Find companies:
Trican Well Service
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
25 reviews

Trican Well Service Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to work.
Heavy Duty field mechanic (Current Employee), albertaApril 14, 2014
Pros: great benefits
great place to work with good benefits and good people to work with
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awesome job
Frac Pump Operator (Former Employee), Estevan, SKMarch 18, 2014
Great place to work..awesome pay and great opportunities..learned a lot and gained a great deal of valueable experience
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good company
Accounts Payables (Current Employee), texasFebruary 25, 2014
Trican is a good company to work for, there is just little room for advancement in the deparment iwork in
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good experience
electronics specialist (Former Employee), hintonJanuary 29, 2014
Overall good experience, pumping company with having units like Fracpumps , blenders , N2 units , data vans , chemvans
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
5 years heavy duty mechanic
Journeyman Heavy Equipment Technician (Former Employee), Nisku, ABJanuary 7, 2014
Pros: they do have a good benefit program
Cons: inexperienced management
Poor training program for heavy-duty mechanic for learning their equipment. They will tell you one thing and do another. Barely any overtime. Company is a dead-end place to work at. If your a trades person stay away
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
They do not follow there core values and they do not hold them selves accountable for there own mistakes
Nitrogen operator (Former Employee), AlbertaDecember 8, 2013
Pros: good benefits
Cons: horrible dispatchers, mid management
Stay away!!!!! After8 years with company
Was pushed out the door!! Management treats there employees horrible!!! They
Belittle u , suck the life out of u and manipulate u into thinking that u need them. Cut wages , performance bonuses. Etc
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A good company to work for.
Truck Driver/Acid Operator (Former Employee), Drayton Valley. A.B.September 12, 2013
The company was good to work for. the hours were ok and the pay was good.Management was good .had lots of support.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A lot to do
Clerk (Current Employee), Calgary, AlbertaMay 23, 2013
Typical day is busy talking to various level of management. Values are great and there is a wide range of cultural background.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A good company to work for but has huge problems
Purchaser/Partsperson (Former Employee), Red Deer, ABFebruary 8, 2013
Pros: great pay and benefits - if that's all you;re looking for then it's a great company to work for.
Cons: management says they have an open door policy, sure, you can go in and talk to them b ut they won;t do anything about the problems you discuss.
I spent 3 years with Trican as a Parts Person for Down Hole Tools. I was the only person working in teh Storeroom and had to do all tasks pertinent to operating a warehouse/storeroom. I looked after 5 geographical regions for downhole tools and as the workload increased so did the problems. It wasn't long before I discovered there was no opportunity – more... for advancement as a Parts Person, my years of experience didn't matter, nor did my opinion about the operation of the Storeroom. Offers to change the operation were made but only meant more work for me to do, adding to the stress already present.
It's great place for advancement if you are a Coil Tubing Operator, Tool Technician, Frac Operator or any other Field position, but if you;re a supporting trade/position you can forget it. They hire outside people who are unqualified for management positions. Case in point - New Supply Chain Manager for Completions Systems and Downhole Tools is a Registered Engineering Technologist with no knowlege or experience in Supply Chain Management. Why would any company put someone in such a position with no knowledge/experience whatsoever?? The "old boys Club" mentality is still alive and doing fine in the oilfield. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not the company it used to be!
Former Employee (Former Employee), Calgary, ABNovember 13, 2012
Pros: good benefits and reasonable compensation.
Cons: new management that have changed the culture of the company
Company advocated that employees were cared about but this is no longer the case. Executive have lost touch of what is important and that is their employees. Loyalty is no longer valued. This company has changed for the worse.

Vince1 – February 8, 2013

Exactly why I just left at the end of January 2013. With 30+ years experience as a Partsperson, and 3 years with TRICAN, I felt my knowledge and experience wasn't valued in any way, my opinion didn't matter and there were no advancement opportunities for me. The more my workload increased the less they seemed to care about me as an employee.

Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company with easy going atmosphere
Fracturing Engineer (Former Employee), Calgary, ABMay 27, 2012
Pros: relaxed environment
Love the environment and knowledge level. Well respected company in the city.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Trican Workday HCM Implementation Project
Senior HCM Consultant (Contract) (Current Employee), Houston, TXMarch 19, 2014
Pros: great project
Cons: contract
A challenging project, and a great opportunity to learn a new software package working with the Workday HCM product. The management team is decisive and the team works very well together toward the accomplishment of the goal. The hardest part is coordinating teams remotely. The most enjoyable part of the job is the learning opportunity and being able – more... to help Trican meet its goals. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not so much
Equipment Operator (Current Employee), Minot, NDFebruary 24, 2014
Pros: per diem is decent
Cons: housing and paid flights are gone from minot.
The starting pay is okay if you don't have any experience. If you have been in the oil field, the pay sucks. Started with paid housing and flights but that is going to disappear. I have worked for other oil services companies and the benefits aren't that great. Depends on what you are accustomed to. The Minot district is still struggling and employees – more... are expected to do much with little. Crews are small so you get to work harder to make up for lack of manpower. Fellow employees are an awesome bunch of guys and make the work more tolerable. Paper logs are a pain and you get a lot of grief for mistakes. :) – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Equipment operator I (Former Employee), Springtown TxJanuary 7, 2014
Pros: perdiem
Cons: never home always out of town!
You will work a lot and make good money for someone who is starting out in the oilfield.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Benefits
cordinator (Current Employee), Woodward, OKNovember 1, 2013
Pros: medical benifits
Cons: no home time
Benefits are great as so is the pay but no time for family or anything else.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Difficult place to work and advance
Sand hauler, Frac hand (Former Employee), Minot, NDSeptember 10, 2013
Pros: payed housing
Cons: no work
You pretty much had to fit into the "go out" crowd in order to be liked and given opportunities at this company, in "North Dakota"
There were no jobs for Trican in ND and was sent to places in Texas to work for Trican 4 times in less than a year.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very satisfied there, explored other challenges
o Fluid Technician and quality assurance (Former Employee), Shawnee, OKAugust 13, 2013
Pros: no complaints.
Overall my experience was optimum with Trican, a lot of hours away from home but the job demanded it due to the fact that our emphasis on job quality was very high on every job. Trican bought Vanguard Stimulation services initially, with that said, the Vanguard ethic was this. "Quality isn't a behavior, it's a habit. That remained intact during my time – more... with Trican, The management was second to none. The culture was amazing and one in which I am very proud to have served, – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Turn away!
EO (Current Employee), OklahomaJuly 10, 2013
Pros: benefits
Cons: don't get raises, don't take care of their employees
Trican is a big joke! Awful company to work for. To much to type but they treat their employees so horrible. Cut employees hours instead of sending them to help other districts that are behind. I would already be gone if I could find something else but I have to swallow my pride for my family.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
its the oilfield... what more can you say
Cement Engineer (Former Employee), Longview, TXApril 21, 2013
Pros: $$$, benefits
Cons: hours, tether to blackberry, etc
Trican allowed me to be where i am in life today. I appreciate the opportunities i had and knowledge and skills i acquired. I was laid off.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Trican is a good company to work for with the exception of too many bosses.
Parts Clerk-Parts Specialist (Former Employee), Mathis, TXDecember 19, 2012
Pros: on many occassions, venders would take me to lunch, ball games or fund raisers.
Cons: the cons were that if i needed a part that was not local, i would have to go and get it.also working 80 to 100 hours a week.
I enjoyed working for Trican,a typical work day was 12 to 14 hours
I learned alot about the well service and the computer programs that went with the job.
Most of my co-workers were some of the best people I have met and were worker friendly even though when I first started,I didnt know much about the bussiness .They were all most helpful and patient – more... with me.It didnt take long to learn.
Management was a little difficult because it changed very often.Four district managers in one year is alot.
The hardest part of my job was month end invenyory.I had to inventory everything by hand and put it in the computer program.If it did not match,I had to go through all the recieving for what I had bought and what corporate sent me.I spent on the average of two million dollors a month for parts and service.
The most enjoyable was to visit venders and to just mingle with people that I worked with. – less