Find companies:
UniFirst
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
190 reviews

UniFirst Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Unifirst Meh
Factory Worker (Former Employee), Edmonton, ABMay 21, 2013
It has so so management, with nearly no benefits at lower level employment.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Job security within service department
Branch Manager (Former Employee), OntarioFebruary 18, 2013
Pros: advancement
Cons: difficult work & family balance
Service department is a great place to start to work through the company as you are able to understand the dynamics of the company from the ground up.

Management is not always on the same page with one another, as UniFirst is a US based company it feels as the Canadian market is alwasy thought of last when it comes to marketing strategies.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bad work ethics
Sales Representative (Former Employee), Ottawa, ONDecember 30, 2012
Pros: decent salary
Cons: america style work like a dog with unrealistic goals.
Robotic script training, poor management, will not honour contracts. Out to screw their clients. Business based on broken promisses and poor service.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Well organized
Warehouse worker (Former Employee), Woodstock, OntarioDecember 27, 2012
Pros: good benefits, lunch truck on site, friendly people
Cons: not enough work, dealing with insulation-filled laundry
A typical day at work including sorting laundry and unloading and loading trucks. I learned how to become a much quicker, more efficient worker. The management is well-organized, efficient, and very friendly. The hardest part of working at UniFirst was learning to pace myself. I most enjoyed the satisfaction of a job well done.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Unifirst
Outside Sales Representative (Former Employee), Saint JohnSeptember 27, 2012
Pros: free lunch with the boss.
Cons: paperwork
Your only as good as your next sale. Company needed to spend more money on branding itself. Hard to sell their products in Canada especially on the east coast where your customers never heard of the company.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast Pace Environment
Outside Sales Representative/Inside Sales (Current Employee), Langley, BCJuly 24, 2012
Great place for an entry level position and move up. But after time if you need a new challenge you need to move on.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very Unprofessional Place to Work!
Route Salesmen (Former Employee), Atlanta,GaApril 8, 2014
Pros: could be a great environment if had managers that could do the job
Cons: managers
This is the only place where I have worked when they let anyone be a manager. Route men who could not handle routes, were constantly late or had numerous complaints against them. How can employees look up to managers like that. On the other hand the route men are treated like public enemy #1, Every thing is blamed on them, if clothes are missing buttons, – more... have holes in them. One would think that the blame should be on the plant. Then when you voice your opinion about things that are wrong around there (Atlanta Hub) They want to get rid of you! by lying or writing you up for anything! They have a lot of problems with the Atlanta HUB, continue to get sorry managers ! They retaliate when you challenge there stupidity! and there is a lot of stupidity in the Atlanta HUB of Unifirst! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No Teamwork
Route Sales Rep (Current Employee), Kenner, LAApril 2, 2014
Pros: no manager over you at all times.
Cons: long hours/physical labor
Long hours and pay doesnt equate to hours worked. Very physical labor. Working in all conditions, no teamwork.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Shady company stuck in decades past
Sales Consultant (Former Employee), San Antonio, TXMarch 27, 2014
They do their business in a good 'ol boy type of way. Lots of perks for prospects and customers, not many for employees.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
boring
Dock Worker (Former Employee), Meadville, PAMarch 25, 2014
Pros: was not a hard job
Cons: no supervision
load and unloaded trucks
management was ok
worked by myself
the job was boring
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to work
Route Sales Rep (Former Employee), memphis tnMarch 11, 2014
great place to work, great team and management .great pay and benefits
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun work place
dock worker, scale rep (Former Employee), Richmond, VAMarch 9, 2014
Pros: everything
Cons: short breaks
unifirst was a fun out going place to work the people I work with were good people and easy going we made a good team
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
High turnover really demanding job
Sales Representative (Current Employee), Floral Park, NYFebruary 26, 2014
overall the salary and the benefits are good. As far as the rest of the job I do not recommend it.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Working at Unifirst
Shipping & Receiving Clerk (Former Employee), McAllen, TexasFebruary 20, 2014
You work from 7 - 3:30 and you work with uniforms all day. I learned how to get them ready for shipping and delivery. Management there is real friendly. The coworkers are nice and willing to help you out if needed, The hardest part of the job was reaching their quota of having 3,000 uniforms out in a day. The most enjoyable part of the job was learning – more... how to do something different and doing it all day and enjoying it. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company, Great Benefits
Route Sales Representative (Former Employee), Cleveland,Ohio & Wilmington, North CarolinaFebruary 17, 2014
As a Route Sale Representative earning were endless, if you applied yourself. Start early and run hard all day.Ave 11 hours a day Monday thru Friday.You are on your own in the Field. Get your breaks when you can.However !The breaks you take,Slows down the time it takes, to complete your route.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall, I loved my job. Certain actions from others was unacceptable. Good place to work, with exception of some things.
Sew/Seal (Former Employee), Owensboro, KYFebruary 11, 2014
Pros: pay was good, co-workers
Cons: supervisor.
I learned not to get behind on your percentages because they will fire you on a instant. my coworkers were the best. The hardest part of my job was learning all the facts and procedures, and getting fired.. because I loved my job. 100% The most enjoyable was trying to hit over your percentage and the ability to keep pushing yourself to do better. I – more... wish I still had this job but for reasons undefined, I lost it. God has bigger and greater plans for me. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
WONDERFUL PLACE TO WORK
Office Administrator (Former Employee), Rochester, NYFebruary 11, 2014
I LEFT ONLY BECAUSE I HAD TO RELOCATE BECAUSE OF MY HUSBANDS JOB
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
High Stress selling
Outside sales (Current Employee), New Orleans, LaFebruary 11, 2014
Ok Job. Very high stress levels. Weekly that has to be met. They give you 1 year after that if you don't have a sale in 3 weeks you are out of there.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun work inviroment
Outside Sales Representative (Former Employee), Melrose Park ILFebruary 10, 2014
Pros: fun atmosphere
Cons: little pay
Prospecting, and setting sales appointments. Corporate Training and educating customers on industry trends.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
There are better company's
Outside Sales Representative, Territory Sales (Current Employee), Bossier, LaFebruary 8, 2014
Pros: training and the job itself
Cons: management and pay.
Sales meetings consist of being cussed at, called names and job being threatened. This happens twice a week. I personally got to where I hated driving to the branch office. Sales staff got along well. The micro management style wears on you. I should have paid closer attention to the large turnover before I accepted this job. Things happen for a reason. – more... I'll chalk this up to a lesson learned. Pay is misleading. They sell you on the $40,000 plus commission a year. Most of the sales staff was spending $200 a week on fuel. When the dust settles your making about $28,000 plus commission that averages $400 a month. I actually enjoyed the job, but with the management style and the pay, it's just not worth it. – less

1 2 3 4 5

About UniFirst

UniFirst, a leading supplier of uniforms, workwear and related products to businesses big and small since 1936, provides a wide – Read more