Find companies:
Tube City IMS
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
22 reviews

Tube City IMS Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible company
Payroll (Former Employee), Gary, INAugust 19, 2014
Worst company to work for when they can't find something to let you go on the manufacture false information. They only want girls who work the corner in Gary if you turn 62 they don't have a problem to get rid of you. The working conditions are horrible the people are low class including the vp, office manager and general manager they lie and try to – more... ruin you life by saying you stole someone id. Not true I have two ss numbers given to me by SS adminstration. They send US Steel to do their dirty work. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Hand Scarfer/Tracker/Maintenance (Former Employee), River Rouge, MIApril 6, 2014
Pros: enjoyable co-workers
Cons: swing shift
The pay was good, the swing shift is a bit difficult to adjust to at times.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ran worse than the government
supervisory (Current Employee), Gary, InApril 3, 2014
Pros: health insurance, and 401k
Cons: low morale, constant degradation, low wages, no advancement
A typical day at Tube City IMS Gary starts with middle management being yelled at, threatened (with bullets by the VP), and degraded, for a good hour, for the first hour of the day. The remaining 7 hours involves drastic miscommunication due to upper management dropping the ball, and passing the buck onto middle management; who are doing as directed. – more... This in turn leads to foreman being written up, and eventually fired in all departments. The company has an extremely high turn over rate. In my near two years here, I have seen more company foreman and parts room workers leave or get fired more than I have seen at any other company. The upper management pits union workers against company workers, and constantly drains fiscal resources.

The gossip spread on the work floor is ridiculous, but mainly accurate due to union facilitators being placed in company management positions. There's gross under training, you are set to fail, and the management does not recognize the hard work put in by any level of employee from superintendents, procurement people, to the lowest paid workers like the parts room workers.

Ultimately, this is a company where fiscal irresponsibility and a lot of waste lead to negative outcomes. Injuries, and the people injured are degraded and called derogatory terms by upper management. They cut trade positions and then create management positions with union facilitators, to which craft workers in the union object to, only to be shut down. Now reading this, you may think that I am painting a negative picture, but, this is the reality of this place.

In corporate and bureaucratic settings, such as this, employee morale on union or company side is disregarded. They don't pay well, they are disrespectful, and will work you like a dog while letting you know that you are 100% expendable. Your career will not progress here, this is simply a job to pay the bills. They hire new recruits outside of the company, and explain why you're not qualified to advance, while they hire a clueless individual (no disrespect to the people being hired) that have NO idea how industrial settings run.

In short.. if you need a job until you can find something better, take it.. if you want a career, look else where. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
You have to watch your back to keep your job
Management (Former Employee), OhioMarch 26, 2014
Pros: benefits
Cons: long hours, tense work environment
There is a major lack of communication and constant blame for absolutely no reason at all. My time with this company was constantly observing workers getting thrown away for no fault of their own. When someone forgets to perform a task, the blame gets pointed down to the next person. It is a very cut throat place where mannerism and morals are slim – more... to none. I was told that my chair can be easily replaced by anyone else upon hire. I did everything I was asked of and still got threatened for no reason. All they care about is their money, not you. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Proactive compliance and audit manager focused on controls
Corporate Compliance Officer (Current Employee), Glassport, PAJanuary 31, 2014
I have prepared a corporate compliance program for SOX compliance for a company that newly listed with the NYSE inclusive of policies and procedures, control risk assessment, and management training.

