Trotter & Morton Group of Companies Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
apprenticeship
Apprentice of DATA (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB22 October 2017
Ability to carry, climb and work from a ladder
Positive attitude and the ability to work well with team members and clients
Physically fit and/or experience in a physical labour workplace
Ability to use various hand tools
Focused on safety and following codes, standards and legal requirements.
Ability to work with little supervision
Ability to travel to various worksites
Valid driver’s license with clear drivers abstract
Clear criminal records check (completed prior to job offer)
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very productive
1st Year Electrical Apprentice (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB18 July 2017
I picked up a lot of great working skills with this company. The helped me become a more independent and self sufficient employee along with how to properly work with others in a team environment.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good culture throughout the different divisions
Journeyman Electrician (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB29 June 2017
Great place to get to know everyone quickly. Small family feel to the management group, and other employees. Great opportunities for further education.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Journeyman Electrician (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB4 June 2017
Nothing out of the ordinary here, get assigned a task, get materials, go do it, go back and get your next task. if you don"t think it's safe, then don't do it, they'll work something out.
Pros
occasional summer burger
Cons
can't wear your own lid
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Solid company name.
Sheet Metal Worker (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB21 May 2017
Good company, big resources but unfortunately also susceptible to business slow down. Over-all, good company to work for, but management may need to look at issues from both perspective.
Pros
none
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company to work for
Electrical Apprentice (Former Employee) –  YYC7 April 2017
Overall experience with the company was good. Sad to see the older employees and employees that have been with the company to leave or be laid off by the company.
Pros
free events, decent benefits
Was this review helpful?YesNo 5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Dog eat dog
Journeyman Electrician (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB27 March 2017
Trotter says its a "family" company and it is if you're related to or kissing someones butt. Management will tell you what you want to hear to appease you til they throw you under the bus or no longer need your services. I've never worked for a company more cutt-throat, it's like a bunch of old woman gossiping in the seniors home. Employees will do whatever they have to get a bit ahead. Not a lot of integrity within this company and management is truly out of touch.
Was this review helpful?Yes 24NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Amazing place to be
Executive Assistant/ C.A.R.E Administrator (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB30 January 2017
Loved the work environment! was such a great place and i enjoyed every single second of being here, just got laid off but would take another job there any second
Pros
benefits, staff, hours, pay
Cons
nothing
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 8Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great people, but not much job security
4th Year Electrical Apprentice (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB2 January 2017
I learned the importance of safety and doing the job right the first time. Hardest part was not knowing if I had a job next week
Was this review helpful?Yes 16No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good pace to stand and wait for managent to make decisions. Pack a lunch because you'll starve waiting.
Foreman/Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB30 December 2016
A poorly run company hiding within trotter and Morgan. Bluebird has been one of the worst companies I've worked for. The safety culture is an illusion, management is completely disconnected from the workers. If you ask for help, no one returned calls. Great field staff but everyone is miserable. This company focuses on blaming father than solutions.
Pros
Average pay
Cons
Poor management, no communication, lack of support for field staff, low safety culture, no long term opportunity.
Was this review helpful?Yes 18No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible place to work
Electrician (Former Employee) –  BC Woman's Hostpital7 December 2016
The company was not good to work for and I recommend not wasting time applying.
There is a management vs workers mentality.
Workers are unhappy working with Trotter because they feel injustice and nothing is done about it.
They may be changing unions to get better represented and there is going to be a vote.
Management are bullies and sometimes yell at you and you can lose your job for no reason and no explanation because they don't care about you.
No female representation at work site so unsure why they include woman in Ad... Sounds like a government mandate to me!
Was this review helpful?Yes 17No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awesome place to work
Electrician (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB6 December 2016
I found Trotter to be a sweet place to work mainly because of the benefits, hourly wage, overtime, and added perks such as ALL PPE is provided, tool gifts, jackets, lunch boxes, etc. Some of the work done by this company that I've seen has been questionable, and the typical management response was "looks fine."
Pros
Wage, benefits, perks
Cons
Management, very rare advancement opportunities, poor workmanship from employees
Was this review helpful?Yes 11No 7Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Managment VS Workers
Journeyman Electrician (Current Employee) –  Vancouver, BC4 December 2016
This is a temporary position, the project they are hiring for has 220 workers already and is finishing in June (after which the plan is to layoff all the workers)

this company lured me with promises about high quality work and a professional environment. this was quickly revealed as a lie. the company has bungled its way from one deadline to the next. the delays on ordering materials are abysmal, 1 week for the order to leave site and then 3 weeks to arrive, also the management would reduce all our outgoing orders by 30%. when ever the foremen or leads complaint about this unacceptable wait time management just says "you guys need to be better at ordering ahead" (4 weeks ahead is unpractical when the design changes twice a month).

