Find companies:
Urs Flint
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
100 reviews

Urs Flint Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun workplace
Systems Analyst (Current Employee), Calgary, ABMarch 23, 2014
A typical day starts by talking to the people who use the computer systems in the company. I help them solve their computer related problems. The staffs are attentive and ready to help, which really made me understand how to work effectively at the job I was doing. I love being the person to turn to when computer related problems arises, knowing that – more... I can fix it. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good
Estimator (Former Employee), Sherwood parkMarch 22, 2014
Pros: timing and hours of work
Cons: salary
Good overall life balance
Salary not competitive enough.
good coworkers
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great co - workers - Terrible management
Electrician (Former Employee), Fort McMurrayMarch 19, 2014
Pros: i liked the people i worked with
Cons: management, your just "a number", zero job security, bad vibes all around
6 months of work at URS-Flint , management was brutal, did not receive a pay stub for 3 months, (paid weekly) paycheques were always on time tho. I have $2000 of my own money in RRSP thru paycheque deduction, I have not been able to track where this money actually is and noone seems to know or want to help me. Flint had a great name years ago until – more... URS bought them out, went downhill, American company now. They hire anyone, because no one wants to work for them. General contractor kicked URS off site and brought in another contractor.

Good luck! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great camp and very generous rewards for safety records
Material Handler (Former Employee), Anzac, ABMarch 17, 2014
Pros: great camp
Cons: - 40 brrrrrrrrrrr !
Urs Flint was my first experience in the oil sands .My experience was a positive experience .Scary at first but with time it became better . The camp was excellent . I got along with co-workers quite well , A typical day would be outside in the laydown taking instruction from my foreman .This could be anything from locating material to helping load – more... or unload trailers to snow blowing from material . The only hardest part of the job was the - 40 weather and that wasn't that bad because we were told to warm up when ever we felt too cold .The most enjoyable part of the job was when we were so busy but worked as a team and got everything to site that was needed and the foreman would say good job guys we had a good day . I learned that the oil sands and URS work very well together , safety is first , environment , site cleanliness all are of top priority so this gave me an appreciation . They took me in, gave a job and paid me well with benefits . I was laid off in January from shortage of work but hope to be back in the near future to another URS site . – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
worst company ever
electrical apprentice (Former Employee), stat oilMarch 13, 2014
Pros: few good coworkers
Cons: management, everything about the company
Terrible company! No job security for good workers only for people who suck up. Have to be friends with the GF to be liked or to keep your job. Worst job and company ever very disappointed!
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible, disorganized company, 0 security, horrible pay
Management Trainee (Former Employee), CalgaryMarch 10, 2014
Pros: big company, easy to hide in the shade
Cons: no work/life balance, terrible management, very bad pay
The majority of management and VPs within the company don't even have University education, much less a trades ticket.

URS is known to pay ~15% less than the rest of industry.

Non-uniformity across all jobsites/divisions. What may go with one, i.e pay/rules/etc. will not go with others.

0 job security and no guarantee you'll go to another job, there's – more... a huge disconnect

The way they fire people is absolutely absurd, calling them into a board room in front of their team, firing them, and dividing their team in front of them.

Management is useless and prefer to hide behind reports they demand to make their jobs seem relevant.

Bust your behind for this company and don't get recognized. Hiding safety and environmental incidents....

Garbage company – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company
Piping Planner (Former Employee), Anzac, AB - Surmont 2March 9, 2014
Pros: large company with lots of work, you will alwasy have a position.
URS is a great company to work for if you plan on just going with the flow and have no real ambition for advancement or growth.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poorly managed company. Too many overhead costs.
superintendent (Current Employee), ft. macmurrayFebruary 12, 2014
Poorly managed company at the higher management level. Employee's are rewarded for who they know and not what they know.
Works days are good. Pay level is average.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good
Pipefitter/ Steamfitter (Current Employee), Anzac, ABFebruary 10, 2014
this company provided giid work but not good managment good camps good flights
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
SYSTEMATIC COMPANY
PIPING FOREMAN/PIPING GENERAL FOREMAN (Current Employee), FORT MCMURRAY ALBERTAFebruary 7, 2014
Pros: free food accomodation and chater fligth
Cons: 12 hrs
12 HRS A DAY.
COMPUTER
MANAGEMENT OF THE CREW
WORK IN EXTREME COLD ESPECIALLY IN WINTER TIME
FABRICATION OF MITTER ELBOW AND ERECTIN OF BIG BORE PIPE
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Materials Technician (Current Employee), Anzac AlbertaFebruary 4, 2014
Exciting new challenges every day, and lots of room to learn.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Relaxing atmosphere after work without too much shop talk.
Construction Electrician Apprentice (Former Employee), Conklin, AlbertaJanuary 26, 2014
Pros: a satisfied team.
Cons: negative attitudes and smokers.
Arrive early and review assigned work task.
Plan your work and work your plan.
Discus any unknowns with your management and co-workers. "If you don't know, ask."
The hardest part of the job is to make sure everybody stays focused and don't become complacent.
The most enjoyable part of the job is participation from everybody involved and checking to – more... make sure everybody goes home safe every day, – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall positive experience.
Labour II (Former Employee), Fort McMurray, ABJanuary 16, 2014
Pros: good people, good foreman, good wage
Cons: lack of job security
Working for URS Flint was overall an enjoyable experience. The company treated me well during my short time with them. I was hoping to work with them for a longer period of time but because of work shortage there were large layoffs. My foreman was very understanding and great to work for. The hardest part of my job was to keep busy considering the lack – more... of work at the time. The most enjoyable part of the job was gaining the experience in such a large plant setting, Surmont 2 was the largest plant I had ever been on and gaining general knowledge of how it operated and how it was being built was enjoyable. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The worst job postings
Pf (Former Employee), AbJanuary 10, 2014
Do a little more than copy and paste, what is the shift, salary , travel allowance.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great opportunities
Junior Engineer (Former Employee), Markham, ONJanuary 8, 2014
My first professional job. Perfect place to learn and develop one's self about the industry.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
URS Flint
Performance Measurement Analyst (Current Employee), Calgary ABJanuary 6, 2014
URS Flint is a good place to work where you can learn a lot of new things and improve your skills.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Company with Advancement Opportunities
Instrument Technician (Current Employee), Calgary, ABJanuary 2, 2014
Pros: good co-workers
Cons: job security
Tube bending, and visualizing
Building Supports for Instruments
Working under minimal to zero supervision
Good Co-workers, good team work
decision making
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lay offs came quick
Pipefitter/Steamfitter (Former Employee), Conoco PhillipsDecember 17, 2013
Good people, Poor management. Couldn't get my wages right, and always a problem with travel pay. Great group of guys, yet the office staff were beyond frustrating to deal with
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible horrible
Not available (Former Employee), AlbertaDecember 10, 2013
Pros: not available.
Cons: everything!
Treat their employees like they are children!! Wouldn't recommend flint to my worst enemy!!!
They will see who has the last laugh!!!
Watch your back flint!!!
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Na
Junior Cost Controller (Former Employee), Calgary, ABNovember 23, 2013
Pros: na
Cons: na
Was easy to work and talk with everyone in the department
got experience
steep learning curve

About Urs Flint

About AECOM and URS Together AECOM and URS are one of the world’s premier, fully integrated infrastructure and support – Read more