Find companies:
Unilever
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
1,116 reviews

Unilever Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall rating of 4 of 5 stars
Production Specialist (Former Employee), Jonesboro, ARSeptember 26, 2014
A typical day at work is trying to solve problems and remove any barriers in the output process with customer satisfaction and output reliability as the main focus. I have learned several problem solving skills that will go with me to my next destination. The management here is ok but the lower level employees will live under a glass ceiling. My co-workers – more... are excellent. Always encouraging and helping others to work safe be happy. The hardest part about my job depends on what day of the week it is and how production is going. The most enjoyable part about my job is successfully completing projects and getting recognition for the things the work that I do. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Corporate Conglomerate with major global brands, diversity, global leaders & a great mission statement
Global Brand and Product Development, Marketing (Former Employee), London, ENGSeptember 25, 2014
Pros: excellent opportunities, growth potential, amazing benefits, travel, strong team focus and drive
Cons: conflicting brand direction, non-personable co-workers other than superiors, high stress
Global brand development in London either meeting in Studio marketing office or Unilever Chelsey corporate offices for top-level meetings. Daily review of US innovation teams needs due to time change. Once US projects and directives have been executed, then regroup with Creative Team for their input on product strategy, brand launches, upcoming events, – more... and projects. Depending on which country is in town or on the calendar host multiple int'l conference calls to source and resolve various regional responsibilities and challenges. Manage and orchestrate top-level professionals product testing results along with organizing multi-tiered international flow communicating project guidelines and goals while relaying info to US innovation teams in real time. I learned invaluable huge corporation policies and procedures, research practices, politics, and expedient project follow through. Management and global leaders were all brilliant and motivating maintaining strong focus and understanding of objectives. Co-workers were very diverse throughout EU and aggressive in making a strong imprint on the brand however they saw fit although they were not as friendly or brand loyal as I had hoped. Hardest part of the job was supporting the new brand direction I felt conflicted about that ultimately decreased revenue globally while working long hours to help in a movement i didn't truly believe in with people who were more in it for themselves rather than the company. The most enjoyable part of the job was experiencing and embracing the EU/UK culture and presenting at the global marketing conference while championing new projects + streamlining a once troubled US vs UK synergy. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
n/a/
Process Technician (Current Employee), raefordSeptember 22, 2014
the job is ok just repitive and management doesnt seem to care about u
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fair
Artisan (Former Employee), Durban, ZNSeptember 19, 2014
Pros: medical aid at a reasonable discounted price.
Cons: long hours / 24 hour availablity.
Unilever was a great company to work for as they pride themselves to achieving world class standards. In saying, it required 100% commitment which meant that I did work under extreme pressure. My responsibility was to maintain the machinery at the plant. My typical day was to ensure all machinery was well lubricated and ran as expected without any downtime. – more... I was responsible for overseeing contractors, permit issuing and ordering of parts for machinery breakdowns. I drew up schedules for maintenance and performed weekly maintenance / inspections. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and work hard
Consultant (Former Employee), São PauloSeptember 16, 2014
Pros: home office and development
Cons: long hours per day
Was a pleasure to work in this company.......................................................................
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work life balance is missing, tough work environment
Front Line Production Manager (Former Employee), Hammond, INSeptember 16, 2014
Every person rotates shifts weekly which prevents stability with work life balance.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great work/life balance...with caveats
Supply chain manager (Current Employee), Englewood Cliffs, NJSeptember 9, 2014
Pros: agile working
Cons: no stock unless you are a director or above
Unilever is big on work/life balance as a company. I have the ability to work from home as needed for early AM calls and have been able to feel confident that I can come and go as I might need for personal issues. The culture is about deliverables, not time in a chair. The caveat I mention is about some managers are not, yet, in the mindset of "Agile – more... working" as it is called here. Meaning, some managers expect butts in chairs 8-5 daily and do not allow agile working. This is unfortunate. Fortunately, my manager is interested in output, not time at a desk, which is more the norm. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very caring company
Administration & Commercial Manager (Former Employee), Pakistan South II RegionSeptember 7, 2014
Pros: free tea, biscut, water
Cons: long hours
> A typical day at work ,managed after guest house, petty cash, safety & security around the office.
> I learned more things like administration skill,event management etc.
>My colleagues very nice and helpful we are share pressure of work .
>One time i was move my regional office city to an other city.
>When i was attended my company sales conference – more... event – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
see Unilever review above
Regional Business Manager (Former Employee), Englewood Cliffs, NJAugust 29, 2014
Unilever is a CPG giant

Co Workers was key area combined with Great product offerings
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good place of work
Shift engineer (Current Employee), Warrington, SAugust 28, 2014
great people to work with. good training . work and life balance need to be improved
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
What you learned
Territory Sales Officer - OOH Division (Current Employee), KAAugust 28, 2014
Pros: consistent and assured business
Cons: time managment
Targeting small value sales and ensuring the distributors follow the same which ensured a substantial volume and value sale.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
disappointing
research associate (Former Employee), Port Sunlight, ENGAugust 27, 2014
Pros: pleasant office environment
Cons: low pay, no training, development, or career opportunities
For one of the world's largest blue chip organizations I was surprised to be paid well below the average national UK salary for a skilled position. The work environment was good with a team orientated culture. However training, development, and opportunities for advancement are non-existent which leads to frustration and stagnation in the work force. – more... I felt I had a job and not a career and that it maintained an existence rather than a life. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Laid Off
Bagger Technician (Former Employee), Owensboro, KYAugust 26, 2014
Laid Off sold company 300 people lost jobs, Work was good experience I leaned a lot of different tools I can use later on in life. Management was fair and co-workers were fair, the hardest part of my job was getting laid-off.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
UNILEVER
Customer Executive (Current Employee), İstanbul TurkeyAugust 21, 2014
Pros: agile working policy, summer half-day working schedule at fridays, health insurance
Cons: no men and women balance, average salary
Unilever is one of the most attractive firms in Turkey. It collects best students from universities. It offers an average salary with a lot of work pressure and responsibilities. In time, Unilever chooses the ones who work 7/24 and dont complain then promotes them. If you want to be succesful in Unilever, you have to have masculine characteristics.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Decent company
Assistant Research Scientist (Former Employee), ShanghaiAugust 20, 2014
One of the biggest FMCG companies. Paid fairly. A lot of meetings.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great and Fun place to work
Production Supervisor (Current Employee), Covington, TNAugust 19, 2014
Essentially a heavy work load with long hours and steady emphasis on Safety and Production
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Loved working at Unilever
Clinical Scientist (Former Employee), Port Sunlight, ENGAugust 19, 2014
Pros: great working environment & manager to report to.
Cons: hard to get a permanent position!
I learnt sooo much during my time at Unilever. Really enjoyed the work I was set and the Manager I reported to was very competent, helpful and supportive.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great
OTM Procurement Operations Coordinator (Current Employee), Englewood Cliffs, NJAugust 19, 2014
9-5pm.
great company culture.
casual work enviroment.
young and smart people
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
excellent work place
Packaging (Current Employee), Mumbai, MHAugust 18, 2014
good to work here. This is not just a company but its an institution to learn lots of thing .
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great development
Intern (Former Employee), Englewood Cliffs, NJAugust 17, 2014
Unilever is a great place to work with many opportunities to develop in a particular function.

About Unilever

160 million times a day, some-one somewhere chooses a Unilever product. Our brands include Dove, Knorr, Hellmann’s, Becel/Flora, – Read more