Urs Flint Employee Reviews in Canada

Found 131 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to Work
Billing Specialist (Project Accountant) (Current Employee) –  Richmond Hill, OntarioMarch 29, 2013
When I joined this company as A/P clerk, situation was really bad because of transition of accounting system to ERP and old clerk left job with short notice. I managed independently whole A/P to stabilize. I was the only one in A/P. In 2011 I joined Billing department. Enjoyed working, learning about new area in J.D. Edward system. Staff and supervisor are very co-operative and social. Company is currently undergoing major cost cutting and consolidation of jobs with US counterpart.
Pros
good work environment in canada division
Cons
powerless against us policy makers and very less decision making power.
Was this review helpful?Yes16No24
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Safe atmosphere, intelligent staff. and good benefits.
WELDERS HELPER/ LABOURER (Current Employee) –  Cold Lake ABNovember 20, 2014
I love working for URS. they gave me a good position with advancement opportunities. I would like to continue to work for them if I can find another location.
Pros
bonuses, jump hours.
Cons
cold alberta
Was this review helpful?Yes9No7
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
camp work
Apprentice Steamfitter/Pipefitter (Current Employee) –  Edmonton, ABNovember 29, 2014
This is a camp job the food is supplied not to bad of food, accommodations are small sometimes you have your own bathroom and sometimes your sharing with another worker, you have to take a shuttle to and from work the company really emphasizes on safety and team work the hardest part of the job is 11 hour days with only 2 half hour breaks and working 14 days straight
Was this review helpful?Yes31No17
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive, safety conscious company with good values.
Welder's Helper (Former Employee) –  Cold Lake, ABJanuary 10, 2015
Good company with good values and very safety conscious. Gave me an opportunity to be able to weld and build my skills. Co-workers were helpful and easy to get along with. This was a pipeline and facility job with emphasis on valve stations.
Pros
good work, was able to weld, decent shift
Cons
too far away, not enough welding.
Was this review helpful?Yes9No10
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Driver/Swamper (Former Employee) –  Drayton Valley abNovember 3, 2014
URS Flint is a very safe oriented place to work. All employers are considered valuable. They allowed me to grow in my Career.
Pros
money and hours are very good
Cons
they have down time witch makes it hard to plan for financial success.
Was this review helpful?Yes9No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
High Stress
Assisting recruiters (Former Employee) –  Calgary, ABSeptember 11, 2012
As a recruitment onboarder, it is imperative to be organized and able to maintain competence under stress. It was my responsibility to ensure my candidates made it up to the job site with the necessary credentials and on time. The stress that is involved with organizing credentials in a time crunch can be almost overwhelming. But when the candidate's information is off of my desk, a wave of success takes over.
Pros
great people
Cons
politics
Was this review helpful?Yes4No3
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Safety Culture environment
Administrative Assistant (Former Employee) –  Calgary, ABDecember 9, 2014
Once deployed to site, we worked 12 hour days. The Safety team was an excellent group, that thrived on team work and getting the safety culture instilled in all employees.
Pros
learning experience of working out side of the united states
Cons
12 hour days
Was this review helpful?Yes7No9
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent
Equipment coordinator (Former Employee) –  Peace RiverApril 9, 2015
Company cares very much about their workers , would love to work for them again, Pay is on the medium scale with other companies...thanks
Was this review helpful?Yes13No19
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
poor
welder app (Former Employee) –  fort saskNovember 12, 2014
worked as a app welder thay did not sign my hours very upset with them after thay told me thay would. well thay signed the first slip then said thay never did at the end of a job i left for school and i gave them full notice showed up every day on time no reson for this BS the only thing was good was pay day but I will not work for them agen
Pros
pay day
Cons
didnt sign my hours for blue book and denide ecepting me as a app
Was this review helpful?Yes9No8
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great crews
Pipe-fitting Apprentice (Former Employee) –  Cromer, ManitobaNovember 26, 2014
