Find companies:
URS
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
647 reviews

URS Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good place to work
Journeyman Carpenter (Former Employee), anzac albertaMarch 15, 2013
Pros: wages and camp
Cons: long travel to get to work
Co-workers were great bunch of guys. Learned alot about industrial and about working in the oil sands.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun place to work
HSE Engineer (Former Employee), CASeptember 16, 2014
Great opportunities for career growth. Staff is very helpful. Learned lot of new things.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very flexible company
Senior Project Administrator/Cost Engineer (Current Employee), Baton Rouge, LASeptember 16, 2014
Pros: lots of lunches, great place to work functions
Cons: management communication
Have wonderful managers to work with; hardest part of the job is making sure that all time worked is billable. The most enjoyable part of the job is it is flexible and for the most part laid back. Co workers are great.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Strong management encouraged growth in office and employees
Financial Supervisor/Billing Manager (Former Employee), Columbus, OHSeptember 14, 2014
Pros: great management and wonderful individuals to work with, challenging tasks encouraged growth in my position
Cons: onset of recession in 2008
Hands-on management encouraged open door discussions which enabled additional learning and growing which was encouraged by middle and senior management. From the onset I was given the opportunity to take on assignments where I had never ventured and of course my confidence grew.
As the business grew I was given approval to begin hiring staff then I – more... was able to take on additional tasks that benefitted the bottom line of the office and allowed growth in the tasks taken on by my department.
My 20+ years with URS was the greatest experience of working life. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good, but needs balance.
Line Worker (Current Employee), San Diego, CASeptember 13, 2014
POSITIVES:
-There are SOME (I emphasized the word 'some' because I could really count on one hand, the good workers with ethics and integrity.)
-Job security (I guess)

NEGATIVES:

-No balance within the work center.
-Too many cliques (Some are afraid to lead on their own, so they're always following what the next man is doing.)
-Unwelcoming when new – more... workers come along (There were only a FEW that were actually welcoming. However, the others had no problem showing their disapproval for new workers being hired to come to the shop.
-Honestly, I do not feel as if I have learned anything that I have not already learned before.

SIDE NOTE: There are only a FEW guys in the shop that actually train the new people. Not only that, but they are respectful and they are all about integrity. These are the guys that I like to stick with. The unfortunate thing is, the supervisor is the only one who has the authority to assign you to work with a certain team. So, at some point you may end up being assigned to work with someone you would rather not work with. I would love this place a whole lot better if I could work only with the guys that I really respect and get along with. It just makes working here frustrating when you get assigned to work with the ones that are disrespectful, condescending, and self-absorbed!

