Find companies:
U.S. Navy
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
8,750 reviews

U.S. Navy Employee Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
not home in 4 years
Boatswain Mate (Former Employee), on a ship stationed overseasDecember 12, 2014
Tough work, dirty, long hours short on pay.
Travel was out of the US. At sea multiple weeks.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Do your job and stay out of trouble.
Avionics Electronics Technician (Former Employee), Lemoore NAS, CaMarch 20, 2014
Pros: great benefits, steady work
Cons: poor pay
An aircraft cockpit has instruments which are controlled by the Control Boxes stored in the avionics bay in the aircraft. Wires in the aircraft connect all the units together to make the links to which it all worked. When and unit didn't perform correctly, the aircraft technician would pull either the instrument or the control box, replacing it to "fix" – more... the plane. That pulled unit would come to me for repair. I learned to troubleshoot and use logic to find problems and correctly Fix them. I think the highlight of my time there was when I was able to fix the units with no or minimal help. The more units I learned, the more I was able to fix, and that accomplishment was very satisfying. Co-workers came and left and though you got to know one for a while, sooner or later they were gone as was you. And that was the hardest part of the job. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Highly educated janitor/managing a team of janitors
Supervisor, Operator, Technician (Former Employee), Everett, WAJanuary 8, 2014
Overall, glad I did it. Peers were great....actual job, not so much.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Industrial Maintenance
Engineman (Former Employee), Mayport, FLOctober 10, 2013
Pros: traveling
Cons: pay
Auxilary Department on all Engineering equipment onboard USS HUE CITY
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Travel the world
Machine Repairman (Former Employee), Everett, WAOctober 7, 2013
I got to do many things that people dream of do in their lifetime. Crossed the International date line and Equator at the same time. Went though the Panama canal.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
After 20 years I have seen just about everything
Pilot (Former Employee), On the seven seasJanuary 22, 2013
low pay at first as well as all of the dirty & tedious jobs. Work your way up and all of that goes away. The Navy paid for my education, and sent me to flight school. I am retiring as a helicopter pilot after joining with NO experience. It is what you make of it. There is good and bad with every job, but this one allowed me to see the world. I will – more... surely miss it. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great on the job training with technical specialist
Petty Officer 2nd Class (Former Employee), Whidbey Island, WAAugust 7, 2012
Pros: professional work environment
Cons: military
Review shop's request for service and pm services. Ensure all spare parts and hi use consumable are available and o/h prior to initiating the xfer of work to tradesmen's. Ensure job plan scope is up to date, working knowledge and relationship with tradesmen. As senior petty officer, manage subordinates in shop in a professional manner and team build. – more... Hardest part of job is scheduling around different dept's & divisions. Best part of job is creating a uniformed system & devising s.o.p for shop. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The most professional enviroment I have ever worked in
Aviation Electronics Technician (Former Employee), traveled the world on aircraft carriersApril 30, 2012
I was an aviation electronics technician. I first mustered up our shop department and went over what planes in our aviation wing needed serviceing and routine class inspections so the pilots were ready to fly missions and aircrafts on a daily mutible run day. serviced all electronic cards, and did internal wiring to service birds. Worked in one of the – more... most dangerous enviroments in the world during all types of pressure and stress and performed on a Aplus level to adapt and overcome to the situation at hand safely professionaly and correctly. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A once in a lifetime, life-changing experience
Operations Specialist (Former Employee), Various Locations, mostly on ships,March 3, 2012
Pros: most everything.
Cons: time away from home/loved ones.
My experience in the Navy wasn't always easy, but it was one of the best times of my life. The US Military takes care of it's people; and these are hard times. Anyone who can find themselves amongst the ranks will have job security and financial independence. You will also have opportunities to go places and see things you have never seen before. The – more... slogan holds true,"Join the Navy, see the world!" – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
United States Navy
Lithographer Third Class (E-4) (Former Employee), Charleston, SCDecember 20, 2014
There is nothing I could ever say negatively about serving my country in the United States Navy.

Serving in the Navy was the best decision I have ever made. The experience I had while serving, and learning the skills of becoming a printing press operator aboard a ship, with forever be a part of me.