great crews and field level management made for a great work environment which was safety oriented which lead to clean/safe work environments.
Pros
great field level reward programs
Cons
lower end of the pay scale
Was this review helpful?Yes7No5
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I loved being a Pipe Fitter at Urs
To assist Rig Welders (Current Employee) –  Fort McMurray, ABOctober 27, 2014
i learned a lot about welding. worked 10-4 but i did 24-4 cause i was asked to stay in. learned a lot about people skills, how to prepare for a welder. Safety was a part of the job. the People was a big part of what made URS enjoyable. their was a turn over on managment but they were still great to work with
Pros
free prizes from safety points
Cons
the pay stubs werent given on steady basis to the workers
Was this review helpful?Yes12No3
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Always work with good people. Safest company.
Journeyman Welder (Former Employee) –  Conklin, ABSeptember 6, 2013
I enjoyed working alongside electricians. Met many good people, always felt safe. Hardest part of the job was working the same area as other trades. Most enjoyable part of the job was the people I got to work with. Only problem is there are so many workers you become just a number to management.
Was this review helpful?Yes16No10
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Strong emphasis on maintaining a safe work environment
Carpenter/Leadhand (Former Employee) –  Anzac, AlbertaOctober 5, 2014
Worksites both well kept, supplied, and safe.
Significant communication gaps between management and line workers often resulted in production slow downs with little to no accountability.
Was this review helpful?Yes10No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company
Piping Planner (Former Employee) –  Anzac, AB - Surmont 2March 9, 2014
URS is a great company to work for if you plan on just going with the flow and have no real ambition for advancement or growth.
Pros
large company with lots of work, you will alwasy have a position.
Was this review helpful?Yes20No11
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Absolute disaster zone
Office staff (Former Employee) –  Fort McMurray, ABOctober 11, 2013
Completely disorganized
Nepotism/favouritism is rampant
Management has absolutely no clue as to how to properly run an Oilsands fabrication company
No chance to advance
Pros
met/worked with a few very good tradespeople
Cons
management has absolutely no clue about anything at all, just talk a big game to feel important
Was this review helpful?Yes39No9
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
funfun company to work for
materials tech level 3 (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, ABNovember 5, 2013
very good company to work for,meet lots of good people that willing to help others.
Pros
good food, free lunches, good safety culture
Cons
missing my little ones, long hrs
Was this review helpful?Yes32No32
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company
High Angle Rescue Lead/Safety Advisor (Current Employee) –  Sherwood Park, ABJune 1, 2013
amazing company to work for. Willing to spend money on their workers to help out on careers. Pays not to bad and most people are easy to work with. Safety is really number one with the company.
Was this review helpful?Yes6No9
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Always looking for new projects
Foreman (Former Employee) –  AlbertaFebruary 21, 2015
Good place to work, pays good. Met lots of good people on the job site.
Good place to learn.
Always busy.
The most enjoyable part of the job is learning and making good money every day.
Was this review helpful?Yes20No15
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good working atmosphere where you are encouraged regularly.
Area Project Accountant (Current Employee) –  Fort McMurray, ABFebruary 14, 2013
I have learned to grow as an employee and personally. Management is willing to help in all ways possible and they encourage your best work. I love coming to work everyday, as there is a great working environment and atmosphere
Was this review helpful?Yes4No10
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
SYSTEMATIC COMPANY
PIPING FOREMAN/PIPING GENERAL FOREMAN (Current Employee) –  FORT MCMURRAY ALBERTAFebruary 7, 2014
12 HRS A DAY.
COMPUTER
MANAGEMENT OF THE CREW
WORK IN EXTREME COLD ESPECIALLY IN WINTER TIME
FABRICATION OF MITTER ELBOW AND ERECTIN OF BIG BORE PIPE
Pros
free food accomodation and chater fligth
Cons
12 hrs
Was this review helpful?Yes14No20

Overall rating

3.5
Based on 153 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.6
Salary/Benefits
3.7
Job Security/Advancement
3.1
Management
3.1
Culture
3.4