U-Haul Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
dodgey place to work
Customer Service Full-time (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON27 October 2017
I worked at the private dealer and it was dirty and messy. The company doesn't care about the private dealers so they leave room for them to exploit there employees.
Pros
flexible
Cons
over worked
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good
Field Relief Manager (Current Employee) –  Edmonton, AB20 October 2017
U-Haul is a good company to work for but trying to have a life outside of work is next to impossible. They give you a salary job and expect you to work 7 days a week non stop.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lack of Communication
Cleaner/Janitor (Former Employee) –  Brampton, ON6 October 2017
i was the cleaner and my boss who was the manager of the location that i worked at didn't give me any hours on the schedule and i had to text her to find out when i was working.
Cons
no hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible
Hitch Pro (Former Employee) –  Ajax, ON5 October 2017
management only likes to blame each other and not tackle problems together. Work/life is horrible, way to much work for minimum wage, not a lot of opportunity to move up , attracts the worse type of customers, often overbooked and leaves people with trucks when they are moving at the end of the month
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Pretty good job
facility maintenance technician (Current Employee) –  Montréal, QC8 September 2017
At U-Haul, we do renovations, maintenance, fix damages around different centers, and we occasionally do landscaping. We always learn new things everyday which helps us with our work.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place
Customer Service Representative (Current Employee) –  London, ON5 September 2017
Really relaxed place customers often get upset cause they don't get what they want all the time but that's life. Pays decent and you learn how to drive bigger trucks
Pros
Learning experince with bigger cars and backing up trailers
Cons
Call center promises everything and we have to deal with there mess when we can do it
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and productive great learning experience
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Oakville, ON29 August 2017
overall great experience, the only downside is the management. Previous manager was the most disrespectful human being i have ever met. He did not respect customer or his own employees.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Job was okay
Transfer Driver (retired) (Former Employee) –  Hamilton, ON29 August 2017
The job was easy not too stressful most of the employees were great to work with but a few of them were very disrespectful to other employees my manager was good to work for
Pros
monthly BBQ
Cons
Office staff
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Decent pay but not worth the stress.
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB14 August 2017
It's a secure job if you follow every which rule they throw at you to an absolute T. Otherwise you run the risk of getting fired or written up.
You will absolutely encounter dilemmas as customers don't always understand policy.
Very thorough training: but almost too much to the point people just skip through it and don't read it fully.
There are definitely funny moments you will encounter as well! Makes for good stories to tell!
Pros
Decent pay, good hours if your willing to have an open schedule, makes for funny stories.
Cons
VERY strict management, co-workers like to gossip, trying to explain things to customers seems impossible, not having proper hitches in stock despite the computers saying you do.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worth it, but not very fun
Temporary Worker (Former Employee) –  Windsor, ON14 August 2017
Nothing was too bad asides from the weed whacking I had to do. I have allergies to the weeds that were around the area so it got pretty bad, otherwise its all good as the employees are very nice and laid back and aren't super serious unless needed
Pros
Take breaks when needed
Cons
Allergies to weeds around the place
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I would not recommend applying here.
Clerk 1 / Reservations Manager(clerk) (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB18 July 2017
This job is underpaid for the amount of bullpoopyt a person is to undergo each shift.
You are required to go above and beyond for little to no appreciation.
Management doesn't know what the funk they are doing.
You as an employee are not cared about/for personally, all that matters is that the job gets done so that upper management can take the credit for it and look good.
If you want a job you can actually look forward to and not get taken advantage of or get treated like poopy then do not apply here.
Edmonton Alberta Uhaul Traffic Office.
Pros
Some of the people working in different compartments
Cons
Mcp, Tcm.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON13 July 2017
Was a great place..lots of fun outside of work...company had activities for coworkers to interact.... many sides to the job you can be on location or out driving to transfer vehicles to necessary locations
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It's an ok place to work
Customer service representative (Current Employee) –  Edmonton, AB5 July 2017
I feel most of the people who actually work there are under paid for what they do. At the location I am at we are understaffed, and no one attempts to change anything that might help workers stay.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Student position, low pay
Customer Service Representative (Current Employee) –  Kitchener, ON23 June 2017
This position is better suited for a high school student. As someone with a family; the hours and rate of pay are not sustainable. I recommend Uhaul for students and others just looking for extra cash.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and decently paced work environment
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Mississauga, ON15 June 2017
With each location having a small team of 6-12 people you get to know your coworkers as well as other locations. the call center in Brampton is a great group of fast and efficient people who can help out when a store is having rental shortages.
Pros
Small team and getting to know everyone very well
Cons
call centers who work from home will book your truck regardless if it is a avaliable or not.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good basic knowledge job
Partrs Manager (Former Employee) –  Hamilton, ON30 May 2017
Learn fleet management and scheduling of fleet vehicles for preventive maintenance. Start to understand supply and demand for the customer and fleet of vehicles.
Pros
cheap rentals
Cons
no appriciation
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible Experience With Upper Management
Storage Manager (Former Employee) –  North Vancouver, BC23 May 2017
When your own boss gets continually lectured and written up for things like moving signs so that the customers know where to park or find the bathroom, you know something is definitely not right. No raise in over a year of work. No offer of benefits. Would not recommend to anyone. Especially for the amount of work which doesn't match the low pay.
Pros
Best boss ever
Cons
Best boss got fired
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great people
Driver (Former Employee) –  Brampton, ON3 May 2017
great place to work at and make a career, friendly staff at each center and dealer. with what i was doing at uhaul i got to see new places in ontario.
Pros
BBQs
Cons
the only holidy for uhaul is christmas day..... i think
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible employer
Assistant Manager (Former Employee) –  Regina, SK2 May 2017
Had the worst working experience at this company poor management the pay is horrible for the work you have to do never apply there they will force you to put your life on the line instead of fixing the equipment
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to make minimum wage
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  London, ON28 April 2017
you do not have to try extremely hard here and they don't give you benefits so you have to save the money you get but you only make 11:50 an hr so you can't do much. this is a good stepping stone job you get to learn lots about sales/customer service/truck maintenance.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at U-Haul. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.6
Based on 2,286 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.5
Salary/Benefits
3.2
Job Security/Advancement
3.2
Management
3.3
Culture
3.4