronto4 November 2013
• Calculated return on investment for Hypermarket channels and projected payback period for new Vaseline SKU. As a result, achieved an increase in market share of 40% in 2010 per AC Nielson.
• Analyzed deodorant trends for male consumers and recommended pricing strategy for Axe brand in Greater China, improved total deodorant (Deo) profit margins by 10% with a sales growth of 50%.
• Forecasted and analyzed twelve-month P&L with revised templates, reduced variances by 60%.
• Calculated the cannibalization rate between Axe and Dove Deo and formulated shelving strategy.
• Developed spend reporting and completed financial analysis on actual vs forecasted spend
• Reconciled general ledger and performed month end closing, identified and removed discrepancies.
Was this review helpful?Yes3No3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work and Good Pay
Packer/Operator (Current Employee) –  Simcoe, ON27 September 2013
Very fast pace environment with great chances of going into other departments with in the company.
Pros
Good Paying Job
Cons
weird shifts
Was this review helpful?Yes4No12Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive & happy working in this company
Merchandiser (Former Employee) –  Gateway business park,General Trias Cavite9 September 2013
a typical day at work is to deliver plenty of products to all groceries,the management is quite good to the workers.they pay overtime for extra hours of work,working as a merchandiser is difficult but enjoyable when i talk to the costumers and explain to them the goodness of the product.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
na
Brand Category Jr. Financial Analyst (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON27 June 2013
Great work culture, good work life balance. Compensation on the lower end however great benefits.
Pros
employee discounts
Cons
slow
Was this review helpful?Yes1No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Breyers
Operator b (Former Employee) –  Simcoe, ON24 June 2013
Was a seasonal Employee. No issues with managment or fellow employees. Learned about the food processing industry.
Pros
company discounts
Cons
seasonal
Was this review helpful?Yes1No8Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Basketball
TRAILER DRIVER / ON CALL (Former Employee) –  PHILIPPINES23 June 2013
All call driver, pick container from ware house and delivered in laguna manufacturing area
Pros
With out a call
Cons
12 Hours
Was this review helpful?YesNo3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place To Work
Payroll Administrator (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON12 June 2013
Processed payroll for different divisions
Met some really great people
My direct supervisor was the greatest thing on this earth.
Hardest part of the job was trying to deal with irate employees
Was this review helpful?Yes2No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hard but enjoyable work
QA (Former Employee) –  Philippines29 May 2013
working here is fun, enjoyable, helps me learn what i study, the techniques. new machine where been encountered. my co workers are helpful and fun to be with.
Pros
free health care products
Cons
free health care products with in the working area
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive place to work at
Brands Manager Tea and Savory (Former Employee) –  Ghana branch12 April 2013
A typical day at work will require me delivering my sales report to my line Manager first thing every Monday morning. i learned to be focused and timely with my work. Management gave me the opportunity to be a part of a Business Unit team of which i was very grateful for. My co-workers were co-operative. the hardest part of the job was when i had to stay long to work on a brief for presentation. the most enjoyable part of the job was when i had the opportunity to always go and seek information about competitors actions which gave me so much fulfilment
Pros
free lunch every day friday
Cons
agile working
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Cut-throat competitive and very political
ABM (Former Employee) –  Toronto, Ontario, Canada27 March 2013
Pros:
Great downtown location
Fun and bright coloured "happy" office
Good opportunity to learn from inter agency and unilever organized events, activities, guest speakers, etc.
Opportunity to work from home if you need to
It will look good on your resume

Cons:
Individualistic vs collaborative work culture, more ABMs than brand manager positions, so there is cut throat competition to show off and make it to the favorites list
Poor management: favoritism, lack of coaching and clear expectations, no constructive feedback which inhibits your professional growth and development. Management does not make your success their success, you're pretty much on your own.
Large number of "mandatory" company meetings, events and activities, limiting the time to do your actual work.
Lower than average starting salary for this particular role
Pros
location, industry learning opportunities, work from home
Cons
not collaborative, poor management that limits your growth, lower than average salary
Was this review helpful?Yes9NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun workplace
Quality Supervisor/HACCP Coordinator (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON27 March 2013
A goog workplace with good working environment and work culture.
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Tier one company, consist changes
Logistics Manager (Former Employee) –  Rexdale, ON9 January 2013
Many great people that are willing to help and work with you.
Pros
recognized company world wide
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
See resume
REFINERY LEADER (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON11 December 2012
Excellent company to work with. Oppertunities to learn new things and also to work in very diverse environment.
Was this review helpful?YesNo2Report

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Unilever. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.2
Based on 3,854 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.9
Salary/Benefits
3.9
Job Security/Advancement
3.7
Management
3.7
Culture
4.0