I have received excellent reviews over the past 3 annual review cycles.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Working at Tube City IMS
AR Cash Applications (Former Employee), Glassport PAJanuary 18, 2014
I had a wonderful experience while working for Tube City. The people were fun and friendly, the management was better than I had ever experienced before.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
poor management
operator (Current Employee), trinidadNovember 6, 2013
Pros: benefits
Cons: false promise bad management
Long 12hrs shifts too much rules everyday go by is another rule we are only human not machine alot of dust and dangerous work management dont like to listen to workers and also maintenance of equipment is poor
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive comfortable place to work
Burner (Former Employee), Axis, ALOctober 21, 2013
It was a great job to have, pay was good, good environment to be in.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Shortsited Management, Doesn't pay well enough for required work
Operator (Current Employee), Midwest, USSeptember 29, 2013
Pros: health and dental benefits
Cons: expected to do inherently dangerous taks daily
Typical day Consists of dangerous activities in tight quarters in very large equipment in less than desirable conditions handling extremely hot material (2500 degrees plus) through tight turns and avoiding traffic with management that can be described as under-qualified at best
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
its ok
Equipment Operator (Former Employee), Axis, ALAugust 24, 2013
Pros: no
Cons: ok
do a lot Build tow by handling lines and cables to tie and untie barges and boats.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worst company ever !!!!!!
Maintenance (Former Employee), Braddock, PAJuly 26, 2013
Cons: the whole shebang!
Tube city IMS is the absolute worst company you could ever work for! They could care less about your " career "at that company! You are 100% replaceable. They will flat-out lie to your face about anything and everything including safety issues and they treat employees like trash unless you're one of their but kissers! They WILL fire you as fast as you – more... can blink your eyes if you're injured on the job. Your life while working there will be miserable from breathing a ton of slag dust and steel shavings in the air. But there air-quality tests come back clean?? Yeah right! It's just another lie that they can put on their list. To top it all their maintenance supervisor is in the union and is also considered management and he will throw you under the bus in a heartbeat! That literally was the WORST job I have ever had! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor Management, Low Moral, Stay Away
Manager (Former Employee), GlassportMay 5, 2013
Pros: healthcare benefits
Cons: unprofessional, low pay, big employee turnaround, just awful.
Benefits are good, below average work environment. Treat Employees awful.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
"you're replaceable"
maintenance (Former Employee), gallatin, tnApril 7, 2013
Pros: its a job
Cons: always threatened with your job
they give you lots of promises then never follow thru with them. people in charge dont know anything about how the work is done just that its never done fast enough. seniority and experience means nothing to them either.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Glassport office is stress filled and no leadership. Not worth working at.
Manager (Former Employee), GlassportJanuary 14, 2013
Pros: free water and pop
Cons: lack of money and respect
The employees are treated horribly. You are told that you are a family, never mentioned the family that hates you. The worker bees are grossly underpaid. They have a lot of older single women afraid to leave because of their age. Bad place to work.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
You mean very little to them,
Operator (Former Employee), US SteelDecember 23, 2012
Pros: i got a job at another company
Cons: very poor management
Former employee at US Steel plant, all management wanted was there bonuses and could care less about you as an employee.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Employed at Calvert Alabama Site.
Operator (Current Employee), Calvert AlabamaDecember 9, 2012
Pros: right on the river bank.
Cons: right on the river bank and i can't go fishing
Each day brings a brand new set of possibilites. There is NEVER a dull moment. There is brand new equipment, that is a pleasure to operate. Besides we all look good in orange.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Tube City IMS
Heavy Equipment Operator (Former Employee), Mingo Jct, OHNovember 2, 2012
I ran many different kinds of loaders. I learn many things over the years I've worked there.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great work place
Material handler (Current Employee), Mesa, AZMarch 14, 2012
Pros: good compensation
Tube City IMS Is one of the best company I ever worked for. There is room for advancement around every corner. The management is expert and professional. They also pay well.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
diversité des taches
Comptable fournisseur (Current Employee), Fos-sur-Mer,May 4, 2014
Pros: rémunération et avantages sociaux
Saisie des factures, NDF
Paiement des fournisseurs ou NDF
Suivi des commandes
Réconciliation des comptes de charges...
L'aspect le plus difficile est de supporter la gestion constante de fin de mois avec les clôtures mensuelles à rendre dans un temps imparti.
L'aspect le plus agréable est la diversité des taches.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
BUEN AMBIENTE LABORAL
MONTACARGUISTA (Former Employee), San Nicolás de los Garza, NLEJanuary 8, 2014
Pros: ninguno
Cons: sin areas de oportuidad, ni prestaciones tardanza en promociones.
ALIMENTAR LA LINEA,APRENDI A MANEJAR EQUIPO MOVIL,I APOYO DE NUESTRA GERENCIA SIEMPRE RESALTANDO LA DIFERENCIA ENTRE EMPLEADOS Y SUPERRIORES,BUENOS COMPAÑEROS DE TRABAJO LO QUE MAS ME GUSTO ADQUIRIR HABILIDADES DE MONTACARGUISTA.

About Tube City IMS

One man's trash is another man's treasure, and Tube City IMS sees a bounty in scrap steel. The TMS International company provides – Read more