Find companies:
Trimac Transportation
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
66 reviews

Trimac Transportation Employee Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent people to work with
Receptionist (Current Employee), Calgary, ABDecember 6, 2014
Very nice atmosphere , enjoyable people to work for and with. Always learning new things on the job. Family oriented. Everyone looks out for each other. All - n - All a great place to work!
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
overall good place to work
Traffic Supervisor (Former Employee), Mount Pearl, NLDecember 1, 2014
Pros: great co workers
Cons: long hours
typica day is quite busy dealing with customers, organizing drivers and performing other administrative duties. co workers were great, the most enjoyable part for me was dealing with drivers nad customers
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Managment Politics horrible
Cryogenics Technician (Former Employee), Wyneta BCAugust 6, 2014
Overall ok workplace just politics of management was not good.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fuel divison Sherwood Park
Truck Driver (Former Employee), Sherwood parkJuly 25, 2014
Pros: nome
Cons: all
I worked for the fuel division that place is a complete gong show, the manager is the biggest dummy in that office I dont think that man knows his left hand from his right. So disorganized, half the equipment should be taken off the road. Its a free for all there you cant come to work and enjoy your day because people steal your hoses off your trailers – more... and you need to spend half your morning hunting down gear. But again if you dont want to go to jail because you want to drag that manager outside and sweap the parking lot with him id advice against the place. Most people quit because of him Trimac would smell the roses and fire him. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company to work for
Branch Clerk (Former Employee), Fort McMurray AB.July 3, 2014
I was the only clerk for this particular branch. My duties included anything to do with administration; purchase orders, scanning of daily work orders, flights and transportation for employee's. Maintained weekly reports for upper management, answering phones. Taking minutes and following up with reports. Ordering office supplies. Filing, the use of – more... different programs such as Oracle Transman. I also dealt with discrepancies in pay with employee's in a timely manner.

I enjoyed working for Trimac, fantastic employee's and management. Supportive and room for growth. Always learning and they take pride in their employee's. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good equipment
Class 1 Driver (Former Employee), Edmonton, ABApril 14, 2014
hard place to adapt to
long hours
little downtime
decent equipment
lots of overtime
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Terrible management support
Truck Driver (Former Employee), Port Colborne, ONJanuary 30, 2014
Pros: nice trucks
Total disregard for policy's and hours of service would not recommend they like making empty promises
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
this was a nice place to work
Helpdesk Analyst (Former Employee), Calgary,ABOctober 16, 2013
Pros: good people and new'old technology experience
Cons: short tem
this was also another Helpdesk job and I enjoyed the new/old technology that I was exposed to. The people and management was enjoyable to work with.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a good place to work
Driver (Current Employee), Fort McMurray, ABSeptember 11, 2013
Constantly lied too and benefits of the job were taken away.
Promised things in the beginning and then didn't get it. Too much time from home.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not For Everyone
1A Driver (Current Employee), Regina, SKSeptember 4, 2013
Pros: decent pay, good pension, good clothing allowance
Cons: very long days, old equipment, poor communication
Driver retention seems to be a critical issue with this company, and it's not hard to see why. They will work you 13+ hours every day. I've put in some 15-16 hour days to finish trips. Of course, that's straight working hours, no break at all, and eat as you drive. Consequently, makes it very hard if you have a wife/girlfriend/family, as you won't see – more... much of them.

Most trips are fairly short (distance wise), with 3-4 per day not being uncommon. Rather than dispatch an entire truck load to one customer (i.e. single drop) they like to split the trip into 2-3 drops, often in different towns. Makes for a very tiring day when you need to drag the hoses out 4-6 times a day.

Sometimes dispatched to deliver to very small gas stations in the heart of downtown Regina (Albert St) in the middle of the day with a Super B. Completely ridiculous. There are more than a few locations that should be tri-axle only (or done on night shift), but they keep sending train units in.

Most of the equipment is old, and unless a defect is major, it generally won't be fixed.

Communication isn't the best, as often circumstances will change, and the driver isn't informed until he is at the customer's site. For example, where he sees the access road is under construction.

On the plus side, pay is above average for this type of work, and so it should be. Although my pay isn't as high as was promised in my initial interview. Good pension and benefit plan as well.

Most of the drivers are helpful and friendly, which counts for a lot.

In summary, some drivers will love Trimac for the benefits, others not so much for the heavy work load and harsh conditions. To each their own... – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No Support from Management
Traffic Supervisor (Former Employee), Sherwood Park, ABJuly 17, 2013
No room for advancement even though you are told there is. No support from Management even though you are told "We work as a team"
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Amazing co-workers
Traffic Supervisor (Former Employee), Edmonton, ABJuly 10, 2013
Pros: excellent environment
Cons: long hours
stressful at times. But the people you work with make it all worth while
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lots of Potential
Head Office (Current Employee), Calgary, ABJune 27, 2013
Pros: the people
Cons: the salary
- The best part about this company is the fantastic front line staff who you get to work with on a day to day basis.
- Flexible hours are offered in most departments which can accommodate family, additional employment, extra-curricular activities or schooling.
- The ideas that management has in regards to corporate culture and company values are fantastic, – more... however it's not implemented in most areas of the company.
- The salary is low compared to market, and only upper management receive bonuses. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
lots of work.good money
1A Tanker driver (Current Employee), Regina, SKJune 22, 2013
Pros: money, los of hours
Cons: too many hours, neverending work load
i like working here but i find my home life suffers...but you can earn great money here.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
bagel Wednesdays were nice, but the hours and no pay are ridiculous
Traffic Supervisor (Current Employee), Sherwood Park, ABJune 10, 2013
Pros: bagel wednesdays
Cons: extremelyy long hours, with no overtime
excellent co-workers
poor equipment
excellent support system from co-workers
extremely long hours
lacking communication on directives
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great employer
Accounts Payable & Accounts Receivable Clerk (Former Employee), Calgary, ABMay 7, 2013
Cons: parking
I learned so much at Trimac but having just graduated from school I needed to find a different job with a higher salary.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This Company Is A Joke!
mechanic (Former Employee), dundasMay 2, 2013
Pros: no pros!
Cons: all cons: you will hate your life there!
This company is a joke, the shop manger has no idea what hes doing, honestly not really sure he knows what a truck is. The shope as some good people working there but have all stopped caring after dealing with the company for so long. the only people that should even think of working for this company are people with no skills and can shut there brains – more... off and listen to a boss that has no idea what hes doing. Its a place to go to end your work life and never do any real work. If your not working there but thinking about it RUN!! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This place is a nightmare
Mechanic (Former Employee), Dundas OntarioApril 30, 2013
Pros: no pros only cons.
Cons: see review
I have worked at this Dundas branch and it is a complete joke.
The management is the most dishonest and unorganized people I have worked with. Everybody in the shop is miserable because of the shop manager who is a complete idiot!
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
not to bad
Class 1 Driver (Former Employee), Edmonton, ABApril 29, 2013
Pros: fleable hours
Cons: sleeping in a bunk
12-14 hours a day learned how to operate pneumatic equipment
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wanting to sale and get out of my truck .
Transport Owner Operator (Former Employee), Sarnia, ONFebruary 19, 2013
Pros: like working with people
Cons: will work long hours
Would like to work closier to home not enjoy having my truck. Am a very hard working people and get along with other . Will work day, after and midnight whatever I need to do.

1 2 3 4

About Trimac Transportation

From its inception in 1945, Trimac Transportation has consistently sought and achieved industry leadership, and has a proven reputation – Read more

Trimac Transportation Photos