UPS Employee Reviews

Found 466 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Extremely busy and fast paced work environment
Intl Freight Specialist (Former Employee) –  Winnipeg, MB27 April 2017
A typical day would start at 7am and end at approximately 6pm.
Every day was a learning experience. Always something new to learn in the freight and logistics business. Management was not always the easiest to deal with, however, I would only say this of my direct manager and not the company as a whole. Fellow employees made it a good working environment. The hardest part of the job was the long hours. The most enjoyable part of the job was the wealth of knowledge gained on an almost daily basis.
Pros
Wealth of knowledge and experience gained.
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes2No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Tgis is a great cimpany to work for. Happy people in a fast paced environment.
Courier Driver (Current Employee) –  Edmonton, AB26 April 2017
UPS is a great company for people that want to be challenged both mentally and physically. It involves a high level of multitasking and time management. It's fun for those who love to strategize and problem solve.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good pay for hours worked, but bad pay compared to competition
OPERATIONS SUPERVISOR (Current Employee) –  Concord, ON26 April 2017
I would say that UPS is a good place to be as an everyday employee; once you get into management though, I would strictly use UPS as a place to gain experience in a management environment, then leave as soon as possible to a better paid, less physically demanding management job.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent work environment
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Oshawa, ON25 April 2017
Working at the UPS Store was my first real experience in retail/management, and my first paid employment experience. I was paid handsomely for my work, and I gained extensive knowledge about the shipping industry and graphic design from my co-workers.
Pros
Flexible work times
Cons
Slow working hours; most customers arrive to receive or send out packages
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Highly productive environment. Very fast-paced
package handler (Current Employee) –  Concord, ON14 April 2017
UPS Canada is a very interesting and intriguing place to work. At work, it's mostly loading trailers and it's very fast-paced. I've adapted really well and can work in an extremely fast-paced environment. The people at UPS are very welcoming and the supervisors are extremely kind. The hardest part of the job is when heavy flow comes and there are hotshots when trailers are bombarded with boxes. The most enjoyable part of the job are the people and how fun and entertaining the environment is.
Pros
Recognition - Free pizza every week
Cons
Late nights - finish around 12-2 a.m.
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
student placement
Customer Service (Former Employee) –  London, ON12 April 2017
I had my student placement at UPS and learned so many new skills. I had to deal with customers, copying machines and cash. The owner was pivotal in my learning.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
best job ever
office clerk (Former Employee) –  Lachine, QC8 April 2017
everyday was an awesome day at work.
happy smiling colleges.
funniest drivers, i had the best drivers team. they make my day.
nothing was hard about this job.
i get all my work done within time.
best boss ever. every friday was pizza party.
i dont have any complains.
Pros
every friday free meals. long vacation breaks
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
permanent part-time job
PART-TIME PACKAGE-HANDLER (Current Employee) –  Lachine, QC7 April 2017
loading and unloading packages from trailers by hand . also scan packages with a small hand strapped scanner . very physical , high paced , fast moving job ! learned to multitask ... do job fast also !! work can be from 3- 5 hours maximum ...usually !
Pros
great hourly salary ...increases
Cons
part time only
Was this review helpful?Yes3No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work for.
Customs Broker (Former Employee) –  Fredericton, NB5 April 2017
Pros:
- you get to meet many people, you can plan your shifts, good communication with the employer

Cons:

- The management team is never there for you when you need it.
Was this review helpful?Yes3No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Disorganized
Business Development Executive (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB4 April 2017
Overall ambiance is good and the management is cooperative but the company is pretty huge and disorganized when it comes to communication and implementing the system.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Physical workplace
Service Provider (Current Employee) –  Stoney Creek, ON4 April 2017
Parcels are heavy at times and stop counts can make a very chaotic day. The time allowed to deliver these parcels are not always fair or realistic. Very fast paced job.
Pros
Benefits are good and top wage is very good
Cons
Long hard hours
Was this review helpful?Yes2No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not very organized
Warehouse Worker (Former Employee) –  Barrie, ON4 April 2017
Disgusting expectations for low amount of pay, it requires too much damage to to body for the reward. Unless you're a drive or Office worker, you will be benefited. Anyone in the Warehouse with surely regret the job.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
One of the worst run facilities.
Unloader (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON1 April 2017
Management is absolutely clueless.
They treat their employees like literal slaves.
You are expected to break your back for minimal pay, while supervisors talk down to you like you're some sort of cattle.
Safety standards are also abysmal...

If you can hold out and find somewhere more promising to work, or to become a driver with them, by-pass UPS altogether.
Especially if you're outspoken and challenge their "intelligence". They don't like that.
Pros
Benefita. Apparently..
Cons
Unorganized staff, unsafe training/supervising staff, general lack of competence in managerial staff.
Was this review helpful?Yes3No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Easy job if you learn quickly
Driver Helper (Former Employee) –  Ottawa East, ON31 March 2017
The job was fairly simple, to scan and deliver packages to residential and commercial customers. Once you get used to the system of delivery, the job is a breeze. Main problem was inconsistent work hours (some weeks you get 30+ hours, others you get < 20), but there is not much that can be done as you work on an on-demand basis.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Pays great
Package handler (Current Employee) –  Mississauga, ON28 March 2017
UPS pays well but hours can be long. Supervisors can be annoying sometimes. You well need to work from Monday to Friday, for at-least 3-4 hours. you'll average around 20 hrs per week and get payed every Friday.
Was this review helpful?Yes3No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and fast paced
Warehouse Associate (Current Employee) –  Burlington, ON28 March 2017
good company to work for, steady work, new challenges everyday. Feel rewarded at the end of the day for helping customers receive there orders timely, client interaction
Was this review helpful?Yes2No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
easy work and fun
Delivery Driver (Former Employee) –  Winnipeg, MB27 March 2017
good job for security, the employees are nice to each other and it's hard to make mistakes. I usually work there during the Christmas holidays when its busy which I find fun
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
helping people
Front Desk Cashier (Former Employee) –  Winnipeg, MB22 March 2017
if you enjoy design and talking to people this is a great place to start there are many small life tools you learn during this job. pretty easy and laid back too
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
treat employees with no respect
Package handler (Former Employee) –  Windsor, ON21 March 2017
no respect for employee and management doesn't involve in day to day activity with the worker and all they need is a word from your close supervise which is not qualified to begin with.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to work
Delivery Person (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ON20 March 2017
got to meet great customers.
taught me lots about customer service
enjoyed driving trucks.
learning new areas of the city in short periods of time were challenging
Pros
bonus
Cons
none at this time
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1Report

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at UPS. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.9
Based on 15,885 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.7
Salary/Benefits
3.9
Job Security/Advancement
3.7
Management
3.5
Culture
3.7