Find companies:
Transfield Services
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
60 reviews

Transfield Services Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poorly managed company
Construction Manager/Project Manager (Former Employee), Sault Saint Marie, OntarioDecember 12, 2013
The company style of management is dictatorial in nature, does not believe in open communication and is less than honest in what is presented at the interview versus what you get once you are an employee. I would not recommend this company to anyone who is looking for a career with a future.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to Work
Payroll Officer and SAP Time Entry Administrator (Former Employee), Fort McMurray, ABJuly 27, 2013
Pros: was a great experience
Cons: they did not pay well
I learned a lot of skills on this job. I was involved with HR, and payroll. I maintained my own crew and administered ROEs, timesheets, data entry, terminations, crew moves, updated timesheets, resolved queries, payroll issues, etc.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Relaxed friendly atmosphere, great team effort. everyone helpful.
Administration Assistant (Former Employee), Mornington, VictoriaSeptember 1, 2014
Pros: close to home
Cons: meeting deadlines.
Get information from council based system, transfer to Transfield services system. Enter all relevant information into data base, compose information to send to Managers. Check excel system for updates. Receive relevant jobs to be transferred into system from managers, transfer into council based computer system. Keep records up to date, do daily reports – more... for managers records. Update systems from sub contractors reports. Scanning documents/checking system, entering relevant information to update completed sub contractors jobs. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Positive work force with a strong attitude towards zero harm
Senior Crew Leader (Former Employee), Victoria AustraliaAugust 26, 2014
Pros: additional training
Cons: longer hours
Long Hours with great benefits and rewards. Strong commitment from both management and the work force at reducing incidents out in the field. Excellent life balance
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive work place
Boilermaker/ Mechanic (Current Employee), Carson, CAAugust 6, 2014
Start your day off with a tool box meeting, Where everyone shares there concerns. You then get your detailed work permit to where you will be working at the refineries, Co- workers are always helping, providing information for the new guys.Hardest part of the job is alot of climbing towers, and heavy lifting. The most enjoyable part is everybody works – more... together to ensure a safe turnaround. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Create safe working for all employee's on site.
NSW Track Protection Co-ordinator (Former Employee), Adelaide. and NSWJuly 29, 2014
Pros: consistant achiever.
Cons: i do work long hours
I am a driven person who regards safe working and employee safety paramount on a daily basis. I constantly continue with studies to gain more qualifications and rule law for better understanding of Rules and Procedures. I align myself with top people in the field to assist me at any given time of day. I present myself to all clients as a professional – more... in both manner and ability.
The most enjoyable part of my day is watching everyone onsite go home safely then and only then I know I have done my job to best of my ability. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great people, a good place to work
Resolution Officer (Former Employee), Malaga, Western AustraliaJuly 28, 2014
Pros: monthly team get together.
Cons: travel distance between my home and the office
To get through as many claim rejections as accurately as possible. Always working toward deadlines, daily/weekly/monthly.
I learned a lot more about excel spreadsheets including V-lookup's to transfer data for particular aspects of reporting.
The managers were quite young, I found a few things went overlooked, for example document control. However the – more... management overall was quite productive and my co-workers all pitched in to help where ever needed.
The hardest part of the job was the initial understanding of the process however once I was in the motion of doing this everyday I got more of an understanding of all the parties involved in the contract. This would also have to be the most enjoyable part of the job. Piecing the involvement of all departments together to better understand the workflow between client and subcontractor. I loved the challenge in meeting the deadlines and felt much satisfaction when management acknowledge the efforts of everyone. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Well organized with shutdown work.
Mechanical Fitter (Former Employee), Exxon Mobil Refinery Altona - TurnaroundJuly 8, 2014
Cons: 10 hour days
Very professional and organized with shutdown work.
• Mechanical Fitter.
• Shutdown Maintenance - Rotating & Fixed plant equipment.
• Involved with the Hydro testing.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company to work for
Trade Assistant (Former Employee), Wollongong NSWMay 22, 2014
Travel where expected to work .
Safety when at work
good work mates
learning different ways to work safe
over all a great company to work for
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stable employment,always work available
Telecom Technician (Current Employee), Tauranga New ZealandMay 9, 2014
Pros: flexible
Cons: uncertain finish times
I was dispatched my work,and was able to manage my own workload.The job is interesting because there always variety in the job,meeting customers and traveling to different locations.
I have also had some further experience of Fiber optic.The co workers are very friendly and helpful and reliable,so its a pleasure to work with them.
Hardest part of the – more... job is preserving electronic equipment in the harsh external environment which happens at certain times of the year.Overall I enjoy the variation of the job. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
An up to date company to work for .
Operations Manager (Former Employee), Wonthaggi vicMay 8, 2014
Pros: company car with personnel use
Cons: lots kilometres travelled a year and nights away from young family
Many varied things involved in the production of a maintenance contract .This required works to be provided from fence line to fence line . Depending on the time of year .Spring through to autumn priority would be road repairs and preventative maintenance (Crack sealing /Minor surface treatments / spray seals ) grass mowing .
Along with ongoing activities – more... sign and guide post replacements or repairs

