Find companies:
U.S. Navy
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
7,531 reviews

U.S. Navy Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Do your job and stay out of trouble.
Avionics Electronics Technician (Former Employee), Lemoore NAS, CaMarch 20, 2014
Pros: great benefits, steady work
Cons: poor pay
An aircraft cockpit has instruments which are controlled by the Control Boxes stored in the avionics bay in the aircraft. Wires in the aircraft connect all the units together to make the links to which it all worked. When and unit didn't perform correctly, the aircraft technician would pull either the instrument or the control box, replacing it to "fix" – more... the plane. That pulled unit would come to me for repair. I learned to troubleshoot and use logic to find problems and correctly Fix them. I think the highlight of my time there was when I was able to fix the units with no or minimal help. The more units I learned, the more I was able to fix, and that accomplishment was very satisfying. Co-workers came and left and though you got to know one for a while, sooner or later they were gone as was you. And that was the hardest part of the job. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Highly educated janitor/managing a team of janitors
Supervisor, Operator, Technician (Former Employee), Everett, WAJanuary 8, 2014
Overall, glad I did it. Peers were great....actual job, not so much.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Disciplined challenging workplace
Interior Comunication Electrician (Former Employee), Norfolk, VADecember 1, 2013
Pros: free medical, housing, food, clothing
Cons: long hours, and far from home for extenuated periods
Although work had long hours, the job was rewarding. I had the satisfaction that because of my work I knew the ship would move, we could defend the ship, prepare ourselves for anything to come, and I knew the crew received decent rest and relaxation.

I learned a wide array of troubleshooting many different electronic systems. From systems that cost – more... multi millions to a few hundred, and the responsibility of fixing each system quickly and efficiently. I also learned much from the wide variety of personalities, and how to work well with a large group of people.

My co-workers were stressed from being away from families and the long hours (as well as me). Even so we always came together and got the job done and worked out our differences.

