Find companies:
Unilever
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
1,088 reviews

Unilever Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to work
Deduction Specialist (Current Employee), MississaugaNovember 22, 2012
Pros: flexible hours, friendly environment
Cons: re- structuring
Flexible hours.
Friendly environment
High turnover on junior positions
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Machine Operator and Mix Flavour
Machine Operator, Mix Flavour (Former Employee), Simcoe, ONOctober 9, 2012
Pros: great pay, good co-workers
Cons: forced overtime, supervisors knowledge
An excellent job for a person my age but there is a large gap between what happens on the factory floor and what the supervisors believe can be done. At times there is a huge lack of communication between what the workers can do and what the supervisors think can be done. The managers need to have a better grasp of what the factory is capable of.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company to work for.
Sr. Regulatory Compliance Specialist (Former Employee), Brampton, ONSeptember 21, 2012
Pros: people
Cons: downsizing
A lot of nice people but unfortunately a lot of 'downsizing' as well.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Staff turn over is fast, job security is always a concern.
Quality Specialist (Current Employee), Brampton, ONAugust 1, 2012
Pros: young co-workers keep you inspired
Cons: lack of time for family
10-12 hours of working is not uncommon and also there is no proper system of carry over for the next shift. Completing all the work before end of the shift is very demanding.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice Company to work
Quality Specialist (Current Employee), Brampton, ONApril 19, 2012
Challenging and busy days are common
Dedicated co-woekers
Long working hours
Benefits
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great workplace atmosphere
Senior R&D NA Foods Lead Specification (Current Employee), Lisle, ILSeptember 29, 2014
Agile working allows for better work/life balance. Room for advancment but relocation may be necessary. Lots of learning and leadership opportunities provided.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
challenging job, motivational, an open door policy atmosphere
Category Artwork Production Specialist (Current Employee), Dubai, DUSeptember 28, 2014
I usually have a very busy day of work starting of completing projects based on deadlines and policies, getting in touch with external and internal suppliers, review overseas country rules and legislation based on the launched product, ensure safety product movements & shipments .

I have high technical skills that allows me to test artwork and apply – more... changes easily to meet product quality.

I also manage all packaging and production materials, liaise with counter parts globally and specifically with global brand managers and agency suppliers.