All of these works needed to be identified and record on a daily or weekly basis . Also acted upon on an immediate basis depending on severity .

I had a hard working crew which helped – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Transfield, Only a stepping stone into NZ
Fibre Optic Technichian (Current Employee), Christchurch, New ZealandMay 3, 2014
Pros: co-workers, allowed to get on with work without interference, opportunities for overtime.
Cons: senior management, lack of career progression.
Senior Management don't really know what they're doing and only care about the bottom line. Career progression is almost non existent, unless you want to wait until people above you retire.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Have had some great bosses and people to work with over the years
Supervisor (Current Employee), SydneyApril 29, 2014
Cons: long hours little or no fill in staff
More commitment to staff from some people required
Have previously had advantage of advancing myself and have learnt many things from some great bosses.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Intersting place to work for with a variety of roles
Project Manager (Current Employee), Sydney, NSWApril 7, 2014
Pros: self reliant
The present role for me is not stimulating but I have obtained more information in regards to HR involvement with staff.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very good
Manager Range Services (Former Employee), Puckapunyal vicMarch 10, 2014
Pros: flex hours
Cons: long hours
Flexible company
Good Promotional advantages

Good team of workers that worked for me
very loyal team

Large area to look after with fire fighting 46.000 hectares
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Challenging, ever changing, deadline driven..diverse culture
Subcontractor Management / Contract Coordinator (Former Employee), Rosehill, NSW, AUSTRALIA, 2762February 27, 2014
Pros: flexible working hours
Cons: can't think of any!
A typical day....Challenging, ever changing, deadline driven
What did I learn....Diplomacy!
Management.....structured
Co-workers....dynamic
Hardest part of the job.....price negotiation and handling complaints
Most enjoyable part of my job....never the same day twice
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great work team
Electrical Supervisor / Coordinator (Former Employee), PilbaraFebruary 25, 2014
Pros: great work team
Cons: nil
a typical day at work ; pre starts ,meetings ,permits ,job inspections
what you learned :
management :Worked well with the boys on the ground
your co-workers : Had a good team of workers
the hardest part of the job :
the most enjoyable part of the job : getting the job done on time and safe.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Transfield was a great company to work for
Construction Fitter (Former Employee), Whyalla, SAFebruary 21, 2014
I joyned Transfield in Whyalla SA in 1975, they were buildind a new Bloom Mill in the Steel Works, and so I joined in and with my leading hand we built the 2'' pipe work at the basement of the building. We formed a good team and done a lot of work. A lot of electric welding and grinding went on but the pipes were up as scheduled. I also fulfilled other – more... duties as part of the job. We were a small team but worked together without traumas and went along well with each other. I've learned to weld the pipes on site and that was a good achievement for me. The hardest part of the job was to weld the pipes very close to the wall. The most enjoyable part of the job
was singing with the wind blowing through my hair (sometimes).
The management was friendly and capable, I've enjoyed working there – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good company
Project Superintendent (Former Employee), Mackay, QLDFebruary 7, 2014
as same as Field
started as a Boilermaker & progressed through
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a stable environment, but good benefits and pay.
1st Shift Safety Attendant (Former Employee), Carson, CAFebruary 3, 2014
Pros: good compensation
Cons: must know someone to get constant work
If you do not know someone that has a high position or favored with the company, you will only work short periods when they need extra people. It is very hard to move up in position as well stay stable with that employer. On the other hand, the pay is very reasonable due to the dangerous environment and work supplied.

1 2 3

About Transfield Services

Transfield Services delivers essential services to key industries in the Resources and Industrial, Infrastructure Services and – Read more

Transfield Services Photos