Find companies:
U.S. Navy
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
8,310 reviews

U.S. Navy Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Do your job and stay out of trouble.
Avionics Electronics Technician (Former Employee), Lemoore NAS, CaMarch 20, 2014
Pros: great benefits, steady work
Cons: poor pay
An aircraft cockpit has instruments which are controlled by the Control Boxes stored in the avionics bay in the aircraft. Wires in the aircraft connect all the units together to make the links to which it all worked. When and unit didn't perform correctly, the aircraft technician would pull either the instrument or the control box, replacing it to "fix" – more... the plane. That pulled unit would come to me for repair. I learned to troubleshoot and use logic to find problems and correctly Fix them. I think the highlight of my time there was when I was able to fix the units with no or minimal help. The more units I learned, the more I was able to fix, and that accomplishment was very satisfying. Co-workers came and left and though you got to know one for a while, sooner or later they were gone as was you. And that was the hardest part of the job. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Highly educated janitor/managing a team of janitors
Supervisor, Operator, Technician (Former Employee), Everett, WAJanuary 8, 2014
Overall, glad I did it. Peers were great....actual job, not so much.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Industrial Maintenance
Engineman (Former Employee), Mayport, FLOctober 10, 2013
Pros: traveling
Cons: pay
Auxilary Department on all Engineering equipment onboard USS HUE CITY
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Travel the world
Machine Repairman (Former Employee), Everett, WAOctober 7, 2013
I got to do many things that people dream of do in their lifetime. Crossed the International date line and Equator at the same time. Went though the Panama canal.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
After 20 years I have seen just about everything
Pilot (Former Employee), On the seven seasJanuary 22, 2013
low pay at first as well as all of the dirty & tedious jobs. Work your way up and all of that goes away. The Navy paid for my education, and sent me to flight school. I am retiring as a helicopter pilot after joining with NO experience. It is what you make of it. There is good and bad with every job, but this one allowed me to see the world. I will – more... surely miss it. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great on the job training with technical specialist
Petty Officer 2nd Class (Former Employee), Whidbey Island, WAAugust 7, 2012
Pros: professional work environment
Cons: military
Review shop's request for service and pm services. Ensure all spare parts and hi use consumable are available and o/h prior to initiating the xfer of work to tradesmen's. Ensure job plan scope is up to date, working knowledge and relationship with tradesmen. As senior petty officer, manage subordinates in shop in a professional manner and team build. – more... Hardest part of job is scheduling around different dept's & divisions. Best part of job is creating a uniformed system & devising s.o.p for shop. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The most professional enviroment I have ever worked in
Aviation Electronics Technician (Former Employee), traveled the world on aircraft carriersApril 30, 2012
I was an aviation electronics technician. I first mustered up our shop department and went over what planes in our aviation wing needed serviceing and routine class inspections so the pilots were ready to fly missions and aircrafts on a daily mutible run day. serviced all electronic cards, and did internal wiring to service birds. Worked in one of the – more... most dangerous enviroments in the world during all types of pressure and stress and performed on a Aplus level to adapt and overcome to the situation at hand safely professionaly and correctly. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A once in a lifetime, life-changing experience
Operations Specialist (Former Employee), Various Locations, mostly on ships,March 3, 2012
Pros: most everything.
Cons: time away from home/loved ones.
My experience in the Navy wasn't always easy, but it was one of the best times of my life. The US Military takes care of it's people; and these are hard times. Anyone who can find themselves amongst the ranks will have job security and financial independence. You will also have opportunities to go places and see things you have never seen before. The – more... slogan holds true,"Join the Navy, see the world!" – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work 15 to 20 years ago
Personnel Specialist/HR Specialist (Former Employee), World-Wide, WorldOctober 19, 2014
Pros: guided missile destroyers
Cons: frequent deployments on above referenced ddgs
World's greatest Navy, way too many politicians. One of the greatest experiences of my life.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I loved serving my country
Aviation Ordnance (Former Employee), San Diego, CAOctober 19, 2014
Greatest joy in my life was working for my country, a great sense of pride in this job
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A learning experience
Logistic Specialist (Former Employee), USS Peleliu LHA5October 19, 2014
I thought four years in retail prepared me for it, but the Navy was a whole different beast. I learned much over my six years, as the Navy is always willing to teach you what you need to know.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Multitasking job
Petty Officer US Navy (Former Employee), Norfolk, VA , San Diego ,CAOctober 19, 2014
Pros: job security
Cons: no breaks, deployed, away from home
Providing the organized collection of information. Navigation of naval ship. Categorizing charts and maps worldwide. Operating radars, computers, cell phone tower and other communication equipment.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Educational Work Experience
Helicopter Naval Aircrewman (E-5) (Current Employee), Norfolk, VAOctober 19, 2014
I've learned lots of life lessons in the navy that will help me in my personal life as well as my working career. Have had the opportunity to meet some of the most amazing people in the world, all while learning skills to help me succeed.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lots of travel to foreign counties
Culinary Specialist (Former Employee), Pearl Harbor, HIOctober 19, 2014
Pros: i was able to ride and work onboard a nuclear submarine
Cons: long sea deployments
There is no such thing as a typical day at work in the US Navy. However underway on a nuclear submarine did have a set schedule for breakfast, lunch and dinner. That is what my job schedule revolved around. I learned about military operations and lifestyle. The management was hit or miss. I had a few really amazingly good Chiefs and Officers (leaders) – more... and as well as a few not so good Chiefs and Officers. My co-workers were great guys. Everyone was close because we had to all depend on each other to keep the submarine operating smoothly. The hardest part about the job was the long sea deployments. It is hard to raise a family when you are on a six month sea deployment on the opposite side of the world. The most enjoyable part of the job was the travel. I have been all over the world and touch every continent except Africa and Antarctica. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall blessing to be a part of!
MACS/E-8, Senior Chief Petty Officer (Former Employee), Norfolk, VAOctober 19, 2014
Pros: serving the country, medical, dental, friendships, free education, and travel.
Cons: being away from family for extended periods
- Always seemed to learn something different each day.