The hardest part of the job for me was to be away from my family for many months at a time. The good thing about it though is I was able to experience the world. I have literally been all over the world. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Industrial Maintenance
Engineman (Former Employee), Mayport, FLOctober 10, 2013
Pros: traveling
Cons: pay
Auxilary Department on all Engineering equipment onboard USS HUE CITY
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Travel the world
Machine Repairman (Former Employee), Everett, WAOctober 7, 2013
I got to do many things that people dream of do in their lifetime. Crossed the International date line and Equator at the same time. Went though the Panama canal.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
sailor
Communication Specialist (Former Employee), all overMay 9, 2013
Pros: overseas
Cons: overseas
not good pay for long hours constant travel can be a pain. nice uniforms
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Loved working here
Hospital Corpsman (Former Employee), Great Lakes, ILApril 22, 2013
Pros: working with people i respected
Cons: there were times i could not do everything myself, and had to rely on other people to help me get the job done right.
My typical day included checking in patients, answering the phones, assisting the doctors, helping patients understand their medicine, running errands for the doctors and nurses, organizing my workspace, etc.
I learned how to run clinics, including Family Practice, Internal Medicine, Pediatrics and the Pharmacy as well as security for a big hospital.
I – more... was constantly in charge of other corpsman working in the clinics, ensuring the office ran smoothly and helping when one clinic needed an extra hand.
My co-workers were wonderful and knowledgeable to work with and for.
The hardest part of the job was when the patients were harried and rushed and I couldn't help them because the clinic was backed up or the doctor was running behind.
I loved working with the kids and I loved knowing that my organizational skills were put to good use ensuring the clinic ran smoothly. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
family liasion
Liaison (Former Employee), jacksonville floridaSeptember 17, 2012
Pros: excellent experince
work as a support for families within the military, work with red cross when needed for family emergency. facilitiated information session for families. published monthly newslettersetc.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great on the job training with technical specialist
Petty Officer 2nd Class (Former Employee), Whidbey Island, WAAugust 7, 2012
Pros: professional work environment
Cons: military
Review shop's request for service and pm services. Ensure all spare parts and hi use consumable are available and o/h prior to initiating the xfer of work to tradesmen's. Ensure job plan scope is up to date, working knowledge and relationship with tradesmen. As senior petty officer, manage subordinates in shop in a professional manner and team build. – more... Hardest part of job is scheduling around different dept's & divisions. Best part of job is creating a uniformed system & devising s.o.p for shop. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Varied work experiences
Maintenance Supervisor/ Electronics Technician (Former Employee), San Diego, CAJuly 21, 2012
Pros: great comradery
Cons: long periods away from home
Routinely, I managed a crew of more than 10 technicians in their maintenance activities, training, and duty routines to ensure we were meeting our objectives thereby ensuring mission readiness. Our team was a diverse group but worked well as a unit under pressure to achieve our maintenance objectives. Sometimes, largely due to the arduous schedule and – more... dynamic working environment, I found myself having to keep the peace acting as a mediator as tempers would often flair. We had to maintain a professional shop at all times. No matter what, we were a team and had to stand together as a team. This was sometimes the best and worst part of my job. When we were on top of our game, meeting and exceeding our deadlines, we often enjoyed scheduled downtime to relax together as a group. Usually we would enjoy a shop BBQ. That was always good for morale. The break in the action was a good time. These recreational activities reduced bad stress and reinvigorated the team. I've found that a happy team tends to be more unified and productive. The team carried out many collateral duties outside of the shop as well and this helped the team to grow in experience. There was but a few of us and a lot to be done. Whenever opportunities for growth presented themselves, I encouraged my team to participate and better themselves. My job was to ensure the safe and timely completion of preventive and corrective maintenance, completion of training, and maintaining the readiness and morale of the team across the jobs with distinction. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
truck driver
truck driver (Former Employee), Taranto Italia, arbatax CagliariJuly 17, 2012
Pros: free lunches
Cons: long hours
achievement of suitability for all driving licenses, specialized on transport trucks and tank trucks.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and engaging workplace.
Warfare - Systems Integration Lead (Current Employee), MDJuly 10, 2012
Pros: great chance to learn new skills and work with different programs
Cons: location of base.
A typical day would involve going to meetings, and dealing with any issues that would arise that day. Going to meetings helped to get more involved with other engineers and get a first hand look how the program is run. My supervisor was very helpful in supplying information about an issue and the some hints on how to go about correcting the issue. My – more... co-workers are very helpful as when comments are needed by a deadline for a document review, everyone had their comments in on time with detailed responses. The hardest part of the job is not really with the job itself but with the community around it as there are not many activities to do after work. The most enjoyable part is knowing that what you are working on directly impacts the Navy Fleet. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Life Experience
Petty Officer (Former Employee), Great Lakes, ILJuly 21, 2014
Pros: benifits, pto
Cons: time away from family
Gives you much needed life experience. Prepares you for the real world. Has wonderful job security.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Outstanding organization, very team orientated and rewarding.
Associate Director for Clinical Support Services (Former Employee), Bethesda, MDJuly 21, 2014
Pros: the say "yes" concept
Cons: joint military culture
Fast paced organization that offers outstanding healthcare to our Wounded Warriors and eligible beneficiaries.
I learned multiple skills sets that aided me in my career progression.
Staff was a great group to work with
Getting attached to patients
The most enjoyable part of the job was seeing a Wounded Warrior walk out of the hospital after being injured – more... on the battlefield – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and diligent work place
Work Center Supervisor (Former Employee), Norfolk, VAJuly 21, 2014
Pros: benefits
Cons: deployments
A typical day consisted of arriving at work at 6:00AM Inspecting my division then getting them in formation for morning attendance and tasking. Our Department head would give out tasking for the day and I would ensure all tasks would be completed in the most efficient and timely manner. During my military service I learned how to be a fair but stern – more... supervisor when managing personnel. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Apprenticeship to Mangagement
Communications Intelligence Collection Operator (Former Employee), Fort Gordon, GeorgiaJuly 21, 2014
I saw the world and everything it encompassed. I learned all military to civilian transition practices. I trained all individuals from 8 months in to 23 years in.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Military
Aviation Support Technician (AS)/ Supervisor (Former Employee), Norfolk,VaJuly 21, 2014
Everything that you can imagine the military to be. Hard work and a lot of time away from family.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Navy Overview
(E-5) Information Systems Technician Second Class (Former Employee), San Diego, CAJuly 21, 2014
Over the past five years, I have had the opportunity to perform various IT duties as an active duty service member onboard aircraft carrier’s USS Carl Vinson and USS George H.W. Bush. Throughout my time in the navy, I performed duties such as; routine server maintenance, troubleshoot network connectivity, prepare status reports, and conduct general – more... office safety training. I have worked in call centers for crews of over 5,000 user, troubleshooting end users voice and data circuits, while recording and reporting status of circuits. Also, I have worked as helpdesk IT, monitoring and managing accounts within the network. As a result, I bring the knowledge and skills to work in a variety of office settings. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to get job experience
Biomedical Equipment Repair Technician (Former Employee), worldwideJuly 21, 2014
Pros: experience
Awesome place to work. meet new people. challenging but rewarding.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to work after High School
Electronics Technician (Current Employee), San Diego, CAJuly 20, 2014
After joining the Navy, I utilized this for the last 8 years for educational purposes and to hone management and teamwork skills. The Navy provides this and more to the cream of the crop. The most enjoyable part of my job was traveling to exotic places, helping others and gaining valuable experience working with a diverse workforce.

1 2 3 4 5

About U.S. Navy

The US Navy maintains a variety of military equipment like ballistic missile submarines, aircraft carriers, surface warships, – Read more