Find companies:
UniFirst
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
216 reviews

UniFirst Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company, good people
Sales Consultant (Current Employee), Mississauga, ONJune 25, 2013
A great opportunity for sales minded individuals, best sales training i have ever had. Company provides you with all the tools to succeed.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Unifirst Meh
Factory Worker (Former Employee), Edmonton, ABMay 21, 2013
It has so so management, with nearly no benefits at lower level employment.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Job security within service department
Branch Manager (Former Employee), OntarioFebruary 18, 2013
Pros: advancement
Cons: difficult work & family balance
Service department is a great place to start to work through the company as you are able to understand the dynamics of the company from the ground up.

Management is not always on the same page with one another, as UniFirst is a US based company it feels as the Canadian market is alwasy thought of last when it comes to marketing strategies.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bad work ethics
Sales Representative (Former Employee), Ottawa, ONDecember 30, 2012
Pros: decent salary
Cons: america style work like a dog with unrealistic goals.
Robotic script training, poor management, will not honour contracts. Out to screw their clients. Business based on broken promisses and poor service.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Well organized
Warehouse worker (Former Employee), Woodstock, OntarioDecember 27, 2012
Pros: good benefits, lunch truck on site, friendly people
Cons: not enough work, dealing with insulation-filled laundry
A typical day at work including sorting laundry and unloading and loading trucks. I learned how to become a much quicker, more efficient worker. The management is well-organized, efficient, and very friendly. The hardest part of working at UniFirst was learning to pace myself. I most enjoyed the satisfaction of a job well done.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Unifirst
Outside Sales Representative (Former Employee), Saint JohnSeptember 27, 2012
Pros: free lunch with the boss.
Cons: paperwork
Your only as good as your next sale. Company needed to spend more money on branding itself. Hard to sell their products in Canada especially on the east coast where your customers never heard of the company.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast Pace Environment
Outside Sales Representative/Inside Sales (Current Employee), Langley, BCJuly 24, 2012
Great place for an entry level position and move up. But after time if you need a new challenge you need to move on.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I was a route driver
Sales (Former Employee), Clarksburg, WVJuly 9, 2014
I was a route driver, i charge of getting people there uniformes, keeping track of orders and talking with the publick
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
My job review
Dock Worker (Current Employee), Oklahoma City, OKJuly 2, 2014
Pros: i get off early enough to do whatever i need to do during working hours.
Cons: i am able to receive medical benefits plus dental
My day begins at 3:00 am, I clock in on my job at 4:00 am and begin doing the unloading of the trucks that are on the dock area. I normally assists other workers when needed and enjoy interacting with my co-workers.
The hardest part about the job is the heat that comes from the hot weather, it does get hot!
I learned from my management how to do other – more... jobs. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Putting my managerial education into practice
Production Manager (Former Employee), Stratford, CtJuly 1, 2014
Pros: hiring, training, budget management, etc
Cons: lacking true teamwork concepts
Making sure all daily productivity and customer needs are met.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great working environment for individuals with a hunter mentality
Outside Sales Representative (Current Employee), Birmingham, ALJuly 1, 2014
Plan your work, work your plan. Great job. Excellent training. Friendly working environment. Several cold calls and phone calls to prospects.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good job security but everything else horrible
Route Sales Rep (Current Employee), Charlotte, NCJune 28, 2014
Pros: job security
Cons: low pay, long hours, little appreciation
Here is the brutal truth. This is a horrible industry. It doesn't matter if you go to work for Unifirst or one of their competitors, the industry remains the same. Customers are unreasonable and demand the most ridiculous things. You will work from around 6 am Mon-Fri, until you're done. That could be 5,6, 7 or 8, maybe later. You will never get the – more... kind of money you're promised. If they paid by the hour you'd make a good living but they don't because it would bankrupt the company. You'll either get a commissioned route or a salary. They pay 7% commission on routes but not all routes meet the threshold of commision so they pay a flat salary of $600 a week on those. And that's before taxes. What that means is that you'll work 10-12 hours a day and only get paid for 40. Some RSRs make really good money but they've been on their jobs for years and are home by 2 or 3 o'clock every day. But those are the exceptions. The majority of RSRs have long, miserable days, go home frustrated and exhausted only to have to get back in the next morning to do it all over again. There is very little incentive to seek a career with this company. Most of the vehicles are old and worn out, the AC units never work and your truck will break down constantly, stranding you in the middle of nowhere for hours. The managers are just as frustrated as the route drivers and it's just one seriously giant mess. The sales team oversells the service because competition between companies is fierce. They'll sell something that is completely unreasonable and you'll be responsible for making sure you do what the sales person promised. There is nothing you can do but comply because sales means everything. You'll have to be a flexible person and have infinite patience to do this job. I only recommend applying if you desperately need a job. If you take this job in order to get into managment then you're going to be in for a disappointment because the next step is being a service supervisor. That is a far worse job than route sales because the supervisor runs routes constantly, is used as a gopher and makes very little money. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
ok pay worst sales job
Outside Sales Rep (Current Employee), Mesquite, TXJune 25, 2014
look at title. Maybe its just my location but it is a revolving door.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Too many hours
Sales Representative (Former Employee), Houston, TXJune 22, 2014
Pros: got to meet many costumers
Cons: too many hours of work
This job demand too many hours, most of the time I would start around 6:00 am and wont be done until 7 or 8 pm.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Functioning disfunction
District service supervisor (Former Employee), Enid, OKJune 19, 2014
Pros: it paid decent money
Cons: management was very difficult to work with
The management here always threatens the employees jobs and it puts stress that doesn't need to be involved each day. The hardest part was the random hours that I would work some days it was 8 am or the others it could be 3:30, it made it very difficult to find balance in my life.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Always work to be done, enjoyable company to work for
Mechanic (Current Employee), New Kensington Pa.June 16, 2014
Days start early and normally run late, I've learned time management and how to multitask quite well, management will do all they can to help you out, coworkers are enjoyable and make the days better, hardest part of the day is the last 5 minutes , enjoyable part of the job is the diversity of work
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible work environment
Sales Consultant (Current Employee), Stratford, CTJune 10, 2014
Horrible work environment. Expected to do the majority of your paperwork at home on your own time. Focused on the process not the end result. Quantity over Quality.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
UniFirst
Professional Outside Sales Representative (Former Employee), Albany, GAJune 5, 2014
Stressful but good solid company. Great to meet various new people and travel. Hard on family life.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Unifirst had a great training program.
Outside Sales Representative (Current Employee), Whippany, NJJune 3, 2014
Unifirst was a valuable asset in the training mechanism to better understand basic concepts of the sales process.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Outside Sales Representative
Outside Sales Representative (Current Employee), Hudson ValleyJune 2, 2014
Pros: enhancing a business image
Cons: territory hit hard with economic downfall
Prospecting for new business/ conducting Customer Needs Analysis for current business owners to evaluate their needs in regards to Unifirst's products and services.

1 2 3 4 5

About UniFirst

UniFirst, a leading supplier of uniforms, workwear and related products to businesses big and small since 1936, provides a wide – Read more