- Refined the ability to work with diverse group of personnel

- Management, good management consists of not only being a good leader but a follower at times as well. There's no substitute for "knowing your people"!

- Got along with all well.

- Being away from family for extended period and going – more... into combat situations, (Iraq).

- Knowing you served your country proudly, visiting many places around the world and the relationships and potential networks you have created along the way. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
if you want to travel the high seas and se exotic cool places you are at the right plce
Painter (Former Employee), Norfolk, VAOctober 18, 2014
Pros: good food and a great place to work at
Travel meet new people and work is tough but when you arrive at port then that is where the fun starts
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great supervisors
Aviation Mechanic (Former Employee), San Diego, CAOctober 18, 2014
Pros: great working enviroment
Cons: lunch break could be any time your supervisor tells you to eat
Typical day at work is great.
I learn to be the night check supervisor on deployment and lead mechanic.
The hardest part of my job is extended sea deployment.
The most enjoyable part of the job is getting aircraft fix and flying to complete there mission.
My co-workers are team players we get things done in a timely manner they are the best people i – more... ever work with – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Underpay and poor management
Logistics Management Specialist, Series 0346 (Current Employee), Albany, GAOctober 18, 2014
Pros: generous time off
Cons: underpay, poor management, no upward mobility
There were no typical days at work the enviroment was constantly changing, fostering an enviroment to learn as much or as little as you desire. Managment and co-workers were constantly changing because there is no upward mobility and the only way to make more money in the government is to apply for a new job. Ones integrity is challenged frequently – more... because the only way to be considered for the job is to "Lie and say you are the expert in a particular area even though you may not have experience" in order to level the playing field amongst those who do the same. The hardest part of the job for me was coming to work knowing you are being underpaid and knowing the annual 1% cost of living raise is only enough to make up for the increase in health care cost. The government has great benefits if you want to sacrifice pay. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Exciting work environment
Aviation Electrician/Corrosion Control Technician (Former Employee), Virginia Beach, VAOctober 18, 2014
The Navy provided many opportunities for me to gain new skills and apply them. I met all sorts of interesting people, which was intimidating at first, but proved to be a valuable experience for me.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Did great things for me
Aviation Electronics Tech (Former Employee), Patuxent River, MDOctober 18, 2014
Pros: good people
Cons: the few bad ones
Learned a technical skill.
Good People.
Great Locations
Loved most of it.
Missed going on a ship - wish I had, though most sailors say loved it but don't look forward to it.

1 2 3 4 5

About U.S. Navy

The US Navy maintains a variety of military equipment like ballistic missile submarines, aircraft carriers, surface warships, – Read more