Find companies:
U.S. Embassy
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
26 reviews

U.S. Embassy Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fullfilling working with housing
Housing Assistant (Current Employee), Accra, GhanaSeptember 18, 2014
Pros: independent to work as i please
Cons: complaints
Typically, meet with various department heads from facilities Maintenance, GSO, Warehouse and Quality Control to discuss problems, landlord issues, timelines, regulations, protocol, complaints, arrival dates, make readies and any special needs for the 138homes in the pool. Serve as a trusted assistant and liaison to negotiate with the various landlords – more... concerning payments, property conditions, contracts or renovations. Coordinate make readies, conduct make ready/pre departure inspections -surveys, arrange for furniture delivery /inspection, seek new properties, discuss leases, maintain leases, handle complaints, correspondence, email and telephone communication.

Communicating can be tasking especially being the only American working within the housing section. My colleague are locally employed staff (LES) whom I enjoy working with but they primarily want to speak in their local dialect during business hours, in an American setting . My challenge, initially, was gaining the trust and respect of the local men and women (landlords) when discussing business. Likewise, getting them to keep a confirmed appointment and respond to work order requests.
In Accra, Ghana (West Africa), landlords can be very particular as to who they deal with within the housing section. Certain landlords prefer to deal with the only gentleman within the section; another may only want to deal with his or her previous classmate and the remaining only want to deal with me-the American.

I’ve learned to be patient when it comes to change, scheduling appointments and understanding their perspective views on policy and their government. Most importantly, I leaned to respect the Ghanaian culture.

I’m most fulfilled helping others, solving problems, having resolutions and seeing results.

I really enjoy working with such a diverse and colorful network of people. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and Good place to work
Administrative and Logistics Security Specialist (Former Employee), BaghdadSeptember 8, 2014
Pros: free meals
Cons: the heat, high temperatures
12 hour days, I learned how to work with different cultures. Management kept us in the know, My co-workers were good people to work with. The hardest part of the job was taking the flight to Baghdad. The most enjoyable part of the job traveling and meeting different people.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great work experience
Senior Subcontracts Administrator (Current Employee), IraqAugust 13, 2014
Great work experience
Lived in war zone and worked 84 hours per week.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
US Embassy
CLO Summer Hire (Former Employee), costa ricaAugust 4, 2014
The US Embassy in San Jose Costa Rica was a beautiful and amazing place for employment.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
US State Department Contract
Front line supervisor (FLS) (Former Employee), BaghdadMay 20, 2014
Pros: great people
Cons: far from home.
Work week consisted of 7-6 12 hours days for 120 day rotations back home for 14 days vacation.

Extremely demanding but hugely satisfying job.

