Find companies:
URS
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
674 reviews

URS Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to work
Heavy Equipment Mechanic Apprentice (Former Employee), Kapuskasing, ONMarch 28, 2013
Pros: education and money
Cons: kap site closed
it gave me my start paid us really well and let us work at a pace where no one would get hurt, no stress at urs
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive place,safety oriented,great people to work with
Heavy Equipment Operator (Former Employee), Kapuskasing, ONMarch 18, 2013
Pros: great wages
Cons: mine life project too short
the day start with a safety meeting then job assignments and off to work,we always watched for one another to make sure every one was safe.I learned that working as a team can move mountains,and that is what we did:) The management was there to help us i nay way possible to make life smooth and answer any questions we might had,The hardest part of the – more... job was to change pumps and or lines in cold days when it was -30 to -40 ,but we had to do it to keep the mine operational.The most enjoyable part was knowing you were going to work in a safe environment and to work with knowlegeable coworkers. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good place to work
Journeyman Carpenter (Former Employee), anzac albertaMarch 15, 2013
Pros: wages and camp
Cons: long travel to get to work
Co-workers were great bunch of guys. Learned alot about industrial and about working in the oil sands.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not the ideal place to work
Mechanic (Former Employee), Texarkana, TXOctober 16, 2014
Pros: great pay and stress saftey
Cons: not worth your time energy or effort long term
It has decent pay but benefit management and working around your schedule is the worst. The really stress safety at the job which is a really good quality but on the other had god forbid you ever hurt yourself it takes a act of Congress to get any kind of medical attention unless it's by there company physician. Growth is very limited with the company – more... unless you know someone that's in the buddy system. Overall great pay but know room for advancements. A pretty sh*tty place to work for. Dont want your time and potential looking to grow with the company. Better of going somewhere where your talents and skills can be utilized. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Technologically challenging with a pleasant social work atmosphere.
Nuclear Safety Analyst (Former Employee), Denver, COOctober 16, 2014
Technologically challenging with a pleasant social work atmosphere. I enjoyed my technological and social development as I continued in my professional career.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work
Control Room Operator/Traffic Technician (Current Employee), St. Louis, MOOctober 15, 2014
Fast pace
Upbeat
No day is ever the same
Most enjoyable part is the employees
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Outstanding company values and unmatched safety culture
Maintenance Manager (Current Employee), Stockton, UtahOctober 14, 2014
Pros: competitive benefits and salaries, performance incentives
Cons: limited local contracts
In 16 years employed have had multiple opportunities in technical development and career advancement based on performance.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I processed invoices, change orders, and assisted FEMA with data entry.
Program Assistant (Former Employee), Gaithersburg, MDOctober 13, 2014
Pros: working independently
Cons: limited managerial support.
I mostly worked on my own, but did have occasion to interact with other offices by phone.

With limited support I learned to take more initiative to accomplish my tasks.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent work place great environment helpful co-workers
Service Desk III (Former Employee), Los AngelesOctober 13, 2014
Pros: room for advancement
Cons: company merger changed all the policies
My typical day consisted of :

-Opening and closing calls
-Hardware and software replacements and repair
-Software installations remotely and manually
-troubleshooting difficult situations to insure completion
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Working Environment
Intern (Former Employee), Aiken, SCOctober 11, 2014
It was an overall rewarding experience. I learned a lot and built great connections
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Big company small growth for employees
Project Accountant (Current Employee), Chantilly, VAOctober 10, 2014
No growth for non-management. New aquisition in process so layoffs pending.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Big Company
Archaeological Technician (Former Employee), Minneapolis, MNOctober 10, 2014
Pros: lodgings, per diem
Cons: inter-office communication issues, ppe requirements
Typical large corporation which had a lot of irrelevant regulations for archaeologist i.e. shock resistant boots and hard hands for walking in empty agricultural fields. There also was a lot of head butting going on between different offices and different managers which meant for a lot of confusion and land owner permission issues in the field.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work!
Office Administrative Manager (Current Employee), Fresno, CAOctober 9, 2014
Pros: the health benefits and salary are almost as awesome as my co-workers.
Cons: i have recently been placed on part time status due to lack of billable work in fresno branch.
Company is struggling financially and I have had my hours recently reduced. I am now looking for other full time opportunities where my talents and experience can benefit me and my new employer.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Contract
Admin Assistant - Engineering/Fossil-Hydro (Former Employee), Rochester, NYOctober 9, 2014
Pros: contract
Cons: contract
They were a good company to work for. I can tell you more in person or on the phone. Thank you.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great work environment with room to advance.
Hazardous waste tech, Life support Tech (Former Employee), Stockton, UTOctober 5, 2014
Pros: paid lunch breaks
Cons: can't leave site until are shift was over.
Quality inspections
Quality Control
Maintenance/troubleshooting
Class A CDL tanker endorements
Piping and instrument diagrams
First Responder Certified
Plant systemization and startup
Lock out tag out
Equipment calibration
High Level government security clearance
Building commissioning experience
Procedure Development
Blueprint interpretation
Safety-oriented
Excellent – more... written and verbal skills
High angle rescue
Exceptional attention to detail
Hazmant
Supervisor experience
Voluntary Protection Program star site with 16
Self-motivated
million man hours
Microsoft office
Excellent communication skills – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Company to work for
QA Specialist/Quality Assurance Auditor (Former Employee), BaghdadSeptember 30, 2014
I worked 12 hours a day, 7 days a week as required by Contract..
I earned my CQA Certification Certified Quality Auditor. Management was understanding and easy to work with. Hard working co-workers based on the environment we were exposed to.
Getting from one site to another was hard at times, but I enjoyed traveling and conducting Audits and Inspections.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Safe Job for those who are unmotivated
Construction Engineer (Former Employee), Olmsted, ILSeptember 29, 2014
If you want to show up late every day, not work hard, and have outstanding job security this is the place for you. Little to no reward or recognition for those who truly show up early every day and give it their all.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good work while it lasts
Heavy Equipment Mechanic (Former Employee), Albany, GASeptember 28, 2014
Good decent growing company. But had shady dealings with employees.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great new experience
Collection Specialist (Current Employee), Houston, TXSeptember 25, 2014
Pros: great atmosphere
Cons: inconsistent pay
URS is a very competitive driven company highly driven to be and stay one of the top agency in the business. Most enjoyable part of this job is the things I've learned. From financial planning to communicating with all walks of life. I enjoy the competent leaders that help and manage us as agents. Its been and continues to be great experience.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
VPP STAR Site Over 17,000,000 man house without lost time
Supply Technician (Current Employee), Tooele, UTSeptember 25, 2014
Pros: benefits, good pay, good working enviroment
Cons: worked ourselves out of a job
Good company to work for, destroyed 46% of the nations stockpile
of chemical weapons, good safety culture, management very good
best group of co-workers I have ever worked with. Very satisfying to
see the stockpile gone and the danger it posed mitigated.

About URS

URS Corporation provides a range of¬†engineering, construction, maintenance, and technical services for customers around the world. – Read more