Find companies:
Urs Flint
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
114 reviews

Urs Flint Employee Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and cultural workplace
Civil CADD Technician (Former Employee), Markham, ONMarch 4, 2013
I have learned some subsurfaces
The management is excellent
My co-workers are very nice
The hardest part of the job is transit.
The most enjoyable part of the job is being a CADD Technician
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good working atmosphere where you are encouraged regularly.
Area Project Accountant (Current Employee), Fort McMurray, ABFebruary 14, 2013
I have learned to grow as an employee and personally. Management is willing to help in all ways possible and they encourage your best work. I love coming to work everyday, as there is a great working environment and atmosphere
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
yaaaaaaa noooooo
pipefitter (Former Employee), Edmonton AlbertaJanuary 16, 2013
Pros: nothing
Cons: more important to make money then safety is
this is easily the crappyest company around I work for them this summer for 1 month in a mod yard in Edmonton just off clover bar road and it was the most disorganized site I've ever seen in my life not to mention all the foreign workers so many people out here can't find work or having trouble getting apprenticeships and they're hiring 1000 thousands – more... of people from other countries I think it's completely disrespectful completely stupid its not always easy to become apprentice sometimes it is sometimes it isn't it depends on the company !all the foreign workers could barely speak a lick of English they wouldn't even put up tape during crane lifts with red ribbon tape it was just the danger zone so many little things happen that I could see someone getting severely injured on that site 1 of my friends work there and he was there for just over a month as well as a lectrician if he left it after a month too! should be mandatory did they put all foreign workers through an English course I even told the safety that it's kinda hard to say you're all about safety when the workers around you can't even understand each other and they start talking in amongst our language when we're doing a crane lift and I'm on the tagline I have no idea what they're saying It really madee me mad – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Okay place to work, terrible management
Heavy Equipment Operator (Current Employee), Conklin, ABJanuary 14, 2013
Pros: travel covered, stress free
Cons: poor management, boring, no real respect for employees
Was at MEG Energy Christina lake site, travel was about the only benefit of working there, management was terrible, no communication and very poor planning, spent most of the shift doing nothing but sitting around, might of worked 40 - 60 hours in two weeks. I prefer to be kept busy but thats just me. crews were pretty good, except for the local labour – more... i think they hired at fort mac 7/11 as some of the guys have never seen a shovel in there lives. foreman were good, 2.25 for night shift bonus which was ok, top Operator rate was 42.74 including night shift premium, if you get into Poplar ridge camp on site you will be lucky as it is a awesome camp with great food and rooms – less

June 11, 2013

I currently work for Flint at MEG Christina Lake and agree that communication / planning is very poor. I have found this to be the case with Flint the previous two time I have worked for them. Flint was bought by URS last year and I have been told that URS has been observing management, operations and that "restructuring" of management from top to bottom will begin in the next 8 to 12 months.

Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very good company to work for , looking for more out of town work
Safety/Electrician (Current Employee), Calgary AlbertaDecember 27, 2012
I enjoy my time at URS FLINT they have been very good to me. They allowed me time off to complete my NCSO training. FLINT always encouraged me to keep advancing myself and I'm greatful for all ive learned here.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor work environment
Journeymen (Former Employee), Conklin ABDecember 16, 2012
Pros: 11 hr days (meg) onsite training for safety tickets
Cons: disorganized and passive aggressive management culture, lost work to ledcor
Went too their MEG 2 project in Conklin in September 2012 with promises of over a year of work and the best camp in Alberta with flights but the five star camp is full of office staff  who get priority. also met a few well connected green hats who had no experience and started later, but were sent to the nice camp right away while we (experienced JM) – more... were put up in a hole called MEG 2 camp,  and the flights , well only office staff got flights and the rest took the bus, and they were once again laying off by Dec. They lied through thier teeth to keep guys from leaving just to lay them off middle of dec 2012, with little hope of finding a job until well after the holidays.   

The site was severely disorganized, all too often  one or two crews would be halted by another crew due too poor planning. This contributed too the very low moral. Many of the foremen, GFs and up had jobs based on thier relationships even if they were greatly lacking experience . It was very obvious to everyone the management team was of very poor caliber and instead of accepting responsibility  the blame was passed down the line in the morning meetings
We called the weekly safety meeting demoralizing meetings as it sucked the little energy out of the craftsmen. 
 I do not expect to be treated like a king, and I can take a good deal of BS from an employer, but they had very little respect for good craft workers, therefor I want to help others avoid wasting thier time with the incompetent project management team employed by flint, hopefully URS cleans up flint a bit and employes a much more positive management team in the future. It sounds  like the surmount job is even worse, yikes! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Terrible Work inviroment, Lies, Lies, and more Lies
Electrician (Former Employee), ConklinDecember 16, 2012
Pros: they won't be around much longer
Cons: everything
Safety is just a word, management treats everyone like dirt. Even each other. They must think there is an endless amount of competent Tradesmen out there looking for work. They hire them, jerk them around, they quit or get fired for no reason. I worked one month for them and that was more then enough. They will realize one day soon that their company – more... is nothing without competent tradesmen. The word is spreading fast about this companies disrespect towards it workers. In 2013 and the coming years their is going to be a huge shortage of tradesmen in the oil sands.The way URS Flint is going through them now there won't be anyone left in 6 months that hasn't heard about staying away from this company. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
secure job
Field quality control QA / QC (Current Employee), fort mcmurray abDecember 13, 2012
Cons: flexible time
good company to work for not much of money good enviroments ................................................................................................
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
URS Flint is engineering, and construction for oil and gas industry
Estimator (Current Employee), Edmonton ABDecember 7, 2012
Pros: flexible hours of work
Cons: compressed work week
Takeoff estimating different project- Oil and Gas
Cost engineering
Project Management
Good Team work
Time dead line for complition of estimation and review
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible moral and safety culture
Field safety (Former Employee), Ft. NelsonOctober 26, 2012
Pros: lots of hours
Cons: talk the talk but don't walk the walk
Very unfriendly atmosphere. Upper management has no respect for field employees. Everything that this company does is to put money in their pocket. They have a sound safety system but the work environment is still get it done. Worker safety is more up to the worker vrs. Supervision. Workers left to fen for themselves rather that having their immediate – more... supervision assisting in a safe productive manner. Any dealing with supervision to worker is done with distain. Very very poor environment to work in. Company supplied transportation is old not maintain and generally begrudging.
I rather doubt that I would expose myself to this type of abuse again. If the were actually one of Alberta's 10 best employers it is beyond me how that was archived judging by the culture of this company. Maybe with the change in ownership their culture might improve. . – less

