Find companies:
US AIRWAYS
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
243 reviews

US AIRWAYS Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun workplace
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee), Flushing, NYDecember 9, 2013
The first thing I do is check my voicemail and email, and then I prioritize my activities for the day and efficient. I learnt prioritizing enhance production. My co-workers, output was enormous, the hardest part is getting all involved to get the job done, however, the most enjoyable part is understanding and collaboration.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Luggage Handeler
handler (Former Employee), yulJanuary 1, 2013
I worked for a ground handling company that do ground services for U.S. Airways, the most staff in Montreal QC are grumpy and miserable people that are rude to the customers and U.S. Airways Flight Attendants
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
CUSTOMER SERVICE REPRESENTATIVE
Customer Service Agent (Current Employee), Philadelphia, PAJuly 27, 2014
Pros: free traveling air fare
Cons: bad weather days no breaks
WORKING WITH CUSTOMERS TRAVELING AND DEALING WITH TICKETING AND BAG ISSUES. A GREAT CUSTOMER SERVICE EXPERIENCE WITH CUSTOMERS AND CO-WORKERS. LOVE HELPING PEOPLE.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Rewarding, always talks of layoffs.
fleet service originally then pilot (Former Employee), tampa/charlotteJuly 24, 2014
Pros: excellent upward advancement oportunity
Cons: management very vindictive due to union presence
excellent company to work with, very professional. union and mgmt. always in power play.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall good company
Accounts Payable Specialist II (Former Employee), Tempe, AZJuly 14, 2014
Pros: free flights
Cons: low payrate, no advancement
I loved my job and all the different assignments that I had to accomplish. Management could be better with relating to their employees. The co-workers in my accounts payable department were great. The hardest part was everyone being micromanaged and not being able to fully enjoy doing their job. The most enjoyable part was having a great relationship – more... with my vendors and knowing that they are pleased with the work US Airways has allowed me to be apart of. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
met lots of different and interesting people
CUSTOMER SERVICE REPRESENTATIVE (Former Employee), charlotte ncJuly 14, 2014
Very very stressful workplace. Dealing with fellow employees was worst then dealing the customers.Management had not experience on how to handle intereputed operations.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
na
Ramp Agent (Former Employee), Washington, DCJuly 13, 2014
great job good people but the management was unorganized as well as the union. Not sure about other hubs except Reagan.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
new challenge
lead mechanic ground support equipment (Former Employee), Arlington, VAJuly 5, 2014
Pros: always learning & challenged.
Cons: having to work night shifts because of seniority, not home when you'd like to be, tough when your children are still little.
worked in a completely new & exciting environment , meeting interesting people & discovering that you only thought you new it all. but thankfully-people like to share work knowledge & experiences & most listen to yours also & i guess it's a swap! worked with about 75% former military people & some had some very thorough training to share. don't have – more... to worry about doing repetitive work on an airport, plenty of variety & excitement. constantly attending educational classes pertaining to your work environment. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun and fulfilling
SENIOR COPYWRITER (Former Employee), tempe, AZJuly 4, 2014
Challenging career that utilized my skills,enriching my knowledge and providing a chance to be part of a dynamic team that contributed towards the growth of the organization, thereby yielding the twin benefits of job satisfaction and professional growth
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
TOO much for so little.
GSE Mechanic (Ground Service Equipment) (Former Employee), dca regon airportJune 26, 2014
Pros: free flight benefits
Cons: they to little for the work you do.
Manager never knows nothing.
coworker allways getting on your nerves and lying about the equipment.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very large employer with good pay and benefits
Manager (Former Employee), Corporate HeadquartersJune 24, 2014
Pros: attractivie profit sharing plan for managers and above.
Cons: those not in management no longer participate in profit sharing.
Overall the company is a good place to work. If you don't like one group, seek out openings in another department with better opportunities and management. Because the company is so large there are many subcultures. A few areas of the company excel at driving a culture of excellence, but most are closer to mediocrity. For those wanting to work with – more... the best and brightest at the company, look for roles in the operations divisions that report up to the COO. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a glamorous job
Flight Attendant (Current Employee), dcaJune 16, 2014
Pros: the job itself, and the training was excellent
Cons: playing games over the contract
Being a flight attendant for a regional airline... Being on reserve, the worst time of my life, however I stuck with it since this was to be a "career" and would be best for me in the end. I'd have to sit around all day for 15 hours next to my phone ready to be at the airport in two hours for an entire year. Then maybe it was the last day until your – more... weekend... Your flight home is in an hour, but you have to be at your phone for the next four... Did they let you go home? No. Your two day weekend just turned into maybe one, or none at all. Having a line life improved much. A line is a schedule you bid for the month prior. Still, many a night stayed at the airport because flights were full. Flight attendants get the last priority out of anyone. You could be at the airport for twelve hours in that awful uncomfortable uniform and still not get home. When you are home the last thing you want to do is use your flight benefits and go back to the airport! You also are paid barely anything. I had more money in college no joke, and it's such a superficial job. Dry cleaning, shoes with heals, hair, jewelry. It's the type of job you should have if you don't really NEED a job. Positives, the training was excellent. The job itself wasn't work at all; not to me. Quite enjoy the job itself, but this lifestyle is for one who's single, doesn't need to work to pay rent every month, or is lucky enough to live in base. That is all. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fulfilling and productive workplace.
Fleet Service Agent (Current Employee), Philadelphia, PAJune 3, 2014
Pros: freedom
Cons: weather conditions
Day to day operations kept me busy and feeling important.
Very team oriented job.
This job teaches independence and responsibility.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
EVERYDAY IS A GREAT DAY CUSTOMER SERVICE
Customer Service Agent (Current Employee), Richmond, VAMay 31, 2014
Pros: happy passengers
Cons: n/a
EACH DAY IS ENJOYABLE AND FUN PROVIDING EXCELLENT CUSTOMER SERVICE TO ALL US AIRWAYS PASSENGERS DAILY!!!!!!
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Place to work free flying benefits
Gate Agent (Former Employee), Philadelphia, PAMay 28, 2014
Pros: flying for free
Cons: being around so much polluton
I learned all about air planes and the abbreviations for all states airports. I had a lot of down time between departure and arrival of flight. Team work was a must you cant do your job without you team. Co workers and managers were great. leaving was the hardest part of this job. it was a great experience.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive fast paced working environment
Customer Service Supervisor (Current Employee), Charlotte NCMay 22, 2014
Pros: career advancement
Cons: long hour weekends and holidays
Fast paced environment with team player attributes. Strong customer service and problem solving capabilities required.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Customer Relations that does not provide Customer Relations
Customer Relations Representative (Current Employee), Tempe, AZMay 19, 2014
Pros: fly for free, if they have an open seat (which was not generating revenue anyway) but they oversell every flight!
Cons: no system put in place for after training to help you meet goals
Being a stickler for Customer Service in ever sense of the work , I am to please and satisfy the public. Even with telling them "NO", there is still a way to do such in a professional manner. The hardest part of my job when calling our passengers is not being able to offer them anything for personnel issues. It's difficult to be Customer Relations, – more... when your hands are tied.

