Urs Flint Employee Reviews in Canada

Found 130 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The worst job postings
Pf (Former Employee) –  AbJanuary 10, 2014
Do a little more than copy and paste, what is the shift, salary , travel allowance.
Was this review helpful?Yes46No12
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great opportunities
Junior Engineer (Former Employee) –  Markham, ONJanuary 8, 2014
My first professional job. Perfect place to learn and develop one's self about the industry.
Was this review helpful?Yes41No44
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
URS Flint
Performance Measurement Analyst (Current Employee) –  Calgary ABJanuary 6, 2014
URS Flint is a good place to work where you can learn a lot of new things and improve your skills.
Was this review helpful?Yes14No28
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Company with Advancement Opportunities
Instrument Technician (Current Employee) –  Calgary, ABJanuary 2, 2014
Tube bending, and visualizing
Building Supports for Instruments
Working under minimal to zero supervision
Good Co-workers, good team work
decision making
Pros
good co-workers
Cons
job security
Was this review helpful?Yes7No23
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lay offs came quick
Pipefitter/Steamfitter (Former Employee) –  Conoco PhillipsDecember 17, 2013
Good people, Poor management. Couldn't get my wages right, and always a problem with travel pay. Great group of guys, yet the office staff were beyond frustrating to deal with
Was this review helpful?Yes49No12
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible horrible
Not available (Former Employee) –  AlbertaDecember 10, 2013
Treat their employees like they are children!! Wouldn't recommend flint to my worst enemy!!!
They will see who has the last laugh!!!
Watch your back flint!!!
Pros
not available.
Cons
everything!
Was this review helpful?Yes48No11
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Na
Junior Cost Controller (Former Employee) –  Calgary, ABNovember 23, 2013
Was easy to work and talk with everyone in the department
got experience
steep learning curve
Pros
na
Cons
na
Was this review helpful?Yes8No5
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place...if you are a coward or "yes-man"
I-M (Former Employee) –  Conklin, ABNovember 20, 2013
If you Kiss butt, you will stay and go far in this company. But if you have an opinion and a voice, then you might not want to waste your time. I was at MEG with URS Flint and "let-go" for no factual reason. Excuses were made and lies were spoken. I know the main realistic reason was because I spoke my mind. If there was an issue, I brought it up. Mr KC and Mr. JH did not scare me like they did most of the other employees!!
My biggest issue with URS Flint is in fact HOW I was let-go. A fly in/fly out job (I am from the east coast), yet i was sent to Edmonton by Greyhound and left stranded to fend for myself. A single mother with no money, no one in Edmonton that I knew, in the middle of the night (too late to catch any flights).
My advice to you if you end up working for this company, keep your mouth shut and have enough money saved up to get you home!
Pros
a few decent employees
Cons
lies, cheap, power hungry
Was this review helpful?Yes85No13
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very good place to work.
Trainer/Leadership Advisor (Former Employee) –  Calgary, ABNovember 14, 2013
URS gave me the opportunity to develop valuable leadership skills that could be used in my work.
Due to the existing climate in oil and gas and URS's lack of projects, job security was a major concern.
Was this review helpful?Yes14No25
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poorly managed, disappointing company
Driver/Operator (Current Employee) –  Drayton Valley, ABNovember 10, 2013
Great co-workers but poor support from the company.
Company refuses to properly repair trucks, you are often
asked to run poor condition equipment because they are too cheap
to fix them. Only until a unit is un-able to pass a pre-trip/post-trip inspection will the truck get fixed.

Company is taking away all the bonus incentives, when it still existed they would take FOREVER to pay out the amount promised to you.
Management will quickly blame employees for errors and mistakes but do little to nothing to help workers.

What is said by management in a monthly meeting with it's employees is all for show and just to make people feel better. No promises are kept, managers are hypocrites.

Wages are just OK compared to what other companies pay for the same work.

If for some reason you upset a manager you will be "sat" and not given a shift as some dictator-like form of punishment.
Pros
quick to hire
Cons
terribly run managment
Was this review helpful?Yes55No11
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
funfun company to work for
materials tech level 3 (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, ABNovember 5, 2013
very good company to work for,meet lots of good people that willing to help others.
Pros
good food, free lunches, good safety culture
Cons
missing my little ones, long hrs
Was this review helpful?Yes32No32
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Generally my choice place of employement
Quality Control (Current Employee) –  Cold LakeOctober 29, 2013
great opportunities for advancement and long term employement. Great work schedule. Because of these advantages the rate of pay is the lowest in the area for local long term loyal employees!
Pros
free lunches, benefits, safety points program, gauranteed work
Cons
low rates, low worker moral
Was this review helpful?Yes22No23
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great company
Ironworker apprentice (Current Employee) –  Anzac, ABOctober 24, 2013
great company, steady work environment, good management, good people, decent pay, good flight schedule
Pros
good camp
Was this review helpful?Yes12No21
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Loved the camps
Apprentice 3rd (Former Employee) –  Anzac, ABOctober 23, 2013
My 1st camp job. Loved it. Very good company. I was disappointed when our contract was ended.
Was this review helpful?Yes12No18
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
management on site
Skilled Labourer/ Operator (Current Employee) –  Anzac, ABOctober 17, 2013
the management on site is very bad, i wouldn't recommend this company to anyone not even to my worst enemies.
Was this review helpful?Yes36No14
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great place to work at
Steamfitter/Pipefitter (Former Employee) –  Anzac, ABOctober 15, 2013
Work was for the most part straight forward, there were times of organization problems, I learn a lot of valuable skills for pipe fitting with my time there. Management could have handled workers better. Coworkers ranged from inexperienced but eager to learn to veterans in the trade that are willing to help. The hardest part of the job was dealing with other trades and working with and around them, and the most enjoyable part was the group of people I worked for.
Pros
free meals, gym facilities and nice living arrangements
Cons
food quality
Was this review helpful?Yes20No13
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Absolute disaster zone
Office staff (Former Employee) –  Fort McMurray, ABOctober 11, 2013
Completely disorganized
Nepotism/favouritism is rampant
Management has absolutely no clue as to how to properly run an Oilsands fabrication company
No chance to advance
Pros
met/worked with a few very good tradespeople
Cons
management has absolutely no clue about anything at all, just talk a big game to feel important
Was this review helpful?Yes39No9
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This was a great job
Pipe fitter (Former Employee) –  Fort McMurray, ABOctober 1, 2013
learned a lot about fitting at the oil sands had a great crew and foremen, there was no extreme pressure, sometimes in difficult to reach location on the sight, and the extreme weather made it tough but we all got along and worked hard.
Pros
food tv and internet was taken care, of employeers and employee's were laid back
Cons
extreme weather, some camps were poorer quality
Was this review helpful?Yes10No11
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I really enjoy my current career at URS Flint.
QAQC Manager (Current Employee) –  Bonnyville, ABSeptember 27, 2013
They are a great company to work for and my overall expierence has been great I am just looking to relocate from Bonnyville to Edmonton
Pros
home everyday
Cons
location
Was this review helpful?Yes10No13
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Always work with good people. Safest company.
Journeyman Welder (Former Employee) –  Conklin, ABSeptember 6, 2013
I enjoyed working alongside electricians. Met many good people, always felt safe. Hardest part of the job was working the same area as other trades. Most enjoyable part of the job was the people I got to work with. Only problem is there are so many workers you become just a number to management.
Was this review helpful?Yes16No10

Overall rating

3.5
Based on 152 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Culture