I learned discipline, leadership, teamwork and most – more... of all pride in my work. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Navy
Interior Communication Electrician (Current Employee), Bremerton Naval Station, WADecember 20, 2014
The job involves a lot of Hard work, deployments, and skills. You see the world and meet many different types of people.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hard work with lots of adventure.
Building Manager (Former Employee), Portsmouth, VADecember 20, 2014
Pros: benefits, exciting, and job security.
Cons: can be way to political sometimes.
The days at sea (which are quite a bit) can become extremely redundant. However, pulling into other countries and exploring their cultures and scenery is worth all the days at sea. It can be rough on family life. Overall I loved my time in the Navy and I wouldn't change it at all.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Experience
Electronics Technician (Former Employee), Norfolk, VADecember 20, 2014
The Navy is great experience that allows people the opportunity to learn and grow in a desired field
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and Life Changing workplace
Aviation Electrician's Mate (Former Employee), OKDecember 19, 2014
Wonderful place to work. Great group of men/women with great attitudes. A typical day would be check the workload from the day and receive information of current priorities from the previous shift. Check tools for accountability. Attend a meeting to be assign various priorities. Hold meeting for workers assigning each a task. Learned an extensive amount – more... of electrical components on aircraft and how to manage others. Hardest part of the job would be having a challenging problem on the aircraft and thinking outside the box to fix it. This is also the most rewarding part of the job as all the work put in to finding the problem is exhausted once the problem was fixed. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Outstanding Career Oppertunities
Aviation Warfare Systems Operator / Rescue Swimmer (Former Employee), WorldwideDecember 19, 2014
My rating required high levels of physical and mental aptitudes that was not commonly found in most Naval ratings. There was rarely a period of time where every day was the same as the day before. This requires great skills in adaptability and flexibility and being able to make critical decisions quickly. Flying in aircraft has been accurately described – more... as hours of boredom broken by moments of sheer terror and excitement. I proudly served with a highly skilled and motivated group of young men and women which had been thoroughly screened and weeded out. At one point of my career it was estimated that over 80 percent of those who started the career path never completed the training syllabus. I can say I feel that I served with the best of the best. There was more days away from home than being at home and that is tough on the personal level and a job field that did not relate well with anything in the career fields outside the U.S. Navy. If I had to choose to do it all over again I would not have changed a thing as all of the experiences I had made me into who I am today. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The Navy is a great service to be a part of!
Seaman Apprentice (Former Employee), Great Lakes, IllinoisDecember 19, 2014
Pros: regular pay
Cons: separation from family
It is the U.S Navy, it is an excellent branch of the military and I am eager to work there again.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Military Service
Petty Officer Second Class (Current Employee), norfolk, VADecember 19, 2014
Hard days work but still an enjoyable experience, you become as close to family as possible with all of your shipmates especially on a small ship like an FFG. the hardest part of the job is family separation
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Long and Tiring days.
Deck Seaman (Former Employee), Everett, WADecember 18, 2014
Pros: close comradery, unbeatable work ethic.
Cons: your best is never enough.
Work was never ending out at sea. In port days were normal and no stress or yelling superiors walking around all the time. The Navy was a good experience and I learned alot, however treatment varies widely even if your a hard worker. Through all of the things that we had to put up with I ended up getting discharged for hearing loss and am still fighting – more... with the V.A. to get the benefits that I should have recieved. Serving your country is great but there are definitely drawbacks. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Little education needed to make middle-class income.
Cardiovascular Technician (Current Employee), San Diego, CADecember 18, 2014
Pros: pay, healthcare, easy job
Cons: if you join early in life, you'll never appreciate how much harder it is being a civilian.
8 hr days in San Diego with every holiday off, free health insurance, and housing benefits. Pay with housing is about $50,000/yr for the lower ranks.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not just a job......
Aviation Structural Mechanic (Former Employee), 23 countries and 4 statesDecember 18, 2014
I loved my 24 years of service. 12 hour days and deployments away from family and friends can be difficult. The rewards of service and experiences will always be a huge part of my life. The comradeship and the feeling of accomplishment are a reward few can understand.

1 2 3 4 5

About U.S. Navy

The US Navy maintains a variety of military equipment like ballistic missile submarines, aircraft carriers, surface warships, – Read more