every time a journeyman or lead or foreman tried to fix or improve a situation management refused being a Calgary company they didnt know anything about seismic regulations, everyone from BC tried to explain that we could save allot of time by not waiting till the last minute... management refused listen.

paychecks get messed up every pay period, company doesnt fix the discrepancy until next paycheck

TLDR. this is a paycheck nothing more. no longterm prospects and no personal fulfillment
Pros
reasonable pay, benefits if you last long enough
Cons
disconnected management, culture of fear, yes men, no long term outlook
Was this review helpful?Yes 14NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was a pleasure to work for Trotter and Morton company. And I would be happy to do it again in the future.
Journeyman Electrician (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB15 September 2016
It was a pleasure to work for Trotter and Morton company. And I would be happy to do it again in the future. I am glad that I spent 2.5 years helping this company.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 8Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awesome wokrplace, great learning environment.
Electrical Apprentice (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB22 August 2016
Amazing learning workplace that i was working on my apprenticeship at, they were very big on safety and putting their workers through training just as (CSTS,Arial Lift, WHIMIS, etc) Reasonable hours coming toward the big push at the end of the Shulich Expansion.
Pros
Payed Training day's
Cons
Fairly long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 9Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worst Electrical company to work for
Site electrician (Former Employee) –  Bunaby BC16 December 2015
I don't recommend working for the vancouver electrical division. The management is horrible and inexperienced. They belive the field staff is an expense and will cheap out at every chance they get. If your the forman on site be prepared to look like a fool in front of what ever general contractor your working for, the office staff doesn't back up what they say they will do until the General contractor calls them direct. If your a Jman don't ever expect a raise. Even the former have to fight to get a raise passed Jman rate when there the lead on a job site. Apprentices be prepared to learn from other apprentices, there is usually only 1 Jman on a job and hes to busy doing the forman duties and picking up the offices slack. The union is a joke, same as CLAC but small and Trotter is the only electrical contractor. The only reason the union is there is so the company can bid on union jobs. As well don't count on steady work after the job your working on. Trotter cant land jobs and while I worked there, always heard how every job is loosing money and how the electricians have to put in more effort with no bonuses or perks. They say go work at the hospital, great experience, but there is no one experienced in hospital work.
Pros
It's a job
Cons
Lots of disappointment
Was this review helpful?Yes 31No 5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Burnaby, BC Electrician
electrician (Former Employee) –  Burnaby, BC21 November 2015
I worked for Trotter as an electrician for over a year. Before i was hired it looked like a great place to work, with good benefits and incentives. Family orientated, friendly staff, safety is first, every one gets first aid training, long term work, room for advancement, sounds great.
No, more like, look good to the GM no matter what, cant waste money on safety, do it as cheap as possible, only get first aid training if the general contractor doesn't supply a safety officer, wonder if I am going to have a job after this one ends, advance to a foreman but no raise.
Bunch of lies
Pros
Looks good before you get hired
Cons
Too many to list
Was this review helpful?Yes 34No 6Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fovorite job
Pipe laborer (Current Employee) –  bonnyville ab26 March 2015
the management was excellent great people work there hardst part was all of the hydrotesting but would deffinatly work there again wolfs den was one of the best camps i have been in awsome food
Was this review helpful?Yes 10No 34Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good and Bad
Journeyman Electrician (Current Employee) –  Calgary, AB11 January 2015
Good place for a Journeyman to earn a paycheck and not have to use your brain.The work pace is very laid back unless there is a deadline. Best you can hope for as an advancement is Sub-foreman and no guarantee you will stay as one through whole job or transferred as one to the next job. Trotter is good on paper as far as benefits but they use it to pull the curtain over the bad management. Good place to get your foot in the door as someone wanting to start an apprenticeship as they will indenture you straight away. However you will get pigeon holed into one role, usually pipe bending. Not a great learning environment get in as a first year get out as a second year. The hospital site was fairly well run but the management team that looked after the hospital is not looking after the YYC expansion. If you are looking for a job with Trotter specify you would prefer to be on the Downtown site or U of C stay away form the airport if possible. Safety is above average compared to other companies i have worked for.
Was this review helpful?Yes 35No 8Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Trotter & Morton Group of Companies. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.2
Based on 20 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.4
Salary/Benefits
3.7
Job Security/Advancement
2.5
Management
2.5
Culture
3.1

Trotter & Morton Group of Companies Reviews by Location