meeting deadline is hard, but yet very challenging and brings up teamwork to achieve the impossible.
Every aspect of my job is very much enjoyably, however, career growth is limited. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Amazing work environment
PMO Lead (Current Employee), Durban, ZNSeptember 26, 2014
challenging work environment that allows you to grow and experience all facets of supply chain
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall rating of 4 of 5 stars
Production Specialist (Former Employee), Jonesboro, ARSeptember 26, 2014
A typical day at work is trying to solve problems and remove any barriers in the output process with customer satisfaction and output reliability as the main focus. I have learned several problem solving skills that will go with me to my next destination. The management here is ok but the lower level employees will live under a glass ceiling. My co-workers – more... are excellent. Always encouraging and helping others to work safe be happy. The hardest part about my job depends on what day of the week it is and how production is going. The most enjoyable part about my job is successfully completing projects and getting recognition for the things the work that I do. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Corporate Conglomerate with major global brands, diversity, global leaders & a great mission statement
Global Brand and Product Development, Marketing (Former Employee), London, ENGSeptember 25, 2014
Pros: excellent opportunities, growth potential, amazing benefits, travel, strong team focus and drive
Cons: conflicting brand direction, non-personable co-workers other than superiors, high stress
Global brand development in London either meeting in Studio marketing office or Unilever Chelsey corporate offices for top-level meetings. Daily review of US innovation teams needs due to time change. Once US projects and directives have been executed, then regroup with Creative Team for their input on product strategy, brand launches, upcoming events, – more... and projects. Depending on which country is in town or on the calendar host multiple int'l conference calls to source and resolve various regional responsibilities and challenges. Manage and orchestrate top-level professionals product testing results along with organizing multi-tiered international flow communicating project guidelines and goals while relaying info to US innovation teams in real time. I learned invaluable huge corporation policies and procedures, research practices, politics, and expedient project follow through. Management and global leaders were all brilliant and motivating maintaining strong focus and understanding of objectives. Co-workers were very diverse throughout EU and aggressive in making a strong imprint on the brand however they saw fit although they were not as friendly or brand loyal as I had hoped. Hardest part of the job was supporting the new brand direction I felt conflicted about that ultimately decreased revenue globally while working long hours to help in a movement i didn't truly believe in with people who were more in it for themselves rather than the company. The most enjoyable part of the job was experiencing and embracing the EU/UK culture and presenting at the global marketing conference while championing new projects + streamlining a once troubled US vs UK synergy. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
n/a/
Process Technician (Current Employee), raefordSeptember 22, 2014
the job is ok just repitive and management doesnt seem to care about u
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fair
Artisan (Former Employee), Durban, ZNSeptember 19, 2014
Pros: medical aid at a reasonable discounted price.
Cons: long hours / 24 hour availablity.
Unilever was a great company to work for as they pride themselves to achieving world class standards. In saying, it required 100% commitment which meant that I did work under extreme pressure. My responsibility was to maintain the machinery at the plant. My typical day was to ensure all machinery was well lubricated and ran as expected without any downtime. – more... I was responsible for overseeing contractors, permit issuing and ordering of parts for machinery breakdowns. I drew up schedules for maintenance and performed weekly maintenance / inspections. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and work hard
Consultant (Former Employee), São PauloSeptember 16, 2014
Pros: home office and development
Cons: long hours per day
Was a pleasure to work in this company.......................................................................
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work life balance is missing, tough work environment
Front Line Production Manager (Former Employee), Hammond, INSeptember 16, 2014
Every person rotates shifts weekly which prevents stability with work life balance.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great work/life balance...with caveats
Supply chain manager (Current Employee), Englewood Cliffs, NJSeptember 9, 2014
Pros: agile working
Cons: no stock unless you are a director or above
Unilever is big on work/life balance as a company. I have the ability to work from home as needed for early AM calls and have been able to feel confident that I can come and go as I might need for personal issues. The culture is about deliverables, not time in a chair. The caveat I mention is about some managers are not, yet, in the mindset of "Agile – more... working" as it is called here. Meaning, some managers expect butts in chairs 8-5 daily and do not allow agile working. This is unfortunate. Fortunately, my manager is interested in output, not time at a desk, which is more the norm. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very caring company
Administration & Commercial Manager (Former Employee), Pakistan South II RegionSeptember 7, 2014
Pros: free tea, biscut, water
Cons: long hours
> A typical day at work ,managed after guest house, petty cash, safety & security around the office.
> I learned more things like administration skill,event management etc.
>My colleagues very nice and helpful we are share pressure of work .
>One time i was move my regional office city to an other city.
>When i was attended my company sales conference – more... event – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
see Unilever review above
Regional Business Manager (Former Employee), Englewood Cliffs, NJAugust 29, 2014
Unilever is a CPG giant

Co Workers was key area combined with Great product offerings
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good place of work
Shift engineer (Current Employee), Warrington, SAugust 28, 2014
great people to work with. good training . work and life balance need to be improved
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
What you learned
Territory Sales Officer - OOH Division (Current Employee), KAAugust 28, 2014
Pros: consistent and assured business
Cons: time managment
Targeting small value sales and ensuring the distributors follow the same which ensured a substantial volume and value sale.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
disappointing
research associate (Former Employee), Port Sunlight, ENGAugust 27, 2014
Pros: pleasant office environment
Cons: low pay, no training, development, or career opportunities
For one of the world's largest blue chip organizations I was surprised to be paid well below the average national UK salary for a skilled position. The work environment was good with a team orientated culture. However training, development, and opportunities for advancement are non-existent which leads to frustration and stagnation in the work force. – more... I felt I had a job and not a career and that it maintained an existence rather than a life. – less

About Unilever

160 million times a day, some-one somewhere chooses a Unilever product. Our brands include Dove, Knorr, Hellmann’s, Becel/Flora, – Read more