November 10, 2012

The people running the Surmont Flint job don't have clue how to get people to work together, they are only concerned with their own deal and how to further their mediocr career. They lie to get people on the job and then fall short with the real situation. No Benifits for welders , low wage for helpers. It's a poorly run show!

Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Average working environment plagued by low morale.
Truck Driver (Former Employee), Nisku, ABOctober 14, 2012
Pros: friendly management and staff.
Cons: average pay, no advancement opportunities for basic educated field employees.
Nothing stands out as a first choice for employment. Field wages are only average. No additional compensation, no incentives, no subsistence, no boot allowance. Field work is spotty. Too much paperwork expected. Low worker morale. Old equipment, crude and corroded in appearance.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nothing stands out.
Truck Driver (Former Employee), AlbertaOctober 14, 2012
Cons: use your own cell phone constantly, no subsistance, no boot allowance.
Way too much paper work required to be completed by employees. Older equipment that is well maintained but becoming worn out. Most of the equipment is badly corroded and over due for new paint. Pay is only average. Shop pay is a much, much lower rate than the field pay. A lot of politics, and most staff members are unhappy. No subsistence. No boot allowance. – more... Pay to wash your own coveralls and receive no reimbursement. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great benefits
Payroll Administrator (Current Employee), Sherwood ParkOctober 11, 2012
Pros: schooling
Cons: location
Flint offers to pay for additional schooling, which is a great perk...the people are very friendly, and I would recommend this company for those looking to widen their skill base.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
High Stress
Assisting recruiters (Former Employee), Calgary, ABSeptember 11, 2012
Pros: great people
Cons: politics
As a recruitment onboarder, it is imperative to be organized and able to maintain competence under stress. It was my responsibility to ensure my candidates made it up to the job site with the necessary credentials and on time. The stress that is involved with organizing credentials in a time crunch can be almost overwhelming. But when the candidate's – more... information is off of my desk, a wave of success takes over. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive had great time with crew members
Labourer (Former Employee), Nisku AlbertaAugust 1, 2012
Pros: free bbq's and loved the people
Got along well with my crew members, worked outside in winter and spring. Hard work but I enjoyed doing it.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
working with urs flint
Foreman (Former Employee), Galena Park, TXNovember 28, 2014
i learned a lot on that job because it was on first tank farm i had build with flint .. the safety there was good and they had a lot of info to open yours eyes up on when it came to do your task safe ..
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company, but lack career advancement training
Hydro Support Administrator/Coordinator (Current Employee), Surmont IISeptember 4, 2014
Pros: team work
Cons: site allowance is not tax deductable
Start the day off with Safety Tool Box Meeting and C&SU plan of the day. Great place to get experience on all different fields. Management does not provide enough back-up to advance your career. My co-workers are awesome. The hardest part of my job is time. We are usually flat out all day long. The most enjoyable part of my job is being able to help – more... and provide support to my co-workers. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good
Electrician Apprentice (Former Employee), meg energyApril 6, 2014
 Lead Hand for heat trace crew of thirteen (13) employees
 Read and interpret blueprints, drawings, schematics and electrical code
 Assist and coordinate crew activities and tasks
 Monitoring crew member effectiveness, work habits and skill levels, working with them to encourage success
 Conduct crew meetings
 Ensure site specifications and procedures – more... are followed
 Troubleshoot and conduct walk-downs heat trace systems – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This is the most terible place to ever work !!
pipe fitter (Former Employee), meg energyMarch 8, 2014
Pros: camp was ok
Cons: lies
You listen to the safety you think its real but when you speak up you better watch out, they pay you to listen to the speeches' but that's as far as it ever goes . You don't need experience you just have to show them you suck cock and say yes to all things. I have many years experience and this is by far a bad company ! you are treated as a number .Management – more... is all over the place lots of lies , cons , no professional's here. workers look depress and shut down. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It had a nice camp.
Foreman (Former Employee), Meg energyDecember 18, 2013
Pros: a good opportunity to advance.
Cons: it was a long way to travel.
I found Flint to be a very safe and good Company to work for. They didn't pressure us , they let us do are work in a professional maner and we still made the deadlines safely.

About Urs Flint

About AECOM and URS Together AECOM and URS are one of the world’s premier, fully integrated infrastructure and support – Read more