Find companies:
U.S. Navy
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
8,029 reviews

U.S. Navy Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Do your job and stay out of trouble.
Avionics Electronics Technician (Former Employee), Lemoore NAS, CaMarch 20, 2014
Pros: great benefits, steady work
Cons: poor pay
An aircraft cockpit has instruments which are controlled by the Control Boxes stored in the avionics bay in the aircraft. Wires in the aircraft connect all the units together to make the links to which it all worked. When and unit didn't perform correctly, the aircraft technician would pull either the instrument or the control box, replacing it to "fix" – more... the plane. That pulled unit would come to me for repair. I learned to troubleshoot and use logic to find problems and correctly Fix them. I think the highlight of my time there was when I was able to fix the units with no or minimal help. The more units I learned, the more I was able to fix, and that accomplishment was very satisfying. Co-workers came and left and though you got to know one for a while, sooner or later they were gone as was you. And that was the hardest part of the job. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Highly educated janitor/managing a team of janitors
Supervisor, Operator, Technician (Former Employee), Everett, WAJanuary 8, 2014
Overall, glad I did it. Peers were great....actual job, not so much.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Industrial Maintenance
Engineman (Former Employee), Mayport, FLOctober 10, 2013
Pros: traveling
Cons: pay
Auxilary Department on all Engineering equipment onboard USS HUE CITY
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Travel the world
Machine Repairman (Former Employee), Everett, WAOctober 7, 2013
I got to do many things that people dream of do in their lifetime. Crossed the International date line and Equator at the same time. Went though the Panama canal.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
After 20 years I have seen just about everything
Pilot (Former Employee), On the seven seasJanuary 22, 2013
low pay at first as well as all of the dirty & tedious jobs. Work your way up and all of that goes away. The Navy paid for my education, and sent me to flight school. I am retiring as a helicopter pilot after joining with NO experience. It is what you make of it. There is good and bad with every job, but this one allowed me to see the world. I will – more... surely miss it. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great on the job training with technical specialist
Petty Officer 2nd Class (Former Employee), Whidbey Island, WAAugust 7, 2012
Pros: professional work environment
Cons: military
Review shop's request for service and pm services. Ensure all spare parts and hi use consumable are available and o/h prior to initiating the xfer of work to tradesmen's. Ensure job plan scope is up to date, working knowledge and relationship with tradesmen. As senior petty officer, manage subordinates in shop in a professional manner and team build. – more... Hardest part of job is scheduling around different dept's & divisions. Best part of job is creating a uniformed system & devising s.o.p for shop. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The most professional enviroment I have ever worked in
Aviation Electronics Technician (Former Employee), traveled the world on aircraft carriersApril 30, 2012
I was an aviation electronics technician. I first mustered up our shop department and went over what planes in our aviation wing needed serviceing and routine class inspections so the pilots were ready to fly missions and aircrafts on a daily mutible run day. serviced all electronic cards, and did internal wiring to service birds. Worked in one of the – more... most dangerous enviroments in the world during all types of pressure and stress and performed on a Aplus level to adapt and overcome to the situation at hand safely professionaly and correctly. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A once in a lifetime, life-changing experience
Operations Specialist (Former Employee), Various Locations, mostly on ships,March 3, 2012
Pros: most everything.
Cons: time away from home/loved ones.
My experience in the Navy wasn't always easy, but it was one of the best times of my life. The US Military takes care of it's people; and these are hard times. Anyone who can find themselves amongst the ranks will have job security and financial independence. You will also have opportunities to go places and see things you have never seen before. The – more... slogan holds true,"Join the Navy, see the world!" – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Working for the US Navy was the proudest time of my life.
Deck Division Supervisor (Former Employee), Pearl Harbor, HISeptember 19, 2014