Responsible for day to day Equipment Maintenance welding on armored and no armored light and heavy trucks including MHE and construction equipment.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very rewarding job
Complex Site Supervisor (Former Employee), BaghdadApril 28, 2014
challenging and exciting job, you work with a lot of knowledgeable people
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
U.S. Embassy, Lisbon Portugal
COMMUNITY LIAISON COORDINATOR (Former Employee), Lisbon, PortugalApril 1, 2014
Wonderful experience working in a foreign country with the local Nationals as well as State Department employees.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
OMG
Security Officer (Former Employee), Tripoli, LibyaFebruary 28, 2014
the best place i ever work for, the embassy was like my home, i really like to work for them again n again.
recommended.
no one is above the law inside this place.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Short term aviation contract
Aviation Safety Inspector (Former Employee), Kabul, AFGJanuary 27, 2014
Pros: brakes (vacation)
Cons: bad air quality
Worked for USAID for 3 years 2010-2013 as a aviation contract oversight inspector. Reviewed contactors work as to there compliance with the Government contract. Worked 6 days a week 8-12 hrs. a day. Was the only maintenance inspector on board for the 3 years that the contract was used. Not a lot that was to enjoyable except the people that were at the – more... Embassy and the Contract personal. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Proactive in public relations and protocol
Protocol Assistant (Current Employee), BaghdadJanuary 16, 2014
Protocol and customer service professional with more than 15 years of experience encompassing a career in government and customer service industries. Extensive work in protocol, management, human resources, information technology and quality control. Vast experience in customer service, showcasing ability to work independently with clear judgment and – more... ability to handle a multitude of tasks. Detailed-oriented, flexible, with highly developed multi-cultural skills providing an elevated mastery of communication, diversity awareness and capacity to anticipate people’s needs. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
worked with great people
Escort/Administrative Assistant (Former Employee), DhakaSeptember 13, 2013
The manager and co-workers were great and hard working people.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun place o work
Consular Assistant (Former Employee), Port-Au- Prince HaitiSeptember 12, 2013
Pros: the fun part is you get to travel and meet new people
Cons: one can be home sick.
as consular assistant my daily job activities include, but not limited to screening , processing and fingerprinting applicant for both non-immigrant and immigrant visas into the United States. I was also in charged of tracking, editing and updating DNA results of foreign nationals alleging familiar relationships with both US citizens as well as legal – more... permanent residents of the United States. In addition I engaged in factual and legal researched as requested by the consular officers. the analytical skills in my position are crucial, because the cases often required discretionary decisions. Our analyses are often based on the authenticity of the documents provided at the interview or that are located In an alien's A -file.. A majority of the cases involves issues dealing with denials of asylum, removals from the United States, and waivers and applications for re-entry after deportation. It remains part of my job to critically analyze the aliens records and testimonies for authenticity as process and collect these documents. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great life at the Embassy, good friends and co-workers
LAN Administrator (Former Employee), Santiago, ChileJuly 31, 2013
It was a really great experience and really a lifetime of work at the Embassy.
The IT section had a great team and a good manager. He really understood what team work was.
All my co-workers and users had a very good attitude and it was a real pleasure to attend.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Internship
CLO Event Coordinator and Designer (Former Employee), La Paz, BoliviaJuly 17, 2013
Pros: event planning
Loved this job it gave me a lot of responsibility. The job had a lot to do with event planning.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Management was difficult
COMPLEX SITE SUPERVISOR (Former Employee), Baghdad, IraqJune 16, 2013
A little stress due to operation awareness.
Learn how to stay clam in difficult situation.
Management was not well competent on what was needy and how to handle personnel issue.
My co-workers were well respected by me.
Dealing with management was the hardest part.
Working with me co-workers and my guards assigned to me.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good environment to work in, support from management.
Language Program Coordinator/Instructor (Former Employee), Moscow, RussiaJune 4, 2013
Taught English as a second language to Russian employees of the embassy in Moscow, Russia. Students participated in hour long classes twice a week. Management was supportive, but allowed my colleagues and I to run the program, utilizing our expertise in language learning. I worked with two other teachers, who divided the classes according to our schedules. – more... The hardest part of coordinating the program was getting all supervisors of students to understand the importance of consistent attendance, in order to gain maximum success in building English language skills. I enjoyed the relationship with both teaching colleagues, as well as, the students. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Management Overview
Budget Policy & Management Advisor (Former Employee), BaghdadMay 28, 2013
Excellant assignment. Work was highly regarding and rewarding. Working with Government of Iraq officials at the highest levels was an outstanding experience - one I would not turn back for anything.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast-pacing environment where one must constantly be focused on the present, avoid the past errors, and build a successful future.
Senior Human Resources Specialist (Former Employee), AntananarivoApril 28, 2013
Pros: nice and very modern working environment with a gymn and a swimming pool.
Cons: although employment was stable compensation could not keep up with the volatile economic situation, advancement in the job was rare.
Check email/mail box, plan for short-term, mid-term and long-term projects, report to supervisor and provide guidance to supervised employees, complete daily assignments and deadlines, attend meetings within and/or outside the Mission, complete routine and non-recurring reports. I grew up with the Mission and have acquired a great deal of knowledge – more... and skills, keys to my professional expertise and human development. Management was fair, professional and very customer-service oriented. My co-workers were fully knowledgeable with a can-do attitude. The challenging part of my job was to achieve the maximum during periods of staff shortage. It was sometimes hard to explain the difference between U.S. and local values, particularly during counseling sessions. The most enjoyable part of my job: To see happy faces after an award ceremony! To serve as translator during staff meetings using English, French and the local languages. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
grat work and great people to work with.
Independent Contractor (Former Employee), BaghdadApril 1, 2013
Pros: grate pay
Cons: long periods of overseas work
create intelligence products for the U.S. Mission in Iraq.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Challenging and Productive
Program Assistant (Current Employee), Islamabad, PakistanMarch 25, 2013
Pros: recognition rewards, international trainings
Cons: healthcare beneifits
Working with US Mission gave:
• A wide range to learn professionalism.
• Exposure to interact with internationals
• Reason to belief in your abilities and accept the challenges
• Opportunity to work hard and excel in different areas
Management is very cooperative & appreciative. They recognize the hard word and reward it for encouragement. Hardest part – more... is to interact with Government Officials on behalf of US Embassy, but the most enjoyable and productive experience is to make people believe that we as mission are working for the prosperity of the GOP & USG. – less

U.S. Embassy Photos