Turtle & Hughes Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
decent place to work
Inside Sales Representative (Current Employee) –  Linden, NJ6 January 2018
easy going place to go to work everyday. compensation can improve within departments. would recommend working there to a friend but not for a career move.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Tough work and long hours.
Warehouse Worker (Former Employee) –  Pasadena, TX11 December 2017
Working for 8-10 hours straight but you get an hour lunch break in the air conditioning with nice tables and cable TV. Everyone there is easy to get along with, great people. As long as you are keeping busy and doing what you need to do you will be fine. Hardest part of the job is sometimes we would be shorthanded for the work that needed to be done and would be required to stay past midnight getting orders out. Sometimes this was enjoyable though working with a team of great guys to get stuff done, it could be quite fulfilling.
Pros
Twice a month the company got catering for the workers.
Cons
often not enough workers for the job
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
First Experience
Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Glendale, NY18 November 2017
Turtle and Hughes was my first admin job while I was obtaining my associates degree at a college close by before they relocated twice. I relocated with them the first time. I received an offer for management but no compensation was considered. The manager at the time had changed and my role felt overlooked.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
work
Buyer (Former Employee) –  Summit, IL25 August 2017
Good staff to work with.It was fun setting up the office. The principle was not prepared for our start up. Wee were met with a antogoniztitc attitude,
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive at all time
Sourcing Supply Chain Manager and Site Lead Mgr (Former Employee) –  Gurabo, PR 0077827 July 2017
in charge of two MRO warehouses with one spare parts.
Controlling warehouse inventory and Commodities plus all the procurement for all MRO & Spare Parts and
Operation
Pros
no direct supervition
Cons
no breaks
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worst Company I've ever worked for!
Warehouse (Former Employee) –  Bridgewater, NJ3 July 2017
I personally know 4 people who attempted suicide because this job completely ruined their lives. The darkest 4 1/2 years of my life, I really hit rock bottom working here. I would not recommend this job to my worst enemy. Management forces warehouse workers to work until the job is done which on second shift is normally at least 12-15 hours. The "Vice President of Logistics" Talks to everyone like you're a minuscule p o s and treats people like their his peasants. He forces his workers to listen to him in these 2-3 hour long meetings about how many millions he and all the top earners of the company have made , the multi-million vacation homes he buys all over the country, all the fancy vacations he takes then goes on to tell everyone how they will never receive a raise in pay and if they purposely do something to get hurt or fired he will fight unemployment or disability with every last breath in his body. The pay is barely livable, I would recommend working 60 hours a week at McDonald's before ever applying here at least there you won't have thoughts of death.
Pros
401k and dental surprisingly decent but only because its shared with everyone in the company
Cons
could go days and not cover everything
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive
Warehouse Worker (Current Employee) –  Bridgewater, NJ27 April 2017
The typical day at work is always a good hard working one. this job is very easy going as long as you follow the rules and do your job. Overall good company and excellent benefits
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Cashier Warehouse
Cashier/Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Bridgewater, NJ30 December 2016
This was a great family that worked together to fulfill other company orders to have them out in a timely matter everybody on the job was motivated to do there best.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Experience Sales Force
Export Sales (Former Employee) –  Houston, TX21 November 2016
An effective employee review helps to align individual goals with those of the organization, provides clear communication around work responsibilities and objectives, identifies training needs, and encourages positive relationships
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
benifits were good
Order manager (Former Employee) –  Bridgewater, NJ18 April 2016
a typical day at work had no set end time. days could last anywhere from 8 hours to 18 hours.

i learned forklift skills, computer management, about product such as industrial supplies, from wire gauges to couplings and other similar products.

the coworkers i worked directly with are wonderful brave people.

Te hardest part of the job was the hours, and just the simple dread of never knowing how long your day will be.

The most enjoyable part was my direct coworkers
Pros
independence
Cons
long hours.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport

Want to know more about Turtle & Hughes?

Ask a question
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very productive workplace
Share Lead Buyer (Former Employee) –  Manatí, PR13 January 2016
* Received lists every day of items needed for the stock room for the plant. I have to find better price than the last price paid by them.
* Very busy environment.
* In charge of 2 employees.
* I purchased from 4 different Johnson & Johnson plants.
Pros
No direct supervision. Very nice environment.
Cons
Emergencies could happened at any time and any days and I have to solve it.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Really nice people and awesome place
IT/Hardware Support (Former Employee) –  Linden, NJ5 November 2015
Fun work place
Nice place to hone and grow your skills
Awesome people that work there
Growing company that hopefully has a bright future
Just got fired.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company to work for.
Senior Buyer/ Site Manager (Current Employee) –  Pottstown, PA20 October 2015
Good company to work for. It's a small company moving to become a large company in a few years. Xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Working all day
Receiver/Forklift Operator (Current Employee) –  Bridgewater, NJ29 April 2015
Picking, packing, and shipping

Inventory

UPS shipping

Receiving and returns

Constantly moving, computer work, tending to customer service
issues.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
expansion of my accounting knowledge
document scanner/receptionist/billing clerk (Former Employee) –  Houston, TX28 December 2014
Was fortunate to use all my abilities that I learned in high school and college starting at Gulf coast Electric in 1979. From typing, filing, clerical to accounting. Worked with great managers and great employees, like family, which made my job enjoyable.
Pros
Free lunches twice a month and early dismissals just before a holiday
Cons
Because of the economy raises and healthcare were always an issue
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Simple
Warehouse Worker (Former Employee) –  Bridgewater, NJ28 March 2014
I'd start the day off sorting mail and distributing it around the hospital. Then I would begin cleaning. Co-workers are great and friendly.
Pros
Free lunch
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
full of broken promises and lies.
Wire room / Warehouse worker (Former Employee) –  Bridgewater, NJ3 January 2014
slim to no chance for advancement including raises or moving up in the company its a "you need to know somebody" type of place well over worked 10-15 hour days 5 days a week
Pros
Good breaks and weekends
Cons
mandatory over time
Was this review helpful?Yes 6NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Well positioned and growing Electrical & Industrial Distributor
Business Development (Current Employee) –  Glendale, NY2 April 2013
Strong sales culture and management with focus on growing both organically and by acquisitions.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Turtle & Hughes. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.8
Based on 19 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.4
Salary/Benefits
3.7
Job Security/Advancement
3.3
Management
3.4
Culture
3.6