There was nothing typical about a day on the submarine. In port I would organize my crew to tackle whatever exterior maintenance was required. When the submarine was out to sea I operated the AN/BQQ-5C Sonar Suite. My primary duty was safety of ship. I monitored contacts to ensure that we kept a safe distance. The hardest part of the job was being away – more... from my family for extended periods of time. I most enjoyed the fact that I was serving my country and making a difference in the world. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A stepping stone in life for maturity, growth, and knowledge.
Information Systems Technician (Former Employee), Mayport, FlSeptember 19, 2014
Pros: benefits, health insurance
Cons: family time, management
The US Navy had provided me with growth and maturity in life. It has also given me an amazing 5 years to learn and succeed in the IT Field. However, when family, i.e. wife or children, become a part of life, the Navy becomes an unfit environment to maintain a stable relationship.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive life building experience and life changing events possible
Senior Medical Assistant (Former Employee), Bethesda, MDSeptember 19, 2014
Work active duty sick call, learned multiple medical skills, management changes depending on where you're at,
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Yeah, the Navy Seabees are okay.
Builder (Former Employee), Port Hueneme, CASeptember 19, 2014
I wouldn't recommend this job to the faint of heart, but it was a fun ride. I was able to really evolve and do as much work as I wanted. As a hard charging, hard worker, I need plenty of work to do, or I just do not succeed. Gotta stay busy.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Challenging and extremely rewarding
Aviation Electrician's Mate (Former Employee), Virginia Beach, VASeptember 19, 2014
Pros: rewarding
Cons: schedule
The life of a sailor is very challenging, but extremely rewarding. The skills I gained will be with me for the rest of my life. The most challenging part of being a sailor is the schedule and being away from home. However, the pride of knowing your work and what you do keeps your family, friends and the rest of the nation safe makes up for the challenge.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and an adventure
Instructor (Former Employee), San Antonio, TXSeptember 19, 2014
Members of America’s Navy face everyday challenges, perform specific duties and, invariably, they become better for it. The quality of life when not on sea duty is great. Sea duty is not bad it is just a job. And no matter what you think you know about the U.S. Navy, one thing is true: No two people experience the Navy in the same way
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was a great place to work
Weather Observer/Forecaster (Former Employee), Norfolk, VASeptember 18, 2014
Pros: new challenges every day
Cons: schedule was always changing
Would write weather forecast for up too five airfields across the country. Wrote flight weather plans for pilots. Was in charge of making sure that observation sheets were filled out properly. Set sever weather warnings for too five airfields.
I worked with a great group of people and had a great management team. I learned many great things including – more... how to be a strong leader. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stationed on USS Vella Gulf
Engineman 2nd Class Petty Officer (Former Employee), Norfolk, VASeptember 18, 2014
Performed routine maintenance on industrial air compressors and other essential ship equipment
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
loved every aspect
Yeoman Chief Petty Officer (Former Employee), yokosuka, japan, washdc, manama, bahrainSeptember 17, 2014
Pros: travel
Cons: rough seas
loved sea duty, loved shore duty, great camaraderie, highly satisfactory in all respects
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
NOT APPLICABLE
Program Analyst (Former Employee), NOT APPLICABLESeptember 17, 2014
Pros: not applicable
Cons: not applicable
THIS IS A FEDERAL GOVERNMENT JOB. GOOD WORK ENVIRONMENT; GOOD ADVANCEMENT OPPORTUNITIES
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
PS/NCHB (Current Employee), Baltimore, MDSeptember 17, 2014
Part of a team that accomplish a big goal and being a team player of identifying complex and technical problems.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Always a new challenge to be found
Supply Department Head (Current Employee), Virginia, California, JapanSeptember 17, 2014
Pros: travel, diversity of people and tasks
Cons: travel, diversity of motivation and prioritization of tasks
The Navy provides many opportunities and challenges. The most challenging, and the most rewarding aspect, is the people and how you work with them.

1 2 3 4 5

About U.S. Navy

The US Navy maintains a variety of military equipment like ballistic missile submarines, aircraft carriers, surface warships, – Read more