Overall, the work itself is not bad at all. Just stay focused and work on your qualifications. If you're not careful, you could easily become distracted by all the negativity. Like I said, you'll know right away who you'd rather stick with and who you wouldn't stick with. Stay focused and you will do awesome. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Contract
Business Analyst / SharePoint Administrator (Current Employee), Norfolk, VASeptember 9, 2014
I enjoy working at URS on this current contract. The company is awesome and they have awesome benefits as well.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I only had the opportunity to work at URS for a short time, but while I was there, I genuinely the staff that I worked with.
GIS / AutoCAD Operator (Former Employee), Ontario, CASeptember 7, 2014
I enjoyed the responsibility of my position, as well as the pressure of last minute assignments that were given to me. My ability to rapid switch gears was greatly enhanced during my time with URS.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
URS
Supervisor, Dave Swanson, Cell Phone (Current Employee), Camp Humphreys KoreaSeptember 3, 2014
Pros: overseas living
Cons: long hours
Good company with plenty of flexibility to get the job done.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Exciting job
Logistics Analyst (Former Employee), Albany, GASeptember 2, 2014
Working with URS was very exciting. I was able to learn more about the provisioning process and saw the behind the scenes actions of what it took the keep vehicles maintained. I really enjoyed working with my team. We traveled together for conferences and inspections of installations of new equipment. It was a very great experience and it was a pleasureable – more... experience working with them. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Working for MTACC is good the work atmosphere is wonderful. I have my own cubile and it's quite. This allows me to do a good job.
Quality & Safety Coordinator (Current Employee), New York, NYAugust 28, 2014
Pros: because i'm a consultant working for mtacc i do not get all benefits that the company offers, however working for urs we get discounts on our phone, and travel discounts
Cons: healthcare beneifts are expensive
Although I work for URS, I am a consultant working for MTACC. A typical day at work for me at MTACC is first going through all the emails from the Safety Engineers. My responsibilities are to maintain all documentation for all Projects. Daily Reports and Daily Hazard Reports and Injury Reports are sent to me daily. I am responsible to archive this data, – more... which is use in a monthly report for the President's Report. Also setting up meetings for the Chief of Quality & Safety in which I have to contact other Administrative Assistants and all parties who have to participate in these meetings and arrange the appropriate time for everyone. A monthly report is generated for the analysis for the amount of Lost Time Injury (LTA) and Recordable (REC) for each Project. These charts show the rating for LTA and REC which have to meet the BLS National Standard. The management here is great. They respect you and help you to grow in the areas needed. I have learned a lot working in this position. I am able to multitask; the importance of having the information ready on time; being a team player; and I need little to none supervision once a task is explained and given to me. The hardest part of my job is waiting for the information to be sent to me. Because sometime I have to wait for the data to complete my part of the report. The most enjoyable part of the job is the work atmosphere, which is friendly, quiet and no unnecessary pressure from coworkers. Which allows me to perform my job everyday with a pleasant attitude. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awsome
Material Coordinator (Current Employee), Fort Wainwright, AKAugust 21, 2014
Pros: everything
Cons: changing to new computer systems
I Love My job and wish I could Stay here. Its so amaizing here I love what i do. I love the people I work with and theres not much more to say. This place rocks.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
professional and family type environment.
project accountant (Former Employee), Denver, COAugust 20, 2014
Pros: flexible hours
Cons: n/a
typical day at work, nice co-workers and enjoyable environment
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
31 years of new and exciting challenges.
Logistics Analyst/ Program Manager (Current Employee), Crane, INAugust 20, 2014
Good and dedicated people and great work environment. My thirty one years of service shows URS' commitment and dedication to keeping employees employed.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Promote professional and personal development
Hazardous Waste/Environmental Specialist (Current Employee), Stockton, UTAugust 19, 2014
It has truly been a pleasure to come to work every day. New challenges, great environment, talented coworkers and a very supportive manager.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Plane Captain
F-18 Plane Captain (Current Employee), Virginia Beach, VirginiaAugust 18, 2014
Pros: travel, working on aircraft, a lot of leeway with breaks.
Cons: working in all kinds of weather conditions, if one works hard, they will be expected to work hard while those who don't, are expected to slack.
A job reserved for the hard-charging individual. The job is exiting and my weekend consists of a mix of Plane Captain duties such as washing, daily inspections, aircraft fueling and aircraft movement from one place to another ( from the flightline to the hangar or from the flightline to the wash rack) Management has its hands full trying to juggle the – more... needs and desires of the site's employees. The work ethic of the site is mixed, by that I mean some people go above and beyond and some do just barely enough to stay employed.There are tasks that are not very pleasant or glamorous such as washing aircraft or cleaning the flightline. Some parts of the job can be mundane or repetitive. There are no real hard parts of this job however, It can be sort of annoying to watch the same people volunteer to do things while others constantly loaf around. I love traveling with the squadron we work with. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Typically Work Day
Assist General Superintendent (Former Employee), Puerto Rico, Venezuela, Dominican RepublicAugust 17, 2014
Typical work day:, area managements daily safety and scheduling meeting before the regular forces start day shift or night shift, prior the forces start on all assign duties must be 10 minutes body stress and 15 minutes of tool safety meeting on different groups and disciplines, supervisor regular work day consists on project progress meeting, staff – more... meeting, safety meeting, punch lists, and other issued as require by the project manager and most important is build the project successful, revise all update drawings, PID, engineering revision, extra work, documents control and the most important to supervise close the tasks as assignments to prevent delays, fatalities and others important concern. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work place
Toll Service Attendant (Current Employee), Orlando, FLAugust 17, 2014
Pros: no pros really, just work with each others and help one another out
Cons: breaks are short sometimes time go so quick
Its a real good place to work , you learn a lot and also you get to meet all kind of people, which makes it fun
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Sweat Shop Mentality. Rude co workers.
Sr Proposal Manager (Former Employee), Chantilly VAAugust 16, 2014
Pros: none that i can think of.
Cons: rude, mean people on my own team. boss would not back me up. discouraging atmosphere.
I worked at URS 2011 to 2012 in Business Development and Proposals. People there were rude and mean. I wrote up a harassment charge for a person on my own team. Didn't file it because it would affect her career. When I spoke to my boss about her, the boss said "we have to keep her because we are paying her so little!"

What a comment on their attitude – more... toward behavior and salary!

I worked out of the Chantilly VA location. Was assigned to a project in Germantown Md location for months. I was never even asked about this. My boss defined this as "more than commuting distance." And, she would not back me up to her own boss in Germantown. This was the end for me. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
IT
IT Specialist (Former Employee), Denver, COAugust 13, 2014
Taking care of office employees computers. Including adding/removing software/hardware.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Never Again.
Engineer (Former Employee), Oak RidgeAugust 12, 2014
Cons: continually downward spiral in benefits, virtually no raises after 4 years.
Probably the worst job ever. Continually downward spiral in benefits, virtually no raises after 4 years. HR is a joke.

About URS

URS Corporation provides a range of¬†engineering, construction, maintenance, and technical services for customers around the world. – Read more