Find companies:
Urs Flint
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
108 reviews

Urs Flint Employee Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor work environment
Journeymen (Former Employee), Conklin ABDecember 16, 2012
Pros: 11 hr days (meg) onsite training for safety tickets
Cons: disorganized and passive aggressive management culture, lost work to ledcor
Went too their MEG 2 project in Conklin in September 2012 with promises of over a year of work and the best camp in Alberta with flights but the five star camp is full of office staff  who get priority. also met a few well connected green hats who had no experience and started later, but were sent to the nice camp right away while we (experienced JM) – more... were put up in a hole called MEG 2 camp,  and the flights , well only office staff got flights and the rest took the bus, and they were once again laying off by Dec. They lied through thier teeth to keep guys from leaving just to lay them off middle of dec 2012, with little hope of finding a job until well after the holidays.   

The site was severely disorganized, all too often  one or two crews would be halted by another crew due too poor planning. This contributed too the very low moral. Many of the foremen, GFs and up had jobs based on thier relationships even if they were greatly lacking experience . It was very obvious to everyone the management team was of very poor caliber and instead of accepting responsibility  the blame was passed down the line in the morning meetings
We called the weekly safety meeting demoralizing meetings as it sucked the little energy out of the craftsmen. 
 I do not expect to be treated like a king, and I can take a good deal of BS from an employer, but they had very little respect for good craft workers, therefor I want to help others avoid wasting thier time with the incompetent project management team employed by flint, hopefully URS cleans up flint a bit and employes a much more positive management team in the future. It sounds  like the surmount job is even worse, yikes! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Terrible Work inviroment, Lies, Lies, and more Lies
Electrician (Former Employee), ConklinDecember 16, 2012
Pros: they won't be around much longer
Cons: everything
Safety is just a word, management treats everyone like dirt. Even each other. They must think there is an endless amount of competent Tradesmen out there looking for work. They hire them, jerk them around, they quit or get fired for no reason. I worked one month for them and that was more then enough. They will realize one day soon that their company – more... is nothing without competent tradesmen. The word is spreading fast about this companies disrespect towards it workers. In 2013 and the coming years their is going to be a huge shortage of tradesmen in the oil sands.The way URS Flint is going through them now there won't be anyone left in 6 months that hasn't heard about staying away from this company. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
secure job
Field quality control QA / QC (Current Employee), fort mcmurray abDecember 13, 2012
Cons: flexible time
good company to work for not much of money good enviroments ................................................................................................
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
URS Flint is engineering, and construction for oil and gas industry
Estimator (Current Employee), Edmonton ABDecember 7, 2012
Pros: flexible hours of work
Cons: compressed work week
Takeoff estimating different project- Oil and Gas
Cost engineering
Project Management
Good Team work
Time dead line for complition of estimation and review
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible moral and safety culture
Field safety (Former Employee), Ft. NelsonOctober 26, 2012
Pros: lots of hours
Cons: talk the talk but don't walk the walk
Very unfriendly atmosphere. Upper management has no respect for field employees. Everything that this company does is to put money in their pocket. They have a sound safety system but the work environment is still get it done. Worker safety is more up to the worker vrs. Supervision. Workers left to fen for themselves rather that having their immediate – more... supervision assisting in a safe productive manner. Any dealing with supervision to worker is done with distain. Very very poor environment to work in. Company supplied transportation is old not maintain and generally begrudging.
I rather doubt that I would expose myself to this type of abuse again. If the were actually one of Alberta's 10 best employers it is beyond me how that was archived judging by the culture of this company. Maybe with the change in ownership their culture might improve. . – less

November 10, 2012

The people running the Surmont Flint job don't have clue how to get people to work together, they are only concerned with their own deal and how to further their mediocr career. They lie to get people on the job and then fall short with the real situation. No Benifits for welders , low wage for helpers. It's a poorly run show!

Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Average working environment plagued by low morale.
Truck Driver (Former Employee), Nisku, ABOctober 14, 2012
Pros: friendly management and staff.
Cons: average pay, no advancement opportunities for basic educated field employees.
Nothing stands out as a first choice for employment. Field wages are only average. No additional compensation, no incentives, no subsistence, no boot allowance. Field work is spotty. Too much paperwork expected. Low worker morale. Old equipment, crude and corroded in appearance.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nothing stands out.
Truck Driver (Former Employee), AlbertaOctober 14, 2012
Cons: use your own cell phone constantly, no subsistance, no boot allowance.
Way too much paper work required to be completed by employees. Older equipment that is well maintained but becoming worn out. Most of the equipment is badly corroded and over due for new paint. Pay is only average. Shop pay is a much, much lower rate than the field pay. A lot of politics, and most staff members are unhappy. No subsistence. No boot allowance. – more... Pay to wash your own coveralls and receive no reimbursement. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great benefits
Payroll Administrator (Current Employee), Sherwood ParkOctober 11, 2012
Pros: schooling
Cons: location
Flint offers to pay for additional schooling, which is a great perk...the people are very friendly, and I would recommend this company for those looking to widen their skill base.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
High Stress
Assisting recruiters (Former Employee), Calgary, ABSeptember 11, 2012
Pros: great people
Cons: politics
As a recruitment onboarder, it is imperative to be organized and able to maintain competence under stress. It was my responsibility to ensure my candidates made it up to the job site with the necessary credentials and on time. The stress that is involved with organizing credentials in a time crunch can be almost overwhelming. But when the candidate's – more... information is off of my desk, a wave of success takes over. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive had great time with crew members
Labourer (Former Employee), Nisku AlbertaAugust 1, 2012
Pros: free bbq's and loved the people
Got along well with my crew members, worked outside in winter and spring. Hard work but I enjoyed doing it.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company, but lack career advancement training
Hydro Support Administrator/Coordinator (Current Employee), Surmont IISeptember 4, 2014
Pros: team work
Cons: site allowance is not tax deductable
Start the day off with Safety Tool Box Meeting and C&SU plan of the day. Great place to get experience on all different fields. Management does not provide enough back-up to advance your career. My co-workers are awesome. The hardest part of my job is time. We are usually flat out all day long. The most enjoyable part of my job is being able to help – more... and provide support to my co-workers. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good
Electrician Apprentice (Former Employee), meg energyApril 6, 2014
 Lead Hand for heat trace crew of thirteen (13) employees
 Read and interpret blueprints, drawings, schematics and electrical code
 Assist and coordinate crew activities and tasks
 Monitoring crew member effectiveness, work habits and skill levels, working with them to encourage success
 Conduct crew meetings
 Ensure site specifications and procedures – more... are followed
 Troubleshoot and conduct walk-downs heat trace systems – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This is the most terible place to ever work !!
pipe fitter (Former Employee), meg energyMarch 8, 2014
Pros: camp was ok
Cons: lies
You listen to the safety you think its real but when you speak up you better watch out, they pay you to listen to the speeches' but that's as far as it ever goes . You don't need experience you just have to show them you suck cock and say yes to all things. I have many years experience and this is by far a bad company ! you are treated as a number .Management – more... is all over the place lots of lies , cons , no professional's here. workers look depress and shut down. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It had a nice camp.
Foreman (Former Employee), Meg energyDecember 18, 2013
Pros: a good opportunity to advance.
Cons: it was a long way to travel.
I found Flint to be a very safe and good Company to work for. They didn't pressure us , they let us do are work in a professional maner and we still made the deadlines safely.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
safety culture environment
PIPING FOREMAN (Former Employee), Surmont 2November 3, 2013
working in URS Flint for almost 5 years gave me more knowledge in pipefitting job for its safety culture that they are implementing for all discipline. As they say people is the most valuable assets in the company, and they are investing hundreds of thousand of dollars for conducting training of workers to be qualified for any jobs that needed to.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worst ever
Office staff (Former Employee), Surmont 2August 18, 2013
Cons: disorganized, nepotism, poor pay, accepted harassment
I had the misfortune of working at the Surmont 2 site with URS Flint. It was truly the worst working experience of my professional career. Nearly the entire staff workforce are there because they are friends of friends or at one time held a cleaning position but have now become QC coordinators because... Well I'm sure you get the point. Nepotism is – more... key and if you have no desire to produce quality work this is surely the place for you. Hats off to the tradesmen who are keeping this project afloat. I would not recommend Flint as a good place to work. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Better hope you are either from Newfoundland or just don't care and keep your mouth shut about everything
Journeyman Carpenter (Former Employee), Surmont 2August 11, 2013
Pros: big paycheques
Cons: all the chain of command and 80% of the workforce were from the same town
The crew I was on had 11 men from Newfounland and 2 that were not. One of the other crews had 1 that was not . The superintendent's son worked on our crew. My foreman was the super's very good friend for very many years and the son saw him as an uncle type thing. One of the carpenters got set up as a leadhand regardless of the fact that there was no – more... leadhand position that existed on that site. He did happen to live within shouting distance of the foreman though, so yeah.....

I am not here to have anything bad to say anything bad about anyone who is from Newfoundland or any other province in any way whatsoever . There were just too many neighbors and cousins and sons and fathers and old hockey buddies in one jobsite for their to be any sort of equality of treatment and representation for the minority....which unfortunately happened to be Albertans. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun and fast paced work enivorment
Parts Runner (Former Employee), Odessa, TXJuly 29, 2013
Pros: didnt alway have to be at the shop
Cons: doing other co-workers jobs
pick up and deliver tools and equipment to shop or field. what I learned was how to field remote location using a man made map . management was the best. co-workers were great everybody loved me. finding remote locations. most enjoyable was being out delivering and picking up product
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and Fun place to work
AP Clerk (Former Employee), Ratliff City, OKJuly 18, 2013
Pros: nice working hours and atmosphere
Typical work day was busy. The co workers and management were wonderful to work for. The hardest part of my job was payroll, calling the employees when they did not turn time in and trying to collect it. I learned a lot at Flint. I learned how to do accounts payable, payroll, learned more about the oil service field. I enjoyed going to work everyday. – more... I loved working there, did not want to leave but we moved out of state. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Undo stress from unqulified formen
Crane operator (Former Employee), Surmont 2May 25, 2013
Pros: camp is ok
Cons: management plays favourites
No encouragement always criticized treated like children! If your from newfoundland and like to kiss butt, you might be ok!

June 11, 2013

I was there, your comments are sad but true.

About Urs Flint

About AECOM and URS Together AECOM and URS are one of the world’s premier, fully integrated infrastructure and support – Read more