Find companies:
Trent University
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
9 reviews

Trent University Employee Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good place to work
research project (Former Employee), peterboroughJanuary 15, 2014
good environment
my tutor was realy nice
dealing with data was really hard
the result was really impressive
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Trent University
Owl Bander (Volunteer) (Former Employee), Peterborough, ONDecember 24, 2013
Lots of volunteers made the nights owl banding go by rapidly. A great hands on experience for any animal enthusiast.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Research Assistant
Research Assistant (Former Employee), Peterborough, ONOctober 28, 2013
It was a great opportunity and I learnt various aspects of conducting scientific research that I was not previously aware. It allowed me to become comfortable in the laboratory. I would recommend the position to any student that wants to pursue a Masters degree.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent Opportunity to develop research skills
Research and Teaching Assistant (Former Employee), Peterborough, ONOctober 24, 2013
Pros: good company, great environment
Cons: long hours
I really enjoyed working in a laboratory environment in the role of researcher, I learned a lot about the corn smut fungus Ustilago maydis. The people I worked with were great and always willing to help with any problems. The hardest part of the job was working outside in the field in hot temperatures and the most enjoyable part of the job was getting – more... answers to research questions. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great University
Molecular Ecologist and Forensic Biologist (Former Employee), PeterboroughMay 16, 2013
Pros: great small university
Cons: cutting edge
Great University in Peterbourough. On cutting edge of scientific methodologies
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Job
Animal Care Assistant (Current Employee), Peterborough, ONMay 10, 2013
Love working at Trent!
Great staff, positive environment.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Pleasant and formative
Assistant Professor - limited term contract (Former Employee), Peterborough, Ontario, CanadaSeptember 29, 2012
Pros: quality teaching for everyone, good teacher-student ratio, nonelitist but efficient undergraduate programmes, superb settings
Cons: workspace limitation, a little fuzzy on personnel selection and promotion criteria.
I had the chance to work in a small but well organized Mathematics Department dedicated to the continuous development of the learning environment which by the programmes adopted, endeavoured the expansion of the employment opportunities for its graduates.
Every morning witnessed the presence on my desk of the memo note with the important upcoming departmental – more... and university events. Mail and email check followed by a last review of the lesson plan were activities just before the first lecture or seminar-workshop class. Lunchtime in the cafeteria was always an occasion to informally reconnect with fellow teachers and students often sharing insights into our daily work. The time in between classes was filled with office hours for student help and guidance. The end of classes was followed by office work as replying to emails, providing student support through the Blackboard integrated learning environment
and insuring that the next day planning was up to date.
Teaching at Trent considerably improved my organisational and time management skills and enhanced my ability to teach mathematics to students from divers socio-economic backgrounds with different levels of prior education and learning styles.
I would say that the management was understaffed, the only secretary the Department had was serving in the Dept. of Economics as well, but her hard work and proactive attitude never occasioned any administrative slippage. The members of the Department proved to be outspoken and highly supportive with one another. I can't think of any hard part of my activity at Trent University, every duty being accomplished with joy and dedication. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
administrative assistant (Former Employee), PeterboroughMarch 22, 2012
Pros: great work experience
Cons: computers where out dated
Great Place. Hires students. Management eager to teach. On campus. Near restaurants