Management is rude and unprofessional (my experience with some of the supervisors and manager). They don't always do their jobs, and when you mention something that they did not handle, they call a meeting and discuss with the leads.

The pay is low so they can work you to death. You are required to do mandatory overtime for months straight with no break in between, no lunches served and no regard to your free time or family. You have to have another source of income if you have a family. Most employees are not satisfied with this department, but would love to transfer out of the department to other departments within the company due to some of the management staff within Customer Relations.

The most enjoyable part of the job is being able to assist a passenger when they fall within the guidelines of what US Airways will assist with compensate for. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
US Airways
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee), Boise, IDMay 12, 2014
Pros: my coworkers, free flight benefits
Cons: difficulty getting time off, and late hours
US Airways was an extraordinary diverse work environment. It gave me a strong sense of teamwork and yet depended on the independent abilities of each team player.
A typical day would entail a variety of experiences depending on the assignment: From the basics of checking in - to problem solving the airline passengers dilemma from lost luggage to missed – more... flights. Other assignments as a "cross utilized station" meant working the baggage line as a baggage handler and loading and off-loading airplanes and cleaning planes after flights.
Physically it was a very demanding job which included outside work in blinding subzero snowstorms or working in the melting sun on a plus 110 degree day. Other challenges were dealing with very irate upset customers over issues with which I had no control. But I loved nothing more than than the incredible feeling as a team getting a plane off the ground on time or finding a seat for a passenger who was in desperate need. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoying challenges on a daily basis.
Customer Service/Operations Supervisor (Former Employee), Chattanooga, TNMay 11, 2014
Pros: working in aviation.
Cons: delays and irregular operations.
Opening station on a daily basis with a safe professional work environment with giving excellent customer service consistently.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fortunate to have worked there so long.
Fleet Service Agent (Current Employee), Phoenix, AZMay 9, 2014
Pros: free airfare
Cons: heavy lifting
This is not an easy job by any means but the rewards are fulfilling. I have worked on the ramp for over 10 years and I still enjoy coming to work everyday. If your experienced at the format of the work its easy. Training may take up to 3 to 4 weeks. There are a variety of positions available but you have to have senority or be lucky to work the position – more... that you may want ! Its based on a bid system. The benefits are great! Even for a PT worker you can get free standby airfare that includes the immediate family (sons and daughters under 24 not Moms and Dads). The company provides a portion of medical benefits. Problem area's are the heat (in AZ) and lifting often 50 to 100 pound bags come you way sometimes in cramped conditions. You have to be in good physical condition to do this job! – less

1 2 3 4 5

About US AIRWAYS

US Airways Group takes wing as one of the nation's leading passenger carriers. Along with its regional affiliates, US Airways serves more – Read more

US AIRWAYS Photos